Non-Gaa Forum

Replying To ThePowerhouse:  "Like a lot of people from the country I've had to leave where I'm from for college and work. That's the norm for most people. No whinging, no entitlement. Just get on with it because that's life. You wouldn't make much of a life for yourself if you sat on your *** waiting for others to hand you one.
Like a lot of culchies I know Dublin very well and i know the North inner city even more so. You shouldn't have a preconceived notion that it's just the natives who know it. I've heard all the excuses and know the reality.
I grew up with people who had nothing and have made lives for themselves. They've had to move all over the country and the world to do so. A lot have come back because its their home. Lots more haven't.
I also know that there are lots of people that come from "disadvantaged" areas that work hard, contribute to society and make a better life for themselves. They strive to improve their lives and their families lives. They don't roll out the excuses or blame others. I've met people from the same families who have made very different choices even though they had they same upbringing. Without fail, the one who made the wrong choices will roll out the excuses.
One of the few positives from the past week will be a proper policing plan. I'll hazard a guess that it will focus on a particular area of the city."
Nail on the head there really. .

Unless you have a fairly debilitating physical or mental health condition, there is next to no excuse for not making a decent go of things in this country.

Like you, I don't live in the county I was born in or grew up in. That's a personal choice I have made.

Like millions of Irish down through the centuries I moved abroad for work when I was younger. Did I blame successive Irish governments for this? No. I saw it as a tremendous opportunity to see the world and I benefitted enormously from having an excellent education in this country (free up until I was 18, i worked part time from aged 15 to fund the remainder).

Read any objective ranking of best countries to live in and Ireland, out of 197 countries recognised by the UN, repeatedly comes somewhere in the top 10.

Sure, I'd love things like better weather and a tax free income, but then again, someone has to pay for the additional policing resources needed to control the 'disadvantaged' law abiding citizens of our green Isle.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5070 - 29/11/2023 20:59:31    2515031

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Nope. Most of the major cities have focal points full of bars and restaurants and the streets are well policed. O Connell St and the surrounding streets should be the main place to be in the evening and at night. That isn't the case."
Temple Bar is that place in Dublin

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12905 - 29/11/2023 22:08:19    2515034

Replying To Breffni40:  "In fairness that's Temple Bar"
Temple Bar? Lads I am talking about places people like going to even with families. I lived in Dublin for 10 years and never went to Temple Bar. I have lived short term for work in New York, Barcelona, Berlin and Rome and all of those have city centres that are catered for people of all ages and you feel pretty safe in a great atmosphere.

Our city centre and focal point should be O Connell St, Talbot, Abbey, Parnell, Henry etc. but these are probably the quietest places in Dublin on a Saturday night .It's a waste.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7949 - 30/11/2023 09:17:33    2515042

Replying To Galway9801:  "Some youtuber said that IPS figures showed that 22%of people sent to prison here in 2022 were "non Irish nationals ".
No word on the nature of the crimes though, and it's hardly cast iron info,, so who knows..."
It's in the Irish Prison Service report for 2022.

Mind you, the non national population of state is now at least 20% even going by the Census figures. So apart from a few groups most immigrants - Indians, Chinese, other western Europeans, Poles etc - are as law abiding as most of us.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2880 - 30/11/2023 09:32:03    2515043

Replying To cavanman47:  "Nail on the head there really. .

Unless you have a fairly debilitating physical or mental health condition, there is next to no excuse for not making a decent go of things in this country.

Like you, I don't live in the county I was born in or grew up in. That's a personal choice I have made.

Like millions of Irish down through the centuries I moved abroad for work when I was younger. Did I blame successive Irish governments for this? No. I saw it as a tremendous opportunity to see the world and I benefitted enormously from having an excellent education in this country (free up until I was 18, i worked part time from aged 15 to fund the remainder).

Read any objective ranking of best countries to live in and Ireland, out of 197 countries recognised by the UN, repeatedly comes somewhere in the top 10.

Sure, I'd love things like better weather and a tax free income, but then again, someone has to pay for the additional policing resources needed to control the 'disadvantaged' law abiding citizens of our green Isle."
Bang on the money with this one.

