Galway Football Team 2009

I admit Bradshaw is ok, Nothing special though...Might improve!!!

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 30/09/2008 22:43:00    111542

Well i'm not an expert sammy but i know i have belief in this team, it is with these guys we have the biggest chance of winning an all ireland with a bit of hardwork, confidence, experience and a decent bench. The only thing i agree with you on is that Cullinane is not our answer hense the An-Other i have in midfield. Maybe your club Na Breathna can give us the answer to the midfield problem??

galwayfan (None) - Posts: 764 - 01/10/2008 08:33:43    111616

What club is that Galway Fan???? The only midfielder I liked this year was O'Brien from Carraroe, Roasted Cullinnane on numerous occasions!! But then again , did he even get a chance on the Under 21, As far as I know The Breathna has a problem at midfield themselves!!! What about your own Club???? Any thing stirring there??? Or are yee seinor at all??

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 01/10/2008 17:04:23    112149

Galway team to win back Sam:
1. Doherty
2. Meehan
3. Hanley
4. Burke
5. Bradshaw
6. Blake
7. Sice
8. Bergin
9. Cullinane
10. Clancy
11. Joyce
12. Conroy
13. Martyn
14. Meehan
15. Armstrong

rabwot (Mayo) - Posts: 31 - 01/10/2008 17:51:21    112180

Yeah, A Mayo man would be delighted to see that lot!!!! If I ever needed proof, I have it now!!!

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 01/10/2008 19:39:16    112215

SEAN ARMSTRONG!!!!!!
u's havta give him a chance. Bring back Donnellan!

cdl (Down) - Posts: 41 - 01/10/2008 22:58:06    112304

As you well know Sammy at the start of this season your posts were fully pro na breathna and nothing else, no other club existed in conamara are far as you were concernd, best club in conamara, giving an spiddal lads stupid, ignorant comments after them beating na breathna fairly in the comortas, all that nonsence. Plus i've chatted to a good few of na breathna players over the summer and a few of them have a certain idea of who you are and are ashamed of you having any part in their club.

To answer your last question and to show how imature you really are - you don't have to be from a senior club to be a county player, ie fiachra breatnach, paul conroy, matty clancy, bradshaw&clancy(last year), coyne, collerans(when they were in spiddal) eddie hoare, gottche.
do you think that because these guys are not from a senior club that they don't have the same entitlement as you being from a senior club!!

As you can see in previous posts i praise O'Brien highly but i also think as he is only 19 that senior intercounty is a bit to soon for him, maybe in two years time.

galwayfan (None) - Posts: 764 - 02/10/2008 13:08:55    112608

John Keaveney glenamaddy's full back couuld be worth a mention for corner back position. Exceptionally tight marker, was full back for co. minors 3 years ago. Conssistently excellent for his club this year and last year. He missed intermediate semi final due to ilness i think. Im only throwing names out there so dont tear it to pieces.

North_Board_Nut (Galway) - Posts: 110 - 02/10/2008 19:18:24    112904

some players that should have a look in this year:
Roche, Martyn - cortoon
Skelly, Murphy - caherlistrane
Higgins - Corofin
Cillin de paor, M o'brian - carraroe
Kelly-claregalway
costello - Ml Breathnachs
fahy, Hughes - Killererin
Murphy -Tuam

any more?

galwaymaster11 (Galway) - Posts: 55 - 19/10/2008 19:20:31    122061

How about the following A and B panel selections for 09....

A. Panel B. Panel

1. B Donoghue 1. P. Doherty
2. M. Comer 2. G. Delaney
3. F. Hanley 3. D. Finnegan
4. D. Burke 4. K. McGrath
5. G. Sice 5. Tomas Crowe
6. G. Bradshaw 6. David Reilly (Menlough)
7. D. Mullahy 7. Tom Fahy
8. B. Cullinane 8. G. Higgins
9. J.Bergin 9. M. Lydon
10. D. Dunleavy 10. Greg Rogan
11. P. Joyce 11. M. Gottche
12. N. Joyce 12. E. Hoare
13. M. Clancy 13. David Warde
14. M. Meehan 14. Eoin Concannon
15. S. Armstrong 15. M. Martin

16. D.Blake 16. P. Skelly
17. N.Coyne 17. Cillin de Paor
18. P. Conroy 18. M. O'Brien
19. F.Breathnach 19. P. O Faherta (Leitirmor)
20. G O Donnell 20. M. Coady (Oughterard)
21. K.Fitzgerald 21. Damien Reilly (Oughterard)
22. C Bane 22. N. Coleman

Brendan Bowens (Galway) - Posts: 164 - 22/10/2008 19:09:29    124433

REPLY glencoosan

Will i throw in the "B" team so will i?? Average age of that team is 24- 25 or so and ran kerry close and will improve next year with experience and you tell me to change the team more than i have. go back to bed will ya.

