Non-Gaa Forum

GAA fans are easily the most broad-minded - we tend to like all sorts of sports. I'm a typical GAA fan, in that I love Gaelic games, but also follow world soccer (European and S American club teams, and I've been a fan of the German squad since I first saw them play in 1974 - Beckenbauer! Gerd Müller! - when all the adults were banging on about Brazil. But I always admired the great will to win the Germans have - long before the competition even starts, they always book hotel accommodation in the city in which the world cup final will be played, as they expect to be there - gotta love that confidence), and also watch rugby.

By contrast, Irish sports fans who primarily follow premiership soccer tend to despise the GAA. I know, I lived in Dublin for 15 years, and met plenty of them. "Bog ball / muck savages / stick fighting", and other hilarious quips from them. Irish sports fans who primarily follow rugby are not usually hostile to the GAA; they just (in Dublin at any rate) tend to have zero knowledge of / little to no interest in GAA. As for poshness, it does exist in Dublin rugby circles - remember, when rugby was played at Croke Park while Lansdowne Rd was being refurbished, the Irish Times published a map in its sports pages, so that Irish rugby fans could find their way to Croke Park lol. In a Mon 24 Feb 2020 Irish Times article on the Leinster Schools Senior Cup, former international referee Owen Doyle described his disgust at what he saw on the stands during school matches. He said there were chants from some groups of supporters, such as "your father works for my father" and "we pay fees" …

Obviously, this kind of posh boorishness isn't an issue in Munster, Connaught and Ulster. And there's always been more cross-community playing in Ulster than you'd think. In the off-season, plenty of the physically smaller GAA lads turn out for local semi-pro soccer teams, Peter Canavan being a notable one (apparently, he was a deadly free taker too); and the bigger GAA lads often turn out for local rugby clubs. In Ulster though, GAA folk generally do not go to rugby matches; and the Donegal poster is right - the rugby does not feature v highly on our radars up here. Nobody chats about it. You might watch a big rugby match on TV, but the fact that GAA players themselves are keen to play rugby in the GAA off season has never translated into wider going-to-actual-games interest among GAA fans up North.
points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 20 - 19/07/2022 14:18:19

Rugby never had a rule banning members because they played other sports.
Very little to suggest GAA fans are most broad minded. Not sure what sport if any can be considered that.
Saying fans who tend to support premiership dislike GAA isnt really true now. What exactly do you define as posh anyway? Those issues you describe arent an issue in most of Leinster either. The Leinster schools cup gets a lot of coverage but its only 16 teams at junior and senior level and then another 16 in the qualifying cups(vinnie murray/godfrey cups) and many more of these are now non fee paying schools and from "non traditional schools".

Rugby is a great sport when it's played well. I wouldn't even profess to know all of the rules in great detail but I enjoy watching it. During the last World Cup in Japan I was on holidays in the south of Spain. It was great craic heading to the Irish pub for a big fry and a few pints. The games were all on early with the time difference so there were a lot of other lads in the same boat, a few scoops early in the day watching the sport then off to the beach for a wee siesta! Hard to beat!

It would be fantastic if the Irish team can bring their current form into the World Cup next year. History has shown that we've been incapable of doing it though. It would be a fitting culmination to the great Johnny Sexton's career if we could go all the way.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 7915 - 19/07/2022 14:27:39
Laws arent that difficult and its far more simple than some make it out to be. Hopefully the team can do well into world cup....

I'd imagine a great many Irish men take pleasure in watching England lose at whatever sport,

I'm suprised you are still on this forum tbh, you were complaining enough about how it's outdated and poorly moderated some time ago.
Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2103 - 19/07/2022 14:47:09

why would you? Theres lot more better and bigger sides than England to be concerned with in a lot of sports. Like its ridiculous so many kids here focus on trying to make it in soccer in england and never really bother look to try make it with clubs on the continent.

