Derry V Donegal Ulster Final

I love the town on a big match day the buzz around the place is great, there's something magical about it and while I'd be a big advocate of a good Casement Park as I think Belfast could be a great host of big games too, I'd hate to lose that aspect of the Ulster final day in Clones.

I'll be coming from Belfast so will unfortunately meet a lot of that Derry traffic from Monaghan, I tend to go via Armagh so that I don't hit Aughnacloy... I was thinking of taking a bit of a longer route around and go via Castleblayney to come into the town on the R183, would folks have much experience coming in that way, are there the usual fields with parking available on that route as well? It would add half an hour onto my drive without traffic but I am guessing it'll be a fair busy road coming from Monaghan Town

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 22/05/2022 13:10:30    2419381

Yeah Clones definitely does have a lot of charm on big match days like the Ulster final. It's comical the oneupmanship that goes on when it comes to getting in and out of Clones. Men do get fierce proud chatting about some obscure route taken where they were easily able to get parked up and will easily get away home afterwards. All part of the day's craic though. It isn't as much craic if you've lost though & the run home is horrible! The journey home after the 2016 Ulster final was a particularly sore one.

Looks like the weather might be decent anyway which is good. Those of a certain vintage will remember the 93 final against Derry which was horrible. It'll be some atmosphere come Sunday. The first 'normal' Ulster final in a since 2019 in terms of crowds. Just think back to all those dire weekends sat in during Covid with nothing to look forward to. Hopefully a huge crowd can enjoy the game safely, and win or lose ALL fans behave themselves.

The carry-on over in England recently has been disgraceful with players being assaulted by fans after games. I think there is an element of truth in what Roy Keane said yesterday. Some fans having been locked up for so long during Covid have totally lost the run of themselves now and are acting like idiots. I'd like to think GAA fans have a bit more respect and manners than some English football fans though.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 23/05/2022 10:29:23    2419606

Looks like there will be no more tickets for sale....If anyone has any spare I would greatly appreciate it!

thebronze14 (Donegal) - Posts: 42 - 23/05/2022 13:35:13    2419703

Replying To JoeSoap:  "I love the town on a big match day the buzz around the place is great, there's something magical about it and while I'd be a big advocate of a good Casement Park as I think Belfast could be a great host of big games too, I'd hate to lose that aspect of the Ulster final day in Clones.

I'll be coming from Belfast so will unfortunately meet a lot of that Derry traffic from Monaghan, I tend to go via Armagh so that I don't hit Aughnacloy... I was thinking of taking a bit of a longer route around and go via Castleblayney to come into the town on the R183, would folks have much experience coming in that way, are there the usual fields with parking available on that route as well? It would add half an hour onto my drive without traffic but I am guessing it'll be a fair busy road coming from Monaghan Town"
I would think monaghan could be very busy though I'd guess a lot of derry ones will be making their way early. It could very busy getting out again. The monaghan road could have cars parked way out too. On that basis I'd seriously consider that R183 through newbliss if I were you. And maybe plug it into Google maps on the day as its the good way if finding that best "obscure route" into clones.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 696 - 23/05/2022 19:32:05    2419857

Replying To JoeSoap:  "I love the town on a big match day the buzz around the place is great, there's something magical about it and while I'd be a big advocate of a good Casement Park as I think Belfast could be a great host of big games too, I'd hate to lose that aspect of the Ulster final day in Clones.

