Non-Gaa Forum

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "It's none of your business what I chose to listen to, eg. I ignore celebrity court cases of footballers rugby players and other sports stars and 'celebrities' also the Dublin gangland court case reports etc etc, I have zero interest in that stuff. When I see Paul Reynolds coming on I reach for the remote. mute or change the channel.
I'd rather RTE reported all the regional news more,
they give daily court reports at times on some high profile court cases, we are not the jury, just tell us the verdict when it's over if it's an important case.
I'd say the establishment here will really have the knives out for McGregor now he has shown them up on the world stage, he has highlighted an issue that is concerning a lot of ordinary people that our politicians largely seem to gloss over."
His type got 2% in the election.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2171 - 21/03/2025 23:31:55    2597728

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Are you American or Irish? Genuine question. I don't know why you would be celebrating this if you were Irish."
What's the division thing between been American and Irish? Aren't we all world citizens now and we welcome the world in all it's shapes regardless of where it comes from or what its ideology is?

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1997 - 21/03/2025 23:46:53    2597731

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "It's none of your business what I chose to listen to, eg. I ignore celebrity court cases of footballers rugby players and other sports stars and 'celebrities' also the Dublin gangland court case reports etc etc, I have zero interest in that stuff. When I see Paul Reynolds coming on I reach for the remote. mute or change the channel.
I'd rather RTE reported all the regional news more,
they give daily court reports at times on some high profile court cases, we are not the jury, just tell us the verdict when it's over if it's an important case.
I'd say the establishment here will really have the knives out for McGregor now he has shown them up on the world stage, he has highlighted an issue that is concerning a lot of ordinary people that our politicians largely seem to gloss over."
Ah relax, ye far right lads can't take losing an argument.
A sexual offender who supports the drug cartels in Ireland, who beats up an old man and who led a mob to assault people in the US is in no position to start criticising crime levels or places being out of control when he contributes to the lawlessness himself. Blaming foreigners for Dublin being lawless totally ignores the fact that we had Irish gangster killing each other for a while and wasn't Dublin ruined by heroine in the 80s long before we had Syrian or Nigerian or Ukrainian people here.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 892 - 22/03/2025 08:09:01    2597742

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "What's the division thing between been American and Irish? Aren't we all world citizens now and we welcome the world in all it's shapes regardless of where it comes from or what its ideology is?"
With respect, that could be described as a rather simplistic post. You are quite right, there is and always has been an affinity between our country and the US. But that relationship is under threat from the antics of the current administration in Washington with tariffs etc which could potentially wreck our economy. Then you look at this unholy alliance between the duly elected president of America and that latter day imitator of Peter the Great, Putin. A dictator who seems intent on "securing his borders " by force. He claims to be under threat from NATO and the EU. What is happening is that some of the populations of former communist bloc countries prefer the "western" life style and NATO protection and he and his pals are going to take whatever measures they feel necessary to prevent that. You have to ask yourself, why these countries don't want anything to do with Russia?. This is causing panic amongst EU leaders , with rearming etc, which is another threat to us with our insistence on "neutrality". So, in essence, us, and our relationship with the US and EU are in for a bumpy few years whichever way things go.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1546 - 22/03/2025 08:21:08    2597744

Replying To Trump2020:  "So you don't wish the USA to do well? Isn't it nice to see a leader taking care of its inhabitants? I post Pro Tump stuff with links to balance out the noise from the Never Trumper side. I'm from Earth."
Yes I think it's good overall if the US economy is doing well. Now, i don't think it will happen, and I certainly hope it doesn't - but if Trump somehow forced a lot of the big US pharma & tech companies to relocate back to the US, it would cripple the Irish economy.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9693 - 22/03/2025 08:21:30    2597745

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "What's the division thing between been American and Irish? Aren't we all world citizens now and we welcome the world in all it's shapes regardless of where it comes from or what its ideology is?"
I'm in no way anti-American. I love the place, only recently back from another brilliant holiday there.

All I'm saying is that Trump appears determined to reel the big US states operating in Ireland back to the US again. If he somehow achieved that, we'd be totally FUBAR'ed.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9693 - 22/03/2025 08:24:38    2597746

Replying To updwell:  "Ah relax, ye far right lads can't take losing an argument.
A sexual offender who supports the drug cartels in Ireland, who beats up an old man and who led a mob to assault people in the US is in no position to start criticising crime levels or places being out of control when he contributes to the lawlessness himself. Blaming foreigners for Dublin being lawless totally ignores the fact that we had Irish gangster killing each other for a while and wasn't Dublin ruined by heroine in the 80s long before we had Syrian or Nigerian or Ukrainian people here."
From what I see it's the woke leftie types like yourself that can't handle the truth, your type seem more intolerant of opposing views and prefer to attack people rather than have an honest debate.
The far right crowd are easily identified and usually not too bright.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3139 - 22/03/2025 11:29:13    2597768

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I'm in no way anti-American. I love the place, only recently back from another brilliant holiday there.

