Donegal V Armagh (Qualifiers)

Replying To Rolo2010:  "Armagh deserved winners. Much better team on the day and not helped by Donegal imploding. But the conduct of the Armagh fans has been disgraceful. Those vuvuzelas or whatever they are called now should be banned. Counties should be fined for fans booing. Seen on social media that they were chanting 'Who are you' and other abusive chants at Murphy and McBearty. Go and watch soccer if you want to act like this."
Rolo, I sat listening to Donegal fans cheering heartedly at all 16 or 17 wides we kicked one year in an AI semi-final in Croker. Just take your beating and stop trying to find an angle.

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 12/06/2022 18:05:47    2424302

A lot of people giving Armagh fans grief, but even if there were a few fans doing things deemed inappropriate, it was less than 1%. The other 99% of fans were cheering on a great performance, and one that Donegal couldn't match. There's not much mention of the few Donegal fans who chose to boo the Armagh goalkeeper every time he got the ball, but similarly, those fans are likely a small percent.
Great to see crowds back in Clones, and great for Armagh to be back in the mix.

Neilmcdonald (Armagh) - Posts: 5 - 12/06/2022 18:09:52    2424305

Replying To Sportsfanatic90:  "Armagh is a disgrace booing and jeering off the field and simulating and sledging on the field.
I'll be shouting for anybody that plays them anymore disgusting.
Lads in the crowd who won't even remember the game"
You say it as tho it's breaking news.

Has been a problem with Armagh, Tyrone and Dublin "supporters" for as long as I can remember.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5017 - 12/06/2022 18:10:41    2424306

I agree that the Armagh supporters did let themselves down a little.

But I think it was emphasised by the fact that they outnumbered the Donegal support by 10 to 1 and drowned out any support that Donegal had.

But fair play to Armagh..they are playing a fantastic brand of football and are really gaining some serious momentum.

I don't think Derry or Galway would stand a chance against them.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 12/06/2022 18:17:52    2424314

I'd you're a Armagh man Sam.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 12/06/2022 18:19:33    2424315

the last time we wil lsee McGee in a Donegal jersey, may also be the last time for Murphy and R Mchugh, time for new Manager and new panel.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 406 - 12/06/2022 18:23:01    2424317

Replying To ardmhacha:  "Rolo, I sat listening to Donegal fans cheering heartedly at all 16 or 17 wides we kicked one year in an AI semi-final in Croker. Just take your beating and stop trying to find an angle."
Is that all you've got? I already said Armagh were derserved winners. Still doesn't justify what your fans did. Comparing fans cheering wides to abusing players. Some man you are.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 739 - 12/06/2022 18:25:38    2424319

Replying To Galway9801:  "The sad part is that most of you whinging about a few armagh fans booing the donegal players as if its the end of the world, won't be long giving out about things being too pc nowadays next time ye hear about some celebrity apologising for a joke they told, without seeing the irony."
Whataboutism.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 739 - 12/06/2022 18:28:19    2424323

Replying To Galway9801:  "The sad part is that most of you whinging about a few armagh fans booing the donegal players as if its the end of the world, won't be long giving out about things being too pc nowadays next time ye hear about some celebrity apologising for a joke they told, without seeing the irony."
Well said Galway. People with agendas before the ball even thrown-in.

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 12/06/2022 18:34:55    2424327

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Find the criticism of Armagh fans a bit strange. It's nothing that we didn't hear in the Ulster final and Murphy has been getting dogs abuse and booing from nearly every county we've faced in the past 5-6 years especially in the stands. Some of the things I've heard him called over the years has been horrific and that is from nearly every county.

They booed a few frees. They've had a rough time of it against both Tyrone and Donegal in the past 10 years. If booing is the free taker is the worst of it, they're alright."
Well said Joe. Just people trying to find an angle to have a pop at us. Great first half from both teams today. Pity Donegal weren't allowed off the leash today - you're far better than today showed and will be a real force again next year under the likes of a Malachy O'Rourke if you could get him.

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 12/06/2022 18:39:04    2424331

Replying To The keeper:  "All this rubbish about armagh supporters booing and crap. Get over it, and stop crying.
We were beaten fair and square, and have no one to blame but ourselves. We had control of the game and two short kick outs changed the game. Were lucky to get away with first, second one is where we lost the game.
Why we were taking short kick outs is anyone's guess, as we have plenty of big men in midfield and the half forward line.
There is supporters in every county that are not the easiest to listen to, so move on.
What Donegal need to be doing now is rebuilding and hopefully not under our current management"
Well said TheKeeper. Donegal a much better team than that today - you'll be a force again next year with new management.

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 12/06/2022 18:40:50    2424332

Replying To Wally:  "I agree that the Armagh supporters did let themselves down a little.

