Donegal V Armagh (Qualifiers)

Congratulations Armagh. Classy performance. Support unbelievable also....good luck in next round. Thanks to our lads for doing their best regardless of ulster final tactics.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 12/06/2022 19:49:14    2424357

Congratulations to Armagh who thoroughly deserved their win, had the pleasure of speaking to many genuine knowledgeable Armagh fans at the game and wished them well. A pity about the booing of many sections of the Armagh crowd, I've witnessed Donegal people at it too no need for this at our national games.

We were the architects of our own downfall, we didn't learn from the Derry game or indeed the 2014 all Ireland final, why do we persist with kamikaze short kick outs, we lost the game in 3 minutes of stupidity before halftime.

Modern football is being over thought, when we went man to man 15 on 15 the team with the better footballer's was going to win. Again however too many players on the field went Missing again in a big game, not a fan of Mr Bonner or Mr rochford but I think the player's themselves need to take responsibility for their own performances.

McGrath will keep Bonner there as long as he wants. Not sure anyone is really putting their hand up to replace him.

On another note as a football fan Rian O'Neill's range of passing is joy to watch, excellent footballer.

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 920 - 12/06/2022 19:52:16    2424358

Replying To Wally:  "I agree that the Armagh supporters did let themselves down a little.

But I think it was emphasised by the fact that they outnumbered the Donegal support by 10 to 1 and drowned out any support that Donegal had.

But fair play to Armagh..they are playing a fantastic brand of football and are really gaining some serious momentum.

I don't think Derry or Galway would stand a chance against them."
Anyone defending the few ejits from Armagh, think about trying to watch the game with them clowns beside you, no addition to their team, just pis%ing off genuine supporters including those from their own county.

Not sure that they would hammer Galway or Derry, Armagh are not exactly at the level of Dublin or Kerry. Big test for Armagh is when they are not drawn against another Ulster team. Ulster games tend to take on a life of their own, also as they progress the standard of officials will be sharper. A lot of guys went to ground very easy today playing the ref. Donegal were also a beaten docket before that game today & Rochford & Bonner's coaching & tactics of this team in the last few years is shocking. The Ethan Rafferty tactic is going to backfire some day as well, as we saw with the Kildare keeper.

One aspect of Armagh's game that is superior to everyone else's is their point scoring from distance, excellent & a great way of beating the blanket. I also admire that they are given the freedom to shoot by the manager unlike many other counties where spontaneity is coached out of players.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 12/06/2022 20:05:27    2424363

i know im gonna get alot of flack for this but watching the game i felt armagh could do anything and not get booked ..numerous high dangerous tackles and forker was habging off murphy ...a yellow wouldve changed that a little ..aside from that pattons black card really was the turn of the game .. easy for me to say sitting in a chair but if he left his hands up i think there wouldnt have even been a goal as it was thrown into the net and he had no black card ..i fancy we wouldve won otherwise but once armagh built up a lead they could dictate the game
not sticking up for management but we played lovely football first half and we got shackled by the scoreboard instead of management as we had to really push for goal ...the short kickouts while not a great idea went directly to their men and got fumbled not pattons fault or management sometimes these things go against you
kudos to armagh they did kick some fantastic points but when your six up it alleviates pressure

Peadarw (Donegal) - Posts: 36 - 12/06/2022 20:05:52    2424364

On a completely different note, toilet facilities in st tiernachs park are sub standard.... Not acceptable in this day and age

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 920 - 12/06/2022 20:13:00    2424369

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Find the criticism of Armagh fans a bit strange. It's nothing that we didn't hear in the Ulster final and Murphy has been getting dogs abuse and booing from nearly every county we've faced in the past 5-6 years especially in the stands. Some of the things I've heard him called over the years has been horrific and that is from nearly every county.