Nothing more than a glorified friendly… Don't get carried away….come back when we beat them in the World Cup…. Good lad

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 896 - 19/07/2022 15:29:18
Rugby treats these games as more than friendlies. Its a simple concept. you dont grasp that. thats fine but in rugby these games are a lot more than friendlies.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3505 - 19/07/2022 17:46:05    2432998

Replying To gilly1910:  "Seriously why comment at all, if your only aim is to degrade what is a truly remarkable achievement by an Irish side? Only two other teams had ever beaten the All_Blacks there in a three-Test series, South Africa in 1937 and Australia in 1986, with France taking a two-Test series in 1994. They hadn't lost two successive home games since 1998. Only one Lions side, the legendary 1971 outfit, has ever beaten the All Blacks, and yet some people on here are obsessed with trying to make out that this was only a 'friendly', I seriously doubt the All-Blacks would have had the record that they do, if these games were only friendlies, and anybody who has ever played rugby will know that there is no such a thing as a friendly game. Yes the World Cup is the barometer for any side, and unfortunately for us we are in an absolute stinker of a group with New-Zealand or France awaiting us in the Quarter finals next year, so yes there is every chance that our horrendous record of never getting past the quarter finals may continue on after the next World Cup. However what this amazing win in New-Zealand has done is prove that this is undoubtedly the greatest ever Irish side ever, and they should go into the next World Cup full of confidence, and knowing that they can beat anyone."
I'm in no way whatsoever trying to degrade what has been achieved in any way at all. As my posts have asked how much will this really matter for if we can't transfer these results and form into trophies? IF we do brutal in the world cup and get a licking from new Zealand are we just going to live off this test win as the pinnacle for Irish Rugby?
I'd love Ireland do show well at the world cup and win it, but is there not a case for just seeing these test results for what they are? That's all I'm saying.
You have to follow them up and win silverware.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1907 - 19/07/2022 18:08:07    2433002

Replying To KillingFields:  "It's a little sad that your only sporting interests are gaa football and shouting for anyone playing against england. I'd say if your poll was held anywhere south of Donegal it would be closer to 60% with a passing interest plus another 20% with enough interest to pay to view it.
3/4 kids from u14, u16 and minor teams in my gaa club also play rugby, and they trive on it. And are the ones you can pencil in to establish themselves at senior the earliest.
Where as kids playing soccer would break your heart with feigning injuries and mouthing to refs.
Open those eyes, you'll be amazed what's beyond.
cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 149 - 19/07/2022 15:26:36 2432960

Id call it pathetic as much as sad. But you do go a bit cliched about the soccer ....

Nothing more than a glorified friendly… Don't get carried away….come back when we beat them in the World Cup…. Good lad

New Zealanders didnt treat it as a friendly. Only people who seem to be calling it a friendly are some soccer and GAA fans here?
yet all the rugby fans, players, media and genuine sports fans call it what it was. an excellent high standard international test series of matches"
How do you know what NewZealand did… I'd say it won't worry them too much… Just a friendly.. Come back when we beat them in the World Cup where it matters…. That's a good lad…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1920 - 19/07/2022 19:48:37    2433012

Replying To Saynothing:  "
Replying To supersub15:  "It's arguably Irelands greatest sporting moment for those that want it to be, but it is not for those who don't want it to be, simple as.

I see it as Irelands greatest ever "Field" sporting moment in victory, absolutely.

When Ronnie Delaney 21 he won Gold for Ireland by winning the 1500 mtrs in the Melbourne Olympics, that was a track event in athletics. It was still Irelands greatest sporting moment.

Likewise when Katie Taylor won her multiple world title fights in the ring, they were also Irelands greatest sporting moment, at boxing.

Michelle Smith won 5 Gold Olympic medals at swimming, for a short period of time that too was Irelands greatest sporting moment.

So there are four different sporting events and there are more that Ireland were supreme at, so how can greatness be measured at the highest level between different sports when they were / are all great. Is it measured by opinion or by qualification.?"
Now ye can't count Michelle Smith. I know she wasn't stripped of her medals but she spent most of her time tampering with samples. Ye didn't mention Stephen Roach, Dennis Taylor Ken Doherty, Barry Mc Guigan and many golfers except Graeme Mc Dowell, he would sicken your happiness."
Michelle Smith won 5 Gold Olympic medals at swimming, "for a short period of time" that too was Irelands greatest sporting moment.

