Clare

Looks like a Saturday game for us, as Clare hurlers in Munster Final on Sunday 5th. We need to see a big improvement on what was on show so far in Championship or another early exit awaits.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 23/05/2022 15:26:58    2419769

Replying To CastleBravo:  "The only reason I know is RTÉ had a good article up lately about supposed "tight" and "wide open" pitches and how the name often has no connection to the reality if the actual pitch dimensions.

Another interesting thing I took from it was how Páirc Tailteann is the joint shortest county pitch in Ireland at 135m!"
Really.... Jesus another one I wouldn't have though.

Whats the other shortest? Newbridge?

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6344 - 23/05/2022 15:30:26    2419773

Replying To seadog54:  "Looks like a Saturday game for us, as Clare hurlers in Munster Final on Sunday 5th. We need to see a big improvement on what was on show so far in Championship or another early exit awaits."
Saturday at 5pm on GAAGO

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 23/05/2022 15:42:28    2419784

Replying To brian:  "Saturday at 5pm on GAAGO"
Good stuff

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 23/05/2022 15:57:52    2419789

Replying To Jinxie:  "Meath: Andrew Colgan; Seamus Lavin, Conor McGill, Shane Gallagher; Gavin McCoy, Padraic Harnan, Donal Keogan (0-01); Bryan Menton (1-00), Shane McEntee; Ethan Devine (0-01), Bryan McMahon (0-01), Cillian O'Sullivan (0-01); James Conlon (0-03), Michael Newman (1-06, 0-05f), Thomas McGovern (0-01).

Subs: Thomas O'Reilly for Newman 43 (blood), Graham Reilly for McGovern 45, Shane Walsh (0-01, 0-01f) for O'Reilly 54, Sean Curran for Gallagher 60, Ben Brennan (0-01) for Devine 62, Sean Tobin for Conlon 72, O'Reilly for McMahon 75 (black card)."
interesting....deffo we miss Lavin....Ethan Devine has fallen off some cliff it seems , James Conlon can be good enough 3 years ago when id say he was probably still in his teens ...and shane walsh progress seems to have stalled

what resources we have...we are not maxing them out...we have no long term individual plans for guys
word is Andy thinks harnan is too slow for 6...but sure we have had years to work on that...and dont anyone tell me you can make a guy faster

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 385 - 23/05/2022 16:00:29    2419791

Replying To Jinxie:  "
Replying To CastleBravo:  "The only reason I know is RTÉ had a good article up lately about supposed "tight" and "wide open" pitches and how the name often has no connection to the reality if the actual pitch dimensions.

Another interesting thing I took from it was how Páirc Tailteann is the joint shortest county pitch in Ireland at 135m!"
Really.... Jesus another one I wouldn't have though.

Whats the other shortest? Newbridge?"
Yup, Newbridge. PT is a good bit wider though.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 23/05/2022 16:02:41    2419792

Replying To Thelongwoodslasher:  "interesting....deffo we miss Lavin....Ethan Devine has fallen off some cliff it seems , James Conlon can be good enough 3 years ago when id say he was probably still in his teens ...and shane walsh progress seems to have stalled

what resources we have...we are not maxing them out...we have no long term individual plans for guys
word is Andy thinks harnan is too slow for 6...but sure we have had years to work on that...and dont anyone tell me you can make a guy faster"
This isn't a go at you LWS I'd never call you a BS merchant, you never come across that way...

Harnan's not fast enough for CHB but is able to play midfield

Please make that make sense in my mind cos i'm baffled!!!!!

Speaking of Harnan, i assume it's injury keeping him out of the squad right now? Or is there something else.

I agree with all that you say though, Lavin is a huge miss and you'd hope he's there next season. Gallagher for all the things i said about him is a a better man marker than Harkin or Clarke, all of them are a long ways behind an O'Connell, O'Reilly, O'Malley, Ferguson or even a Keoghan. Devine was sitting in the stands in Navan and Croker v Wicklow and Dublin. Walsh hasn't developed at all and Banty has been done a total disservice in how he's been used

Darragh Campion is another lad who's disappeared into the ether, dunno what;'s happened there. Is it injuries? Sean Curran and the McGovern brothers also been done away with too since 2019.

I was saying it on another thread that squads do turn over 6-8 guys a year regardless and when you get in and get a chance you really have to grab it and go or you'll be gone quick enough. Now it 's also a case of lads situations etc change to and they can't commit so it's not all lads being dropped.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 23/05/2022 16:34:07    2419814

Harnan was injured for Wicklow & Dublin games according to AMcE on LMFM. Don't know the extent or return date

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6344 - 23/05/2022 16:55:58    2419826

Replying To Thelongwoodslasher:  "interesting....deffo we miss Lavin....Ethan Devine has fallen off some cliff it seems , James Conlon can be good enough 3 years ago when id say he was probably still in his teens ...and shane walsh progress seems to have stalled

word is Andy thinks harnan is too slow for 6...but sure we have had years to work on that...and dont anyone tell me you can make a guy faster"
Would agree defo missing Lavin , Devine has concussion and out for while , now that Adam Flanagan playing senior maybe worth a look at for next year , think sean coffey ( the Bracks ) s & Sean Rafferty na Fianna worth a shout for new manager

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 23/05/2022 17:22:48    2419835

Replying To brian:  "This isn't a go at you LWS I'd never call you a BS merchant, you never come across that way...

Harnan's not fast enough for CHB but is able to play midfield

Please make that make sense in my mind cos i'm baffled!!!!!

Speaking of Harnan, i assume it's injury keeping him out of the squad right now? Or is there something else.

