Galway V Kerry All Ireland Final 2022

Replying To midlands:  "No, a fair shoulder, but McDaid was also hit on the other side by Barry, I think, and referees will always give a free to a player caught in a "sandwich"."
He was hit with a fair shoulder charge, then stumbled in to Barry, never a free.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2478 - 25/07/2022 10:11:29    2434125

Replying To crafty:  "Galway didn't win in 2000 because they were playing Kerry and Joyce got no change out of Seamus Moynihan. I'm not knocking Galway, just stating the uncomfortable facts."
It is common knowledge to those who watched both games that the lack of a fully fit Kevin Walsh was why Galway lost in 2000. His introduction in the first encounter when Galway were seven points down changed the game and he had to be taken off in the first half of the replay (before being reintroduced again late on).

Of course, all we ever see from those finals is Meehans goal. Galways comeback in the first game was far more entertaining in my opinion and if Pat McEnaney bothered to play more than 40 seconds in injury time, we'd have never seen that goal.

FallenStar (Galway) - Posts: 415 - 25/07/2022 10:14:02    2434127

Great game yesterday. Credit to both teams on serving up a match befitting of the occasion. For a period there in the second half it was as good as you're likely to see. Score for score, like two boxers slugging it out. Clifford and Kelly were outstanding of course but others like Cillian McDaid, Liam Silke, John Daly, Graham O'Sullivan, Gavin White, Jason Foley and Tadhg Morley all left their marks as well. Killian Spillane also made a high impression on the match when introduced.

It was fantastic to see two footballing teams go at it. There wasn't one dirty challenge in the game that I can think of. My biggest takeaway from the game was the willingness and ability of both teams to kick pass. Both teams created openings by having the vision and balls to kick pass early ball inside. Other possession-obsessed managers and teams should take note.

Already looking forward to 2023's Championship. There is a feeling that Kerry may push on now and dominate. I'm not so sure. If Dublin have a fit Con, and could maybe persuade Mannion and McCaffrey to come back they'd be a serious proposition again. Tyrone will surely not be as bad. Galway will look to push on again and you'll have the likes of Mayo, Armagh and Derry hungry too.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 25/07/2022 10:34:23    2434134

I like Joyce alot. He's probably the quintessential good Galway man. Confident and open. He was right to question the free. It was a huge turning point. Comer was fouled beforehand. Hurson had an ok game but he missed a few very obvious trips and pushes in the back which in my opinion have to be called everytime. Let the body contact happen and the more shoulders the better but the trips have to be called everytime.
I think Galway were gassed cone the last 10 mins. They needed 5 subs in on 55mins. Mcdaid had a bad miss and Walsh went for a Hail Mary free. That was inexperience or over exuberance.
There is a lack of belief and nous in Connacht teams. It doesn't manifest at the start of games. Galway in hurling and football come out of the blocks as fast as anyone. It manifests in tight games. They rarely if ever overturn deficits coming into the last 10mins. They keep playing with verve instead of playing the percentages like a Kerry or Limerick. They lack cynicism which in top level sport is a criticism. I had to watch the game on Sky yesterday which is usually a great channel but the picture kept freezing. Its like rte did it on purpose..

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 25/07/2022 10:46:45    2434140

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Horrible final for the neutral but being honest if Roscommon won an all Ireland like that I'd be happy. Hurling the winner again this year."
Horrible final?? Are you for real?? It was a very good game with plenty of skill on show not just from the two main men walsh and Clifford but others were also immense. Mcdaid was super for Galway whereas Morley played a blinder.

There were 36 scores in the game-averaging a score every two minutes. What more do you want? Some people just love to whinge and be negative.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 25/07/2022 11:19:48    2434152

Replying To Breffni1969:  "The warning signs were there all year long but Joyce choose to ignore them."
But they still reached a final even though Joyce choose to ignore "the signs"

the goalkeeper is a young lad who is an amateur, is doing his best and I'm sure feels down today like the rest of the galway team.

