Non-Gaa Forum

The devil will find work for idle hands to do and yes alot of the rioters are from disadvantaged areas but there are many more from those same areas that do Not get involved in that scumbag beheavour.When the landsdowne road riot happened many presumed those English scumbags were from disadvantaged areas too but tne truth was many of them were from upmarket areas and many had big jobs etc .Yes many of us in this country look down upon lower classes but there is no excuse whatsovever for the thuggery that went on in our city centre. Alot of these scum just love causing mayhem and robbing and a good few come from decent families.I heard on the Pat Kenny show this morn that one father drove his car into town to try take his son home but the son ignored his fathers pleas and continued causing trouble while his father was left in tears.P.S. pity the rioters did nt get the same treatment their English cousins got from the Gardai who attended the Landsdowne road riot.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3754 - 28/11/2023 21:01:55    2514939

Replying To ThePowerhouse:  "And yet you've stated that you'd have no problem walking around that area day or night! Trying to convince people that there's no problem doing so. Anything happen on Talbot St. in the last few days that'd change your mind?"
I walk around this area night and day because it's where I live, and have pretty much always lived.

It's quite hard to not walk around the area you live in.

What am I supposed to do? Refuse to leave my gaf coz some lad in Leitrim thinks it's too unsafe to walk outside my front door?

There are 10s of 1000s like me. We'll continue to live, work, raise families and socialise here and won't let someone who knows nothing about the area tell us to feel unsafe or to shut ourselves into our homes coz it suits his preconceived narrative.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13761 - 28/11/2023 23:03:28    2514949

Replying To MesAmis:  "I walk around this area night and day because it's where I live, and have pretty much always lived.

What am I supposed to do? Refuse to leave my gaf coz some lad in Leitrim thinks it's too unsafe to walk outside my front door?

There are 10s of 1000s like me. We'll continue to live, work, raise families and socialise here and won't let someone who knows nothing about the area tell us to feel unsafe or to shut ourselves into our homes coz it suits his preconceived narrative."
I was up your way Mesamis for the first time in ages on a day/night out with a couple of friends of a Thursday night. We spent the afternoon in the Ha'penny, went a concert off the bottom of O'Connell St, and headed up to Fibbers to finish off the night. I ended up walking back down O'Connell St by myself as 1 friend went back to the hotel we were staying in early and the other 2 didn't want to go when I did so they went back to another hotel 1 of them owns on the Liffey for a late drink. So around 2.00am I was walking down. Compared to 20 years ago there were noticeably more people who probably hailed originally from warmer climes, along with the usual drunk lads and wasted lads and poor lads. But there were no bad vibes whatsoever, no gangs of lads hanging around in a threatening manner or anything like that. A young, well late 20s, local lad in a baseball cap asked me for a fag, as I was smoking, which I gave him and while we chatted briefly he agreed there were more foreign lads than back in my day and when he was a child, but he said he never had any bother with them. We both agreed how quiet it was compared to back then, there were alot less people out for the craic, and I told him that was the same all over the country these days. Great night tbh!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12902 - 29/11/2023 09:06:55    2514956

Replying To Viking66:  "I was up your way Mesamis for the first time in ages on a day/night out with a couple of friends of a Thursday night. We spent the afternoon in the Ha'penny, went a concert off the bottom of O'Connell St, and headed up to Fibbers to finish off the night. I ended up walking back down O'Connell St by myself as 1 friend went back to the hotel we were staying in early and the other 2 didn't want to go when I did so they went back to another hotel 1 of them owns on the Liffey for a late drink. So around 2.00am I was walking down. Compared to 20 years ago there were noticeably more people who probably hailed originally from warmer climes, along with the usual drunk lads and wasted lads and poor lads. But there were no bad vibes whatsoever, no gangs of lads hanging around in a threatening manner or anything like that. A young, well late 20s, local lad in a baseball cap asked me for a fag, as I was smoking, which I gave him and while we chatted briefly he agreed there were more foreign lads than back in my day and when he was a child, but he said he never had any bother with them. We both agreed how quiet it was compared to back then, there were alot less people out for the craic, and I told him that was the same all over the country these days. Great night tbh!"
I could give you plenty of the same stories. I personally never had any trouble in the city centre either.That doesn't mean the city centre is safe and fit for purpose. It simply isn't.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7943 - 29/11/2023 09:40:23    2514960

Replying To MesAmis:  "I walk around this area night and day because it's where I live, and have pretty much always lived.