I agree with all that you say though, Lavin is a huge miss and you'd hope he's there next season. Gallagher for all the things i said about him is a a better man marker than Harkin or Clarke, all of them are a long ways behind an O'Connell, O'Reilly, O'Malley, Ferguson or even a Keoghan. Devine was sitting in the stands in Navan and Croker v Wicklow and Dublin. Walsh hasn't developed at all and Banty has been done a total disservice in how he's been used

Darragh Campion is another lad who's disappeared into the ether, dunno what;'s happened there. Is it injuries? Sean Curran and the McGovern brothers also been done away with too since 2019.

I was saying it on another thread that squads do turn over 6-8 guys a year regardless and when you get in and get a chance you really have to grab it and go or you'll be gone quick enough. Now it 's also a case of lads situations etc change to and they can't commit so it's not all lads being dropped."
two things stand out for me
one is a rush by managers to bring young players into panels too early..and sometime the reasoning behind that is not always in the best interest of the player
the second thing then is , when a lad is brought in...and its considered he has 75% of what is needed to "make it"!.how much work is being put into the remaining 25% ..
In my mind ...any lad under the age of 20 being brought into a Senior County panel...it has to be a cast iron case for it to happen...the dogs in the street need to be shouting for it, for it to happen...remember, they have the development squads system by which to improve & progress....our pathway is totally un co ordinated

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 385 - 23/05/2022 17:28:40    2419836

Would agree defo missing Lavin , Devine has concussion and out for while , now that Adam Flanagan playing senior maybe worth a look at for next year , think sean coffey ( the Bracks ) s & Sean Rafferty na Fianna worth a shout for new manager

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 23/05/2022 17:35:55    2419837

Devine suffering with an injury all year.
Conlon seems to be out of favour along with Shane Walsh.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1049 - 24/05/2022 07:32:56    2419867

Replying To thelutch:  "Devine suffering with an injury all year.
Conlon seems to be out of favour along with Shane Walsh."
Conlon left panel to go traveling after the league. Devine crippled with injuries. Campion. I don't know what happened with him.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/05/2022 11:00:50    2419909

Replying To Bear10:  "Would agree defo missing Lavin , Devine has concussion and out for while , now that Adam Flanagan playing senior maybe worth a look at for next year , think sean coffey ( the Bracks ) s & Sean Rafferty na Fianna worth a shout for new manager"
Flanagan was tried and tried and tried again. He could play for any club, he is not a ic footballer.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/05/2022 11:02:31    2419911

Both Harnan and Scully played with their clubs on the Tuesday after the Dublin game. Both should be available for selection.

royal11 (Meath) - Posts: 95 - 24/05/2022 12:37:16    2419944

RD I'm not 100% sure Conlon went travelling, I think he just went on a holiday, he has been playing for Cilles. We both know the reason for leaving wasn't to go travelling anyway.

I like McEntee but I think he did make a mistake in not giving Conlon or Lehnihan enough game time.

Barney12345 (Meath) - Posts: 33 - 24/05/2022 13:40:09    2419967

Replying To royal11:  "Both Harnan and Scully played with their clubs on the Tuesday after the Dublin game. Both should be available for selection."
I believe Scully was available for selection Last weekend also..

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6344 - 24/05/2022 16:52:29    2420026

Replying To Barney12345:  "RD I'm not 100% sure Conlon went travelling, I think he just went on a holiday, he has been playing for Cilles. We both know the reason for leaving wasn't to go travelling anyway.

I like McEntee but I think he did make a mistake in not giving Conlon or Lehnihan enough game time."
Oh I agree wholeheartedly with you. Should have played v Derry. Crazy decision not to start him. As for traveling you most likely right. He took what I suppose could be called a extended holiday. He was in Europe. Glad he's back with cilles. The only difference I'd make between himself and lenihane is that I don't actually think lenihane wants to play inter county. Whereas Conlon does now could be wrong on donal. But from what I've heard (second hand ) is he really doesn't want to extend to that commitment.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/05/2022 18:57:39    2420049

Good morning Gentlemen
First post here, I'm a clare man but my mother is from Kiltale and I'm old enought to remember the 1991 sage, and the Glory days of meath football the only all ireland football final I've been to was the Galway defeat.

I've been to 4 hurling finals as ye know we won 3 but I do think one of the I'll pick my words here, "exciteing" hurling matches I've been to was Kiltale V Kilmessan.

If anyone wants travel advice on Ennis there are 2 direct exits to the motor way,the main one and the tulla exit. You can drive our past mcdonalds too for about 5mins and get back on the motorway that way via barefield.

Cusack Park is a grand little stadium,its in the town opposite tesco, plenty of placres to eat and drink, cirians would be iconic,tall people don't go in the stand please it very tight. Should be an issue parking on a Saturday evening at 5 anyone gets there early park on street and throw in a couple of euros

There is a double header kind of on that Saturday and ye all know where we are going Sunday. Clare minor hurlers play laois in the all ireland playoff at 2.

Lastly Cusack park is a big pitch but tge crowd is in on top of you

RoyalBanner (Meath) - Posts: 2 - 25/05/2022 08:16:48    2420073

I see tyrone bringing in few 20s players would it be beneficial to us or just stick with what we have.id imagine shane gone bavk to mali.place there for the taken.he obviously has no faith in any other defenders after the last day.dont ghink theres any standout backs sith 20s but maybe few big units there that could bolster the squad.flynn gone morris in.scully has to be used now.but look its just in my opinion a full joke at this stage.we are all over the shop with very poor game plans if any that is.lets hope players just go for it now hes gone anyway so do it for themselves.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 27/05/2022 11:03:26    2420455