Central Competitions Control Committee.

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "So what you are saying is that there should be no "court" as it were? The player accused should have no right to defend himself? That someone in the GAA should be tasked with "impartially" just handing out bans left right and center with no chance to appeal? Have you read back what you wrote and do you still think it sounds reasonable?

This is Ireland not North Korea."
No hurling in Korea North or South sadly LRH!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11847 - 16/06/2022 15:58:19    2425440

Replying To moc.dna:  "The answer to your last paragraph is yes."
That's 1 of the reasons why it's a joke.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11847 - 16/06/2022 15:59:13    2425441

Replying To Oldtourman:  "
Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""CLARE duo Rory Hayes and Peter Duggan along with Galway's Cianan Fahy have all been cleared to play in this Saturday's All-Ireland SHC quarter-finals."

"Fahy's case was the first to be heard tonight, and it's understood the case against him was dropped after a "procedural" query was raised by Galway".

"The charges facing Hayes and Duggan were also thrown out by the CHC...Clare chairman Kieran Keating told Independent.ie that they were cleared because of "irregularities on the CCCC side in terms of how they proceeded with the disciplinary matter."

Central Competitions Control Committee. The CCCC is appointed by the GAA president for the duration of his term and it comprises a chairman, the four provincial secretaries and four other nominees, plus a secretary from within the Croke Park staff.

So a hugely important part of the GAA doesn't know to do their jobs. Jobs they get paid to do.
Will anybody be sacked or disciplined?
What a shambles, an absolute disgrace."
Sean Foley was suspended for a full six months, back in '81, for what may have an accidental blow of a hurley to the face of PJ Molloy. Now players who stamp on or clearly strike other players with a hurley cannot be suspended for a single game."
think its time to build a bridge and get over it Old timer. bitterness and resent from an incident like that from an incident 40 odd years ago will lead you down a sad road.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 16/06/2022 16:02:37    2425442

Replying To indaknownow:  "I'm not sure of the timelines or whatever but whatever happened in this instance is not correct.
GAA needs to get its house in order. something as simple as where a decision is appealed on a technicality i.e. there is no contrary evidence to disprove the claim the process recommences from the date of appeal.
The GAA isn't a court of law - it sets rules and sanctions etc as is sees fit and these laws are agreed through its structures. Surely it can pass such motions to protect itself. If there were no benefits to challenging these on a technicality then there would be no challenges.
Does any right minded person believe that these 3 players should not be sanctioned for what they did.? By right minded i mean non partizan Clare or Galway supporters."
Me. If the referee saw them and sent them off fair enough. If not then at the final whistle that's the game and everything in it finished with.
Except in 2 circumstances. If any of the lads they hit got badly injured then retrospective bans for sure. And I don't mean 1 or 2 games. I mean 6 months minimum. And fines paid to the victims. Especially if any of them had to miss time off work. And secondly for simulation. Any player guilty of simulation should be banned. And if the simulation caused a sending off that affected the result then their team should be disqualified from whatever competition it occurred in. That would put a stop to alot of #### that happens on the pitch.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11847 - 16/06/2022 16:06:08    2425446

If the GAA are going to use trail by TV then it must be done in a fair manner.
Either it is applied across all games, not just the games which are broadcast or it is not used at all.

cwps1 (Louth) - Posts: 8 - 16/06/2022 16:06:27    2425447

Replying To The_Fridge:  "
Replying To Oldtourman:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  ""CLARE duo Rory Hayes and Peter Duggan along with Galway's Cianan Fahy have all been cleared to play in this Saturday's All-Ireland SHC quarter-finals."

"Fahy's case was the first to be heard tonight, and it's understood the case against him was dropped after a "procedural" query was raised by Galway".

"The charges facing Hayes and Duggan were also thrown out by the CHC...Clare chairman Kieran Keating told Independent.ie that they were cleared because of "irregularities on the CCCC side in terms of how they proceeded with the disciplinary matter."