There are 10s of 1000s like me. We'll continue to live, work, raise families and socialise here and won't let someone who knows nothing about the area tell us to feel unsafe or to shut ourselves into our homes coz it suits his preconceived narrative."
Like a lot of people from the country I've had to leave where I'm from for college and work. That's the norm for most people. No whinging, no entitlement. Just get on with it because that's life. You wouldn't make much of a life for yourself if you sat on your *** waiting for others to hand you one.
Like a lot of culchies I know Dublin very well and i know the North inner city even more so. You shouldn't have a preconceived notion that it's just the natives who know it. I've heard all the excuses and know the reality.
I grew up with people who had nothing and have made lives for themselves. They've had to move all over the country and the world to do so. A lot have come back because its their home. Lots more haven't.
I also know that there are lots of people that come from "disadvantaged" areas that work hard, contribute to society and make a better life for themselves. They strive to improve their lives and their families lives. They don't roll out the excuses or blame others. I've met people from the same families who have made very different choices even though they had they same upbringing. Without fail, the one who made the wrong choices will roll out the excuses.
One of the few positives from the past week will be a proper policing plan. I'll hazard a guess that it will focus on a particular area of the city.

ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 117 - 29/11/2023 09:44:01    2514962

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I could give you plenty of the same stories. I personally never had any trouble in the city centre either.That doesn't mean the city centre is safe and fit for purpose. It simply isn't."
Helen Mc Intee says it is….!!!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2185 - 29/11/2023 10:31:00    2514966

I'm someone who generally walks everywhere and I've always felt safe in Dublin, despite being mugged at knifepoint in broad daylight by two Irish lads 20 years ago. Something that happens in every big city all over the world. If I wanted to I could use this anecdotal evidence to say the city is safer now than it was then, but that would be disingenuous.

Not the same for women, but that's always been the case unfortunately. Even before all the "fakeugees coming for our women and children"

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12141 - 29/11/2023 13:43:42    2514984

Replying To Breffni40:  "I'm someone who generally walks everywhere and I've always felt safe in Dublin, despite being mugged at knifepoint in broad daylight by two Irish lads 20 years ago. Something that happens in every big city all over the world. If I wanted to I could use this anecdotal evidence to say the city is safer now than it was then, but that would be disingenuous.

Not the same for women, but that's always been the case unfortunately. Even before all the "fakeugees coming for our women and children""
The most likely victims of any violent crime other than rape and domestic abuse are men. That includes murder, assault, mugging etc,

And far more likely to happen to young men. I have daughter and she, buiochas le Dia, has never been attacked. All of my nephews and many of young fellas who were on teams in club, most maybe, have been.

Crime stats back this up by the way.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2879 - 29/11/2023 14:16:17    2514988

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "The most likely victims of any violent crime other than rape and domestic abuse are men. That includes murder, assault, mugging etc,

And far more likely to happen to young men. I have daughter and she, buiochas le Dia, has never been attacked. All of my nephews and many of young fellas who were on teams in club, most maybe, have been.

Crime stats back this up by the way."
I wonder if there are any nuances to those statistics

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12141 - 29/11/2023 15:03:49    2514994

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I could give you plenty of the same stories. I personally never had any trouble in the city centre either.That doesn't mean the city centre is safe and fit for purpose. It simply isn't."
I think that's the same for every city centre in the world.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12902 - 29/11/2023 15:08:36    2514996

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "The most likely victims of any violent crime other than rape and domestic abuse are men. That includes murder, assault, mugging etc,

Crime stats back this up by the way."
Just out of interest Barney would you be able to get the stats on rapes, murders, stabbings, robberies and assaults in the country, and Dublin in particular, with a breakdown of how many were committed by immigrants and how many by indigenous people? Or better again put up a link to said stats?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12902 - 29/11/2023 15:12:49    2514997

