Armagh Vs Galway

Replying To Dessie_Cross:  "The most surprising part of the incident was Morgan was jostled and goaded but he walked away from Comer. Everyone was expecting a reaction. Nope he walked away and the first man who would have got vilified and a 6 month suspension was clever enough to save himself.
The GAA then had a massive problem, how to penalize a few from Armagh but also someone from Galway to make it look half even.... but also leave the instigator Comer fit to play in semi. I'm guessing they made a scapegoat from one of the subs."
Morgan and clever should never appear in the same sentence…. as for been goading I'd say he would know all about that…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1897 - 01/07/2022 19:28:28    2429096

Replying To Dessie_Cross:  "The most surprising part of the incident was Morgan was jostled and goaded but he walked away from Comer. Everyone was expecting a reaction. Nope he walked away and the first man who would have got vilified and a 6 month suspension was clever enough to save himself.
The GAA then had a massive problem, how to penalize a few from Armagh but also someone from Galway to make it look half even.... but also leave the instigator Comer fit to play in semi. I'm guessing they made a scapegoat from one of the subs."
The "goading" must have been Comer telling Morgan he should already be gone on a second yellow!

Seriously, there were two of them in it there, it wasn't started but just comer or Morgan, it was both of them.

To me it looked like Morgan scampered off in fear of picking up a second yellow, and Forker continued the good work of riling up Comer.

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 69 - 02/07/2022 09:22:46    2429121

This is controversial stuff; it appears as if the case has asked more questions than it has answered.

the outside looking in I can safely say neither Galway nor Armagh went into that game to bring the game into disrepute and / or cause personal injury to another player from the opposing team, however an incident happened, it should have been dealt with separately and fairly but apparently not.

A couple of pointers, to single out the two captains and flash them with a red card each is to say the least questionable, will that prevent a reoccurrence?.

A 10,000 euros fine per county, will that prevent a reoccurrence?

A 24 week suspension, no game suspension not even one, will that prevent a reoccurrence?

A suspension that carried a number of games from one up, instead of a number of weeks was issued to the player in question. Would that prevent a reoccurrence, possibly not, but it would certainly make a player think twice before getting involved.

There is no deterrent to stop a reoccurrence, it's often said without a level of controversy the game would be dead in the water, full stop.

On the balance of fair play It appears as if Galway were a little hard done by with an all Ireland semi just days away, where as Armagh can abide their time over the coming months.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 02/07/2022 10:39:25    2429126

Just wondering if a spectator comes on the field ( as he was the last day ) and gouges a player eye what Is the punishment,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 832 - 02/07/2022 11:06:25    2429140

Replying To Kickitout:  "Just wondering if a spectator comes on the field ( as he was the last day ) and gouges a player eye what Is the punishment,,"
Squad player. Leave the lad be and stop sensationalising it.

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 02/07/2022 14:21:35    2429197

Replying To ardmhacha:  "Squad player. Leave the lad be and stop sensationalising it."
Whats done is done and it was wrong Sin é.
The important thing is Galway won and can look forward too getting the opportunity to play in the All Ireland Football Final should We beat Derry.
With just one week left to get mentally tuned in for the clash v Derry....I think that should be the focus now.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 02/07/2022 15:31:30    2429223

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Morgan forever plays on the edge and in my view a player that does everything to give Armagh a bad name… on and off the pitch.. Some of his antics have no place on a GAA pitch and Armagh would be better served without him… Armagh have some excellent players and don't need to resort to this type of stuff… they are fast becoming the country's most disliked team and it's all their own doing…."
I'm yet to see a successful team who is liked and geography does it make it harder for Armagh to be liked. The crowds they brought to Clones and Croke Park show their people are right behind them, who more do they need!