Central Competitions Control Committee. The CCCC is appointed by the GAA president for the duration of his term and it comprises a chairman, the four provincial secretaries and four other nominees, plus a secretary from within the Croke Park staff.

So a hugely important part of the GAA doesn't know to do their jobs. Jobs they get paid to do.
Sean Foley was suspended for a full six months, back in '81, for what may have an accidental blow of a hurley to the face of PJ Molloy. Now players who stamp on or clearly strike other players with a hurley cannot be suspended for a single game."
think its time to build a bridge and get over it Old timer. bitterness and resent from an incident like that from an incident 40 odd years ago will lead you down a sad road."]Fridge. My point is current sanctions are a joke. I had no problem with Foley getting six months.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 16/06/2022 16:14:01    2425452

Replying To cwps1:  "If the GAA are going to use trail by TV then it must be done in a fair manner.
Either it is applied across all games, not just the games which are broadcast or it is not used at all."
Well that would be giving in to "whataboutery".

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1706 - 16/06/2022 16:38:30    2425469

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "So what you are saying is that there should be no "court" as it were? The player accused should have no right to defend himself? That someone in the GAA should be tasked with "impartially" just handing out bans left right and center with no chance to appeal? Have you read back what you wrote and do you still think it sounds reasonable?

Of course you can appeal as officials he many things wrong…but you are missing the point.. When a player or in Clare's case 2 players strike their opponent with the hurl off the ball they should face full punishment… You are surely not condoning such actions from either player are you…? Both should be suspended for their next match no question.. You must enjoy thuggery…!!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1926 - 16/06/2022 16:46:23    2425471

Replying To Pikeman96:  "And under what rule could the GAA suddenly decide that a team forfeits the match if they pick such a player? One that they just make up on the spot?

Far from solving the problem, you'd just be creating a far bigger mess."
The simple rule that he is under suspension… Wakey up that's a good chap..

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1926 - 16/06/2022 16:49:13    2425472

Of course you can appeal as officials he many things wrong…but you are missing the point.. When a player or in Clare's case 2 players strike their opponent with the hurl off the ball they should face full punishment… You are surely not condoning such actions from either player are you…? Both should be suspended for their next match no question.. You must enjoy thuggery…!!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1926 - 16/06/2022 16:50:07    2425474

Replying To Viking66:  "Me. If the referee saw them and sent them off fair enough. If not then at the final whistle that's the game and everything in it finished with.
Except in 2 circumstances. If any of the lads they hit got badly injured then retrospective bans for sure. And I don't mean 1 or 2 games. I mean 6 months minimum. And fines paid to the victims. Especially if any of them had to miss time off work. And secondly for simulation. Any player guilty of simulation should be banned. And if the simulation caused a sending off that affected the result then their team should be disqualified from whatever competition it occurred in. That would put a stop to alot of #### that happens on the pitch."
Not totally disagreeing with you but there are some flaws in what you suggest. Any player playing intercounty (and a lot of Senior Club fixtures must know that the matches are televised and therefor should be honour bound that anything they are caught doing by the referee or the CCCC can attract the appropriate sanction. (whether the opponent was injured or not) the object of any sanctions is to stop the bad behaviour it is not to act as an incentive not to get caught - its the same with drink driving laws!!!
In relation to the point made by Canuck - it is not an overrulling of the ref for sanctions to be applied on foot of video evidence it is a supplementation of the information provided in the referees report. It is likely that the referee was asked if he saw the incident and he has said that he didn't then in that case the sanction will be applied.
Finally the GAA need to be more Transparent in the process for CITING of incidents post game. This might improve the consistency.