Can you imagine even for a little while how you would feel if that was your brother/son in goals? 'm sure his parents, siblings, friends etc would not appreciate comments like you have made and neither would you if you were in their shoes.

Show some respect would you and think of others before you type utter trash belitting someone who is doing their best. I'm sure you haven't played or managed in any all Ireland finals so rein it in like a good man.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 25/07/2022 11:26:19    2434153

Replying To FallenStar:  "It is common knowledge to those who watched both games that the lack of a fully fit Kevin Walsh was why Galway lost in 2000. His introduction in the first encounter when Galway were seven points down changed the game and he had to be taken off in the first half of the replay (before being reintroduced again late on).

Of course, all we ever see from those finals is Meehans goal. Galways comeback in the first game was far more entertaining in my opinion and if Pat McEnaney bothered to play more than 40 seconds in injury time, we'd have never seen that goal."
Seamus Moynihan said it all in his acceptance speech after the 2000 replay.
If Ja Fallon wasn't injured, he believed Galway would have won.
His words, not mine.

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 343 - 25/07/2022 11:33:00    2434161

Replying To realdub:  "Congratulations to Kerry, ye got it back. Galway made a good attempt but that's as good as they get I fear.

Look forward to taking it back off you in next year's final, enjoy the winter lads :D"
Thanks Realdub and I have no doubt Dubs will be chomping at the bit next year but now we have a new contender in Galway. Shane Walsh was class and McDaid. So happy but feel for Galway. Good clean game of football and their fans so gracious afterwards. Next year could be a brilliant football championship now with Tyrone Dubs Galway Mayo Armagh Donegal and ourselves. Finally commiserations to Galway.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 25/07/2022 11:33:38    2434162

Replying To MesAmis:  "Comhghairdeas Ciarraí!

Deserved it on the day for me.

Jack O'Connor is some man. 3 Sams in his three stints. Some going.

I hope CiarraiMick is enjoying himself. A gentleman poster. Enjoy it bud.

But a word for Shane Walsh. Best player on the pitch today. A performance for the ages."
Ah thanks Mesamis. I deffo enjoyed it. Nursing a sore head today. Have to agree that Shane Walsh was majestic and was the best player yesterday. Lucky we had the Cliffords and Graham Ó Sullivan. Its great to be back as champions again and I'm going to enjoy it all the more because I know there are a few teams next year we'll capable of taking Sam back from us. Anyway thank you ole pal.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 25/07/2022 11:39:17    2434165

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Horrible final for the neutral but being honest if Roscommon won an all Ireland like that I'd be happy. Hurling the winner again this year."
I'd wonder why you watch football if you thought that was horrible. Obviously I wasn't a neutral but it was a hard fought competitive game, with two of the great all Ireland final performances in recent times.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1719 - 25/07/2022 11:42:25    2434166

I would have to say that in the end Kerry probably just about deserved it, for when the game was in the melting pot, they went for it and got their just reward, albeit helped by one or two dodgy frees. Galway lost it by not going in at half time five or six points up after all of their first half dominance, not scoring for 17 minutes after going 14-12 up, and only two of their forwards scoring. For that you would have to give kudos to a magnificent Kerry defence, although when the game was there to be won in the last five minutes or so, I would love to have seen Galway just go for it. However all in all a great year for Galway, but it will be all for nothing if they don't drive on from here. Congrats to Kerry, shows how much a of a religion football is in Kerry when eight years is described as a famine, try 21 years for Galway, or 61 years for the poor neighbours.

gilly1910 (Galway) - Posts: 170 - 25/07/2022 11:42:39    2434167

Replying To TheUsername:  "Congrats to Kerry and to Ciarraí Mick, hope you enjoyed the game and the night pal.

Championship felt a bit weird this year, like it was falling through stools. Think it was Kerry's year by default and you couldn't deny this one on consistency alone they were due this one given their record in the later stages, but I don't think the game has evolved very much recently in the last four or five years,

Don't think there will be much in it amongst most counties in the next couple of years, a bit of luck on any given day will do it I think.

