Armagh Vs Galway

Replying To updwell:  "Weren't Galway doing a lot of diving though and Walsh on the ground was punching an Armagh man several times and get away with it. I know your a bit excited but you don't have to be ignorant."
Where was the diving - did you not see Matt Tierney having to go off with a blood injury after taking a hit into the head?
Shane Walsh was being hit off the ball all day and that was there for all to see but you mustn't have seen it either it seems or you choose not to see it. Get your head out of the sand there - sure we all know Limerick hurlers are very "physical and play on the edge" so you know all about what Armagh were at!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 26/06/2022 19:28:25    2427724

Replying To Malonemagic:  "He shouldn't be back for the semi. Until players start missing big games these melees will continue. Both teams were a disgrace today"
What did you see that showed a red card was warranted for Sean Kelly

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 26/06/2022 19:31:34    2427726

Replying To realdub:  "Great game, Galway just about deserved the win, very enjoyable."
Ah come on - in fairness Galway should have won that game by at least 6 - 8 points as there were at least 3 goals and 1 point gifted to Derry with hailmary shots into the square that Galway failed to defend adequately I would agree but overall Galway had more quality throughout the field. Ironically I think the extra time and penalties may stand to Galway in the long term as they were seen as a bit of a "soft touch" by a lot of so called "punters" but not anymore after today.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 26/06/2022 19:36:21    2427729

Well done Galway and what a game. Best of luck in the semis. Very disappointing from one of our non-playing panel members today. Please don't tar the whole team over one man's moment of madness.

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 26/06/2022 19:37:46    2427730

If Galway can sort out their defence which gifted armagh their goals they will make final as think they will bring game to Derry in a way no side has so far this summer. Great game today armagh despite not playing well refused to lie down and were a credit to their Jersey. I'll leave the nonsence at the end of normal time to the media and social media outrage merchants. That was a proper game of football today the only one over the weekend.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1798 - 26/06/2022 19:38:43    2427731

Not shown on the tv footage but if that Galway player connected with the right hook he deserves an All Star...

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 26/06/2022 19:57:55    2427737

Replying To Belclare:  "What did you see that showed a red card was warranted for Sean Kelly"
I trust that the officials didn't just make it up. You assume they just made it up.

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 765 - 26/06/2022 19:58:28    2427738

Whatever about the melee, Joyce is so right, a penalty shoot out is no way to go out of a QF.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 26/06/2022 20:00:57    2427741

Gleason the Galway goalkeeper (for an ex soccer keeper) really needs to learn how to catch a ball and then hold onto it!
Ist goal...could have maybe tipped it over the bar or jumped up and caught it.
2nd goal....don't know what he was at.
3rd goal....he just stood there and waited for the ball to bounce!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 26/06/2022 20:00:59    2427742

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "If you read my post again I never said anything to disagree with your analysis of Armagh tactics. What I was trying to imply was that the melee discussion deflected from Galway's implosion.
4 points up with 2 minutes to go, the keeper fails to clear his lines properly or even hold on to possession resulting in a goal, then Shane Walsh kicks a 40 yard cross field pass, effectively setting up the Armagh attack that drew the game.

I haven't heard anyone complain about the refereeing by the way, even though I don't know where the 8 minutes extra time came from."
Agree, the keeper was hesitant and responsible for the third goal and SW made the wrong decision with his long pass when the game was practically over.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 26/06/2022 20:06:59    2427745

There was a lot of paperwork being looked at between officials and a bit of confusion before extra-time started. Galway should ask for a record of that paperwork cos there might easily have been a mistake made with Sean Kelly red card.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 26/06/2022 20:11:10    2427746

Replying To Belclare:  "What did you see that showed a red card was warranted for Sean Kelly"
Someone on twitter said it was the 2 captains sent off, nugent is joint captain. Could this be right? I didn't see either of them do anything to get a red and how could you single out 1 from each team from that anyway

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 561 - 26/06/2022 20:16:36    2427749

What a game of ball!

