Knives Out For Managers

Replying To endgame:  "The test for a gaa team is how they perform in the championship. Roscommon, under Anthony Cunningham, have won one match in the last three championships and that was against a Division 4 team who played most of the match with 14 players. We have some talented players who reached underage All Ireland Finals against the mighty Dubs. Roscommon are underachieving under Cunningham who should have gone after last year's championship which we exited at home in the Hyde with a dismal defensive display against Galway."
Maybe that's as good as ye are. He won a Connacht title with ye. Won the Div 2 league. Was it Anthony's fault that ye blew a lead in the last few minutes. Mayo played after ye did and had leader's that pulled them over the line. Where were the leaders for Roscommon?

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1648 - 12/06/2022 16:15:53    2424250

Good thread.
I have seen both sides of this as a Dublin hurling fan and a dragged along to drive Wexford fan (OK I admit I deeply enjoy and do get behind my adopted county given my children and wife are all Wexicans, dare I admit it I have used "we" from time to time!).
In Dublin hurling, the best manager was/is always the next one. Always lots of criticism from some parts, and the same old faces. But the real Dublin supporters know the capabilities of the team, and there is only so much the manager can do, especially when losing lads to the footballers which simply can't be avoided. The knives seem to be permanently at least at the ready.
In Wexford, I think they are largely a patient fan base with realistic targets based on the ability of the team. I think most people gave Davy lots of time to prove himself, and that he did to be fair. I also think he went at the right time. But I get the frustration of the real Wexford hurling fans when the same posters re-appear on here after every loss to stick a boot in, but never post after a win.
The worst critics in Wexford are all at underage level. There is always way better hurlers in the county than on underage teams. There was 1 lad after the minor loss to Laois who was on swinging, saying that he was over lots of teams in Wexford at that age group and there were much better hurlers out there but when challenged to name 1 he wasn't able to (there isn't by the way). I don't get the mentality of these people. Same on Twitter, I saw some names criticising players, manager after the Westmeath draw. Some of which I recognised and to say they do NOTHING in their clubs is an understatement.
There are Wexford football supporters who would gladly spend thousands on Jim Gavin to train the team, but couldn't accept if it didn't work out because the players are not there.

Sure we have all seen in our clubs, etc. The mouthiest, know it all supporters never hurled in their lives, while the top hurlers tend to be the quiet ones. They know how hard the game is, whereas the lad who only ever hurled on the ditch thinks it is easy and can see the pass from the stand.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1119 - 12/06/2022 16:55:08    2424257

Replying To eoinog:  "Maybe that's as good as ye are. He won a Connacht title with ye. Won the Div 2 league. Was it Anthony's fault that ye blew a lead in the last few minutes. Mayo played after ye did and had leader's that pulled them over the line. Where were the leaders for Roscommon?"
I think we're better than what we're producing but as with all things on here, it's a matter of opinion. Roscommon had no leaders on or off the pitch yesterday on what was a hugely disappointing day for Roscommon people. Best of luck to yourselves in the Tailteann cup.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2154 - 12/06/2022 17:32:21    2424276