Same as you, I left rural Donegal as a wet around the ears 17 year old almost 30 years ago and haven't returned since. I knew I had to do this to get ahead. My parents worked hard to send myself and my siblings to college as well as putting food on the table and paying their mortgage. No handouts from government, free housing etc. They just got on with it.

You see the NEIC isn't the only place you'll see poverty in Ireland but it's the only place in Ireland where you see the 'disadvantaged' going around in 300 euro jackets on 800 euro electric scooters with scant regard for other people or their possessions.

The government can only do so much for these types, they have to want to help themselves too.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 880 - 30/11/2023 10:31:16    2515053

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Temple Bar? Lads I am talking about places people like going to even with families. I lived in Dublin for 10 years and never went to Temple Bar. I have lived short term for work in New York, Barcelona, Berlin and Rome and all of those have city centres that are catered for people of all ages and you feel pretty safe in a great atmosphere.

Our city centre and focal point should be O Connell St, Talbot, Abbey, Parnell, Henry etc. but these are probably the quietest places in Dublin on a Saturday night .It's a waste."
Yeah and I often think we must give an awful first impression to tourists visiting here for the first time.
For starters, there's no metro train into the city centre as the case in most European capital cities. Instead, you have to head outside and take an interminable bus journey into town. Not ideal, especially if you've already travelled a long way.

If you do get the bus into town and are dropped off at Bus Arás for example, a building that looks like it belongs to some Soviet era city, things don't look much better. I know bus and train stations in general sometimes attact their share of undesirables, but again - not a great first impression.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9296 - 30/11/2023 10:59:17    2515059

Dublin and most Irish towns, needs a Gaelic quarter. A place where all the signage is in Irish, and there is an attempt to use an teanga Gaeilge too.
Is é mo thuairm.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2538 - 30/11/2023 11:16:01    2515061

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah and I often think we must give an awful first impression to tourists visiting here for the first time.
For starters, there's no metro train into the city centre as the case in most European capital cities. Instead, you have to head outside and take an interminable bus journey into town. Not ideal, especially if you've already travelled a long way.

If you do get the bus into town and are dropped off at Bus Arás for example, a building that looks like it belongs to some Soviet era city, things don't look much better. I know bus and train stations in general sometimes attact their share of undesirables, but again - not a great first impression."
Most European capital cities do not have a metro into the city.

Of the 47 countries in Europe, 21 have SOME kind of rail connection to an airport in the capital city.

Link:

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5070 - 30/11/2023 11:30:47    2515065

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Temple Bar? Lads I am talking about places people like going to even with families. I lived in Dublin for 10 years and never went to Temple Bar. I have lived short term for work in New York, Barcelona, Berlin and Rome and all of those have city centres that are catered for people of all ages and you feel pretty safe in a great atmosphere.

Our city centre and focal point should be O Connell St, Talbot, Abbey, Parnell, Henry etc. but these are probably the quietest places in Dublin on a Saturday night .It's a waste."
Why would you have kids out with you after say 9pm?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12905 - 30/11/2023 12:36:34    2515076

Replying To galwayford:  "Dublin and most Irish towns, needs a Gaelic quarter. A place where all the signage is in Irish, and there is an attempt to use an teanga Gaeilge too.
Is é mo thuairm."
Cinnte. Would probably be considered "non inclusive".

Gaeltacht schools being forced to teach English. That is the reality of where we are.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2880 - 30/11/2023 12:44:11    2515078

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah and I often think we must give an awful first impression to tourists visiting here for the first time.

If you do get the bus into town and are dropped off at Bus Arás for example, a building that looks like it belongs to some Soviet era city, things don't look much better. I know bus and train stations in general sometimes attact their share of undesirables, but again - not a great first impression."
I don't know why tourists bother with Dublin for a lot of the reasons you suggest, last weeks stabbing and the riots that followed won't help the tourists numbers that's for sure.
getting to and from the airport is a nightmare and there's not much interesting about the city centre really.
I think there's much nicer cities and far better value on the continent, take your pick really.
There should be a rail link into the airport, I mean for God's sake we had railways here a 100 years ago.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2879 - 30/11/2023 13:06:18    2515081

Replying To Viking66:  "Why would you have kids out with you after say 9pm?"
Who mentioned anything after 9pm? Have you any serious point to make here?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7949 - 30/11/2023 13:13:03    2515083

Replying To cavanman47:  "Most European capital cities do not have a metro into the city.

