Tiernan Kelly 6 Month Ban- Thoughts

Replying To Greengrass:  "It does. He won't play with his club until next year. That could amount to a dozen to fifteen games. Given that his club Clann Eireann are defending senior champions in Armagh for the first time since 1963 the suspension will hurt him."
He might not have played any club football this year. He has been out of football for the past few months

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 02/07/2022 11:16:01    2429144

Replying To border Gael:  "Ban will only work if its from 1st January 2023. Its no coincidence that it was Armaghs 3rd brawl this year. So that should be taken into consideration also. The 2 who had to be scapegoats on the day should have their red cards reminded. No one else."
Should they have taken the fact it's Galway's second melee this year into account which wasn't mentioned anywhere all week? I'd say that particular game was fairly physical to put it lightly even compared to the QF game with Armagh. I don't like this thread to be honest, it's not fair on individual players. We should all move on with people accepting the bans and the media calming themselves, but it is good Kelly can play in the semi final as him and Nugent's red cards were bizarre.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 02/07/2022 11:46:45    2429150

For a gouging incident, Philly McMahon got a 1 match ban.

Donnie Smith gouged Keith Higgins and also got a 1 match ban.

Eoghan O'Gara gouged a Mayo guy in 2017 - did he get any ban?

In any of those incidents, I don't recall the following reactions:

- Front page picture in the Irish Times
- Statement by the Taoiseach
- Calls for Garda involvement by a former Minister
- Massive outpouring of internet rage

Can anyone on here who is now "disgusted" and calling the GAA "a joke" for their 6 months' ban in this instance, explain to me why 1 match bans / no bans at all were OK for those other fellas, but a 6 months ban in this incident is insufficient?

And as for all this genuflecting at the Rugby altar, get a grip, would ye? Gouging is far from uncommon in Rugby (the scrums at non-international games hide a lot, as anyone who has played the game at local club level can tell you, and the suspensions vary. In 2019, La Rochelle's Bourgarit only received a six weeks ban for eye-gouging English player Tom Curry. Rugby's a fine game, but to suggest that they're all saints and we're all sinners is incorrect.

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 239 - 02/07/2022 11:50:29    2429151

Replying To ardmhacha:  "Half a year out of football and whole club season for 3 second moment of madness is fair enough for me.
Out of interest, can you look up the bans that other players got for gouging incidents in last 10 years and share those with us so we have something to compare against? There's plenty of pics of those incidents doing the rounds so should be easy to look up. Thanks."
Chips on both shoulders and whatabouttery - that's Armagh in a nutshell.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 800 - 02/07/2022 12:13:53    2429154

Replying To ardmhacha:  "Half a year out of football and whole club season for 3 second moment of madness is fair enough for me.
Out of interest, can you look up the bans that other players got for gouging incidents in last 10 years and share those with us so we have something to compare against? There's plenty of pics of those incidents doing the rounds so should be easy to look up. Thanks."
Just going to repost this as a few seem to be ignoring it.

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 02/07/2022 12:14:28    2429155

Replying To FoolsGold:  "He was out of football as it was with a blood cloth, so probaly wouldn't have played much club football this year.

Hardly much punishment."
Blood cloth ???? . I dont't think you realise how funny this is.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 02/07/2022 12:39:01    2429163

Replying To sean og:  "Time to get over yourselves and move on."
i think we'll move on when youse up there move on.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 02/07/2022 12:41:07    2429164

Replying To mick2007:  "Time to move on, no ban would replace the anguish he has went through along with his family since the incident.. the experts and keyboard warriors that never kicked a ball in their life calling for him to be banned for years and slating him and his character should keep the mouth shut.. the same people don't even know what their local club is called never mind stand at a club game.. He's a young lad that made a terrible mistake.. fair play to his club releasing a statement which was bang on the money.."
stupid statement. this has nothing to do with football and you know it.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 02/07/2022 12:44:35    2429165

Replying To points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet:  "For a gouging incident, Philly McMahon got a 1 match ban.

Donnie Smith gouged Keith Higgins and also got a 1 match ban.

Eoghan O'Gara gouged a Mayo guy in 2017 - did he get any ban?

In any of those incidents, I don't recall the following reactions:

- Front page picture in the Irish Times
- Statement by the Taoiseach
- Calls for Garda involvement by a former Minister
- Massive outpouring of internet rage

Can anyone on here who is now "disgusted" and calling the GAA "a joke" for their 6 months' ban in this instance, explain to me why 1 match bans / no bans at all were OK for those other fellas, but a 6 months ban in this incident is insufficient?