So there are four different sporting events and "there are more that Ireland were supreme at", so how can greatness be measured at the highest level between different sports when they were / are all great.

I decided to choose four different sporting competitions where four different participants were victorious at the highest level, I carefully added "there are more that Ireland were supreme at"

Rory McIlroy is one of them and deserves a creditable mention. So that is five different sporting greats that excelled at five different sports at the highest level, five is not bad for our small little country.

Why was Michelle Smith not stripped of her medals.?

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 19/07/2022 21:13:20    2433020

Replying To supersub15:  "
Replying To Saynothing:  "[quote=supersub15:  "It's arguably Irelands greatest sporting moment for those that want it to be, but it is not for those who don't want it to be, simple as.

I see it as Irelands greatest ever "Field" sporting moment in victory, absolutely.

When Ronnie Delaney 21 he won Gold for Ireland by winning the 1500 mtrs in the Melbourne Olympics, that was a track event in athletics. It was still Irelands greatest sporting moment.

Likewise when Katie Taylor won her multiple world title fights in the ring, they were also Irelands greatest sporting moment, at boxing.

Michelle Smith won 5 Gold Olympic medals at swimming, for a short period of time that too was Irelands greatest sporting moment.

So there are four different sporting events and there are more that Ireland were supreme at, so how can greatness be measured at the highest level between different sports when they were / are all great. Is it measured by opinion or by qualification.?"
Now ye can't count Michelle Smith. I know she wasn't stripped of her medals but she spent most of her time tampering with samples. Ye didn't mention Stephen Roach, Dennis Taylor Ken Doherty, Barry Mc Guigan and many golfers except Graeme Mc Dowell, he would sicken your happiness."
Michelle Smith won 5 Gold Olympic medals at swimming, "for a short period of time" that too was Irelands greatest sporting moment.

So there are four different sporting events and "there are more that Ireland were supreme at", so how can greatness be measured at the highest level between different sports when they were / are all great.

I decided to choose four different sporting competitions where four different participants were victorious at the highest level, I carefully added "there are more that Ireland were supreme at"

Rory McIlroy is one of them and deserves a creditable mention. So that is five different sporting greats that excelled at five different sports at the highest level, five is not bad for our small little country.

Why was Michelle Smith not stripped of her medals.?"]Michelle Smith never tested positive for any banned substances
There were tonnes of allegations about her vast improvement prior to games especially by americans as she managed to beat one of their big medal hopes but she only got a ban for tampering with a sample

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3505 - 20/07/2022 09:43:32    2433043

Replying To supersub15:  "
Replying To Saynothing:  "[quote=supersub15:  "It's arguably Irelands greatest sporting moment for those that want it to be, but it is not for those who don't want it to be, simple as.

Why was Michelle Smith not stripped of her medals.?"]She only won 3 gold medals. She wasn't stripped of the Olympic medals, because she passed all her dope tests at the time. She was eventually suspended after the 'whiskey in the jar' episode of January '98, and not after actually testing positive 'officially' at any point in proceedings.

I would say she was not stripped of her medals, because she never failed a dope test. That would seem like a good reason not to strip her medals.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3418 - 20/07/2022 10:17:21    2433050

Replying To gilly1910:  "Seriously why comment at all, if your only aim is to degrade what is a truly remarkable achievement by an Irish side? Only two other teams had ever beaten the All_Blacks there in a three-Test series, South Africa in 1937 and Australia in 1986, with France taking a two-Test series in 1994. They hadn't lost two successive home games since 1998. Only one Lions side, the legendary 1971 outfit, has ever beaten the All Blacks, and yet some people on here are obsessed with trying to make out that this was only a 'friendly', I seriously doubt the All-Blacks would have had the record that they do, if these games were only friendlies, and anybody who has ever played rugby will know that there is no such a thing as a friendly game. Yes the World Cup is the barometer for any side, and unfortunately for us we are in an absolute stinker of a group with New-Zealand or France awaiting us in the Quarter finals next year, so yes there is every chance that our horrendous record of never getting past the quarter finals may continue on after the next World Cup. However what this amazing win in New-Zealand has done is prove that this is undoubtedly the greatest ever Irish side ever, and they should go into the next World Cup full of confidence, and knowing that they can beat anyone."
It's just not a great all black side though. There's no Micheal Jones or Lomu or McCaw or Carter etc. They've a bit of a journeyman look about them right now, imo. This young lad Jordan looks like he could have more of the traditional special all black talent about him alright, but that's about it. Who's going to have sleepless nights about facing the Barretts?

