Donegal V Armagh (Qualifiers)

Replying To ardmhacha:  "An interesting post."
Yet Dont think hes ever be sent off. Typical Donegal tactics can yous lads not just play football

credit_crunch (Armagh) - Posts: 57 - 09/06/2022 10:23:44    2423522

Replying To ardmhacha:  "Aiden is seen as a leader and his discipline record has improved over the last few years but he was definitely a liability for many years previous. He would do a similar job to what the Magee's would have done for yourselves over the years.
As both teams blow hot and cold it's just hard to know what to expect on Sunday but it's hopefully a good spectacle. I think we could run out of steam as the Tyrone game seems to have taken a lot out of the lads.
If we get destroyed tactically again then I'd agree that we have to have a serious look at our management. It's not beyond the realms of possibility to see both counties with new management next year!"
Yeah that's fair on the leadership side of things it's hard to put a value on that sort of thing on the pitch, often times you only notice when those players are missing that something isn't right. As I said I'm probably being very harsh on Forker to be honest.

Agree on management, it's a big big game for both management teams really, whoever loses couldn't really have any arguments about being shown the door - I suppose depending on the manner of defeat! I hope it's a good spectacle too, I heard Oisín McConville saying that Armagh need to push up on Patton even if he stings yous once or twice, because it's the only way yous know how to play and the mindset is much better for this Armagh team. I do agree with him to be honest, I think you would get a lot more joy than punishment out of pushing on Patton to be honest. And that's not against Patton, he's a brilliant kickout but I think if Armagh push, we will get caught on the short ones trying to carry out of defence. It's been a hallmark this year when we've gone short and getting turned over around our own 21.

I hope we've a clean bill of health as a lot of lads were going down with knocks in the Ulster final. Fingers crossed the 2 weeks will have done them good. As you say it's very hot and cold, part of me thinks they'll be hugely ****** off at the Ulster final and also at a lot of the commentary around their performance and will come out swinging. Another part of me thinks the Ulster final will have drained them physically and mentally and they've nothing left. We'll find out soon enough!

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 09/06/2022 11:03:21    2423538

Replying To credit_crunch:  "Yet Dont think hes ever be sent off. Typical Donegal tactics can yous lads not just play football"
Which Armagh player was it that was shown on camera throwing punches at Michael Langan in the match in Ballybofey?

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 09/06/2022 19:03:17    2423684

Replying To greatpoint:  "Which Armagh player was it that was shown on camera throwing punches at Michael Langan in the match in Ballybofey?"
Was he wearing a Rian O'Neill disguise?

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 586 - 10/06/2022 16:14:50    2423806

I would love to see both teams play to their strengths
(Long ball into O Neill/Murphy)

However, I think Donegal will keep Murphy out around the middle where he slows the whole game down.
In a game like that it will come down to a penalty or a card and essentially luck

Why Donegal play a game that ultimately requires luck to go their way is beyond me. Surely trying to win by giving it your best shot would give greater satisfaction regardless.

For the past few years Donegal have gone out with a whimper. I fear they will do the same again this weekend

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1126 - 11/06/2022 07:22:27    2423852

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "I would love to see both teams play to their strengths

However, I think Donegal will keep Murphy out around the middle where he slows the whole game down.
In a game like that it will come down to a penalty or a card and essentially luck

Why Donegal play a game that ultimately requires luck to go their way is beyond me. Surely trying to win by giving it your best shot would give greater satisfaction regardless.

For the past few years Donegal have gone out with a whimper. I fear they will do the same again this weekend"
Gone out on a whimper....
Mayo and croke Park comes to mind..

Gumball (Donegal) - Posts: 34 - 11/06/2022 12:07:06    2423895

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "I would love to see both teams play to their strengths

For the past few years Donegal have gone out with a whimper. I fear they will do the same again this weekend"
Jez tirewleybaron ud need to look in the mirror as the way mayo plays AOS ie slows the game down. At least Murphy not running around looking for men booked or taken handy frees.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 160 - 11/06/2022 12:29:14    2423900

Have a few digs at Mayo if ye want.
Doesn't change the fact that Donegal have loads of talent and are wasting it

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1126 - 11/06/2022 15:21:48    2423924