Shane Walsh is a joy, player of the year for me."
Ah thanks Username. Yeah Shane Walsh was awesome yesterdat but he won't get player of the year as he was very quiet the previous games. I think our own David Clifford is a near certainty for player of year. I was thinking of you yesterday eve as I remember you posting maybe 2 years ago posting that Galway are the up and coming team and Shane Walsh the best baller around. I agree the year went too quick. No intercounty now till next January. Its just not right. Anyway thanks Username and the Dubs will be back next year too along with Galway and a few more.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 25/07/2022 11:55:16    2434171

Replying To Saynothing:  "Don't be too hard on the Galway support, all counties have a few, some more than others. A closer game than the 4 point win says. Clifford excellent but you could watch Walsh all day, love watching his lazy solo. A couple of mistake hand passes and maybe not shooting in the final 3 minutes of first half when they had ball . They will be back along of 5 or 6 other teams. Roll on 2023."
Spot on Saynothing and I'm looking forward to next year already. I feel next year could be the hardest fought championship in years. I feel Kerry Dublin Galway Tyrone Armagh Donegal Mayo will all be back firing on all cylinders.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 25/07/2022 11:59:30    2434173

Replying To bloodyban:  "I like Joyce alot. He's probably the quintessential good Galway man. Confident and open. He was right to question the free. It was a huge turning point. Comer was fouled beforehand. Hurson had an ok game but he missed a few very obvious trips and pushes in the back which in my opinion have to be called everytime. Let the body contact happen and the more shoulders the better but the trips have to be called everytime.
I think Galway were gassed cone the last 10 mins. They needed 5 subs in on 55mins. Mcdaid had a bad miss and Walsh went for a Hail Mary free. That was inexperience or over exuberance.
There is a lack of belief and nous in Connacht teams. It doesn't manifest at the start of games. Galway in hurling and football come out of the blocks as fast as anyone. It manifests in tight games. They rarely if ever overturn deficits coming into the last 10mins. They keep playing with verve instead of playing the percentages like a Kerry or Limerick. They lack cynicism which in top level sport is a criticism. I had to watch the game on Sky yesterday which is usually a great channel but the picture kept freezing. Its like rte did it on purpose.."
Much and all as it pains me bloodyban, there is an element of truth to what you say about teams from Connacht or more so the west of the country. Until this behemoth of a Limerick hurling team came along, the same could easily have been said about Limerick, but this current Limerick team have blown that theory out of the water, and are now up there with the greatest hurling teams ever. You look at Mayo and all the All Irelands that they could and should have won, same with the Galway hurlers. The Galway footballers I wouldn't tar with the same brush just yet, although I do believe that game was there for them to win in the last 10 minutes had the belief and nous been there.

gilly1910 (Galway) - Posts: 170 - 25/07/2022 12:03:25    2434177

Replying To avonali:  "Congrats to Kerry and all their fans, especially CiarraiMick. Hope he is sinking a few pints tonight.
It was a much tighter affair than I had assumed. Kerry's wayward shooting in the first half ,especially theP Geaney misses signified a team feeling the pressure. But you have to hand it to David Clifford. The lad has it all in spades: a lethal combination of speed, power and an incredible mastery of all the skills of Gaelic football.
Shane Walsh -ably assisted by McDaid- is equally gifted. During that first half it was if their respective teams were merely bit part players in a dual of the highest quality .
Galway looked gassed as the second half unfolded. I think their defensive system is effective but very demanding. The contribution of Kerry's bench- plus the unnerving performance of the Galway goalkeeper proved crucial. Congrats to Pat Spillane too on his retirement from RTE. He drove me mad at times but you he was always entertaining and as a player he was gracious in defeat and humble in victory.
It's Kerry's year and on the balance of things you have to admit they deserved it."
Ah thank you Avonali ole pal. Yes I sank plenty of pints last night and family shook this morn. Galway gave us a great fight and Shane Walsh lit up the stadium. For us Clifford was magic too. Delighted to be back again on top but know we'll it was only just and next year yourselves Galway and a few more will be back strong. Thanks again.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 25/07/2022 12:03:38    2434178