Players and support can bring an intensity to every game from next season (league and championship) and use the uproar and dislike of them for motivation and pride in their own county. When everything settles down you'd expect Armagh to be very focused and determined next season. They aren't far away which I think we'll see with Galway performances over the next three weeks.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 03/07/2022 09:52:40    2429355

Replying To ardmhacha:  "Every team has a Morgan and Forker. You do realise this??"
Yep. We had two brothers doing it for Donegal for years.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 04/07/2022 15:24:28    2429677

Replying To credit_crunch:  "It really is a fine line though if we start bringing in a whole load of new rules like this your going to kill the passion of the game and this is what it was built on. Dan Hughes great article in Irish news. We had our prob our first blockbuster match in nearly a decade due to the passion and emotions running high be strange if emotions werent running high.

As a armagh fan i was basically shaking just after witnessing one of the best comebacks ive saw and the biggest roar croke park heard in quite a while even some kerry and mayo fans joining in just for the occasion not even cos they like armagh.

its hard to have a close tight match and not spill over. Even the mighty dublin past few years when it was tight got themselves in situations

I agree the eye gourge was ***** and he lost the run of himself but how come this is the first ever 24 week ban for it. The outrage on social media is madness.... Actually this society is turning into a bunch of snowflakes.... Some of the hits and passions of the 90s and 00s is what i grew up on and i miss it. The Mayo Kerry game was basically souless"
Banning headlocks, neck rolls/throws, interference with the eyes or pushing someone off the pitch isn't going to kill the passion of the game.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1029 - 07/07/2022 10:38:22    2430232

Replying To ardmhacha:  "Squad player. Leave the lad be and stop sensationalising it."
How was he a squad player? His name wasn't in the programme and he had no boots on?

PierreBezuhov (UK) - Posts: 226 - 07/07/2022 14:55:47    2430324

Replying To PierreBezuhov:  "How was he a squad player? His name wasn't in the programme and he had no boots on?"
He's an injured member of their squad. Do you want them to just dismiss everyone from the panel that gets injured? Or kit them out when they clearly aren't fit to play?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 07/07/2022 15:55:05    2430335

Replying To SaffronDon:  "He's an injured member of their squad. Do you want them to just dismiss everyone from the panel that gets injured? Or kit them out when they clearly aren't fit to play?"
I think if you aren't in the 26 you're not on the panel and you have no place on the line or on the pitch. I think he was there as a supporter.

PierreBezuhov (UK) - Posts: 226 - 07/07/2022 17:06:27    2430355

Replying To PierreBezuhov:  "I think if you aren't in the 26 you're not on the panel and you have no place on the line or on the pitch. I think he was there as a supporter."
I'm glad you're not my manager anyway. Soon as I'm injured I'm yesterday's news. There's nothing new or illegal about injured players traveling with and being part of the match squad. As for being on the pitch, when the whistle goes, both teams and backroom staff are allowed on the pitch. Nobody ran on while the match was in play. Obviously what happened after the whistle was wrong but the narrative on here seems to be comparable to lads scaling fences as supporters and interrupting a match that's in play which wasn't the case at all.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 07/07/2022 17:43:09    2430372

Replying To SaffronDon:  "I'm glad you're not my manager anyway. Soon as I'm injured I'm yesterday's news. There's nothing new or illegal about injured players traveling with and being part of the match squad. As for being on the pitch, when the whistle goes, both teams and backroom staff are allowed on the pitch. Nobody ran on while the match was in play. Obviously what happened after the whistle was wrong but the narrative on here seems to be comparable to lads scaling fences as supporters and interrupting a match that's in play which wasn't the case at all."
SaffronDon you sound very bitter about the whole situation.. yes I totally agree with squad players-injured players travelling with the match day 26 but should not be near the field of play, take your seat in the stands and stay in them, especially in croke park! and so your saying because it happened after the final whistle then its grand sure.. most county teams have a panal of up to 40 players not including coaches and backroom staff, so just let 50 plus people wander the side line or dug out before, during and after games during a inter county championship game with crowds of thousands in the pitches! stop trying to gloss over what actually happened.