I'll be coming from Belfast so will unfortunately meet a lot of that Derry traffic from Monaghan, I tend to go via Armagh so that I don't hit Aughnacloy... I was thinking of taking a bit of a longer route around and go via Castleblayney to come into the town on the R183, would folks have much experience coming in that way, are there the usual fields with parking available on that route as well? It would add half an hour onto my drive without traffic but I am guessing it'll be a fair busy road coming from Monaghan Town"
Yes Joe, if I were coming from Belfast I'd head down the motorway as far as Dundalk, then head for Castleblayney, Ballybay, hang a right in Newbliss. Then when you come into Clones, just after the Garda Station take a right. Then on your left there is a large free car park at the rear of the Credit Union. There should be very little traffic coming that way, maybe a few Dublin based supporters. Its about 7 or 8 minute walk to the Paragon or Creighton.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 585 - 24/05/2022 10:00:42    2419884

God it's going to be a slow week leading up to Sunday. No news from the Donegal camp really other than confirmation that Gallen will miss out. The forecast looks to be decent and Clones is a sell out.

I was listening to Darran O'Sullivan's podcast yesterday. He was saying he changed his mind about 3 or 4 times as his panel guests (Finian Hanley & Cian Mackey) discussed the game. In the end he opted for Donegal because of their Ulster final experience. Hanley expressed a similar opinion but Mackey in fairness has tipped Derry for Ulster since the start, so he stuck with them.

I think that's the key question - can Derry's good form and momentum beat Donegal's experience and know-how.
My belief (hope) is that it's a year too early for Derry and we'll be seeing the great man Michael Murphy lift the Anglo Celt for a 6th time.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 24/05/2022 16:18:46    2420019

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Capacity of Clones reduced from 36,500 a couple of years ago to 26,000 today. Nothing more than a political stunt by the Ulster Council to downgrade the facilities in Clones, so that they can get their shiney new concert venue in Belfast."
The Ulster final should be played in Belfast. It is the capital of Ulster. Clones is well outdated, dangerous and so hard to get to on match day. A shiny new venue would be great for Ulster football. It would also give the people of the 9 counties that represent Ulster football a chance to get away on a weekend break as Belfast has the facilities in terms of hotels and restaurants to do this.

Ronanthehammer (Down) - Posts: 48 - 24/05/2022 16:46:45    2420022

I was reared outside Clones and that route down is not a bad call at all. Your other option would be to head the main route from Belfast to Enniskillen and swing off at Fivemiletown and come in over Carn Rock Mountain. This will take you into Clones via the Lackey Road which is the road the Pitch is actually on. Although that runs the risk of getting caught meeting traffic coming via Omagh at the Ballygawley Roundabout.

Speaking of Fivemiletown, if we are heading to a match in Omagh, we usually go from Clones to Omagh via Fivemiletown and Fintona, not great roads but avoids Monaghan, Aughnacloy and Ballygawley. If anyone has to come down that way, its a route worth considering.

TheHunter (Monaghan) - Posts: 14 - 24/05/2022 16:47:08    2420023

Replying To Lockjaw:  "God it's going to be a slow week leading up to Sunday. No news from the Donegal camp really other than confirmation that Gallen will miss out. The forecast looks to be decent and Clones is a sell out.

I was listening to Darran O'Sullivan's podcast yesterday. He was saying he changed his mind about 3 or 4 times as his panel guests (Finian Hanley & Cian Mackey) discussed the game. In the end he opted for Donegal because of their Ulster final experience. Hanley expressed a similar opinion but Mackey in fairness has tipped Derry for Ulster since the start, so he stuck with them.

I think that's the key question - can Derry's good form and momentum beat Donegal's experience and know-how.
My belief (hope) is that it's a year too early for Derry and we'll be seeing the great man Michael Murphy lift the Anglo Celt for a 6th time."
Hope your right lockjaw. Just hoping that Murphy lifts another Anglo Celt and that bonner if he decides to call it a day has the honour of managing another Ulster championship team. Two great Donegal men. It's not to be easy but we live in hope. Come on Donegal.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 24/05/2022 17:07:02    2420032

Replying To Lockjaw:  "God it's going to be a slow week leading up to Sunday. No news from the Donegal camp really other than confirmation that Gallen will miss out. The forecast looks to be decent and Clones is a sell out.

