You are an eejit. The non Irish ones I mentioned are exemptions. I could give you another 5 or 6 schools similar numbers. Can you not understand the point being made? Do you not understand the percentages involved. Your only come back is to mention one class in Finglas and mention Africans. Mad stuff.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8191 - 13/12/2024 09:48:14 2583411 Link 0 |
As a Galway United fan you're damn right I'm excited for Shamrock Rovers! Chelsea will be tough but you never know.
Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2274 - 13/12/2024 10:28:36 2583415 Link 1 |
Not too many thinking about it, I'd say. I know that it never cost me a thought anyway.
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3906 - 13/12/2024 11:47:04 2583429 Link 1 |
There's a fair few 'rubbish' sides falling to the bottom of the 36 team Champions League, so there must be some seriously average outfits in this third tier European competition. There are certainly club names on that conference table that I have never heard of. But if someone wants to pay Rovers 6million for their 'success' at that level of mediocrity, then fair play. Great to see the wealth spread around, and can only improve Rover's standard surely.
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3906 - 13/12/2024 12:02:06 2583432 Link 0 |
The flaker, I wouldn't even bother trying to logically explain your point of view to anyone from the far-wrong, they are so engrained in their hate and racist view of things that they will just dismiss anything that is against their view of the world. It's just blind hate of anyone who isn't white, English speaking, straight and Christian, if you don't tick all those boxes your seen as an outsider and someone that has to be driven from Ireland.
updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 853 - 13/12/2024 13:16:40 2583439 Link 0 |
That is incredible. You had 3 days to come up with a reply and this is the best you can do. The statistics have been provided for you yet you ignore them. Embarrassing ignorance jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1300 - 13/12/2024 13:45:39 2583442 Link 1 |
I sometimes Barney is a kind of Tom Smith character. Just here to stir the pot, as it were.
Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1297 - 13/12/2024 14:57:10 2583453 Link 0 |
Not much Christianity in them , that's for sure. If that Jesus fella, brown skinned, mid Eastern, turned up in Ireland the Barneys of the world wouldn't be long clearing him and his "woke" message out of the Country. Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2002 - 13/12/2024 15:27:00 2583458 Link 2 |
In Barney's case, at least the English speaking part of your description isn't applicable. Our native language would be his preference, from what I've seen on here. Far-wrong as you put it, comes in many different groups however. Not as homogeneous as you've described above. I know people of non-Christian faiths who live here and who have a strong hatred for anyone who isn't the 3rd category you mentioned above. I know people of who aren't in the 1st category, who also share the same feeling. Hatred comes in many forms and isn't unique to any singular or generic group of people. We're actually quite lucky in Ireland in that far right extremists don't have any political representation here. The same can't be said for a large amount of other countries around the world. I think the more oxygen you give these groups, the more relevant they become. It's almost as if the media wants to build them up at times, which I think is a dangerous approach. In reality most people in Ireland don't give these lunatics the time of day, as we've seen in the recent elections. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2210 - 13/12/2024 18:07:43 2583472 Link 1 |
I don't think luck has anything to do with it. We are a pragmatic and liberal nation who are compassionate in nature. However, the longer we keep exacerbating relative poverty for private interest the more likely a far right breakthrough becomes. Nobody wants to be filled with hate. These people are desperate to be heard. More housing, more school places and better healthcare. If we had any political will to change these things the far right would be confined to 5 or 6 lads in a coffee shop on a Wednesday morning talking about project blue beam or something. Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3223 - 13/12/2024 22:55:58 2583491 Link 0 |
I think that these endemic problems in particular areas don't have any easy answers. Unemployment and social neglect or perceived neglect are ingrained in some areas and won't be easily solved - and these problems are not unique to areas in our country. Every major city or town in the world has them. And, unpopular as it sounds, it has to be said that not all these problems are modern ones. To be "marginalised" or "discriminated " against can sometimes be an identifier of deeper issues within a community - and be self perpetuating from generation to generation.
Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1297 - 14/12/2024 01:10:04 2583493 Link 0 |
That's all true, but just because something bad was always the way, that doesn't mean it's not right to try and change it.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14123 - 14/12/2024 08:38:33 2583498 Link 1 |
You're 100% right about that. I was a manager in the department of social protection for a while and got a really shocking insight into some of those families. I remember a lad about 17 getting his first job with some support from us. Delighted with himself earning a living. He gave it up after about a month because his father and brother wouldn't stop jeering him for working. They even turned his alarm off so he'd be late which was hilarious to them. Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3223 - 14/12/2024 09:44:04 2583503 Link 0 |
I had a similar experience in my job we got a new guy in a couple of years ago brilliant worker never late or missed a day then out of the blue he said he was leaving when I asked why it's because he lost his medical card and all the other entitlement he was getting on the dole he had 5 kids as he was employed by an agency he just got them to say they had no work for him I've met him several times since and is still on the dole his kids are growing up looking at this so will probably do the same.e thing
minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 249 - 14/12/2024 19:38:28 2583537 Link 0 |
"As for the Irish language, it should be protected and preserved at all costs imo." What exactly do you mean by 'at all costs'? Every child being forced to learn it at school? All government and municipal jobs only for people who speak Irish? Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2662 - 14/12/2024 20:11:27 2583542 Link 0 |
I don't know if you are far right of far wrong, woke or whatever other category is being bandied about these days but western society is going down the pan and we are pulling the chain ourselves, whether people realise this now or later when it's too late it doesn't seem to matter anymore. Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3057 - 14/12/2024 20:50:09 2583544 Link 2 |
Where in Eastern Europe?
cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5212 - 14/12/2024 21:31:04 2583549 Link 0 |
Do you not think that the fact that England had their Empire that the sun never set on has a lot to do with the make up of English society a lot of these migrants got into England as they or their forefathers were born or raised in lands governed by England or are part of the commonwealth where as the eastern Europeans had nothing like that
minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 249 - 14/12/2024 21:39:59 2583552 Link 0 |
Maybe Western countries shouldn't invade cpuntries pr colonise or be involved wars then wouldn't have the issues.
Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 539 - 14/12/2024 21:54:30 2583555 Link 1 |
I don't see anything in Eastern Europe that even tempts me into thinking that they have a better way of doing things. If you prefer to line your life under right wing dictatorships - which is mostly what these states are - then feel free to move there, and the best of luck to you when you get there. I don't see any great exodus from westerns states to any of these countries.
Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1297 - 14/12/2024 22:07:25 2583558 Link 2 |