Garmin (Longford) - Posts: 87 - 08/07/2022 10:25:42    2430418

Replying To SaffronDon:  "I'm glad you're not my manager anyway. Soon as I'm injured I'm yesterday's news. There's nothing new or illegal about injured players traveling with and being part of the match squad. As for being on the pitch, when the whistle goes, both teams and backroom staff are allowed on the pitch. Nobody ran on while the match was in play. Obviously what happened after the whistle was wrong but the narrative on here seems to be comparable to lads scaling fences as supporters and interrupting a match that's in play which wasn't the case at all."
I didn't say it was new or illegal. I didn't say anything about teams or backroom staff being on the pitch. If you're injured, or not on the panel, you are there as a supporter and you have no business on the pitch.

PierreBezuhov (UK) - Posts: 226 - 08/07/2022 10:27:11    2430420

Replying To Garmin:  "SaffronDon you sound very bitter about the whole situation.. yes I totally agree with squad players-injured players travelling with the match day 26 but should not be near the field of play, take your seat in the stands and stay in them, especially in croke park! and so your saying because it happened after the final whistle then its grand sure.. most county teams have a panal of up to 40 players not including coaches and backroom staff, so just let 50 plus people wander the side line or dug out before, during and after games during a inter county championship game with crowds of thousands in the pitches! stop trying to gloss over what actually happened."
Go and have a read of what I actually posted. "Obviously what happened was wrong" is what I said about the incident. My post was about the sensationalism about injured squad players all of a sudden not being entitled to be with the team which must be another new mid season rule is it? Not sure where you're getting 50 people from either. More sensationalism? I haven't glossed over anything. My thoughts on the incident are clear for all to see.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 08/07/2022 11:06:33    2430429

Replying To PierreBezuhov:  "I didn't say it was new or illegal. I didn't say anything about teams or backroom staff being on the pitch. If you're injured, or not on the panel, you are there as a supporter and you have no business on the pitch."
That's not really your call about the importance of an injured player to a squad. That might be how you perceive an injured player but it clearly hasn't been the opinion of county managers in general. Hopefully this isn't softening the message that this incident was unsavoury and out of order. But if a lad has trained sweat and blood and got injured on duty for his county, if the manager deems him valuable to have around then he has every right to be there with the squad and indeed leaving the pitch with the squad if that's what they want. Let's not make a case of breaching security or trespassing too. I think the lad has been punished enough at this stage, certainly in comparison to others for the same crime.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 08/07/2022 11:19:29    2430438

Replying To SaffronDon:  "That's not really your call about the importance of an injured player to a squad. That might be how you perceive an injured player but it clearly hasn't been the opinion of county managers in general. Hopefully this isn't softening the message that this incident was unsavoury and out of order. But if a lad has trained sweat and blood and got injured on duty for his county, if the manager deems him valuable to have around then he has every right to be there with the squad and indeed leaving the pitch with the squad if that's what they want. Let's not make a case of breaching security or trespassing too. I think the lad has been punished enough at this stage, certainly in comparison to others for the same crime."
When you're at it you may as well blame Comer for having his head in that position that facilitated the Armagh eye gouger. talk about victim blaming.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 08/07/2022 11:57:44    2430458

Replying To SaffronDon:  "Go and have a read of what I actually posted. "Obviously what happened was wrong" is what I said about the incident. My post was about the sensationalism about injured squad players all of a sudden not being entitled to be with the team which must be another new mid season rule is it? Not sure where you're getting 50 people from either. More sensationalism? I haven't glossed over anything. My thoughts on the incident are clear for all to see."
your trying to some how say because he was injured but part of the team its ok to be on the pitch.. well to add up the 50 people is quite simple, as I originally said most inter county teams train all year with up to 40 players through out the year so thats 40 players 1 manager 4 selectors 1 doctor 1 physio 2 water boys!! Ill let you do the maths

Garmin (Longford) - Posts: 87 - 08/07/2022 12:02:22    2430461

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "When you're at it you may as well blame Comer for having his head in that position that facilitated the Armagh eye gouger. talk about victim blaming."
Do any of you lads actually read my post or do you just pick out one sentence and run in a completely different direction with it? For the 3rd time ITS WAS AN UNSAVOURY INCIDENT WHICH DESERVED TO BE PUNISHED. Try to keep up

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 08/07/2022 13:05:02    2430482