My belief (hope) is that it's a year too early for Derry and we'll be seeing the great man Michael Murphy lift the Anglo Celt for a 6th time."
You may listen to it again, mackey and Hanley went for Donegal, Darren O'Sullivan went for Derry.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 884 - 24/05/2022 17:41:49    2420041

And best of luck Sunday.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 884 - 24/05/2022 17:42:51    2420042

H'on Derry!!

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 24/05/2022 21:29:06    2420065

I love Clones. Not that we get to go there much nowadays lol, but always thought the "traffic woes" were very over-stated. Mind you, coming from SW Tyrone, v handy - back roads past Magheraveely; and we always used to park behind "Tony's Gym".

Could never understand either why some people are always driving over the top of other people to get away at the end of matches - the same people who always leave 5 minutes early - what's your hurry? It's a Sunday afternoon, do you really have to save the world by nightfall? Chill out, for heaven's sake ...

Sandwiches, buns and flasks of tea compulsory, and half the crack was a pint beforehand and the mass impromptu picnic afterwards and the banter with the other fans doing likewise around the neighbouring cars - the fake sympathy for the losing fans, and the inquests, and why the manager made all the wrong calls : )

No idea who will win (not many provincial finals you could say that about), which is partly why there is so much interest.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 25/05/2022 09:25:18    2420080

Replying To Ronanthehammer:  "The Ulster final should be played in Belfast. It is the capital of Ulster. Clones is well outdated, dangerous and so hard to get to on match day. A shiny new venue would be great for Ulster football. It would also give the people of the 9 counties that represent Ulster football a chance to get away on a weekend break as Belfast has the facilities in terms of hotels and restaurants to do this."
Casement will be built for your next Ulster Final appearance. It could also host the Northern section of the Tailteann Cup.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 585 - 25/05/2022 10:19:18    2420100

Fantastic piece on Brendan McCole in the Irish News, I had no idea about his early years in America or about the loss of his brother. It's been mentioned about the tough time he had against Lynch in the first half there against Cavan but overall he's been one of our best players in 2022 and I'm excited to see how he gets on against McGuigan.

There's a line in the piece about the fans having a great fondness for Brendan and the form he is in and I think that's very true.

https://www.irishnews.com/sport/gaafootball/2022/05/23/news/mccole-finding-his-way-2718546/

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 25/05/2022 10:43:21    2420106

Replying To ardmhacha:  "H'on Derry!!"
Easy on, Oisin McConville!

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 25/05/2022 11:01:47    2420116

Replying To blueman1903:  "You may listen to it again, mackey and Hanley went for Donegal, Darren O'Sullivan went for Derry."
Did they change their minds again?!? I must confess I was listening to it between work calls! But it just further emphasises the point that this is a match that is very hard to predict the outome with any sort of certainty.

I do remember O'Sullivan asking one particular question though - and it's something I've been wondering a lot myself.
He feels that Donegal might have another gear or level that they haven't shown yet. But he also has a nagging doubt - that perhaps what we've seen from Donegal so far is exactly their level. Good enough to reach and possibly win Ulster, but doing anything of note beyond that will be beyond them.

I am optimistic that our lads can deliver a higher performance level. I'd also be confident enough that if they do reach Croke Park for the QFs that it would suit them. Last time they played there in Championship football they went toe to toe with Kerry in an epic encounter. But look, Derry pose a significant challenge before we start thinking about Croke Park. I cannot wait for Sunday, how is it only frigging Wednesday yet?!?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 25/05/2022 11:13:10    2420117

Replying To AudiMan:  "Hi GaryMc82:. Good to see you posting again. Never too far off the mark in the past. How far can this Derry team go this year?"
Derry can win Ulster and depending on the Quarter final and Semi final draw, we could make it to an All Ireland final, as Kerry and Dublin are on the other side of the draw this year. I try to be optimistic, but think beating one of those two at this stage in our development might be a big ask.