At the last World Cup, NZ lost 19-7 to England, and England lost 32-12 to South Africa, at the business end of the competition. No need to expand on those stark facts.

When I was young, Ireland did not beat the All-Blacks anywhere. We've now beaten them FIVE times in less than 6 years. Yet we're being spun a silly narrative that NZ are no1 etc. If they're no1, we'll see it in France at the World Cup. The suspicion is that they're not no1. They didn't look no1 at the 2019 world cup, and they didn't look no1 in the recent 3 match series against Ireland either.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3418 - 20/07/2022 10:39:26    2433061

Replying To KillingFields:  "Back in the real world the sporting public would also disagree with it being our greatest sporting moment. It is a great achievement and within rugby circles they might see as their sports biggest achievement but it isn't Ireland's greatest sporting moment overall. The Independent is a rugby paper in my opinion so I can understand why they'll market this success as much as possible.
sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 930 - 17/07/2022 20:31:05

Jesus the use of a phrase by a few people has triggered some response and people wonder why rugby gets so much media attention....

well when small tiny inconsequential things like this blow up like this then .....

It is a great achievement. its one of irelands great sporting moments but saying the greatest ever is a bit much despite how tough a challenge it is to complete.
the independent isnt a rugby paper at all. far from it. covers GAA. soccer as much if not more.

The ultimate top level of the sport.

Where should the 6 Nations and World Cup be ranked then?

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3664 - 17/07/2022 11:50:47
these are test matches. the world cup is only 35 years old. the only times we used to play New Zealand, South Africa etc before 1987 was in test matches so yes this level is the ultimate level of the game. these tests against the very best are up there on a par/close to the 6nations/world cup. they are test matches just like 6 nations and world cup matches are test matches

Sweeney today in Independent describes the series win as Ireland's greatest sporting moment.
A great achievement yes, but surely not the greatest moment in our sporting history....
I'm not sure its in my top ten.
conordee (Galway) - Posts: 419 - 17/07/2022 19:39:00
what is your top 10?
it isnt irelands greatest sporting moment but is one of the greatest"
My top ten moments would include some of these and there are plenty more examples. Delaney (1956), Taylor (2012), Stuttgart (1988), Harrington (2007), Genoa (1990), Giants Stadium (1994), Cardiff (2009), Sonia (1995), Lowry (2019), Doherty (1997), and would not put the Test Series win above any of those. The Rugby has been top quality the last few weeks but until we get to a WC Final the general Irish public has zero interest compared to the Olympics, the FIFA WC and the Euros. Unfortunately a tough draw in France WC next year will mean quarter final elimination at best.

conordee (Galway) - Posts: 440 - 20/07/2022 10:56:03    2433067

Replying To Bon:  "I'm in no way whatsoever trying to degrade what has been achieved in any way at all. As my posts have asked how much will this really matter for if we can't transfer these results and form into trophies? IF we do brutal in the world cup and get a licking from new Zealand are we just going to live off this test win as the pinnacle for Irish Rugby?
I'd love Ireland do show well at the world cup and win it, but is there not a case for just seeing these test results for what they are? That's all I'm saying.
You have to follow them up and win silverware."
I read England brought eight uncapped players on their Test Tour to Australia, leaving a number of experienced, guaranteed WC players at home. It's been an interesting debate by various sources the last few days.

My take on it now, is test rugby is obviously very important to rugby people and the test series win in New Zealand should rightly be celebrated. However when you see England's approach this summer it is also obvious nations have one eye on the World Cup and the preparation for that, and looking at the wider potential squad has already started.