They booed a few frees. They've had a rough time of it against both Tyrone and Donegal in the past 10 years. If booing is the free taker is the worst of it, they're alright."
Fully agree. I'm sure it's water off a ducks back for such a player. By God though that has been a terrible few weeks. Think Bonners time is up. A new manager needs to change the way we play completely as we are so slow and predictable and also get in someone that makes us psychologically stronger. Big job ahead. Well done Armagh

thebronze14 (Donegal) - Posts: 42 - 12/06/2022 20:13:06    2424370

Replying To Donegalman:  "Congratulations Armagh. Classy performance. Support unbelievable also....good luck in next round. Thanks to our lads for doing their best regardless of ulster final tactics."
Thanks Donegalman!

Orchardgael22 (Armagh) - Posts: 15 - 12/06/2022 20:41:53    2424373

Armagh can be hot and cold. Today we were very hot. Rian Oneill on fire today. Donegal were not great. Chucky Armagh!

Dessie_Cross (Armagh) - Posts: 142 - 12/06/2022 20:45:34    2424375

Replying To Neilmcdonald:  "A lot of people giving Armagh fans grief, but even if there were a few fans doing things deemed inappropriate, it was less than 1%. The other 99% of fans were cheering on a great performance, and one that Donegal couldn't match. There's not much mention of the few Donegal fans who chose to boo the Armagh goalkeeper every time he got the ball, but similarly, those fans are likely a small percent.
Great to see crowds back in Clones, and great for Armagh to be back in the mix."
Ok so its obvious you don't realise why there is no love lost between Donegal and rafferty!

Anyhow

I think Donegal are getting a bit of unfair criticism today. Firstly we responded after the early armagh goal.
Yes the best team over the 70 minutes win.
We were in total control until things swung armaghs way.
Two short kickouts and forkers stone wall black card right before the penalty.
If the black card had been given the passage of play up the field before the kick out (penalty) would not have happened... fine margins and all that....

I agree bonnars time is up but let's be honest who else is there? Name me one person?

Our heads dipped and we're unable to lift them again.
Fair play to Armagh but I think Donegal maybe made them look a little better than they actually are after we fell apart...

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 153 - 12/06/2022 20:46:15    2424377

Replying To Peadarw:  "i know im gonna get alot of flack for this but watching the game i felt armagh could do anything and not get booked ..numerous high dangerous tackles and forker was habging off murphy ...a yellow wouldve changed that a little ..aside from that pattons black card really was the turn of the game .. easy for me to say sitting in a chair but if he left his hands up i think there wouldnt have even been a goal as it was thrown into the net and he had no black card ..i fancy we wouldve won otherwise but once armagh built up a lead they could dictate the game
not sticking up for management but we played lovely football first half and we got shackled by the scoreboard instead of management as we had to really push for goal ...the short kickouts while not a great idea went directly to their men and got fumbled not pattons fault or management sometimes these things go against you
kudos to armagh they did kick some fantastic points but when your six up it alleviates pressure"
100% I think I was at the same game as you...
You've hit the nail on the head with all above!

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 153 - 12/06/2022 20:49:54    2424379

Replying To P.Mckenna:  "Well then it must be RTÉ's fault. They must have had mics amplifying that 1% to make it sound like it was 99%."
There might be a bit of truth in that.
The section of the armagh support making most noise was on the hill terrace below the press box..
I haven't watched the game of television yet and am not sure what booing was heard on TV.
I noticed when Murphy was taking frees there was a bit of jeering. No more than I seen at other games..
People didn't mention though that that group of armagh support under the press Box gave some rendition of our national anthem. Something I don't always hear sang so loud at games and made me proud to witness as a fellow gael.
Best of luck to armagh. We were beaten by the better team today

Gumball (Donegal) - Posts: 34 - 12/06/2022 20:52:39    2424381

Replying To Donegalman:  "Congratulations Armagh. Classy performance. Support unbelievable also....good luck in next round. Thanks to our lads for doing their best regardless of ulster final tactics."
Thanks Donegalman. Great to see a good few level headed, mature gaels on this thread post-match rather than immature, sore and salty posters (a number from counties not even involved today???) Some people just love to look for negatives where they can and can't hide their bias. One has even compared our support today as the same as English fans. That's an embarrassing comment and west-brit in connotation.
I was at the game, we massively out-numbered the Donegal fans (those there were excellent). There were people of all ages, families etc enjoying their day out and getting behind their team after years of turmoil. We had a few annoying idiots there (like every county) most of whom were well-lit youngsters (what do you expect at 4pm on a Sunday when school / Uni is over for that age group).