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Have a few digs at Mayo if ye want.
Doesn't change the fact that Donegal have loads of talent and are wasting it"
I don't disagree with anything you said. I don't see that anything you said was meant for an argument either. Mayo will hunt a game down and despite the losing record in finals, are generally known as a team that will go for the jugular and can often pull games out of the fire. They did it today. They did it in the semi final last year. We need to go for it tomorrow. Hunt the game down and be clinical. Doesn't mean we need to be drastically different tomorrow. Trying to flip the whole approach mid season will backfire. But encourage variety, spontaneity up front when we do attack. It's not like we have everyone behind the ball, we do have players up but seem insistent on constantly handpassing it until it's a percentage shot. It's predictable now. My concern is that our very structured attacking approach might be enough to beat Armagh tomorrow and we might then persist with it in the quarter finals if we win. And it won't work against the biggest teams in the land.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 11/06/2022 21:10:59    2424065

I can't for the life of me understand why Donegal don't play Murphy at FF and use him as a long kick out option on the 40 also.

I'd also be playing McHugh on the half forward line.

They are Donegals best players and they are getting bogged down in defensive duties. Neither are getting any younger so why are they being asked to do everything.
McHughs best football was as a half forward and Murphys as a full forward.
They could have been two of the best ever in those positions
instead they will retire as two great Donegal players not the two all time GAA great they could have been.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1126 - 11/06/2022 21:32:17    2424081

Both sides have some real good footballers. Let's hope they don't resort to that awful slow, backwards, sideways, handpassing possession game. Tyrone won an All Ireland last year by mixing their play up, kicking it and putting scores on the board. Armagh and Donegal please take note.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 12/06/2022 10:38:17    2424139

Good luck to donegal lads hope they give those armagh boys a pasting ;-) donegal by 6+ points today.

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 12/06/2022 12:17:39    2424164

Good luck Armagh. Here's to a great game with hopefully no-one getting pasted. Open attacking football please!!

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 12/06/2022 13:05:49    2424181

Donegal need to make wholesale changes to the starting XV to turn the momentum onto their side, and Bonner simply isn't that type of manager. He is very much inclined to show faith in players going through spells of bad form. I think that will be a mistake today and come back to bite him.

There are excellent players on Donegal's panel that have barely got a sniff this year. The lack of competition for spaces in the back-line doesn't sit well with me, and has led to complacency at times. I made the point two weeks ago, only two men in the matchday programme were listed as full-backs, and between them they've played 5 mins of championship football this season.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 384 - 12/06/2022 13:06:52    2424182

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "I can't for the life of me understand why Donegal don't play Murphy at FF and use him as a long kick out option on the 40 also.

I'd also be playing McHugh on the half forward line.

They are Donegals best players and they are getting bogged down in defensive duties. Neither are getting any younger so why are they being asked to do everything.
McHughs best football was as a half forward and Murphys as a full forward.
They could have been two of the best ever in those positions
instead they will retire as two great Donegal players not the two all time GAA great they could have been."
Murphy at full forward would be a handful for all teams. Only time I'd have him outside the 21 is for frees. Years in him.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2017 - 12/06/2022 13:51:25    2424197

Replying To Saynothing:  "Murphy at full forward would be a handful for all teams. Only time I'd have him outside the 21 is for frees. Years in him."
I'd agree. But does it not look like Murphy makes his own decisions? To me, it seems he does as he pleases, including going out the field. Ans does Bonner just accept this because he's Murphy?

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2407 - 12/06/2022 15:22:18    2424223

There is a lot of negativity in Donegal heading into this match but I expect a reaction from the players especially seeing as DB will be gone if they lose.

I would put Derry/Tyrone/Monaghan and Cavan ahead of this Armagh team tbh. Derry are a proper team and we were very close to winning that match.

Donegal by 5/6

Ronan1989 (Donegal) - Posts: 81 - 12/06/2022 15:30:00    2424228

Some start. 11 seconds...

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2407 - 12/06/2022 16:01:12    2424242

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Some start. 11 seconds..."
Armagh had a great start, flagged a bit, allowing Donegal forwards to score 0-6, but Armagh scored a goal, missed a possible other. Donegal down to 14, for 10 minutes.
It is still anyone's game, Armagh forwards need to be a bit more accurate when shooting. 35 minutes to come.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1746 - 12/06/2022 16:49:18    2424255

Great game.
Armagh supporters letting their county & the game down with their booing & soccer style chanting

P.Mckenna (Louth) - Posts: 105 - 12/06/2022 16:58:13    2424260