New Zealand won't be happy losing at home but we'll not know until next Autumn how much they really put into the series. It was such a big tour for Ireland, and you could see we played the test games like cup finals. It's an achievement in it's own right but my hope is Ireland also look at the bigger picture and fulfil their obvious potential on the biggest stage. Beating NZ in a WC QF would bring rugby in Ireland to a whole new level.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 20/07/2022 11:12:53    2433083

Replying To cuttothebone:  "It's a little sad that your only sporting interests are gaa football and shouting for anyone playing against england. I'd say if your poll was held anywhere south of Donegal it would be closer to 60% with a passing interest plus another 20% with enough interest to pay to view it.
3/4 kids from u14, u16 and minor teams in my gaa club also play rugby, and they trive on it. And are the ones you can pencil in to establish themselves at senior the earliest.
Where as kids playing soccer would break your heart with feigning injuries and mouthing to refs.
Open those eyes, you'll be amazed what's beyond."
We are blessed in this country with the amount of sport we are able to watch and follow, most countries in the world only have football to follow, whereas we have GAA, soccer, rugby, and then to a much lesser extent the likes of golf, snooker, horse racing, darts and even Wimbledon when it rolls around every July. I would go as far as saying that we are probably the most sports mad country in the world, and that is something I truly love about this country. I however hate this notion that if you are not a GAA fan, that you are somehow less of an Irishman, I love hurling first, followed by soccer (massive Liverpool fan), rugby, gaelic football and then all of the other aforementioned sports, so am I less of an Irishman than someone who just loves GAA? Sport is a wonderful thing, and gives us all hours of enjoyment every week, so be appreciative of what we have in this country.

gilly1910 (Galway) - Posts: 170 - 20/07/2022 11:45:14    2433094

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "It's just not a great all black side though. There's no Micheal Jones or Lomu or McCaw or Carter etc. They've a bit of a journeyman look about them right now, imo. This young lad Jordan looks like he could have more of the traditional special all black talent about him alright, but that's about it. Who's going to have sleepless nights about facing the Barretts?

At the last World Cup, NZ lost 19-7 to England, and England lost 32-12 to South Africa, at the business end of the competition. No need to expand on those stark facts.

When I was young, Ireland did not beat the All-Blacks anywhere. We've now beaten them FIVE times in less than 6 years. Yet we're being spun a silly narrative that NZ are no1 etc. If they're no1, we'll see it in France at the World Cup. The suspicion is that they're not no1. They didn't look no1 at the 2019 world cup, and they didn't look no1 in the recent 3 match series against Ireland either."
Two things - perhaps the NH teams have begun to catch up with the SH teams in terms of skills and how to control a game. There is no way the Irish teams of the past would have had the same ball skills as those of today and yet at time they did get very close to beating what were considered some of the best AN teams. It would be foolish of anyone wo WO the ABs going into the WC, the have the manpower and the skill base to come back and win it and for me would still be the favorites or joint with France. Something is just not clicking for the ABs at the moment but unlike Ireland before the last WC they have plenty of time to fix it. Barrett is an outstanding FH, has been Player of the year, top try scoring FH in the world and when on the ball is danger to any team. Sexton has also gone through tough periods but I can see him coming out of it. Saeva has the ability to become a AB legend however its also like saying Ireland had no BOD in the team so they cannot be as good as before.
btw England threw away that WC, they had their final in the SF and failed to turn-up against SA. So its worth remembering NZ beat SA in the first game and SA were lucky to get past Wales, so saying they lost to England who then lost to SA is of no importance.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1804 - 20/07/2022 11:45:56    2433095

Replying To KillingFields:  "GAA fans are easily the most broad-minded - we tend to like all sorts of sports. I'm a typical GAA fan, in that I love Gaelic games, but also follow world soccer (European and S American club teams, and I've been a fan of the German squad since I first saw them play in 1974 - Beckenbauer! Gerd Müller! - when all the adults were banging on about Brazil. But I always admired the great will to win the Germans have - long before the competition even starts, they always book hotel accommodation in the city in which the world cup final will be played, as they expect to be there - gotta love that confidence), and also watch rugby.