But I think it was emphasised by the fact that they outnumbered the Donegal support by 10 to 1 and drowned out any support that Donegal had.

But fair play to Armagh..they are playing a fantastic brand of football and are really gaining some serious momentum.

I don't think Derry or Galway would stand a chance against them."
Wally you don't give Derry or Galway a chance against Armagh. Please outline your reasoning as I am very keen to hear then. The turning point in that game today was the penalty and black card. A six point deficit early 2nd half was a big deficit to try and turn around. Armagh were worthy winners but Donegal looked flat from 55 minute onwards. Ryan O'Neill is Armaghs stand out performer. However, looking back at the original game in the Ulster Championship he was non-existent.

Armagh undoubtedly the form team and will be a tough opponent in the open spaces of Croker but don't disrespect other counties.

Gaelbhoy21 (Derry) - Posts: 3 - 12/06/2022 18:41:27    2424333

Absolutely delighted with our performance. After Ballyboofey, we had alot of questions to answer and alot to improve on, and we did. Donegal will be disappointed with todays team performance, we all know they are capable of much more.
But the atmosphere, good and bad was reflective of the sheer competition and anomosity between two teams after a turbulant few months.
I'm very proud to be from Armagh, and think we have some of the best supporters who followed Armagh in large numbers the length and breadth of the country, to division 2 and 3 league games for many years. And we didnt have many good days like today.
So whilst some neutrals may brandish it as a disgrace, it's simply people enjoying the occasion and the win.
Yes Murphy didn't get much respect today, and whilst we know he's a fantastic footballer and servant of the game, there's no love lost. And Murphy can probably count himself lucky he finished the game on the pitch. That being said, whether he plays intercounty football for another year or not, we wish him well.
Looking forward to the draw (bets on Derry) and a day out in Croke Park.

Orchardgael22 (Armagh) - Posts: 15 - 12/06/2022 18:43:23    2424335

Replying To cavanman47:  "You say it as tho it's breaking news.

Has been a problem with Armagh, Tyrone and Dublin "supporters" for as long as I can remember."
Soreness.

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 12/06/2022 18:46:42    2424337

Please Declan.. Do the right thing now and give someone else a chance with these talented bunch of players.. Please go and thanks for everything

RoryGall35 (Donegal) - Posts: 167 - 12/06/2022 18:50:43    2424339

Replying To Wally:  "I agree that the Armagh supporters did let themselves down a little.

I don't think Derry or Galway would stand a chance against them."
Think a more central venue like Omagh would have helped the Donegal numbers at match. 16-17000 in Clones.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2017 - 12/06/2022 19:03:05    2424342

Replying To Orchardgael22:  "Absolutely delighted with our performance. After Ballyboofey, we had alot of questions to answer and alot to improve on, and we did. Donegal will be disappointed with todays team performance, we all know they are capable of much more.
But the atmosphere, good and bad was reflective of the sheer competition and anomosity between two teams after a turbulant few months.
I'm very proud to be from Armagh, and think we have some of the best supporters who followed Armagh in large numbers the length and breadth of the country, to division 2 and 3 league games for many years. And we didnt have many good days like today.
So whilst some neutrals may brandish it as a disgrace, it's simply people enjoying the occasion and the win.
Yes Murphy didn't get much respect today, and whilst we know he's a fantastic footballer and servant of the game, there's no love lost. And Murphy can probably count himself lucky he finished the game on the pitch. That being said, whether he plays intercounty football for another year or not, we wish him well.
Looking forward to the draw (bets on Derry) and a day out in Croke Park."
I agree wholeheartedly Orchardgael.

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 12/06/2022 19:05:23    2424343

Armagh look like real football team, be a great game with ourselves if we're drawn together.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 12/06/2022 19:12:58    2424345

Replying To Neilmcdonald:  "A lot of people giving Armagh fans grief, but even if there were a few fans doing things deemed inappropriate, it was less than 1%. The other 99% of fans were cheering on a great performance, and one that Donegal couldn't match. There's not much mention of the few Donegal fans who chose to boo the Armagh goalkeeper every time he got the ball, but similarly, those fans are likely a small percent.
Great to see crowds back in Clones, and great for Armagh to be back in the mix."
Well then it must be RTÉ's fault. They must have had mics amplifying that 1% to make it sound like it was 99%.

P.Mckenna (Louth) - Posts: 105 - 12/06/2022 19:18:23    2424346

The best team won and could do very well in the quarter finals. I would love to be 100 percent behind them but the behaviour of some of their supporters today really let the whole thing down.
The booing and chanting everytime Michael Murphy stepped up to kick a ball was stomach churning.
There's no place in any Gaelic Athletic Grounds for that lowdown soccer lout behaviour. Respect the GAA Respect its players or stay at home.
Yous will gain no support going forward with such yob behaviour.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 12/06/2022 19:45:15    2424355