And as for all this genuflecting at the Rugby altar, get a grip, would ye? Gouging is far from uncommon in Rugby (the scrums at non-international games hide a lot, as anyone who has played the game at local club level can tell you, and the suspensions vary. In 2019, La Rochelle's Bourgarit only received a six weeks ban for eye-gouging English player Tom Curry. Rugby's a fine game, but to suggest that they're all saints and we're all sinners is incorrect."
Two players who received bans were from Dublin.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 02/07/2022 12:50:23    2429167

The big difference in all other gouging cases the person who did it were actually playing ( still not right I may add )) this player was in the crowd and ran on to field of play ,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 02/07/2022 13:02:08    2429171

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Chips on both shoulders and whatabouttery - that's Armagh in a nutshell."
What's the answer to the question? Take your head out of the sand.

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 02/07/2022 13:03:41    2429172

Replying To ardmhacha:  "What's the answer to the question? Take your head out of the sand."
They got a few games bans as they were still playing (still not acceptable). Maybe the Armagh player got longer because he shouldn't have been on the pitch in the first instance?

As it happens the Armagh player will not miss any county games unlike the Dublin player.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 800 - 02/07/2022 13:53:04    2429181

Replying To s goldrick:  "Blood cloth ???? . I dont't think you realise how funny this is."
What? I wasn't trying to be funny

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 02/07/2022 13:53:51    2429182

His 6 months suspension needs to start when inter County football starts again in January 23 otherwise its a farce..
2 brilliant matched teams last Sunday. A brilliant match of high standard football until it got down and dirty in the tunnel.
Seeing it was Armagh s third melee this year I think it was right that Galway won in the end. I don't agree with penalties. I am Glad that Kelly got his suspension overturned when the CCC viwed it all manytimes again.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 02/07/2022 13:58:52    2429187

Replying To ardmhacha:  "What's the answer to the question? Take your head out of the sand."
A fair question and I'm not too sure. James Mccarthy was cited for eye gouging Martin McEllhinny of Donegal a few years ago and I remember Jim Gavin saying it was an unfair allegation. Not sure what his punishment was but I don't think any player ever got 6 months for eye gouging. Maybe because Kelly was nt part of the team was a factor too. However it is a disgusting act that if it was done to my sons I would want revenge and if my sons did it I would say they deserve everything they get.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 02/07/2022 14:07:59    2429191

Replying To Greengrass:  "It does. He won't play with his club until next year. That could amount to a dozen to fifteen games. Given that his club Clann Eireann are defending senior champions in Armagh for the first time since 1963 the suspension will hurt him."
Good. He won't run onto a pitch again in a hurry when it doesn't involve him.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 02/07/2022 14:17:21    2429193

Replying To Kickitout:  "The big difference in all other gouging cases the person who did it were actually playing ( still not right I may add )) this player was in the crowd and ran on to field of play ,,"
Sorry I didn't realise there was different levels of gouging punishment. He was a squad player, he hardly ran on from the crowd to attack a player. Are you sure there's not harsher repercussions for wee 6 players/teams when things get nasty?

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 02/07/2022 14:17:45    2429194

Replying To Galway9801:  "Are we sure of that though?
Is it that act he regrets, or the subsequent criticism? Had the cameras not caught the eye gouge, and it had gone in noticed I reckon he wouldn't have given a damn tbh.
I think philly McMahon is right, too much hollow virtue signalling going on around this issue. 99% of us who are feigning outrage over these incidents probably enjoyed watching them."
I think everyone will agree with me when I say no-one cares what Philly Mcmahon says or thinks.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 887 - 02/07/2022 14:34:29    2429203

Bans should always be about being punished and missing games not periods of time which often mean very little, I've always held to that opinion. The lad has obviously acted out of character and some of the d**ks castigating him and his family online should take themselves off. If this was to happen in any of the 2 hurling semi finals this weekend it would be dismissed as a tough, manly face off and heartily laughed and dismissed by the hurling fraternity, most of the media and a majority of posters on here. We all know this because it's happened time and time again. The hypocrisy and double standards are just nauseating.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9701 - 02/07/2022 14:39:20    2429204

Replying To ardmhacha:  "Sorry I didn't realise there was different levels of gouging punishment. He was a squad player, he hardly ran on from the crowd to attack a player. Are you sure there's not harsher repercussions for wee 6 players/teams when things get nasty?"
The biggest surprise is that Armagh are not appealing it, very out of character.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 800 - 02/07/2022 14:56:17    2429209