Non-Gaa Forum

I have to laugh at the Dublin media saying the whole country was so excited about Ireland beating the New Zealand in rugby in some friendly type matches,
I know anyway up here most people I know and I'd imagine the vast majority of people here have zero interest in rugby, it seen as a game for toffs, bit like the cricket and hockey

The only thing I like about rugby is that it's an all Ireland 32 county team, and for God's sake would they get rid of that awful Ireland's call song they sing.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 19/07/2022 11:05:26    2432880

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I have to laugh at the Dublin media saying the whole country was so excited about Ireland beating the New Zealand in rugby in some friendly type matches,
I know anyway up here most people I know and I'd imagine the vast majority of people here have zero interest in rugby, it seen as a game for toffs, bit like the cricket and hockey

The only thing I like about rugby is that it's an all Ireland 32 county team, and for God's sake would they get rid of that awful Ireland's call song they sing."
well its clear you have lived very little outside of the tiny bubble you have at home in your own county as the game isnt for toffs.
You love your cliches dont you? Dublin media? Ah come on. lot more than "dublin media" covered this series extensively. they were/are a lot more than friendlies.
rugby isnt a game for toffs.
so any sport that has a predominantly protestant background in north of ireland is a game for toffs then. christ thats some load of nonsense.
Irelands Call is in place because it is a 32 county team and with that well done tirchoonaill1 you hit nearly every spot on the hoganstand rugby cliche bingo card. your prize is on the way in the post!

PS its a signed copy of Irelands call by the entire irish rugby team

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3499 - 19/07/2022 11:42:17    2432895

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I have to laugh at the Dublin media saying the whole country was so excited about Ireland beating the New Zealand in rugby in some friendly type matches,

The only thing I like about rugby is that it's an all Ireland 32 county team, and for God's sake would they get rid of that awful Ireland's call song they sing."
There is plenty of interest in rugby especially in the national team, majority of sports fans will get behind an Irish team no matter the sport. Viewing figures for last six nations was high, something akin to that for Hurling final. A pity recent NZ tour was not available to many, but I for one enjoyed every minute of all five games.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2136 - 19/07/2022 12:06:32    2432905

You live a very insular life if that's your opinion. Get out more lad and broaden your horizons.
Rugby is a fine sport, suitable for all shapes and sizes.
And played as a 2nd/3rd sport by many working class all over the country and also has a super foundation of skills that complement an underage player that goes on to concentrate on gaa football.
Unfortunately a lot of old folks are still stuck in the 70's thinking rugby is only played in boarding schools and the only thing left to support after gaa finishes up is a soccer team in a foreign country in a washed up 2 team league.

cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 163 - 19/07/2022 12:46:09    2432915

Replying To cuttothebone:  "You live a very insular life if that's your opinion. Get out more lad and broaden your horizons.
Rugby is a fine sport, suitable for all shapes and sizes.
And played as a 2nd/3rd sport by many working class all over the country and also has a super foundation of skills that complement an underage player that goes on to concentrate on gaa football.
Unfortunately a lot of old folks are still stuck in the 70's thinking rugby is only played in boarding schools and the only thing left to support after gaa finishes up is a soccer team in a foreign country in a washed up 2 team league."
I'd imagine if they did one of those polls they do of say 1000 people I'd be very surprised if you got 50 people saying they gave a hoot about rugby,
One of the things I like in rugby is the respect they show the referee, we could do with some of that in our games. also I like that it's a 32 county Ireland international team, I know it's a tough hard game but I'd be willing to bet the average person has little interest in it'
Gaelic football and hurling down south are the big games for the average Irish person, I have no interest really in foreign soccer unless it's watching England implode or lose penalty shootouts in tournaments as they frequently do. I also have very little interest in the republics soccer team, a lot of them would rather play for England and they only play for the republic to get the opportunity to play international soccer, look how quick Grealish and Rice jumped ship.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 19/07/2022 13:10:02    2432919

Replying To sam1884:  "Back in the real world the sporting public would also disagree with it being our greatest sporting moment. It is a great achievement and within rugby circles they might see as their sports biggest achievement but it isn't Ireland's greatest sporting moment overall. The Independent is a rugby paper in my opinion so I can understand why they'll market this success as much as possible."
It's arguably Irelands greatest sporting moment for those that want it to be, but it is not for those who don't want it to be, simple as.

I see it as Irelands greatest ever "Field" sporting moment in victory, absolutely.

When Ronnie Delaney 21 he won Gold for Ireland by winning the 1500 mtrs in the Melbourne Olympics, that was a track event in athletics. It was still Irelands greatest sporting moment.

