Derry V Donegal Ulster Final

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Here Sam, give your head a wobble. I happened to be a neutral observor at the Derry Monaghan game on Sunday, and just to be clear, Derry have very little to learn when it comes to the dark arts. No 15 was down at least twice to get the game stopped in the 6 or 7 minutes before he was substituted. I expect him to be fit for the next day ;-). I also counted maybe 6 or 7 occasions at least when Monaghan had the momentum where Derry players went down, and lay on the ball, and Monaghan players went wrestling to get the ball back, resulting in another 30 or 40 seconds taken off the clock on each occasion. But sure get your I told you so's in early."
Derry coaching team has previously been inside Donegal's set ups so maybe it's linked unsure. Derry are a new team to big games and not as well known yet. Donegal are experienced and been involved in high profile games so it's more obvious.

If Derry are at it fair enough but a strong referee is required because Donegal have and will use the tactics I mentioned, especially inside the scoring zones. For the good of the game if the ref is strong and stands up to both teams it'll be a better occasion. In that scenario though Derry would have a good chance of winning it as a lot of Donegal's tactics wouldn't work.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 18/05/2022 16:26:29    2418480

Replying To sam1884:  "Donegal won't win the All Ireland but might have a kick in them to win an Ulster title. Derry are a coming team, should of been promoted and are very well coached. They're a team with potential to give the All Ireland a go, we won't know until they reach Croke Park, but we know the Mayo's, Dublin's, Kerry's will beat this Donegal team.

Looking forward to the Ulster Final where experience could be key. Derry need a strong ref as Donegal know how to win frees in the scoring zone and they'll try to use Derry's physicality and hard (fair) tackling to their advantage by falling when tackles come in; another tactic of Donegal is their key players will be putting pressure on the referee from early on, they're players who are well know as Derry would be unknown personalties and that can impact a referee.

If the ref is clued into that and strong, Derry don't let the occasion get to them then I think they could win it comfortably."
Derry will win no all Ireland get that out of your head.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 18/05/2022 16:52:34    2418502

@Roryboy,
U calling for matchups. You must be chuffed at what the 'real Rory has brought to the table with the Derry boys. Let me see if mcKinless, Rodgers, Glass, mcGuigan are to be stopped they would have to be double teamed. That core much superior from the full back line out than anything Donegal can offer, plus they have another horse in the middle in Bradley. God help Murphy , he will be living of crumbs in that Donegal attack, and with Bonners sideways trotting of Ban, McHugh and Mogan Donegal could be in for long afternoon. Could be a draw if Donegal don't lose it on the sideline.

thelowball (USA) - Posts: 400 - 18/05/2022 17:37:46    2418513

Replying To sam1884:  "Donegal won't win the All Ireland but might have a kick in them to win an Ulster title. Derry are a coming team, should of been promoted and are very well coached. They're a team with potential to give the All Ireland a go, we won't know until they reach Croke Park, but we know the Mayo's, Dublin's, Kerry's will beat this Donegal team.

Looking forward to the Ulster Final where experience could be key. Derry need a strong ref as Donegal know how to win frees in the scoring zone and they'll try to use Derry's physicality and hard (fair) tackling to their advantage by falling when tackles come in; another tactic of Donegal is their key players will be putting pressure on the referee from early on, they're players who are well know as Derry would be unknown personalties and that can impact a referee.

If the ref is clued into that and strong, Derry don't let the occasion get to them then I think they could win it comfortably."
I know you probably attempted for that to come across as unbiased but you need to try harder than that. Why so sour?

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 18/05/2022 18:12:08    2418517

Replying To GaryMc82:  "Momentum is with Derry, have beat last years Ulster & All Ireland Champions Tyrone and Ulster runners up Monaghan who recently beat Dublin in the final round of the National League, and I can't see Donegal stop this train.
Donegal have been shakey and inconsistent thoughout the National League and also against Armagh and Cavan in Championship, great players, but they lack intensity and collective focus and players aren't fully behind their management and system. I'm expecting a tight game, but I can't see Donegal offering anything better than Tyrone or Monaghan.

Rory Gallagher and the team have done an amazing job with Derry, the players have all bought into it and its given some of the more seasoned veterans a new lease of life. Seeing players like Chrissy McKaigue and Benny Herron finally get their day in the sun is long-overdue."
Hi GaryMc82:. Good to see you posting again. Never too far off the mark in the past. How far can this Derry team go this year?

AudiMan (Donegal) - Posts: 648 - 18/05/2022 18:51:36    2418525

Replying To sam1884:  "Derry coaching team has previously been inside Donegal's set ups so maybe it's linked unsure. Derry are a new team to big games and not as well known yet. Donegal are experienced and been involved in high profile games so it's more obvious.

