Non-Gaa Forum

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Facile Vega being backed like it can't lose. Going to watch after the "recent blip" as you put it. Hopefully the Mullins horses go well as an indication of what to expect tomorrow from Impaire. There's been a few quid for Gaelic Warrior and Champ Kiely too, but the vibes from them is that Impaire is a good bit ahead of both. Townend didn;t have to spend a minute choosing, Hermes was impressive last time, so between them two.

I Like To Move It let me down big time time before last. Unpredictable but could well run into a place. Bookies only going 2 places and he's only 2/1 to be in first three on exchanges which is not great value. Going to watch what ought to be a canter for the Henderson horse."
Hmm I've done my usual and began doubting everything afetr reading a few online articles this morning. Facile Vega apparently went off too fast last time out but I've heard a few different people doubting that as a plausible excuse. I'm edging more towards an e/w bet now in the first. Tahmuras might be a contender.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9133 - 14/03/2023 12:44:31    2463872

Replying To streaker:  "Best of luck..
For the record, I quite fancy Tahmuras to cause an upset in the first.
And Jamie Codd to save the day (again) on Chemical Energy in the last..."
Tahmuras will be a good guide to the relative strengths of the Mullins hurdlers v the top English novice hurdlers. Be ominous for the Brits, other than CH, for the rest of the week if Tahmuras doesn't go close.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2554 - 14/03/2023 13:26:49    2463881

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "What good ideas have SF on housing?

There are more than 40,000 people officially homeless in north where they've been part of running for 20 years. housing in Dublin city is dominated by high rise one and two bed build to rents approved while they were biggest party and their spokesperson supports a 25,000 cap on new builds to prevent "climate change"!

They only look good in comparison to what's there now, God help us."
SF has not been "part of running" the North, as you put it. Nobody in or from the North actually runs the North. Stormont has less powers than an average county council. And the place can be paralysed simply by one party walking out (as the DUP currently is doing, in a protest about checks on sausages etc affecting their cultural identity). All real decisions are taken by London.

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 239 - 14/03/2023 13:49:15    2463889

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Hmm I've done my usual and began doubting everything afetr reading a few online articles this morning. Facile Vega apparently went off too fast last time out but I've heard a few different people doubting that as a plausible excuse. I'm edging more towards an e/w bet now in the first. Tahmuras might be a contender."
Tamhuras was nowhere! Ha, tis some craic.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9133 - 14/03/2023 13:50:23    2463890

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I don't know about that, but it will pose interesting issues around the claiming of child benefits. Watch that space.

As for evictions, it is a terrible situation to be in and there are no doubt hard cases. There are also cases of people not paying rent, ever, and treating the place they stay - either a private rented accommodation or a local authority house - and their unfortunate neighbours - with disrespect. You can't give people like that a free life pass."
Other countries, such as Germany, have lifetime (20+ years) tenancy, pegged to CPI, as a matter of course.

In 2011/12, I was paying a king's ransom for an apt in Foxrock, with my wife and new first baby, when the place was NAMA-ed and handed over to NAMA. We had to leave inside a month, despite paying our rent on the nail every month and despite the place being left in show-room condition. For 2 months we lived in a variety of hotels with a newborn. White collar homeless.

It was why I woke up one morning, said "**** this"" and moved back up North.

The South is in the pocket of property developers, and there isn't a single FF/FG politicians with the spine to call it.

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 239 - 14/03/2023 13:57:28    2463893

Connell's Good Land now being gambled on for Ballymore. He said both Marine and that one would win. Still confident enough about Impaire.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2554 - 14/03/2023 13:59:43    2463894

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Yes. If the far left was to take power here. Do you ever read or listen to what they want to do? Not talking about the Shinners now, but the ones they want to go into government with.

Of course if they do go into government it will be more likely with one of the current other big parties. So either a disastrously huge change, or no change :-) Look at the north. They even gave up on their main objective to get into Stormont."
What far left? There are a small handful of cranks with out-of-date haircuts and naïve ideas about Russia, but they don't amount to anything.

The South should be much more concerned about its growing band of hard-right ultra-nationalist parties. They're in cahoots with the US and British far right, and they see Ireland as fertile ground for their particular brand of hate.