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 12/06/2022 20:58:08    2424384

Replying To Gumball:  "There might be a bit of truth in that.
The section of the armagh support making most noise was on the hill terrace below the press box..
I haven't watched the game of television yet and am not sure what booing was heard on TV.
I noticed when Murphy was taking frees there was a bit of jeering. No more than I seen at other games..
People didn't mention though that that group of armagh support under the press Box gave some rendition of our national anthem. Something I don't always hear sang so loud at games and made me proud to witness as a fellow gael.
Best of luck to armagh. We were beaten by the better team today"
Well said Gumball. Good luck next year - you'll be serious contenders again under the right management.

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 12/06/2022 21:00:57    2424385

what age is michael murphy? will be stay on, his best days are over, but he has not been helped by dreadful management

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2845 - 12/06/2022 21:06:05    2424388

Easy for Armagh in the second half. They were the best team, McGeeney got it right today.
Donegal need a rethink for the future.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1746 - 12/06/2022 21:07:10    2424390

Replying To Neilmcdonald:  "A lot of people giving Armagh fans grief, but even if there were a few fans doing things deemed inappropriate, it was less than 1%. The other 99% of fans were cheering on a great performance, and one that Donegal couldn't match. There's not much mention of the few Donegal fans who chose to boo the Armagh goalkeeper every time he got the ball, but similarly, those fans are likely a small percent.
Great to see crowds back in Clones, and great for Armagh to be back in the mix."
I also noticed some Donegal supporters booed Ethan Rafferty, booing a player on any team has no place in the GAA. It's a bad habit from a section of soccer fans.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1746 - 12/06/2022 21:12:14    2424392

Well done to Armagh and good luck in the quarter final, you have a team capable of beating anyone, another bad day out for Donegal.
Truth is we should have won the Ulster final but we got it so wrong on the day tactics wise, with the mood in the county I had a fair idea the wheels could come off the cart today if things didn't go for us,
so it's back to the drawing board for us, I think we need to clear the decks and start again, we have plenty of talent here in Tir Chonaill but we are not getting the best out of them.
Good luck to Armagh and Derry now flying the Ulster flag down south, hope one of you can bring the Sam Maguire back to Ulster again this year.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 12/06/2022 21:16:11    2424396

Replying To border Gael:  "The best team won and could do very well in the quarter finals. I would love to be 100 percent behind them but the behaviour of some of their supporters today really let the whole thing down.
The booing and chanting everytime Michael Murphy stepped up to kick a ball was stomach churning.
There's no place in any Gaelic Athletic Grounds for that lowdown soccer lout behaviour. Respect the GAA Respect its players or stay at home.
Yous will gain no support going forward with such yob behaviour."
All counties have fans that boo free takers including my own. Not part of GAA games , nor is the wearing of soccer jerseys to matches. It's embarrassing to hear your own team booing opponents free takers. good game though

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2017 - 12/06/2022 21:33:00    2424406

Some of our fans were poor today with the booing but it was only a small minority, storm in a teacup stuff.

Commiserations to Donegal, absolutely none of my business but I think their management team isn't up to scratch, they have a superb squad of players but I feel they are being constantly held back, let the reins off and let them play football.

Delighted with the win, looking forward to the draw now, whoever/wherever it is, we will bring an army with us.

sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1053 - 12/06/2022 21:37:31    2424409

Replying To thelongridge:  "I also noticed some Donegal supporters booed Ethan Rafferty, booing a player on any team has no place in the GAA. It's a bad habit from a section of soccer fans."
Maybe it something to do with rafferty spitting a mouth full of water out on Murphys face after the game in ballybofey when he went to shake his hand.
Well done Armagh the best team win today.

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 153 - 12/06/2022 21:38:18    2424410