Replying To Viking66:  "I think that's the same for every city centre in the world."
Nope. Most of the major cities have focal points full of bars and restaurants and the streets are well policed. O Connell St and the surrounding streets should be the main place to be in the evening and at night. That isn't the case.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7943 - 29/11/2023 15:33:14    2514999

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Nope. Most of the major cities have focal points full of bars and restaurants and the streets are well policed. O Connell St and the surrounding streets should be the main place to be in the evening and at night. That isn't the case."
In fairness that's Temple Bar

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12141 - 29/11/2023 15:50:35    2515001

Replying To Viking66:  "Just out of interest Barney would you be able to get the stats on rapes, murders, stabbings, robberies and assaults in the country, and Dublin in particular, with a breakdown of how many were committed by immigrants and how many by indigenous people? Or better again put up a link to said stats?"
They don't keep such statistics! I did see in report on prisons recently that around 23/4% of people sent to prison are non national citizens so I assume that those % would apply in different categories of crime, but they don't publish that. Unlike in other countries where certain groups punch above their weight. There are very few Indians in Irish prisons compared to quite a large number who work here. Same no true of others I imagine,

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2879 - 29/11/2023 15:55:21    2515005

Replying To Breffni40:  "I wonder if there are any nuances to those statistics"
Nuances? Only one i can think of is that male victims not always be innocent! Young males obviously far more likely to become involved in incidents where "blood" and other substances is "up."

Also case however that a young male or group of young males be more likely to be primary target of other young males looking for trouble, even when doing no harm themselves.

Fact remains though that of 69 murders in 2022, 13 were women. Hardly the spin that certain people were putting on it, and especially not when the facts in some of those cases do not support the false claim that "white Irish males" were danger to all women in an "epidemic of violence".

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2879 - 29/11/2023 16:25:37    2515007

Replying To Viking66:  "I think that's the same for every city centre in the world."
Nope. Go to concert square in Liverpool (you could say their temple bar minus and rip off drink). Heavy police presence, never seen any trouble.

Why do I feel safer walking around New York City at night than Dublin? When you consider NYC is a mega city and Dublin a small town in comparison….police actually police the streets over there.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11307 - 29/11/2023 16:42:58    2515009

Replying To Breffni40:  "I'm someone who generally walks everywhere and I've always felt safe in Dublin, despite being mugged at knifepoint in broad daylight by two Irish lads 20 years ago. Something that happens in every big city all over the world. If I wanted to I could use this anecdotal evidence to say the city is safer now than it was then, but that would be disingenuous.

Not the same for women, but that's always been the case unfortunately. Even before all the "fakeugees coming for our women and children""
Statistics indicate men are far more likely to be victims of violent crime.

However women may be subjected to particularly traumatic crime so receives more attention and justifiably so

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2902 - 29/11/2023 17:32:57    2515017

Ashling Murphy may she rest in peace wasn't safe in broad daylight in Tullamore, neither were those poor wee children and their teacher coming from their school last Thursday, you don't have to be in Dublin city centre to be in danger, especially if you are a woman.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2872 - 29/11/2023 18:00:49    2515019

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Nope. Most of the major cities have focal points full of bars and restaurants and the streets are well policed. O Connell St and the surrounding streets should be the main place to be in the evening and at night. That isn't the case."
Would you include London as a 'major' city. Because I can assure you its 'focal points full of bars and restaurants and the streets' are not well policed.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2589 - 29/11/2023 19:42:23    2515025

Replying To Viking66:  "Just out of interest Barney would you be able to get the stats on rapes, murders, stabbings, robberies and assaults in the country, and Dublin in particular, with a breakdown of how many were committed by immigrants and how many by indigenous people? Or better again put up a link to said stats?"
Some youtuber said that IPS figures showed that 22%of people sent to prison here in 2022 were "non Irish nationals ".
No word on the nature of the crimes though, and it's hardly cast iron info,, so who knows...

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1801 - 29/11/2023 20:22:17    2515029