Well done to both teams. A pity it had to be decided on penos imo. Would have loved to see them go at it again.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 26/06/2022 20:17:24    2427751

Replying To Ailteoir:  "Suggest you take a look at it again. Not the first time there's been unsavoury incidents involving Armagh....."
Was at the game and Comer instigated the whole thing.

reffingmad (Roscommon) - Posts: 371 - 26/06/2022 20:22:38    2427755

Well done Galway, great match and great atmosphere, all in all Galway deserved the victory although penalties is definitely not the way to decide games like this. Totally condemn the eye gouge incident and people like that have no place in our association. The rest of the comments directed at armagh are way over the top and have no bearing on reality. Well done Galway, Kerry, Derry and Dublin.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 26/06/2022 20:24:08    2427756

Not a Galway fan by any means but Armagh were a disgrace today absolutely shocking how Morgan was not given the line beggars belief.

monkstownrebel1 (Cork) - Posts: 351 - 26/06/2022 20:27:33    2427757

And breathe ......fantastic game with the right team winning.

Anyone think Armaghs first 2 goals were a little suspect ? Goal 1 had to be square ball. Goal 2 keeper panicked and gave away possession but surely he was touched in the small parallelogram ?

Red card right call too....when you go in at that speed and strength you need to catch full square or you give the ref an easy decision to make.

What an equaliser by Rian O'Neill though. He's the naturally successor to Michael Murphy in the GAA world. Some player. So much to his game.

Gouging has no right on a pitch, it was a disgusting gesture. The player holding Comer's throat on the lead up to it needs to be looked at too. Sean Kelly and Armagh 13 very unfortunate to get red. Think Kelly will have his rescinded for semi.

Kepak10 (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 26/06/2022 20:27:40    2427758

Replying To ArmaghAndProud:  "Fantastic game, awful way to lose it. Both teams out on their feet and think both teams deseved another go at it, but the new calendar doesnt allow for it.
Fair play to P Joyce for his comments.

Thought we started well in the first half and should have got further ahead. Galway the better side in the 2nd half and we were fortunate with some soft goals while Rian showed nerves of steel for the leveller.

I dont mind a bit of shouldering and rough and tumble. Both teams threw a few slaps. However what one of our lads done with they eye gauge was absolutely disgusting. He could have blinded the Galway player. Hope he gets a long ban and if he is anything about him he will have looked for Comer after to apologize."
Fair play and hard luck today. When we blew the lead and ye leveled I was sure we'd blown it; there's some grit in that Armagh team and they left it all on the pitch. Strangely when we made it to penalties I was less concerned; there's a lot to be said for having a goalie in goals!

Shame about the nastiness which is already side-tracking the conversation which really should be celebrating the best game of football of the year so far. Both teams did the sport proud.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 26/06/2022 20:28:17    2427759

A great game. Fantastic comeback from Armagh and in particular Rian O Neill. Galway the better team just about over the 100+ minutes.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 26/06/2022 20:33:11    2427762

Replying To festinog:  "Armagh will have to reconsider this fly-goalie nonsense. Made no appreciable difference during the game but made all the difference when it came to saving penalties and they had an out-fielder in goals.

Galway, same as the Roscommon game, lost focus and let Armagh back in. Roscommon lacked the skillset to punish them, Armagh nearly did. They won't get away with that a third time at the business end of the championship.

The difference between the sides made for a fascinating contest. Galway had lovely footballers but were soft; they ceded the middle third to Armagh in their rush to get back to defend with the end result being Armagh players where getting within shooting distance before a glove was being laid on them. That'll have to be looked at.

Armagh had decent footballer with magnificent physicality. The problem with that is there's a fine line between physical and dirty and the red card says it all. To be honest I think they were lucky to finish regular time with 14. Some lads on this forum seem determined to equate normal physicality which we saw from both teams, with flat out dirty play. That's ye're choice, but I think the majority know the difference.

A fascinating contest by two great teams. Hard luck Armagh.

Gaillimh go deo!"
"Armagh will have to reconsider this fly-goalie nonsense. Made no appreciable difference during the game but made all the difference when it came to saving penalties and they had an out-fielder in goals"

'Saving penalties' had nothing to do with the game's outcome. Armagh lost the game because two out of three of their penalty takers failed to hit the target.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2446 - 26/06/2022 20:35:21    2427763