Donegal are a tricky opponent though, they have the potential to rival Dublin, Kerry, Mayo etc, but looked patchy during the National League and made work of Armagh and Cavan. Derry can beat Donegal, but I have a feeling this will be the biggest test of the year so far, expecting Donegal to learn a lot from the Monaghan match.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 25/05/2022 13:02:20    2420147

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Did they change their minds again?!? I must confess I was listening to it between work calls! But it just further emphasises the point that this is a match that is very hard to predict the outome with any sort of certainty.

I do remember O'Sullivan asking one particular question though - and it's something I've been wondering a lot myself.
He feels that Donegal might have another gear or level that they haven't shown yet. But he also has a nagging doubt - that perhaps what we've seen from Donegal so far is exactly their level. Good enough to reach and possibly win Ulster, but doing anything of note beyond that will be beyond them.

I am optimistic that our lads can deliver a higher performance level. I'd also be confident enough that if they do reach Croke Park for the QFs that it would suit them. Last time they played there in Championship football they went toe to toe with Kerry in an epic encounter. But look, Derry pose a significant challenge before we start thinking about Croke Park. I cannot wait for Sunday, how is it only frigging Wednesday yet?!?"
I believe Donegal do have more 'gears' in them, I'm following football a long time and I know we have it in us to beat anybody, it's just producing that performance when it's called for,
this is a strange week, I can never remember a feeling like this leading into a big game, we have be become used to being in Ulster finals now.
I think the RG factor is big, seeing his team defeated is a big motivator for me anyway, also I'd love to see Murph hold the Anglo Celt aloft again and push on them to have a good run at the All ireland, no coincidence that our great run of 10 Ulster finals in 12 years has coincided with Michael Murphy's intercounty career.
Still 5 days to go, this is like when you were a child waiting for Christmas,
The Anglo Celts for the hills!!

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 25/05/2022 13:18:33    2420152

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Good to see you posting again! Am I right in saying you haven't been on here in a good while? Always enjoyed reading your very knowledgable posts, although on this occasion of course I hope that your analysis proves to be wrong.

I think the key question is whether Donegal can lift the intensity levels. There is undoubted talent there but so far in 2022 we seem to be incapable of a full 70 minute performance. There were mitigating factors during the league with a host of players missing at one point or another. We're very close to full strength now and a good 3 week lead time into the final to prepare physically, psychologically and tactically.

If we cannot raise our game sufficiently for an Ulster final against near neighbours coached by a former manager then serious questions will need to be asked. I am of the opinion that we will however, and that being the case will be a wee bit too strong for a rapidly improving Derry team. I get the feeling that there is a determination in the Donegal ranks to prove that we aren't bottlers and to finally live up to expectations. A convincing Ulster final win would certainly be a good start in that regard."
Thanks Lockjaw, I haven't as much time in recent years, apart from arguing with Antrim posters about the New Casement Park a few times or commenting on Dublin's dominance, otherwise work and family commitments limit my free time to be on here posting and there hadn't been much to discuss most of the time.

You're right about Donegal Intensity levels needing to be high at the start, as Rory Gallagher has this Derry team primed to start each game at full tilt, open up a lead and force the other team to chase it. Its bit like how Donegal under Jim McGuinness.

I don't think Donegal are bottlers, I seen comments like that from some Pundits recently, but its lazy analysis. Donegal had one eye firmly on Dublin in 2020 and got caught by a very hungry Cavan team who benefited from that tight Athletic Ground pitch in Armagh. I think had Donegal won that, they would have beat Dublin in that SF and probably would have won SAM 2020. I think first half incidents last year against Tyrone took that game away from Donegal and there was no backdoor, but those incidents with Neil McGee injury, missed Penalty and Michael Murphy red had Donegal on the backfoot early on and in that heat it was a big ask.

Derry have better momentum going into this game, probably 2/3rds of the crowd will be Derry fans and I think it might give us an edge. We know from the Ballybofey match last year that we have the measure of Donegal.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 25/05/2022 13:31:37    2420159