Dublin Hurling

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "One that got away.
We had Galway on the ropes and were a Wexford win v Westmeath away from exiting the championship.
Still all in all, we are still in it and should (I say SHOULD) be good enough to beat Carlow and set up a quarter final.
All in all, progress given the team was obliterated at the end of last year."
You beat us last year also.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 29/05/2023 13:39:57    2482555

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "One that got away.
We had Galway on the ropes and were a Wexford win v Westmeath away from exiting the championship.
Still all in all, we are still in it and should (I say SHOULD) be good enough to beat Carlow and set up a quarter final.
All in all, progress given the team was obliterated at the end of last year."
Oh for sure. Met expectations this year in terms of qualification, and much improved performances against Kilkenny and Galway.

No harm to Carlow, but Dublin should be winning that one comfortably and I doubt that Donoghue will be making the same mistakes as happened when Laois beat us in 2019.

After that, the loser of the Munster final! Which is where they need to be, Matching themselves against one of top 3/4 teams in country in a do or die. We'll know exactly where they stand then.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2524 - 29/05/2023 13:43:10    2482557

Guys, remember there was a disputed Dublin point where hawkeye couldn't actually tell if it went over? What happened there, did they not give it? The commentary said at the time that it would be interesting if it ended a 1 point game.

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1550 - 29/05/2023 14:44:45    2482602

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Ironically, there was a crowd of young Rossies who came in near end to Hill who were more enthusiastic about our hurlers maybe beating Galway than some of the clowns in blue jerseys who arrived.

Sorry, not least for aesthetic reasons, that I did not follow initial plan and go and watch Limerick and Cork."
I met some 'older' Rossies and they were most definitely supporting the Galway hurlers and vice versa for us with the Roscommon footballers. But I have noticed for a good number of years that a lot of the younger generation have no concept of provincial loyalty.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 29/05/2023 15:04:58    2482614

Replying To Suas Sios:  "Guys, remember there was a disputed Dublin point where hawkeye couldn't actually tell if it went over? What happened there, did they not give it? The commentary said at the time that it would be interesting if it ended a 1 point game."
Looked over from the Hill, and also annoyed over him blowing up when we had possession on puck out. But sure, swings and round abouts. Can't have any complaints about the way it ended up really. Probably did well to get a draw after Galway's comeback. They show good fight in fairness when tide is against them.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2524 - 29/05/2023 15:21:50    2482625

I think a draw was deserved given that we ran out of steam in the second half. Let's hope we can push on and get to the quarters, I'm starting to get some flashbacks to 2019 that I'd rather not see repeated

Báireoir (Dublin) - Posts: 80 - 29/05/2023 17:00:49    2482673

Replying To Báireoir:  "I think a draw was deserved given that we ran out of steam in the second half. Let's hope we can push on and get to the quarters, I'm starting to get some flashbacks to 2019 that I'd rather not see repeated"
I doubt there will be a repeat of that. There definitely had one eye on a quarter final against Tipp or Limerick that year. Well, you probably know the story about that ...

They should certainly have the beating of Carlow, just on the level of relative opposition both have been playing, but any failure to take this game any less seriously than if they playing any other team in the championship will mean curtains. Dr. Cullen Park will be hopping I'd say, even just as a carry one from the celebration of the McDonagh.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2524 - 29/05/2023 17:19:12    2482677

Replying To Suas Sios:  "Guys, remember there was a disputed Dublin point where hawkeye couldn't actually tell if it went over? What happened there, did they not give it? The commentary said at the time that it would be interesting if it ended a 1 point game."
Ha! I'd forgotten about that one. We couldn't have any complaints if Dublin won yesterday; sure, we fought back, but after that first half performance we deserved nothing from the game. Testament to skills of the likes of JC and a hand full of others on the team that we managed the draw but Shefflin needs to have a good think for himself.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 29/05/2023 17:50:04    2482696

Replying To Báireoir:  "I think a draw was deserved given that we ran out of steam in the second half. Let's hope we can push on and get to the quarters, I'm starting to get some flashbacks to 2019 that I'd rather not see repeated"
You're right to be wary, this 'should win' business could bite you. I remember Galway getting a big scare in Carlow some years ago. They have good ball winners and are very strong in the air.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 29/05/2023 18:07:05    2482707

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I doubt there will be a repeat of that. There definitely had one eye on a quarter final against Tipp or Limerick that year. Well, you probably know the story about that ...

They should certainly have the beating of Carlow, just on the level of relative opposition both have been playing, but any failure to take this game any less seriously than if they playing any other team in the championship will mean curtains. Dr. Cullen Park will be hopping I'd say, even just as a carry one from the celebration of the McDonagh."
Oh god don't say that....remember Portlaoise 2019.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1122 - 29/05/2023 19:18:08    2482727

BTW also I was hugely critical of the decision to move these matches to Croke Park.
The decision has been fully vindicated with 1 win and 1 draw. I guess we need to be ambitious about playing there.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1122 - 29/05/2023 19:32:28    2482730

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I doubt there will be a repeat of that. There definitely had one eye on a quarter final against Tipp or Limerick that year. Well, you probably know the story about that ...