By contrast, Irish sports fans who primarily follow premiership soccer tend to despise the GAA. I know, I lived in Dublin for 15 years, and met plenty of them. "Bog ball / muck savages / stick fighting", and other hilarious quips from them. Irish sports fans who primarily follow rugby are not usually hostile to the GAA; they just (in Dublin at any rate) tend to have zero knowledge of / little to no interest in GAA. As for poshness, it does exist in Dublin rugby circles - remember, when rugby was played at Croke Park while Lansdowne Rd was being refurbished, the Irish Times published a map in its sports pages, so that Irish rugby fans could find their way to Croke Park lol. In a Mon 24 Feb 2020 Irish Times article on the Leinster Schools Senior Cup, former international referee Owen Doyle described his disgust at what he saw on the stands during school matches. He said there were chants from some groups of supporters, such as "your father works for my father" and "we pay fees" …

Obviously, this kind of posh boorishness isn't an issue in Munster, Connaught and Ulster. And there's always been more cross-community playing in Ulster than you'd think. In the off-season, plenty of the physically smaller GAA lads turn out for local semi-pro soccer teams, Peter Canavan being a notable one (apparently, he was a deadly free taker too); and the bigger GAA lads often turn out for local rugby clubs. In Ulster though, GAA folk generally do not go to rugby matches; and the Donegal poster is right - the rugby does not feature v highly on our radars up here. Nobody chats about it. You might watch a big rugby match on TV, but the fact that GAA players themselves are keen to play rugby in the GAA off season has never translated into wider going-to-actual-games interest among GAA fans up North.
points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 20 - 19/07/2022 14:18:19

Rugby never had a rule banning members because they played other sports.
Very little to suggest GAA fans are most broad minded. Not sure what sport if any can be considered that.
Saying fans who tend to support premiership dislike GAA isnt really true now. What exactly do you define as posh anyway? Those issues you describe arent an issue in most of Leinster either. The Leinster schools cup gets a lot of coverage but its only 16 teams at junior and senior level and then another 16 in the qualifying cups(vinnie murray/godfrey cups) and many more of these are now non fee paying schools and from "non traditional schools".

Rugby is a great sport when it's played well. I wouldn't even profess to know all of the rules in great detail but I enjoy watching it. During the last World Cup in Japan I was on holidays in the south of Spain. It was great craic heading to the Irish pub for a big fry and a few pints. The games were all on early with the time difference so there were a lot of other lads in the same boat, a few scoops early in the day watching the sport then off to the beach for a wee siesta! Hard to beat!

It would be fantastic if the Irish team can bring their current form into the World Cup next year. History has shown that we've been incapable of doing it though. It would be a fitting culmination to the great Johnny Sexton's career if we could go all the way.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 7915 - 19/07/2022 14:27:39
Laws arent that difficult and its far more simple than some make it out to be. Hopefully the team can do well into world cup....

I'd imagine a great many Irish men take pleasure in watching England lose at whatever sport,

I'm suprised you are still on this forum tbh, you were complaining enough about how it's outdated and poorly moderated some time ago.
Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2103 - 19/07/2022 14:47:09

why would you? Theres lot more better and bigger sides than England to be concerned with in a lot of sports. Like its ridiculous so many kids here focus on trying to make it in soccer in england and never really bother look to try make it with clubs on the continent.

Rugby treats these games as more than friendlies. Its a simple concept. you dont grasp that. thats fine but in rugby these games are a lot more than friendlies."
Rugby Union banned anyone who played Rugby League. They did so for over a century. The ban in Gaelic games was lifted in 1969. The ban in rugby union was not lifted until 1995.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 20/07/2022 11:50:13    2433098

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "It's just not a great all black side though. There's no Micheal Jones or Lomu or McCaw or Carter etc. They've a bit of a journeyman look about them right now, imo. This young lad Jordan looks like he could have more of the traditional special all black talent about him alright, but that's about it. Who's going to have sleepless nights about facing the Barretts?

