Central Competitions Control Committee.

Replying To indaknownow:  "Absolutely shambolic and sends out all the wrong signals on every level.

1) i cant understand why after 2 years of online meetings accross the GAA why this is now deemed to be a procedural issue for this meeting to have been held online. - im sure its not the first CCCC meeting held oline.
2) if the CCCC wasnt properly held well call another meeting face to face and redo the process.
3) Where is the moral Code and sens of fair play or is that gone for ever. From what i saw at the weekend all of these acts were all pretty clear cut and indefensible. fair minded people should accept fair consequences for their actions."
"The Central Hearings Committee overturned it on a procedural technicality raised by Galway.

Central Hearings Committee
Chair: Brian Rennick, Dunderry GAA Club (Meath), Aoife Farrelly, Trim GAA Club (Meath), Micheál Óg McMahon, An Bhoth (Monaghan), Tod O' Mahony, Kiltimagh GAA (Mayo), Gerry Hagan, Killoe Young Emmets (Longford), Seán Dunnion, Four Masters (Donegal), Gerry Larkin, Tynagh/Abbey-Duniry (Galway), Michael Wadding, Roanmore GAA (Waterford).

Rennick made a mark in the GAA's disciplinary affairs with a devastating minority opinion in the authority's clearing of Dublin's Diarmuid Connolly before the 2015 All-Ireland semi-final replay against Mayo.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 16/06/2022 12:55:00    2425362

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "On your point 2, i'm sure their own procedures require this to be completed within a timeframe, a timeframe that had lapsed because it was not legitimately held when they thought it was held. Apparently the issue is with regards to the original "meeting" that offered the ban, not last nights appeal. It is now likely to be too late to go back and restart this.

No county would have accepted those bans if they GAA did not follow their own rules in implementing the bans so regardless of what you think about "fair minded" people, every county will try and get decisions like this overturned. The GAA love quoting rule this rule that!!!

From a Clare perspective I have and had no problems with the lads being banned but I had a problem with the lack of transparency around the process and it is this lack of transparency that has led to the fingers being pointed at the Sunday Game rightly or wrongly. Its amazing to think that no one from the GAA came out to clarify the process here if only to take the heat off the Sunday Game if in fact there was no collusion. The silence is telling in my opinion that all is not right and as a result I am delighted the GAA coped one in this instance by breaking their own rules."
The psychological momentum has swung again from clare. I think clare are more vulnerable now than they were 24 hours ago v wexford this coming weekend. It'll be interesting to see. No excuses for clare now. And they'll be watched by officials closely as will all 4 counties.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1127 - 16/06/2022 12:55:32    2425363

Lack of transparency is a cop out. The two lads particularly Hayes committed cowardly, false belts, zero manliness shown then and since. Karma hopefully applies

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1489 - 16/06/2022 13:01:17    2425368

Whole system is a joke. The 3 lads shouldn't have been cited in the 1st place being as no-one got hurt really. Yes they should've been sent off at the time. But when the final whistle blows I think only incidents where there is a badly hurt victim, or a situation of simulation to deceive the referee should carry any retrospective punishment.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11847 - 16/06/2022 13:03:07    2425371

Limerick will be blamed by all and sundry,even though they won't be playing until 3rd of July..suspensions to follow..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2215 - 16/06/2022 13:06:13    2425372

The whole GAA and their flaunting of their own rules is a joke…… where a misdemeanour occurs on the pitch is missed by the officials but picked up on TV the perpetrator should face punishment full stop… The GAA should grow a pair and tell County boards that they can hire the best and most costly legal team ever assembled to get their man cleared but if that player lines out the match will be forfeited…. Do you think any management team would take the chance of picking that player….? I think not and that would end the legal route for good…. Wake up GAA

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1926 - 16/06/2022 13:27:31    2425381

Replying To Pikeman96:  "It'd be comical if it wasn't so serious.

Those sort of meetings were allowed to be held online under the emergency powers that were brought in to cover the lockdown periods. But now those powers have expired.

This was possibly the first such meeting that they've had to hold since the powers expired, and so they went ahead and did what they've been doing for the past couple of years, without it occurring to anybody that they're not actually allowed to hold these meetings online any more. So you can probably see how it probably happened, but still......"
ao when did the emergency powers expire?
what rule states tbat these meetings must be face to face?
which meeting was deemed to be illegal?

The lack of communication on this shambles from the suits in CP is embarrassing.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 16/06/2022 13:41:11    2425385

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Limerick will be blamed by all and sundry,even though they won't be playing until 3rd of July..suspensions to follow.."
What??

How have you managed to bring Limerick to this?