All I'm saying is that Trump appears determined to reel the big US states operating in Ireland back to the US again. If he somehow achieved that, we'd be totally FUBAR'ed."
He's doing a lot of posturing saying he's doing this and he'll do that. Debeatable how much of it is true. Seems quick to take credit for, the likes of Apple's growth in to AI, which were in progress long before he was elected for the second term. We're too heavily leveraged to US pharma and tech and what employment they create and corporate tax they pay. Not one bit easy but need more indigenous Irish undustry like Glanbia, Chanelle Pharma, Stripe etc to do well. Allegedly we also have a growing renewabke energy economy, hopefully that can take off and provide plenty of jobs and make us less reliant on US companies. They still need to be based here on some way as a route to EU market so shouldn't be leaving any time soon.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7855 - 22/03/2025 11:48:09    2597770

Replying To GreenandRed:  "He's doing a lot of posturing saying he's doing this and he'll do that. Debeatable how much of it is true. Seems quick to take credit for, the likes of Apple's growth in to AI, which were in progress long before he was elected for the second term. We're too heavily leveraged to US pharma and tech and what employment they create and corporate tax they pay. Not one bit easy but need more indigenous Irish undustry like Glanbia, Chanelle Pharma, Stripe etc to do well. Allegedly we also have a growing renewabke energy economy, hopefully that can take off and provide plenty of jobs and make us less reliant on US companies. They still need to be based here on some way as a route to EU market so shouldn't be leaving any time soon."
Yeah the big tech & pharma companies have been like the golden goose. We're very reliant on them for the reasons you outlined. It would be fantastic if we can become less reliant on them, but have that in conjunction with what we have. We'd really be in business then.

A lot of what Trump comes out with is bluster & hot air. But you can't ignore him either. Maybe that's what gets him up in the mornings. For better or worse the world is constantly talking about him.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9693 - 22/03/2025 12:49:34    2597779

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "From what I see it's the woke leftie types like yourself that can't handle the truth, your type seem more intolerant of opposing views and prefer to attack people rather than have an honest debate.
The far right crowd are easily identified and usually not too bright."
"Woke" and "left wing" are completely different things describing completely different subjects.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15231 - 22/03/2025 13:08:51    2597784

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "From what I see it's the woke leftie types like yourself that can't handle the truth, your type seem more intolerant of opposing views and prefer to attack people rather than have an honest debate.
The far right crowd are easily identified and usually not too bright."
Woke lefties? me hardly, I take the family to mass every Sunday, anti abortion on demand- hardly a leftie there. What I am is against the dehumanising of other people and bullying and intimation of them. I'm against what Hamas did on Oct 6th, I'm against the genocide that Israelis are doing in Gaza, I'm against what the Russians are doing to the Ukrainians and what they are doing to their own people. I'm against what various middle East regimes are doing to their own people with the support of the West and then we cry when people flee these countries to come to Europe for a better life. I'm also against what Trump and Musk are doing to the US slowly turning it into a dictatorship and expelling opposition like another version of China. I don't think that's a leftist or right wing, it's just letting people have a decent life.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 892 - 22/03/2025 13:10:45    2597785

Replying To Viking66:  ""Woke" and "left wing" are completely different things describing completely different subjects."
I thought they kind of followed the same ideology? pinkos as Bertie once called them, what I see of them a lot is they get very angry very easily,
I think the centre in Ireland is the vast majority, hence why we get the governments we get,
the far and right and far left will never gain power here, they make a lot of noise though.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3139 - 22/03/2025 14:08:56    2597793

Replying To updwell:  "Woke lefties? me hardly, I take the family to mass every Sunday, anti abortion on demand- hardly a leftie there. What I am is against the dehumanising of other people and bullying and intimation of them. I'm against what Hamas did on Oct 6th, I'm against the genocide that Israelis are doing in Gaza, I'm against what the Russians are doing to the Ukrainians and what they are doing to their own people. I'm against what various middle East regimes are doing to their own people with the support of the West and then we cry when people flee these countries to come to Europe for a better life. I'm also against what Trump and Musk are doing to the US slowly turning it into a dictatorship and expelling opposition like another version of China. I don't think that's a leftist or right wing, it's just letting people have a decent life."
I don't disagree with that but you have to understand the reason behind these things and why they happened,
the EU seems determined to ramp up spending on a big military now, Germany spending a fortune on building up their armed forces again, what could possibly go wrong?