Likewise when Katie Taylor won her multiple world title fights in the ring, they were also Irelands greatest sporting moment, at boxing.

Michelle Smith won 5 Gold Olympic medals at swimming, for a short period of time that too was Irelands greatest sporting moment.

So there are four different sporting events and there are more that Ireland were supreme at, so how can greatness be measured at the highest level between different sports when they were / are all great. Is it measured by opinion or by qualification.?

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 19/07/2022 13:12:59    2432920

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Congratulations to our rugby team, a fantastic performance to win the deciding game against the All Blacks this morning."
It's a familiar story though. Big win when it doesn't matter that much. Lots of high hopes,and then turned over in the real competition.

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 238 - 19/07/2022 13:23:40    2432926

Replying To Trump2020:  "The Golf should be good today at The Open. McIlroy in with a real chance though Hovland is due for a huge win. World Number 1 Sheffler is hanging around too as is Dustin Johnson."
People are sending me pictures of McIlroy wearing a Mayo jersey ...

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 238 - 19/07/2022 13:25:46    2432927

It was great win, but some perspective needed; how many countries play rugby seriously? The UK, and it's ex-colonies (NZ, Australia, S Africa), Ireland France and Argentina.
Having said that, I always enjoyed rugby, and it is unique in offering a place to all shapes and sizes.

befair (Down) - Posts: 237 - 19/07/2022 13:32:11    2432928

Replying To Bon:  "I think rugby is a great sport and enjoy watching it, all im saying is how much can you read into games that are pretty much friendlies? There's no championship or tournament progression at stake? Granted very few teams have managed to do it and that can't be taken away from everybody involved but it do you not think it could be ultimately irrelevant if we have another poor under achieving world cup or do poorly in the 6 nations?
Its nice to win these games but you need to drive on."
Seriously why comment at all, if your only aim is to degrade what is a truly remarkable achievement by an Irish side? Only two other teams had ever beaten the All_Blacks there in a three-Test series, South Africa in 1937 and Australia in 1986, with France taking a two-Test series in 1994. They hadn't lost two successive home games since 1998. Only one Lions side, the legendary 1971 outfit, has ever beaten the All Blacks, and yet some people on here are obsessed with trying to make out that this was only a 'friendly', I seriously doubt the All-Blacks would have had the record that they do, if these games were only friendlies, and anybody who has ever played rugby will know that there is no such a thing as a friendly game. Yes the World Cup is the barometer for any side, and unfortunately for us we are in an absolute stinker of a group with New-Zealand or France awaiting us in the Quarter finals next year, so yes there is every chance that our horrendous record of never getting past the quarter finals may continue on after the next World Cup. However what this amazing win in New-Zealand has done is prove that this is undoubtedly the greatest ever Irish side ever, and they should go into the next World Cup full of confidence, and knowing that they can beat anyone.

gilly1910 (Galway) - Posts: 170 - 19/07/2022 13:54:17    2432934

I'd imagine if they did one of those polls they do of say 1000 people I'd be very surprised if you got 50 people saying they gave a hoot about rugby,
One of the things I like in rugby is the respect they show the referee, we could do with some of that in our games. also I like that it's a 32 county Ireland international team, I know it's a tough hard game but I'd be willing to bet the average person has little interest in it'
Gaelic football and hurling down south are the big games for the average Irish person, I have no interest really in foreign soccer unless it's watching England implode or lose penalty shootouts in tournaments as they frequently do. I also have very little interest in the republics soccer team, a lot of them would rather play for England and they only play for the republic to get the opportunity to play international soccer, look how quick Grealish and Rice jumped ship.
Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2102 - 19/07/2022 13:10:02

Thats very bitter and twisted. The viewing numbers of big games, the increase in club playing numbers, club memberships etc all show theres a lot that give "a hoot about rugby"
I find people who enjoy england lose in soccer or anything else rather sad and pathetic. and says a lot about your own mentality if thats all you can do.

It was great win, but some perspective needed; how many countries play rugby seriously? The UK, and it's ex-colonies (NZ, Australia, S Africa), Ireland France and Argentina.
Having said that, I always enjoyed rugby, and it is unique in offering a place to all shapes and sizes.

befair (Down) - Posts: 220 - 19/07/2022 13:32:11
missing a fair few others. Japan, pacific islands - fiji etc. Few others play rugby quite seriously as well but simply arent very good at international level. Namibia. could name dozens more.