Galway fan, no need to tell me to go back to bed, simply giving my opinion on the team you posted. You are probably right in that there are the best thats available, i just dont think they will do any better than they did this year. Also i wouldnt put much store in the they will improve next year with experience theory. Apart from Conroy, Bradshaw and flaherty the bulk of that team have been around the block for a while now.

glencoosan (None) - Posts: 90 - 23/10/2008 10:15:47    124713

Brendan Bowens- a ridiculous team.

Milky (None) - Posts: 98 - 23/10/2008 18:09:33    125383

Firstly am a big Galway fan am not saying this to insult ye. Brilliantly talented natural footballers all over the field. Not enough though. Ye have to start to make yerselves difficult to beat. Get the numbers back and make it hard to shoot and score. When Declan O Sullivan soloes down the field towards goal he gets hit . There is nothing wrong with tackling in numbers. No point in playin the beautiful game and losin boys!

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6177 - 23/10/2008 19:44:24    125445

Milky
Whats so ridiculous about the two panels i posted?

Brendan Bowens (Galway) - Posts: 164 - 24/10/2008 13:30:30    125854

1) M. Comer and Damien Burke, not good enough. Fitzy is miles ahead (granted hes not spectacular!).
2) Eoin Concannon! Whats that about? He hasnt played well since u'16!!
3) Niall Coleman last sub on the B Panel? Now we know youre having a laugh!
4) Cormac Bane?
5) Why replace Doherty in goal? Especially with a man who isnt fantastic and hasnt played in 2 years.
6) P. O Faherta?? Whats he doing there?
7) What did Coyne and Blake do on ya?
8) Dunleavys good but weve better!

Milky (None) - Posts: 98 - 24/10/2008 14:32:23    125940

Milky
Whats your first 15 so?

Brendan Bowens (Galway) - Posts: 164 - 24/10/2008 16:00:08    126058

Doherty
Fitz
Hanley
Coyne
D. Meehan
Bradshaw (This I'll agree on!)
Blake/Mullaghy
Bergin
Hoare (Possibly Cullinane)
A.N. Other of Conroy, M. Clancy, Coleman or Armstrong (depending on form)
P Joyce
N. Joyce
Bane
M. Meehan
M. Martin

I'm aware Blake would be better in the centre but I see Bradshaw as the long term holder of the no. 6 shirt. I'd also be willing to experiment with Bergin or Hoare in at 14.

Milky (None) - Posts: 98 - 24/10/2008 17:36:36    126161

brendan bowens you clearly know nothing about galway football and milky niall coleman doesn't deserve to be near the C panel never mind the B

homer- (None) - Posts: 105 - 24/10/2008 18:31:16    126199

Galwayfan, You are talking nonsense as usual..You have no idea who I am! Nor does any other player from Brathna or anywhere else! Not that I would care anyway! And all those so called great non seinor players you just named...What have they won? Dont be writing big long posts, full of rubbish good man! The recession is bad enough, without having to be listening to people like you!!! Give us a break!

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 24/10/2008 22:45:33    126285

And Galway fan...Please leave out the CLancys...They played seinor for their clubs!!! You can say what you want about the Collerans, Hoares, Breathnach, Coynes...Will be a long time waiting for that lot to win anything!!!And also please dont be going around pretending you have some kind of inside information on what Breathna players...From what Ive heard of the Breathna lads, they are not little old women that go around talking behind peoples backs to eejits like you! If they wanted to say anything to a supporter or anyone else, they would say it personally, so please dont be insulting the lads!
Now go and talk to someone from your own LITTLE club, and dont be annoying me or sending in untruthful remarks about knowing who I am or where I am from!!

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 24/10/2008 22:56:24    126286