Non-Gaa Forum

Replying To TheFlaker:  "My point was split into 2 paragraphs. The second mentioned night time on the North of O Connell Bridge being quiet which is a total waste and I stand by that.

Temple bar is a nightmare and hardly a great space for tourists in general of all ages, even during the day time."
If you read back a page or 2 I think I said just that. I was there a few weeks ago. You do know where Fibbers is?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12913 - 01/12/2023 10:19:58    2515149

Replying To Viking66:  "If you read back a page or 2 I think I said just that. I was there a few weeks ago. You do know where Fibbers is?"
I lived in Dublin for years, and know every inch of it and worked in the city centre. Sure let's name a few other pubs just around O Connell St/ Parnell St. as if that makes a bit of difference to the point I was making.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7950 - 01/12/2023 10:54:55    2515158

Ive lived in Dublin for over 30 years and i Spent an awful lot of my earlier years socialising in around the city centre area and loved it.O Connell st had a Garda presence altho i did nt drink much in that particular area.I have nt drank in Temple bar for years but I did like it when younger.No interest now as its too pricey and full of young people who cant handle their drink.I have always felt safe in Dublin but im not sure now.I only go drinking in city centre now maybe twice a year when i meet up with old friends but while I ve been fine one pf my friends was mugged last year after we had a might out and another was harassed (altho not hurt).Times have changed but people have changed too.We def need more Garda visibility but I dont think Dublin city centre is as bad as some make out.I will be heading into city centre next week for a few creamy pints and i expect a nice fun night with no problems except a hangover the following day.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3763 - 01/12/2023 15:02:36    2515213

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I lived in Dublin for years, and know every inch of it and worked in the city centre. Sure let's name a few other pubs just around O Connell St/ Parnell St. as if that makes a bit of difference to the point I was making."
The point you were making is the one I made a couple of pages ago. I spent a night North of the river only a few weeks ago and commented how quiet it was.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12913 - 01/12/2023 15:10:30    2515219

Replying To Viking66:  "You said those places were the quietest on a Saturday night. I'm not sure what your point is. I only said most tourists view the Temple Bar area as the city centre area with the most pubs and restaurants. Because it is."
I pity them. Mainly Yanks. Spending a week in Ireland on a group bus tour. Go home to America and tell their friends about the great experience of Ireland they had standing on some cliffs looking at the sea and then listening to diddly aye music played by lads who are wasting their talents keeping tourists happy, drinking left handed €8 Temple Bar pints. Being told that's Irish culture. Some people making a lot of money from them.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7490 - 01/12/2023 15:17:21    2515221

Replying To Viking66:  "The point you were making is the one I made a couple of pages ago. I spent a night North of the river only a few weeks ago and commented how quiet it was."
Jesus lad you are not following the thread at all. It shouldn't be quiet. It should be thriving and the centre of activity for tourism. That's what I have been saying and the only response to that so far was to mention Temple Bar.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7950 - 02/12/2023 14:04:09    2515258

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Jesus lad you are not following the thread at all. It shouldn't be quiet. It should be thriving and the centre of activity for tourism. That's what I have been saying and the only response to that so far was to mention Temple Bar."
Sorry I don't think you understood what I was saying. I agree with you but for some reason I don't know the emphasis has been put on the Southside of the river. I didn't say it was right, but that's the truth of the matter.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12913 - 02/12/2023 17:50:08    2515272

The worst parts of Dublin are on the outskirts, same as any other similar city and that will get worse. there are parts of north county Dublin that were rural 25 years ago that now have "eircode" gangs.

People who run country will be happy enough once city centre is quiet and it doesn't disturb themselves or tourists on their infrequent visits. A bit like Paris or Brussels or London really,

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2884 - 03/12/2023 10:00:34    2515302

Interesting to hear our green government minister is flying home from that cop gathering to vote for mcentee and then flying back out..holy Jesus they are telling us we have to stop flying and burning fuels in our houses and they do the complete opposite..what a shower of hypocrites!!!!!!also does he actually think all the big boys at this meeting are listening to him..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2287 - 03/12/2023 12:03:05    2515315

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Interesting to hear our green government minister is flying home from that cop gathering to vote for mcentee and then flying back out..holy Jesus they are telling us we have to stop flying and burning fuels in our houses and they do the complete opposite..what a shower of hypocrites!!!!!!also does he actually think all the big boys at this meeting are listening to him.."
A contradiction for the Greens with Minister Ryan flying back from COP to vote in Dáil Éireann, and then flying back to COP. The big countries will do their own thing, and will ignore the Irish Minister.
Will COP achieve anything?