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 16/06/2022 13:53:33    2425392

Replying To Viking66:  "Whole system is a joke. The 3 lads shouldn't have been cited in the 1st place being as no-one got hurt really. Yes they should've been sent off at the time. But when the final whistle blows I think only incidents where there is a badly hurt victim, or a situation of simulation to deceive the referee should carry any retrospective punishment."
Viking66 totally agree with your honest assessment. Again we have people on here who want trial by replayed t.v. slow motion and commentators analysis. If the GAA want reviewed discipline then get their own cameras that are used to review all red cards on the spot. This done properly by trained people in authority to make a recommendation to the ref. Until then stop making idiots of themselves citing players after the fact who at most should be given a stern warning and a reoccurrence will have suspension implications based on the seriousness of the infraction. (injury to an opponent) These two players were involved in incidents during play. I could make a list as long as my arm of players getting hit off the ball in the auld soft you up process with umpires and lines men watching.
These two Clare players should never be in danger of not playing without all this b.s. and I am not surprised on your stance because Wexford people would want to win beating the best the opposition can throw at them.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 16/06/2022 14:32:04    2425405

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "The whole GAA and their flaunting of their own rules is a joke…… where a misdemeanour occurs on the pitch is missed by the officials but picked up on TV the perpetrator should face punishment full stop… The GAA should grow a pair and tell County boards that they can hire the best and most costly legal team ever assembled to get their man cleared but if that player lines out the match will be forfeited…. Do you think any management team would take the chance of picking that player….? I think not and that would end the legal route for good…. Wake up GAA"
So what you are saying is that there should be no "court" as it were? The player accused should have no right to defend himself? That someone in the GAA should be tasked with "impartially" just handing out bans left right and center with no chance to appeal? Have you read back what you wrote and do you still think it sounds reasonable?

This is Ireland not North Korea.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 16/06/2022 14:33:00    2425407

CCCC & the GAA are a national laughing stock when it comes to Disciplinary matters. Events this week are nothing short of a disgrace. In any sport to stamp on an opponent who is lying prone on the ground is a complete no no, yet the player & his County Board Decide to appeal it. How this County Board can them turn around & decide to implement Disciplinary measures within their own county is a joke.
Parents of young kids starting off in the GAA watching this must wonder is it safe to let kids play in an organisation that has an absolute shambles of a Disciplinary system.
Nothing will change till somebody is seriously injured or there is a fatality.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 16/06/2022 14:37:27    2425408

Replying To hashtag2017:  "Look, everyone who loves open, traditional hurling was absolutely delighted with the wonderful game Clare and Limerick was, clapping John Keenans back for refereeing it his way. The rulebook on the day was shredded in the referees dressing room before the game. This doesn't give players the permission to bring the game into disrepute by using their hurleys to strike someone off the ball, or the foot to stamp on someone, and if you get caught take your punishment and move on. Trial by video analysis happens all the time in other sports all over the world so don't be blaming RTE for it. You would wonder if Flanagan, Finn or Reid ended up on stretchers and spent days in hospital, with spinal/neck or knee injuries would the dialogue be different and would the wonderful county boards of Galway and Clare have found a loophole."
The answer to your last paragraph is yes.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 16/06/2022 14:44:27    2425410

Replying To Clubgaa:  "ao when did the emergency powers expire?
what rule states tbat these meetings must be face to face?
which meeting was deemed to be illegal?

The lack of communication on this shambles from the suits in CP is embarrassing."
1 - The emergency powers were introduced in April 2020, were extended a few times while the whole Covid situation was ongoing, and eventually expired in April of this year.

2 - I don't know what specific rule doesn't allow for these sort of meetings to be held online in normal circumstances, but the rule obviously exists somewhere!

3 - The meeting deemed illegal was the original one that reviewed the incidents and proposed the suspensions.

I agree that a statement from "the suits in CP" should be issued to clarify what happened.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2247 - 16/06/2022 14:48:21    2425411

Replying To Dealer:  "The entire disciplinary process within GAA is in tatters after this. I'm not bothered about whether the players get to play or not. That's not the overall point albeit very relevant for the individual counties playing the quarter finals this weekend. The key issue here is the transparency and competency of the disciplinary process within the game.

If someone commits a heinous offence that's not picked up by officials this weekend - how will that get treated after this debacle?"
To answer that question - I'd say it's fairly clear that the people involved would make sure any meeting is held face to face!

Remember it's not the case that they don't have the power to propose suspensions based on video evidence. It's just that they don't have the power to propose them in an online meeting.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2247 - 16/06/2022 14:50:29    2425414

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "On your point 2, i'm sure their own procedures require this to be completed within a timeframe, a timeframe that had lapsed because it was not legitimately held when they thought it was held. Apparently the issue is with regards to the original "meeting" that offered the ban, not last nights appeal. It is now likely to be too late to go back and restart this.

No county would have accepted those bans if they GAA did not follow their own rules in implementing the bans so regardless of what you think about "fair minded" people, every county will try and get decisions like this overturned. The GAA love quoting rule this rule that!!!