indaknownow (Offaly) - Posts: 112 - 16/06/2022 17:05:19    2425478

Replying To indaknownow:  "Not totally disagreeing with you but there are some flaws in what you suggest. Any player playing intercounty (and a lot of Senior Club fixtures must know that the matches are televised and therefor should be honour bound that anything they are caught doing by the referee or the CCCC can attract the appropriate sanction. (whether the opponent was injured or not) the object of any sanctions is to stop the bad behaviour it is not to act as an incentive not to get caught - its the same with drink driving laws!!!
In relation to the point made by Canuck - it is not an overrulling of the ref for sanctions to be applied on foot of video evidence it is a supplementation of the information provided in the referees report. It is likely that the referee was asked if he saw the incident and he has said that he didn't then in that case the sanction will be applied.
Finally the GAA need to be more Transparent in the process for CITING of incidents post game. This might improve the consistency."
Agree transparency would be a big help. Never going to happen though.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11847 - 16/06/2022 17:23:47    2425482

The GAA's disciplinary process is a complete joke. All we are told is that there was a "procedural issue" and some "irregularities" and so all 3 players automatically get off and that's the end of the story - no specifics whatsoever as to what the actual issues were. This kind of nonsense does not happen in any other sport.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 16/06/2022 17:53:09    2425493

Replying To indaknownow:  "Absolutely shambolic and sends out all the wrong signals on every level.

1) i cant understand why after 2 years of online meetings accross the GAA why this is now deemed to be a procedural issue for this meeting to have been held online. - im sure its not the first CCCC meeting held oline.
2) if the CCCC wasnt properly held well call another meeting face to face and redo the process.
3) Where is the moral Code and sens of fair play or is that gone for ever. From what i saw at the weekend all of these acts were all pretty clear cut and indefensible. fair minded people should accept fair consequences for their actions."
Agree totally. All sense of taking your medicine is gone in the GAA. It mirrors the lack of responsibility taken by people in Irish society.

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 766 - 16/06/2022 18:45:39    2425504

Replying To Oldtourman:  "
Replying To The_Fridge:  "[quote=Oldtourman:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  ""CLARE duo Rory Hayes and Peter Duggan along with Galway's Cianan Fahy have all been cleared to play in this Saturday's All-Ireland SHC quarter-finals."

think its time to build a bridge and get over it Old timer. bitterness and resent from an incident like that from an incident 40 odd years ago will lead you down a sad road."]Fridge. My point is current sanctions are a joke. I had no problem with Foley getting six months."]Oldtourman if one of yere lads pulls on a ball and an opponent sticks a hand, leg or head in, there are people on here that want them suspended base on what they see in slow motion from the arm chair. Then an attempt to label Limerick as a dirty team. Going back 40 years trying to re enforce a point. We all have skeletons in the closet but it starts to get ridiculous.
Those two Clare players should never have been suspended to begin with. It makes a real laughing stock that a technicality changes it. Someone who has maybe decaputated an opponent will get off on one of these technicalities and a referee makes a mistake with a sending off and no action. They can't have it both ways. Two such incidents I can attest to this year. Foran for a head hit that his opponent was going down (Cody said the same) and Gleeson for handing off someone who had him around the neck. I don't care what team they come from. However the arm chair disciplinarians see it different with their slowed down t.v. version of the events. I believe we hold the record for failed appeals and so now done bother anymore.
I don't condone what the Clare players did but if this is the process you are going to use then you hand better sit down and watch every game in full to see what was missed. Otherwise you are being selective or unfair. If there was no t.v. replay would they have been suspended ? They will be in the right place this weekend on the field of play. It is not the function of t.v. to provide evidence for player suspension. Especially selective picks.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 16/06/2022 21:06:50    2425515

Replying To The_Fridge:  "
Replying To Oldtourman:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  ""CLARE duo Rory Hayes and Peter Duggan along with Galway's Cianan Fahy have all been cleared to play in this Saturday's All-Ireland SHC quarter-finals."

think its time to build a bridge and get over it Old timer. bitterness and resent from an incident like that from an incident 40 odd years ago will lead you down a sad road."]I would never say Oldtourman is bitter or resentful. He is one of the better posters on this board and is fair and balanced in his postings.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 17/06/2022 09:30:54    2425536