You have no fear of Roscommon winning An All Ireland

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1663 - 25/07/2022 12:07:54    2434181

On yesterday's program player's club name's were given in Irish only, not fair on the vast majority of people who can't read it

FieldsMaster (Galway) - Posts: 17 - 25/07/2022 12:14:47    2434186

Replying To FieldsMaster:  "On yesterday's program player's club name's were given in Irish only, not fair on the vast majority of people who can't read it"
Most of the people there woukd have gone to school in Ireland and been taught to read and write Gaeilge.
Are you implying they're all thick?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1436 - 25/07/2022 12:37:05    2434197

Joyce and the Galway fans are obviously disappointed but trying to pin defeat on the officials is just poor form and a cop out. Yes the free was probably soft but the Galway keeper should have had a blatant black card and the referee showed some discretion there. Even after the free there was time for Galway to come back yet Kerry showed the poise to see it out. Wise up Galway, this just sounds like sour grapes and deflection.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 25/07/2022 12:38:04    2434198

Really enjoyed the match yesterday, a superb exhibition of some of the finest skills in the game- superb long distance point taking; high fielding; and clean dispossessions. Shane Walsh was on fire for most of the game (ably assisted by Cillian McDaid) and damn near threatened to win the game on his own. Galway gave it socks and can feel proud of their performance, although defeat will undoubtedly sting for the next few weeks.

The main factors in the winning and losing of the game (for me anyway) were the following:

1. Galway needed Walsh, Comer and Conroy to catch fire in order to win, given that Kerry probably possess a wider spread of scorers in their side. Walsh rose to the occasion but the other two were well-shackled by Kerry's man markers.

2. Goalies are and always have been the most important players in any gaelic football team, the ones who can lose a game in an instant through a lapse of concentration. I played there for many years myself and it always grates to hear that a goalie's most important asset is his kickout, or to hear talk about how vital it is to be disrupting the opposition's kickouts by cutting off space, or to be expected to create overlaps for the attack or kick scores. For me, the essential thing is to be able to mind the house, and while he has a great boot on him, Gleeson is prone to one or two brain farts per game which can be costly, and so it proved yesterday towards the end of the match. The goalie's position has probably been a problem for Galway for the past decade or so, and they won't get over the line unless they solve it. In fairness, Robbie Hennelly had similar tendencies for much of his Mayo career but has come on a lot in the past two seasons, so there's plenty of time for Conor Gleeson to improve this side of his game.

3. A solid defensive set-up is so important today. Both Galway and Kerry have successfully implemented this over the course of the season and conceded few goals as a result. Incoming managers take note!

4. Match ups are also a huge part of the equation. Felt that Kerry generally got theirs right and managed to nullify a lot of Galway's key men, with the exception of Walsh, who was on fire. I always thought Galway would need to do something out-of-the-box to keep D Clifford down to an acceptable total (no one can mark him out of the game, really), as wonderful baller though Seán Kelly is, he's not a grizzly sort of full back you want round the square. Sometimes, you need Francie Bellew.

5. The bench. Kerry got a lot of value from their's, whereas Galway were relying mostly on their first XV. Perhaps this is why they faded in the closing stages, given how intense their counter-attacking game is.

6. The mark. Kerry got great value out of the mark in the first half, given their twin towers of Geaney and Clifford. Galway didn't really have that outlet so much, so had to run the ball a lot, which also might explain why they got tired towards the end.

Next year should be really exciting, given that the Dubs will have Con back, Mayo should have ROD and Tommy Goals, Tyrone will be chomping at the bit, Donegal will have new management, Armagh and Derry will be looking to consolidate their breakthrough seasons, plus the two finalists from yesterday. There isn't a huge amount between most of those sides, so it will be very interesting to see if the Kingdom can successfully defend their crown.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 25/07/2022 12:46:41    2434208