Seriously why comment at all, if your only aim is to degrade what is a truly remarkable achievement by an Irish side? Only two other teams had ever beaten the All_Blacks there in a three-Test series, South Africa in 1937 and Australia in 1986, with France taking a two-Test series in 1994. They hadn't lost two successive home games since 1998. Only one Lions side, the legendary 1971 outfit, has ever beaten the All Blacks, and yet some people on here are obsessed with trying to make out that this was only a 'friendly', I seriously doubt the All-Blacks would have had the record that they do, if these games were only friendlies, and anybody who has ever played rugby will know that there is no such a thing as a friendly game. Yes the World Cup is the barometer for any side, and unfortunately for us we are in an absolute stinker of a group with New-Zealand or France awaiting us in the Quarter finals next year, so yes there is every chance that our horrendous record of never getting past the quarter finals may continue on after the next World Cup. However what this amazing win in New-Zealand has done is prove that this is undoubtedly the greatest ever Irish side ever, and they should go into the next World Cup full of confidence, and knowing that they can beat anyone.
gilly1910 (Galway) - Posts: 152 - 19/07/2022 13:54:17

spot on gilly.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3499 - 19/07/2022 14:02:33    2432935

Replying To KillingFields:  "well its clear you have lived very little outside of the tiny bubble you have at home in your own county as the game isnt for toffs.
You love your cliches dont you? Dublin media? Ah come on. lot more than "dublin media" covered this series extensively. they were/are a lot more than friendlies.
rugby isnt a game for toffs.
so any sport that has a predominantly protestant background in north of ireland is a game for toffs then. christ thats some load of nonsense.
Irelands Call is in place because it is a 32 county team and with that well done tirchoonaill1 you hit nearly every spot on the hoganstand rugby cliche bingo card. your prize is on the way in the post!

PS its a signed copy of Irelands call by the entire irish rugby team"
GAA fans are easily the most broad-minded - we tend to like all sorts of sports. I'm a typical GAA fan, in that I love Gaelic games, but also follow world soccer (European and S American club teams, and I've been a fan of the German squad since I first saw them play in 1974 - Beckenbauer! Gerd Müller! - when all the adults were banging on about Brazil. But I always admired the great will to win the Germans have - long before the competition even starts, they always book hotel accommodation in the city in which the world cup final will be played, as they expect to be there - gotta love that confidence), and also watch rugby.

By contrast, Irish sports fans who primarily follow premiership soccer tend to despise the GAA. I know, I lived in Dublin for 15 years, and met plenty of them. "Bog ball / muck savages / stick fighting", and other hilarious quips from them. Irish sports fans who primarily follow rugby are not usually hostile to the GAA; they just (in Dublin at any rate) tend to have zero knowledge of / little to no interest in GAA. As for poshness, it does exist in Dublin rugby circles - remember, when rugby was played at Croke Park while Lansdowne Rd was being refurbished, the Irish Times published a map in its sports pages, so that Irish rugby fans could find their way to Croke Park lol. In a Mon 24 Feb 2020 Irish Times article on the Leinster Schools Senior Cup, former international referee Owen Doyle described his disgust at what he saw on the stands during school matches. He said there were chants from some groups of supporters, such as "your father works for my father" and "we pay fees" …

Obviously, this kind of posh boorishness isn't an issue in Munster, Connaught and Ulster. And there's always been more cross-community playing in Ulster than you'd think. In the off-season, plenty of the physically smaller GAA lads turn out for local semi-pro soccer teams, Peter Canavan being a notable one (apparently, he was a deadly free taker too); and the bigger GAA lads often turn out for local rugby clubs. In Ulster though, GAA folk generally do not go to rugby matches; and the Donegal poster is right - the rugby does not feature v highly on our radars up here. Nobody chats about it. You might watch a big rugby match on TV, but the fact that GAA players themselves are keen to play rugby in the GAA off season has never translated into wider going-to-actual-games interest among GAA fans up North.

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 238 - 19/07/2022 14:18:19    2432939

Replying To points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet:  "It's a familiar story though. Big win when it doesn't matter that much. Lots of high hopes,and then turned over in the real competition."
"it doesn't matter that much"?

Why do you post comments on topics like this, when you haven't a clue about the subject at hand?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2448 - 19/07/2022 14:22:02    2432941

Replying To supersub15:  "It's arguably Irelands greatest sporting moment for those that want it to be, but it is not for those who don't want it to be, simple as.

I see it as Irelands greatest ever "Field" sporting moment in victory, absolutely.

When Ronnie Delaney 21 he won Gold for Ireland by winning the 1500 mtrs in the Melbourne Olympics, that was a track event in athletics. It was still Irelands greatest sporting moment.

Likewise when Katie Taylor won her multiple world title fights in the ring, they were also Irelands greatest sporting moment, at boxing.

Michelle Smith won 5 Gold Olympic medals at swimming, for a short period of time that too was Irelands greatest sporting moment.