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 239 - 14/03/2023 14:02:20    2463895

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "
Replying To GreenandRed:  "LGFA transgender policy.

link"
The world has gone mad imo. fair play to them women for speaking out."
LGFA needs disbanded and women's football brought into the GAA. If I saw a bald bloke marking my daughter, I'd deck him.

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 239 - 14/03/2023 14:03:58    2463897

Replying To points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet:  "What far left? There are a small handful of cranks with out-of-date haircuts and naïve ideas about Russia, but they don't amount to anything.

The South should be much more concerned about its growing band of hard-right ultra-nationalist parties. They're in cahoots with the US and British far right, and they see Ireland as fertile ground for their particular brand of hate.
."
The far left and all of the parties in Leinster House apart from Aontú share exactly the same positions on all of the main "social" issues.

Are you claiming that Aontú are hard right? The only party I know of here who has gotten large amounts of money and other assistance from the US is Sinn Féin, which was once of course an "ultra-nationalist" party before it took the soup.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2554 - 14/03/2023 15:13:05    2463905

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Tamhuras was nowhere! Ha, tis some craic."
Disappointing run..
Constitution Hill is an absolute force of nature. A pleasure to watch.

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 497 - 14/03/2023 15:48:29    2463910

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "The far left and all of the parties in Leinster House apart from Aontú share exactly the same positions on all of the main "social" issues.

Are you claiming that Aontú are hard right? The only party I know of here who has gotten large amounts of money and other assistance from the US is Sinn Féin, which was once of course an "ultra-nationalist" party before it took the soup."
Is there a sliding scale where political parties are gauged between hard right and hard left? I think it depends on where you are and how you view things. The KKK are fairly far right but some might't see them the same way. Tony Gregory was a socialist, a great man who did a lot of good when some influence landed in his lap. I usually vote for the candidate and not the party. Ian Paisley looked after all his constituents apparently . Some Irish farmers don't like the Greens. So if it's he/she/them, right wing/ left wing/midfield, if they're doing a good job and not provoking too many people I'll give them some preference.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 14/03/2023 15:56:04    2463912

Go on the Honeysuckle! Didn't back her this time but great way for one of the great horses to end their career. And no harm to take a bit of the limelight away from the new pretender :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2554 - 14/03/2023 16:28:58    2463920

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Connell's Good Land now being gambled on for Ballymore. He said both Marine and that one would win. Still confident enough about Impaire."
In fairness to him he doesn't try to be the cute Hoor.
Clearly has confidence in his horses and isn't afraid to say it.
Delighted for him, and particularly happy for young O'Sullivan.
Good day for the Irish and punters in general. Now let's just hope for 3 more :-)

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 497 - 14/03/2023 19:42:44    2463953

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Go on the Honeysuckle! Didn't back her this time but great way for one of the great horses to end their career. And no harm to take a bit of the limelight away from the new pretender :-)"
It was great to see even if it scuppered my bet. I didn't think there was much left in her. I was anticipating a game effort, perhaps a place after giving the new pretender a fright. Fair play to Rachael Blackmore too.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9133 - 15/03/2023 09:06:17    2463969

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Is there a sliding scale where political parties are gauged between hard right and hard left? I think it depends on where you are and how you view things. The KKK are fairly far right but some might't see them the same way. Tony Gregory was a socialist, a great man who did a lot of good when some influence landed in his lap. I usually vote for the candidate and not the party. Ian Paisley looked after all his constituents apparently . Some Irish farmers don't like the Greens. So if it's he/she/them, right wing/ left wing/midfield, if they're doing a good job and not provoking too many people I'll give them some preference."
The KKK are not a political party.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2460 - 15/03/2023 10:03:46    2463974

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "The KKK are not a political party."
No one said they were.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 15/03/2023 10:52:46    2463984

Replying To oneoff:  "No one said they were."
"Is there a sliding scale where political parties are gauged between hard right and hard left? I think it depends on where you are and how you view things. The KKK are fairly far right..."

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2460 - 15/03/2023 10:59:18    2463985

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""Is there a sliding scale where political parties are gauged between hard right and hard left? I think it depends on where you are and how you view things. The KKK are fairly far right...""
Where does it say they're calling the KKK a political party?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 15/03/2023 12:03:33    2463999

Whooooooo :-)

Dublin hurlers winning the all Ireland might be slightly better :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2554 - 15/03/2023 13:41:10    2464035

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "The KKK are not a political party."
Nor farmers either.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 15/03/2023 14:11:31    2464040