When I was young, Ireland did not beat the All-Blacks anywhere. We've now beaten them FIVE times in less than 6 years. Yet we're being spun a silly narrative that NZ are no1 etc. If they're no1, we'll see it in France at the World Cup. The suspicion is that they're not no1. They didn't look no1 at the 2019 world cup, and they didn't look no1 in the recent 3 match series against Ireland either."
Winning a series in New Zealand was a great achievement. Is it the greatest achievement by an Irish international team in sport? I don't believe so. For me the two greatest achievements in Irish international team sports are the soccer team's achievements in Italy in 1990 and at number one is the Irish women's hockey team's achievement in reaching the World Cup final in 2018.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 20/07/2022 11:54:36    2433102

Would never call any new zealand side journeyman like.
Ah Beaudon Barrett is outrageously good. Hes a 2 time world player of the year and only the second ever to get them in consecutive years,
Dont think you can take one off results to say anything like that about new zealand rugby from the last world cup.
I dont see it as silly narrative painting new zealand like they are.
Theyve a ridiculously strong record against all countries historically. only south africa have won near 40% of games against new zealand and most have won far less than that.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3505 - 20/07/2022 12:30:55    2433108

Replying To Greengrass:  "Winning a series in New Zealand was a great achievement. Is it the greatest achievement by an Irish international team in sport? I don't believe so. For me the two greatest achievements in Irish international team sports are the soccer team's achievements in Italy in 1990 and at number one is the Irish women's hockey team's achievement in reaching the World Cup final in 2018."
Definitly Italia 90, everyone remembers where they were for the penalty shoot out, the whole country went wild. I was only a kid and still remember like yesterday, great days.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1907 - 20/07/2022 13:14:04    2433126

Replying To Bon:  "Definitly Italia 90, everyone remembers where they were for the penalty shoot out, the whole country went wild. I was only a kid and still remember like yesterday, great days."
I think you have summed it up well. In my own experience, nothing has come close to the hype and interest associated with the national football team at a World Cup. We've only been there three times of course, but on each occasion we did quite well. Who knows under different circumstances how better we might have done in 2002??? Ifs and buts...

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9132 - 20/07/2022 14:57:05    2433159

Replying To Bon:  "Definitly Italia 90, everyone remembers where they were for the penalty shoot out, the whole country went wild. I was only a kid and still remember like yesterday, great days."
Great, great days.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 20/07/2022 14:59:30    2433160

Replying To KillingFields:  "Thats the way all international sport works. people who grew up elsewhere move to a country to play and then qualify on residency grounds and play for their adopted countries.
It hasnt exactly stopped many people from playing the sport or playing internationally.
And Ireland have been continuously improving the squad and trying to widen the playing base for the international team and the 2 maori games were part of that."
That's not the way 'all' international sports work. FIFA don't have a residency rule. The FAI can't go to Brazil, Spain, Italy etc, find some talented uncapped player with no connection to Ireland and offer him nice money to come and live and play here for 5 years and then play for Ireland.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7342 - 20/07/2022 15:00:18    2433161

Replying To GreenandRed:  "That's not the way 'all' international sports work. FIFA don't have a residency rule. The FAI can't go to Brazil, Spain, Italy etc, find some talented uncapped player with no connection to Ireland and offer him nice money to come and live and play here for 5 years and then play for Ireland."
For all the stick the football team have received over the years about Granny rulers and plastic Paddies at least those players had a blood link to Ireland and were entitled to citizenship on the basis of a grand parent being born here.

If Glasgow or the Ospreys offered bigger contracts than the provinces did then the likes of CJ Stander or Bundee Aki would be Scottish or Welsh instead of Irish.

Eoin Morgan captaining England on the basis that we didn't field a full test side was always a strange one as well I found.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 20/07/2022 15:29:54    2433171

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "For all the stick the football team have received over the years about Granny rulers and plastic Paddies at least those players had a blood link to Ireland and were entitled to citizenship on the basis of a grand parent being born here.

If Glasgow or the Ospreys offered bigger contracts than the provinces did then the likes of CJ Stander or Bundee Aki would be Scottish or Welsh instead of Irish.

Eoin Morgan captaining England on the basis that we didn't field a full test side was always a strange one as well I found."
Tony Cascarino had a fictitious link ..... !!!!!

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 20/07/2022 16:43:25    2433208