Donegal V Armagh (Qualifiers)

Replying To sean og:  "Some of our fans were poor today with the booing but it was only a small minority, storm in a teacup stuff.

Commiserations to Donegal, absolutely none of my business but I think their management team isn't up to scratch, they have a superb squad of players but I feel they are being constantly held back, let the reins off and let them play football.

Delighted with the win, looking forward to the draw now, whoever/wherever it is, we will bring an army with us."
Leave those vuvuzuelas at home though will you!

SimonstownBack (Meath) - Posts: 143 - 12/06/2022 21:51:13    2424413

Why were so many Armagh fans booing and jeering?? I didn't think they hated Donegal that much. Didn't seem like just one or two either which is disappointing.

fielder (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 12/06/2022 21:58:41    2424415

Firstly well done and congratulations to Armagh on a deserrved win. I thought we were going to turn the screw on you when we had Rafferty's kickouts in big trouble in the first half. But we then inexplicably opened the door for you to get back into it, and fair play to your lads, they booted it down & charged through it. I'm really looking forward to watching your quarter final with Galway in Croke Park. Two good footballing teams on a big pitch should make for a great game.

Some Armagh fans did let themselves down a bit but there's not one county in the country that doesn't have a gang of tanked up eejits at games making a show of themselves. There was also the baggage from the league game thrown in as well. Maybe it'll take the Guards and stewards denying entry (not talking about just Armagh fans here either btw) for people to cop on?

For ourselves it's another demoralising defeat that will surely spell the end of the current management team. I do feel a bit of symapthy for them though. We were well in control after a bad start. Then we inexplicably shot ourselves in the foot. If you'd nipped away for 5 minutes and came back to see the scoreline it would have been scarcely credible. The first few scores of the second half were critical and Armagh ruthlessly got them, putting the result practically beyond doubt.

So back to the drawing board for us. I have a feeling we'll see a few great servants stepping away and all we can do is wish them well & thank them for their efforts.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9128 - 13/06/2022 10:06:55    2424473

Replying To ardmhacha:  "Thanks Donegalman. Great to see a good few level headed, mature gaels on this thread post-match rather than immature, sore and salty posters (a number from counties not even involved today???) Some people just love to look for negatives where they can and can't hide their bias. One has even compared our support today as the same as English fans. That's an embarrassing comment and west-brit in connotation.
I was at the game, we massively out-numbered the Donegal fans (those there were excellent). There were people of all ages, families etc enjoying their day out and getting behind their team after years of turmoil. We had a few annoying idiots there (like every county) most of whom were well-lit youngsters (what do you expect at 4pm on a Sunday when school / Uni is over for that age group)."
I made that comment and you're taking it out of context I'm afraid. If you knew me you would know I'm about as far from west Brit as they come. I literally found the not insignificant level of booing of Murphy's free-taking quite embarrassing and I meant that it was like English soccer fans who I've watched engage in the same manner. That's the long and the short of what I said. Anything more is paranoia and misplaced.

I did congratulate you and I do so again. Best team won on the day and you're a fine team to watch. I would probably like to see Derry win Sam but you will be cheered on throughout Donegal against anyone else as is the Ulster way when these games come around!

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 13/06/2022 21:21:20    2424832

Replying To fielder:  "Why were so many Armagh fans booing and jeering?? I didn't think they hated Donegal that much. Didn't seem like just one or two either which is disappointing."
From what I could see they were booing Murphy at frees, and imho the behaviour of this man deserved it. And when you say so many it was the "lads" on the buses, hardly something to get annoyed about I was more annoyed with Murphy getting off time and time again with very dubious tackles and going unpunished because he is Michael Murphy after all!

TMcC (Carlow) - Posts: 3 - 17/06/2022 09:13:55    2425535

Replying To TMcC:  "From what I could see they were booing Murphy at frees, and imho the behaviour of this man deserved it. And when you say so many it was the "lads" on the buses, hardly something to get annoyed about I was more annoyed with Murphy getting off time and time again with very dubious tackles and going unpunished because he is Michael Murphy after all!"
Really? Because I saw him being horsed around and fouled quite often and getting very little for it? It's okay though because as you say, he's Michael Murphy, a big man so it's okay to allow him be roughed up more than the normal forward.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 17/06/2022 14:11:35    2425636

Replying To TMcC:  "From what I could see they were booing Murphy at frees, and imho the behaviour of this man deserved it. And when you say so many it was the "lads" on the buses, hardly something to get annoyed about I was more annoyed with Murphy getting off time and time again with very dubious tackles and going unpunished because he is Michael Murphy after all!"
A wee question TMcC, did the frees that they were booing not take place long before Murphy got the yellow card (41st minute)? Or perhaps it was after the 2nd incident, which occurred much later on? Either way, I think you've come here with an agenda, and the evidence does not back it up.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 584 - 17/06/2022 15:29:35    2425646