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1812 - 03/12/2023 12:23:01    2515316

Replying To GreenandRed:  "I pity them. Mainly Yanks. Spending a week in Ireland on a group bus tour. Go home to America and tell their friends about the great experience of Ireland they had standing on some cliffs looking at the sea and then listening to diddly aye music played by lads who are wasting their talents keeping tourists happy, drinking left handed €8 Temple Bar pints. Being told that's Irish culture. Some people making a lot of money from them."
Your arrogance about your musical preference and your intolerance of people making a living perhaps is an insight into some of the problems Ireland faces.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1512 - 03/12/2023 12:32:36    2515321

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "The worst parts of Dublin are on the outskirts, same as any other similar city and that will get worse. there are parts of north county Dublin that were rural 25 years ago that now have "eircode" gangs.

People who run country will be happy enough once city centre is quiet and it doesn't disturb themselves or tourists on their infrequent visits. A bit like Paris or Brussels or London really,"
The city centre is. It quiet though…that's the problem and tourists are being attacked. It's a terrible image for the country.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11313 - 03/12/2023 13:10:47    2515328

Replying To jobber:  "Your arrogance about your musical preference and your intolerance of people making a living perhaps is an insight into some of the problems Ireland faces."
I'm not disrespecting trad music. Just the formula they use to shovel tourists into a room and spoonfeed them a version of Ireland and rip them off doing it. Same with the Arlington and the dancers. Could save themselves a fortune and get a better experience in The Cobblestone with some trad musicians playing proper traditional music in there for the love of the music.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7490 - 03/12/2023 13:45:46    2515330

Replying To yew_tree:  "The city centre is. It quiet though…that's the problem and tourists are being attacked. It's a terrible image for the country."
Tourists are attacked and robbed in every capital city in the world.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12913 - 03/12/2023 13:50:22    2515333

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Interesting to hear our green government minister is flying home from that cop gathering to vote for mcentee and then flying back out..holy Jesus they are telling us we have to stop flying and burning fuels in our houses and they do the complete opposite..what a shower of hypocrites!!!!!!also does he actually think all the big boys at this meeting are listening to him.."
There is normally an a paring agreement for TDs or Ministers missing on official business. It can only be done with the agreement of the opposition. I guess its all about the headline.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1824 - 03/12/2023 23:46:35    2515406

Replying To yew_tree:  "The city centre is. It quiet though…that's the problem and tourists are being attacked. It's a terrible image for the country."
Not slagging you, but that is exactly what i meant.

This state is largely perceived by the people who run it, and any likely alternative, as basically a minor factor in the production line of global economy.

Does anyone seriously believe that Pearse and Connolly ever hoped for a situation in which Ireland was little more than a convenience for "the free movement of capital and labour"?

To quote one of the last EU Treaties "we" signed, eventually ....

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2884 - 04/12/2023 11:08:08    2515443

Replying To zinny:  "There is normally an a paring agreement for TDs or Ministers missing on official business. It can only be done with the agreement of the opposition. I guess its all about the headline."
Eamonn Ryan has agreed a pairing arrangement with Jennifer Whitmore T. D for Tuesday's Dáil vote.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1812 - 04/12/2023 12:49:42    2515456

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Not slagging you, but that is exactly what i meant.

This state is largely perceived by the people who run it, and any likely alternative, as basically a minor factor in the production line of global economy.

Does anyone seriously believe that Pearse and Connolly ever hoped for a situation in which Ireland was little more than a convenience for "the free movement of capital and labour"?

To quote one of the last EU Treaties "we" signed, eventually ...."
Whatever about Connolly I'd say Pearse's knowledge or opinions on Economics woukd be non existent.
The World didn't stop in 1916 so had they lived their views on things would change.

Of course we could go back to the 1950s which seems to be what Barney woulwd like.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1655 - 04/12/2023 14:26:43    2515480

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Whatever about Connolly I'd say Pearse's knowledge or opinions on Economics woukd be non existent.
The World didn't stop in 1916 so had they lived their views on things would change.

Of course we could go back to the 1950s which seems to be what Barney woulwd like."
So you think they would be happy to live in a state - not even the 32 county Republic by the way - in which most of the wealth is owned by non national corporations, and in which 20% of the population is not even Irish, and heading rapidly to be way more than that?

You reckon that was what maybe inspired them?

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2884 - 04/12/2023 15:11:43    2515487

Just on another thing which sort of epitomises the mentality of our "elite"

Where were all those paradises of freedom and plenty and "equality" that existed in 1950, that were so much better than Ireland?

One third of the planet was under Communism, for a start. Which appears to be the ideal of the major party in the opinion polls.

Feel free to suggest...

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2884 - 04/12/2023 15:50:17    2515493