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3139 - 22/03/2025 14:13:41    2597795

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah the big tech & pharma companies have been like the golden goose. We're very reliant on them for the reasons you outlined. It would be fantastic if we can become less reliant on them, but have that in conjunction with what we have. We'd really be in business then.

A lot of what Trump comes out with is bluster & hot air. But you can't ignore him either. Maybe that's what gets him up in the mornings. For better or worse the world is constantly talking about him."
Never a dull day with Trump, someone said on the radio yesterday that there's been a new executive order from him everyday? what's going to happen on April 2nd? it's going to be beautiful he says.
I never remember hearing much from Biden except except incomprehensible word salad.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3139 - 22/03/2025 14:20:01    2597797

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I don't disagree with that but you have to understand the reason behind these things and why they happened,
the EU seems determined to ramp up spending on a big military now, Germany spending a fortune on building up their armed forces again, what could possibly go wrong?"
Surely if Mr T is going continue to be all pals with Putin, take his side, his take on everything and value Russian secret service information over his own, Europe has no alternative but to rearm ?? Mr T is likely to pull out of NATO. If Putin gets his way in Ukraine. where is next ?? Baltic states. Poland ?? This is a scenario that we had all hoped was gone forever but greed and a lust for power and glory still drives dictators

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1546 - 22/03/2025 14:49:57    2597802

Replying To updwell:  "Woke lefties? me hardly, I take the family to mass every Sunday, anti abortion on demand- hardly a leftie there. What I am is against the dehumanising of other people and bullying and intimation of them. I'm against what Hamas did on Oct 6th, I'm against the genocide that Israelis are doing in Gaza, I'm against what the Russians are doing to the Ukrainians and what they are doing to their own people. I'm against what various middle East regimes are doing to their own people with the support of the West and then we cry when people flee these countries to come to Europe for a better life. I'm also against what Trump and Musk are doing to the US slowly turning it into a dictatorship and expelling opposition like another version of China. I don't think that's a leftist or right wing, it's just letting people have a decent life."
Agreed, thankfully the middle ground in Ireland has held firm in spite of all the noise from the loonies on the Far Left/ Right extremes.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 385 - 22/03/2025 16:15:17    2597807

Delicious is making a nice bit of publicity from the auld McGregor Trump stuff. Good to see a Mayo man doing well for himself.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7855 - 22/03/2025 17:02:35    2597813

"If you remove the English Army tomorrow and hoist the green flag over Dublin Castle., unless you set about the organization of the Socialist Republic your efforts will be in vain. England will still rule you. She would rule you through her capitalists, through her landlords, through her financiers, through the whole array of commercial and individualist institutions she has planted in this country and watered with the tears of our mothers and the blood of our martyrs."

A prophetic speech from James Connolly about how the Republic has continuously elected the wrong people since partition and how capitalism has caused Ireland to lose its soul. While Irish citizens in the North suffered under British oppression, the Irish Government did not care about their plight in their shameless pursuit of greed and wealth.

Now as Israel conducts a genocide, financial interests are more important than calling out this evil and the USA for facilitating it. The UN rapporteur Francesca Albanese has said that Ireland should be doing more on sanctioning Israel yet Michael Martin goes to the White House and fails to call out American foreign policy despite provocation from Donald Trump.

There is a see no evil hear no evil approach to American fighter planes transporting weapons through Shannon to facilitate this crime against humanity. It is ludicrous to suggest than Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael are the middle ground when profits are more important than speaking out against genocide. It's particularly wrong in the Irish context when little more than a century and half ago British greed and capitalism caused the biggest tragedy in Irish history during the great famine.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1677 - 22/03/2025 18:29:34    2597822

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Delicious is making a nice bit of publicity from the auld McGregor Trump stuff. Good to see a Mayo man doing well for himself."
"Delicious" as you call him, gave a balanced view of the lie of the land. I take you don't agree with him?

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1231 - 22/03/2025 19:46:57    2597834

Lads I'd be more worried about people getting away with acts of thuggery in this country.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2223 - 22/03/2025 20:15:20    2597843