From a Clare perspective I have and had no problems with the lads being banned but I had a problem with the lack of transparency around the process and it is this lack of transparency that has led to the fingers being pointed at the Sunday Game rightly or wrongly. Its amazing to think that no one from the GAA came out to clarify the process here if only to take the heat off the Sunday Game if in fact there was no collusion. The silence is telling in my opinion that all is not right and as a result I am delighted the GAA coped one in this instance by breaking their own rules."
I'm not sure of the timelines or whatever but whatever happened in this instance is not correct.
GAA needs to get its house in order. something as simple as where a decision is appealed on a technicality i.e. there is no contrary evidence to disprove the claim the process recommences from the date of appeal.
The GAA isn't a court of law - it sets rules and sanctions etc as is sees fit and these laws are agreed through its structures. Surely it can pass such motions to protect itself. If there were no benefits to challenging these on a technicality then there would be no challenges.
Does any right minded person believe that these 3 players should not be sanctioned for what they did.? By right minded i mean non partizan Clare or Galway supporters.

indaknownow (Offaly) - Posts: 112 - 16/06/2022 14:51:06    2425415

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "The whole GAA and their flaunting of their own rules is a joke…… where a misdemeanour occurs on the pitch is missed by the officials but picked up on TV the perpetrator should face punishment full stop… The GAA should grow a pair and tell County boards that they can hire the best and most costly legal team ever assembled to get their man cleared but if that player lines out the match will be forfeited…. Do you think any management team would take the chance of picking that player….? I think not and that would end the legal route for good…. Wake up GAA"
And under what rule could the GAA suddenly decide that a team forfeits the match if they pick such a player? One that they just make up on the spot?

Far from solving the problem, you'd just be creating a far bigger mess.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2247 - 16/06/2022 14:53:14    2425417

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "So what you are saying is that there should be no "court" as it were? The player accused should have no right to defend himself? That someone in the GAA should be tasked with "impartially" just handing out bans left right and center with no chance to appeal? Have you read back what you wrote and do you still think it sounds reasonable?

This is Ireland not North Korea."
Like you I had no problem if suspensions were handed out "do the crime do the time" but the GAA is a very big organisation with a legal team of its own { as far as I Know} so no suspension should be thrown out on a technicality.

Ian Galvin was send off for a little jostle but Sunday games analysts said it was not even a yellow card but because they said there was canvassing { not from County Board or Team } but Galvin was forced to miss match anyway.

Please stop talking about Karma, Hurling is a great game sometimes an odd clash we want no more controversies just hurling.

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 887 - 16/06/2022 15:10:16    2425422

Back from holidays.

Is there any other sport out there, anywhere, where stamping on an opponent would not result in a suspension? In hockey, for example, would you get away with hitting or attempting to hit an opponent in the face with a stick?
The GAA are a national embarrassment. It is absolutely disgraceful that the rule book and discipline process is so loose that practically no player serves a deserved suspension.

Rugby uses TMO perfectly. "Wayne, I have something you might want to review". Off the ball incident, red card.
GAA? Clandestine, underhand, loose, skull duggery

I can't wait for the next "we need more referees" campaign.

I would be surprised if any right thinking Clare or Galway supporter thinks any of these 3 deserve to get off. If they were Wexford men, I wouldn't anyway. Imagine even the county board officials going to defend these lads. How could you think you are right?

No player will serve any suspension beyond the 70 minutes from here on in.

When will the GAA draw a line in the sand, tighten up the rule book and say NO MORE.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 16/06/2022 15:10:18    2425423

Replying To indaknownow:  "I'm not sure of the timelines or whatever but whatever happened in this instance is not correct.
GAA needs to get its house in order. something as simple as where a decision is appealed on a technicality i.e. there is no contrary evidence to disprove the claim the process recommences from the date of appeal.
The GAA isn't a court of law - it sets rules and sanctions etc as is sees fit and these laws are agreed through its structures. Surely it can pass such motions to protect itself. If there were no benefits to challenging these on a technicality then there would be no challenges.
Does any right minded person believe that these 3 players should not be sanctioned for what they did.? By right minded i mean non partizan Clare or Galway supporters."
You must have missed but I have posted numerous times that both Clare players deserved the ban. No one in Clare is disputing that. From what I can see no one in Galway thinks he should escape a ban either.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 16/06/2022 15:16:16    2425427

Replying To Pikeman96:  "And under what rule could the GAA suddenly decide that a team forfeits the match if they pick such a player? One that they just make up on the spot?

Far from solving the problem, you'd just be creating a far bigger mess."
Pikeman96 your correct about making up rules to suit the occasions on the spot. It is hard to not believe the disciplinary system is not biased. The ref was being overruled by disciplining these two players to begin. Not because it is us but an example. Gleeson pushed off an opponent who was choking him from behind but they did not step in and rescind that one ? I can cite many other incidents that were similar. At the very least it is selective application and interpretation of rules. At the worst can be influenced from the outside.
Taking action in the first place on these players just added egg in the face when rescinding it . O to be a fly on the wall for the explanation of both decisions. Please don't draw any comparison between courts appeals with these proceeds.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 16/06/2022 15:27:26    2425431