So there are four different sporting events and there are more that Ireland were supreme at, so how can greatness be measured at the highest level between different sports when they were / are all great. Is it measured by opinion or by qualification.?"
Now ye can't count Michelle Smith. I know she wasn't stripped of her medals but she spent most of her time tampering with samples. Ye didn't mention Stephen Roach, Dennis Taylor Ken Doherty, Barry Mc Guigan and many golfers except Graeme Mc Dowell, he would sicken your happiness.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 19/07/2022 14:26:07    2432943

Rugby is a great sport when it's played well. I wouldn't even profess to know all of the rules in great detail but I enjoy watching it. During the last World Cup in Japan I was on holidays in the south of Spain. It was great craic heading to the Irish pub for a big fry and a few pints. The games were all on early with the time difference so there were a lot of other lads in the same boat, a few scoops early in the day watching the sport then off to the beach for a wee siesta! Hard to beat!

It would be fantastic if the Irish team can bring their current form into the World Cup next year. History has shown that we've been incapable of doing it though. It would be a fitting culmination to the great Johnny Sexton's career if we could go all the way.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 19/07/2022 14:27:39    2432945

Replying To KillingFields:  "I'd imagine if they did one of those polls they do of say 1000 people I'd be very surprised if you got 50 people saying they gave a hoot about rugby,
Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2102 - 19/07/2022 13:10:02

Thats very bitter and twisted. The viewing numbers of big games, the increase in club playing numbers, club memberships etc all show theres a lot that give "a hoot about rugby"
I find people who enjoy england lose in soccer or anything else rather sad and pathetic. and says a lot about your own mentality if thats all you can do.

befair (Down) - Posts: 220 - 19/07/2022 13:32:11
missing a fair few others. Japan, pacific islands - fiji etc. Few others play rugby quite seriously as well but simply arent very good at international level. Namibia. could name dozens more.

gilly1910 (Galway) - Posts: 152 - 19/07/2022 13:54:17

spot on gilly."
I'd imagine a great many Irish men take pleasure in watching England lose at whatever sport,

I'm suprised you are still on this forum tbh, you were complaining enough about how it's outdated and poorly moderated some time ago.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 19/07/2022 14:47:09    2432951

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I'd imagine if they did one of those polls they do of say 1000 people I'd be very surprised if you got 50 people saying they gave a hoot about rugby,
Gaelic football and hurling down south are the big games for the average Irish person, I have no interest really in foreign soccer unless it's watching England implode or lose penalty shootouts in tournaments as they frequently do. I also have very little interest in the republics soccer team, a lot of them would rather play for England and they only play for the republic to get the opportunity to play international soccer, look how quick Grealish and Rice jumped ship."
It's a little sad that your only sporting interests are gaa football and shouting for anyone playing against england. I'd say if your poll was held anywhere south of Donegal it would be closer to 60% with a passing interest plus another 20% with enough interest to pay to view it.
3/4 kids from u14, u16 and minor teams in my gaa club also play rugby, and they trive on it. And are the ones you can pencil in to establish themselves at senior the earliest.
Where as kids playing soccer would break your heart with feigning injuries and mouthing to refs.
Open those eyes, you'll be amazed what's beyond.

cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 163 - 19/07/2022 15:26:36    2432960

Nothing more than a glorified friendly… Don't get carried away….come back when we beat them in the World Cup…. Good lad

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1908 - 19/07/2022 15:29:18    2432962

It's a little sad that your only sporting interests are gaa football and shouting for anyone playing against england. I'd say if your poll was held anywhere south of Donegal it would be closer to 60% with a passing interest plus another 20% with enough interest to pay to view it.
3/4 kids from u14, u16 and minor teams in my gaa club also play rugby, and they trive on it. And are the ones you can pencil in to establish themselves at senior the earliest.
Where as kids playing soccer would break your heart with feigning injuries and mouthing to refs.
Open those eyes, you'll be amazed what's beyond.
cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 149 - 19/07/2022 15:26:36 2432960

Id call it pathetic as much as sad. But you do go a bit cliched about the soccer ....

Nothing more than a glorified friendly… Don't get carried away….come back when we beat them in the World Cup…. Good lad
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 896 - 19/07/2022 15:29:18

New Zealanders didnt treat it as a friendly. Only people who seem to be calling it a friendly are some soccer and GAA fans here?
yet all the rugby fans, players, media and genuine sports fans call it what it was. an excellent high standard international test series of matches

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3499 - 19/07/2022 16:16:35    2432975

Being optimally doped is a big factor in 'having a good cut' at the World Cup competition. South Africa often show up 'in rude good health' for a start.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 19/07/2022 17:33:03    2432994