They should certainly have the beating of Carlow, just on the level of relative opposition both have been playing, but any failure to take this game any less seriously than if they playing any other team in the championship will mean curtains. Dr. Cullen Park will be hopping I'd say, even just as a carry one from the celebration of the McDonagh."
As long as the lads aren't off playing golf like they the last time, they should be grand. I've not doubt they'll get a very tough game from Carlow though.

Báireoir (Dublin) - Posts: 80 - 29/05/2023 21:02:31    2482746

There will be a good atmasphere in Dr Cullen park. We do bring colour at least
I have a gra for Dublin Hurling, love to see them make the break through. We are still on the ceiling after winning Joe Mc. Dublin should win well but there can't be any room for slackness on Dublin part. Carlow play a very simple direct game into a very strong forward line. They are at home
It will be a great day hopefully.
Will Dublin bring much of a crowd?
If we could stay with 6- 8 points of Dublin I would be happy enough.

Blackbog (Carlow) - Posts: 704 - 29/05/2023 21:55:09    2482756

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Looked over from the Hill, and also annoyed over him blowing up when we had possession on puck out. But sure, swings and round abouts. Can't have any complaints about the way it ended up really. Probably did well to get a draw after Galway's comeback. They show good fight in fairness when tide is against them."
Well yeah, considering the Galway wides tally and their momentum going into the added time you have to be happy to get that late free to draw.

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1550 - 29/05/2023 21:55:49    2482757

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "BTW also I was hugely critical of the decision to move these matches to Croke Park.
The decision has been fully vindicated with 1 win and 1 draw. I guess we need to be ambitious about playing there."
You have a proven All Ireland winning manager there who had your team in great shape for the challenge. He's also a sound man!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 30/05/2023 13:19:59    2482875

Replying To Blackbog:  "There will be a good atmasphere in Dr Cullen park. We do bring colour at least
I have a gra for Dublin Hurling, love to see them make the break through. We are still on the ceiling after winning Joe Mc. Dublin should win well but there can't be any room for slackness on Dublin part. Carlow play a very simple direct game into a very strong forward line. They are at home
It will be a great day hopefully.
Will Dublin bring much of a crowd?
If we could stay with 6- 8 points of Dublin I would be happy enough."
Unfortunately no, it won't be anything like the footballers bring, but should be a decent crowd roaring on Carlow.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 30/05/2023 19:08:12    2483015

Very tough day for the lads on Saturday. It was always going to be very difficult to beat Clare in the GG (disgrace that a supposedly neutral 1/4 final match was fixed for there, its on the Clare border) but without Donal Burke (and Hayes) it was an impossible task.

Taking the year overall it has to looked at as a success. Its the first year under new management. It was a brave (and much criticised) move to play the home games in Croke Park but it paid off. They beat Wexford and drew with Galway and got great experience playing there . Getting out of Leinster would have been the main goal for this year. They have some very good hurlers and more added - the likes of Purcell and Considine will be ready to be starting next year.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 26/06/2023 15:25:23    2489640

Replying To bad.monkey:  "Very tough day for the lads on Saturday. It was always going to be very difficult to beat Clare in the GG (disgrace that a supposedly neutral 1/4 final match was fixed for there, its on the Clare border) but without Donal Burke (and Hayes) it was an impossible task.

Taking the year overall it has to looked at as a success. Its the first year under new management. It was a brave (and much criticised) move to play the home games in Croke Park but it paid off. They beat Wexford and drew with Galway and got great experience playing there . Getting out of Leinster would have been the main goal for this year. They have some very good hurlers and more added - the likes of Purcell and Considine will be ready to be starting next year."
I'll wager that I wouldn't be the only one to notice the irony of a Dublin supporter complaining that a supposedly neutral venue might in reality be more like a home fixture for one team than the other......

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2229 - 26/06/2023 15:34:22    2489653

Replying To Pikeman96:  "I'll wager that I wouldn't be the only one to notice the irony of a Dublin supporter complaining that a supposedly neutral venue might in reality be more like a home fixture for one team than the other......"
Let the them whinge, sure they want to split the Dublin hurlers into two !

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 26/06/2023 16:24:34    2489692

Na Fianna vs Vincents live on DubsTV this weekend. Diarmuid Connolly has been lining out corner forward for Vincents in recent league games. Crokes - Lucan on this weekend too. Hopefully D Burke and Ronan Hayes back for their clubs.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 13/07/2023 18:28:00    2494198