Replying To Viking66:  "Me. If the referee saw them and sent them off fair enough. If not then at the final whistle that's the game and everything in it finished with.
Except in 2 circumstances. If any of the lads they hit got badly injured then retrospective bans for sure. And I don't mean 1 or 2 games. I mean 6 months minimum. And fines paid to the victims. Especially if any of them had to miss time off work. And secondly for simulation. Any player guilty of simulation should be banned. And if the simulation caused a sending off that affected the result then their team should be disqualified from whatever competition it occurred in. That would put a stop to alot of #### that happens on the pitch."
Viking66, I more often than not agree with you but in this case I find my self grabbing my inner John McEnroe and shouting "YOU CAN NOT BE SERIOUS"! :)
If you enforce a rule book based on the outcome, you are playing Russian roulette with players well being. I don't want to go out in our up coming club matches and think an opponent can hit me in the face with the hurl and it only be an issue if I get an injury from it. When the player swings a hurl at my face, he is not in control of the outcome.
Players need to know that certain actions are off limits and that you just can not do it.
"Nobody got hurt" is just a sure fire way for a laissez faire attitude on the pitch. The rule book is there to protect players. I don't want to be part of a game where that is the attitude.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 17/06/2022 09:37:57    2425537

I have a few issues here

The whole lack of transparency around everything in my opinion causes a lot of county boards to look for every loop hole known even when it is obvious what happened.

Regarding the final whistle being the end of the matter, I would agree to a certain extent however with more serious fouls or attempted fouls (don't think you should get a pass coz you missed!) there should be retrospective action.

For retrospective action there should be a high bar. What that bar is I am not sure, but something like it would have been a straight red if spotted etc If the bar for retrospective action was set correctly it would reduce all this rubbish. Examples of offense that fall into the retrospective action should be listed so know one is in any doubt.

Offences should be graded to level of seriousness: Low/Medium/High and there should be a range of punishment for each. i.e. all strikes are not the same.

Maybe the bar for retrospective action should be a red card offence with a medium level of seriousness (u get my point)

Past behavior should be a mitigating/aggravating or not a factor. In rugby bans can be halved or doubled depending on previous.

Whatever the structure ends up being it will always be a farce in the GAA as long as it lacks transparency. That is the key.

I like the rugby structure. It is very clear cut. You could use it in GAA and adjust the sanctions to suit GAA.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 17/06/2022 10:36:43    2425558

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Viking66, I more often than not agree with you but in this case I find my self grabbing my inner John McEnroe and shouting "YOU CAN NOT BE SERIOUS"! :)
If you enforce a rule book based on the outcome, you are playing Russian roulette with players well being. I don't want to go out in our up coming club matches and think an opponent can hit me in the face with the hurl and it only be an issue if I get an injury from it. When the player swings a hurl at my face, he is not in control of the outcome.
Players need to know that certain actions are off limits and that you just can not do it.
"Nobody got hurt" is just a sure fire way for a laissez faire attitude on the pitch. The rule book is there to protect players. I don't want to be part of a game where that is the attitude."
They already know this. Its just in the heat of battle they forget. Retrospective punishment won't work as a deterrent because they already know that they could be sent off if spotted by the ref or linesmen. We will forget about umpires for this debate who I feel should do more.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11847 - 17/06/2022 10:39:47    2425559

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "The simple rule that he is under suspension… Wakey up that's a good chap.."
I don't think I'm the one who's asleep here.

In the situation you outlined, the player would not be under suspension, because the suspension would have been successfully appealed. You wanted the GAA to then make a stance by essentially throwing their toys out of the pram and declaring "well, if you're going to pick this player who's now not under suspension any more, we'll throw your whole team out of the championship". Do you really not see the mess that would create?

Try to keep up with yourself. That's a good chap. :)

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2247 - 17/06/2022 11:35:02    2425595