1) A.Fatherty galwayfan (None) - Posts: 764 - 26/09/2008 12:10:07 108500 Link 0 |
Very good prediction !.I can still see barry being left in midfield for another year though. G.McCarthy (Galway) - Posts: 10 - 26/09/2008 15:21:30 108855 Link 0 |
In fairness that is a good team, definitely Barry at 9, he was a lot better this year than he is being given credit for. That team on its day and if it gets a bit tougher is good enough to beat Tyrone or Kerry! Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 419 - 26/09/2008 15:51:50 108930 Link 0 |
galwayfan ten of the 14 players you named played against Kerry, 2 of them came on and Nicky would have played if fit, not much point in sending out the same agian and hope it works. glencoosan (None) - Posts: 90 - 26/09/2008 16:17:42 108968 Link 0 |
I disagree with "glencoosan". That Kerry team has been playing together for years and it was their experience that saw them through against Galway. That's a newish Galway team and Id keep the core of it together and hope that we will uncover a few more players. We are not that far off, just need to up our game a bit and need only a few more players to come through. Conroy, Lydon, Bradshaw will improve, Hanly is getting better and better, Dohertys kickouts and understanding with midfield will improve, Sice should improve,Cullinane might improve a bit espec under Sammon, Bergin will be available and fitter, we are not too far off at all. Just need a bit of luck!! Sammon is our ace card, he is one of the few men in Ireland who has Micky Hartes knowledge of football and he can and will improve those players Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 419 - 26/09/2008 16:58:47 109020 Link 0 |
not sure about that half back line .ye should give bradshaw a run at midfield maigh_eo (Mayo) - Posts: 1346 - 26/09/2008 18:43:04 109093 Link 0 |
1 - Doherty KK (Galway) - Posts: 29 - 27/09/2008 12:30:59 109283 Link 0 |
REPLY glencoosan galwayfan (None) - Posts: 764 - 29/09/2008 13:14:55 110145 Link 0 |
the likes of MIchael Martyn and Damien Reddington would be worth a look in the league, Martyn expecially. aidangalway (Galway) - Posts: 648 - 29/09/2008 15:37:14 110330 Link 0 |
1) A.Fatherty mowtastic (Galway) - Posts: 98 - 29/09/2008 21:28:09 110615 Link 0 |
1) A.Fatherty SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 30/09/2008 00:07:07 110740 Link 0 |
niall coleman wing back sammy the man gives away enough frees from midfield or wing forward, i think bradshaw has proved himself to be top club footballer and easily deserves a place in this side after his perfomances for both moycullen and galway, also mullaghy is another top player you've left out and i have to say a cullinane bergin midfield will pose serious question to any team lookin to wing possession from kickouts and mike has proved himself as a top class full forward. Couldn't agree more though about the two corner backs fitzy is only in the team on reputation and damien burke just can't defend- new faces maybe o donovan from corofin or warde from cortoon, also was very impressed with gary o donnell for nuig and i've heard he's a galway man homer- (None) - Posts: 105 - 30/09/2008 10:38:01 110858 Link 0 |
sammy on another post you say all we need is midfielders, now we need to fill half the outfield positions, what do you really believe? otto (Galway) - Posts: 189 - 30/09/2008 10:59:50 110880 Link 0 |
galwayfan (None) - Posts: 764 - 30/09/2008 11:37:38 110914 Link 0 |
Great Help lads, I knew this would be your answer!! God you are so predictable!! Some helpful comments please, from those who know something about the game!!!Or do we have to let the Cup go up north again next year!!If Kerry won , we wouldn't have looked so bad!! They only beat us by what???? 6 or seven points!! SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 30/09/2008 12:39:20 110981 Link 0 |
Sorry, Homer, I did not include you , A few more suggestions like yours Homer, is what is needed on this site!! New names, new ideas, and I think them lads you mentioned, should defnitley be looked at!! SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 30/09/2008 12:45:52 110990 Link 0 |
Otto, You asked a question, so you deserve an answer!!! What do I really believe? I would change the whole 15 if I could get a better 15!!! I thought that's what selectors are there for!!! If you put in a light bulb and it dont work, throw it away!!! SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 30/09/2008 12:58:39 111012 Link 0 |
Fill your blanks on your team Sammy. If you can't, then stay away from this thread. If you know alot more about galway footballers than we do then surely you must know some exceptional players to fill those blanks!!!! galwayfan (None) - Posts: 764 - 30/09/2008 12:59:28 111015 Link 0 |
Not saying I know more than anyone, But I know we aren't winning anything!!!! I always thought you were the expert!!! Now I have no intention of staying away from the Thread!!! Are you used to telling people what to do??? SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 30/09/2008 19:57:14 111428 Link 0 |
maybe we are missing 6 players but a replacement for gareth bradshaw isnt one of them.one of the 3 best players for galway this year and just gone 21 years of age. so sammythebull cop on would you.. catch the ball (None) - Posts: 90 - 30/09/2008 22:19:51 111525 Link 0 |