Of the 47 countries in Europe, 21 have SOME kind of rail connection to an airport in the capital city.

Link:

link"
Still no reason why we shouldn't at least look at planning one.

But look, it would probably be anothing infra project beset by budget overspend and political wrangling.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9296 - 30/11/2023 14:39:31    2515101

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Who mentioned anything after 9pm? Have you any serious point to make here?"
You said those places were the quietest on a Saturday night. I'm not sure what your point is. I only said most tourists view the Temple Bar area as the city centre area with the most pubs and restaurants. Because it is.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12905 - 30/11/2023 14:56:13    2515103

Replying To Lockjaw:  "
Replying To cavanman47:  "Most European capital cities do not have a metro into the city.

Link:

link"

But look, it would probably be anothing infra project beset by budget overspend and political wrangling."
It is literally in the planning process as you read this.

I would agree - it will be overspent and will run over schedule.

The only way it won't would be if a government declared a transport/climate/economic emergency to allow it fast-track the process.

The opposition would immediately cry dictatorship if that were to happen.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5070 - 30/11/2023 15:08:58    2515107

Replying To Viking66:  "You said those places were the quietest on a Saturday night. I'm not sure what your point is. I only said most tourists view the Temple Bar area as the city centre area with the most pubs and restaurants. Because it is."
Only tourists and maybe Wexford people would bother with that expensive kip

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1923 - 30/11/2023 15:26:28    2515109

Replying To Viking66:  "You said those places were the quietest on a Saturday night. I'm not sure what your point is. I only said most tourists view the Temple Bar area as the city centre area with the most pubs and restaurants. Because it is."
My point was split into 2 paragraphs. The second mentioned night time on the North of O Connell Bridge being quiet which is a total waste and I stand by that.

Temple bar is a nightmare and hardly a great space for tourists in general of all ages, even during the day time.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7949 - 30/11/2023 15:47:35    2515110

Replying To cavanman47:  "
Replying To Lockjaw:  "[quote=cavanman47:  "Most European capital cities do not have a metro into the city.

Link:

link"

But look, it would probably be anothing infra project beset by budget overspend and political wrangling."

The only way it won't would be if a government declared a transport/climate/economic emergency to allow it fast-track the process.

The opposition would immediately cry dictatorship if that were to happen."]The Dublin metro must be in the planning stage for at least 25 years with numerous stops and starts and change of plans. It is crazy that we do not have a metro into the city centre from the airport with extensive park and ride facilities North of Swords near the M1. Paris at the moment has a great metro system. However they are not standing still and are building a new circular Grand Paris express around Paris. 200 km of new track with 68 new stations. Due to start in 2024 and be finished by 2030. Even Madeira a small Portuguese island has more than 150 road tunnels cut into the mountains with some of them between 2km - 3km long. A lot of the proposed Dublin metro will be on existing fields/road. Why will it take nearly 50 years to get the job done?

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 580 - 30/11/2023 16:59:09    2515115

What do you want done with the North bank of the Liffey then?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12905 - 30/11/2023 19:44:45    2515128

Replying To cavanman47:  "
Replying To Lockjaw:  "[quote=cavanman47:  "Most European capital cities do not have a metro into the city.

Link:

link"

The opposition would immediately cry dictatorship if that were to happen."]Good to hear, I wasn't aware of that. I won't hold my breath waiting for it to be delivered though.
The likes of the National Children's Hospital project wouldn't inspire exactly inspire confidence.

I reckon we should outsource these types of major infra projects to German consultants, the likes of AECOM. They know how to get stuff done right in Germany!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9296 - 01/12/2023 10:03:16    2515143