If Derry are at it fair enough but a strong referee is required because Donegal have and will use the tactics I mentioned, especially inside the scoring zones. For the good of the game if the ref is strong and stands up to both teams it'll be a better occasion. In that scenario though Derry would have a good chance of winning it as a lot of Donegal's tactics wouldn't work."
If you think the Derry players are not well known you haven't been watching much football this last few years.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1059 - 18/05/2022 19:31:45    2418528

Replying To sam1884:  "Derry coaching team has previously been inside Donegal's set ups so maybe it's linked unsure. Derry are a new team to big games and not as well known yet. Donegal are experienced and been involved in high profile games so it's more obvious.

If Derry are at it fair enough but a strong referee is required because Donegal have and will use the tactics I mentioned, especially inside the scoring zones. For the good of the game if the ref is strong and stands up to both teams it'll be a better occasion. In that scenario though Derry would have a good chance of winning it as a lot of Donegal's tactics wouldn't work."
Sure bring your own ref with yiz so!

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 585 - 18/05/2022 20:24:16    2418538

Tomsmith here.
Chrisssy Mc Keague will put Mc Brearty in his pocket and that will be the end of Donegals forward play

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 18/05/2022 22:02:35    2418559

Replying To rorysboys:  "Derry will win no all Ireland get that out of your head."
I honestly think Derry can win the All Ireland. I also think Donegal can win the All Ireland. If Donegal can combine this structured play defensively along with a more intensified attack, on our day we can win the All Ireland. Derry have some big physical athletes, but the question would be how would they handle Croke Park in front of 80,000 people. I honestly think Sam Maguire will stay in Ulster this year and unless Tyrone get their act together, the two likely teams are Donegal and Derry.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 19/05/2022 08:38:06    2418570

Interesting article by Dara O'Sé in yesterday's Irish Times. He had great praise for Shaun Patton and I agreed with a lot of what he said regarding kickouts. Even if Derry do allow us short kick outs I'd like for Patton to trust his skillset as well as our big men and runners out the field. Go long and disrupt their thinking. On the other side of things I'd attack Derry's kickout. Monaghan were aggressive in the second half of the semi final last weekend and dominated for long spells as a result. If they had adopted this mindset from the start the result could have been different good and all as Derry were.

I fear however that both teams will adopt similar tactics and be extremely cagey, especially early on. There probably will be a lot of short kickouts from both teams and it could turn into one of them "don't blink first" type of games decided by who has the better free taker on the day or which team makes fewer mistakes. Hopefully not though. It would be great to see a good Ulster final decided by quality football.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9153 - 19/05/2022 08:40:53    2418571

Replying To thelowball:  "@Roryboy,
U calling for matchups. You must be chuffed at what the 'real Rory has brought to the table with the Derry boys. Let me see if mcKinless, Rodgers, Glass, mcGuigan are to be stopped they would have to be double teamed. That core much superior from the full back line out than anything Donegal can offer, plus they have another horse in the middle in Bradley. God help Murphy , he will be living of crumbs in that Donegal attack, and with Bonners sideways trotting of Ban, McHugh and Mogan Donegal could be in for long afternoon. Could be a draw if Donegal don't lose it on the sideline."
Answer the question lad who's your matchups. Time to get off the fence and show us your football knowledge ???

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 19/05/2022 09:32:26    2418575

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith here.
Chrisssy Mc Keague will put Mc Brearty in his pocket and that will be the end of Donegals forward play"
Good man TomSmith. Who did Cavan get in the Tailteann Cup?

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 19/05/2022 09:49:52    2418585

Replying To rorysboys:  "Derry will win no all Ireland get that out of your head."
I agree, playing 15 men behind the ball will win nothing, old tactics catching teams out that have moved on, when they realise it wont win long term they will change to a more open game and then back to square one.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 380 - 19/05/2022 09:53:09    2418586

Replying To monaghanmad:  "I agree, playing 15 men behind the ball will win nothing, old tactics catching teams out that have moved on, when they realise it wont win long term they will change to a more open game and then back to square one."
Three goals in an Ulster semi final and a total of 3-12 might mean more than just playing "15 men behind the ball". I'm not sure Derry will compete for an All Ireland, they'd have to seen in Croke Park to make that judgment. However it is lazy to say they play with everybody behind the ball. The truth is more the balance is spot on and they look a well coached team. This years Ulster Final is unlikely to be their last over the coming years.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 19/05/2022 10:55:16    2418614

Replying To sam1884:  "Three goals in an Ulster semi final and a total of 3-12 might mean more than just playing "15 men behind the ball". I'm not sure Derry will compete for an All Ireland, they'd have to seen in Croke Park to make that judgment. However it is lazy to say they play with everybody behind the ball. The truth is more the balance is spot on and they look a well coached team. This years Ulster Final is unlikely to be their last over the coming years."
Ye but that was due to Monaghan being tactically out of their depth and going man to man rather than playing 15 behind the ball. Wait until Donegal play 15 behind the ball and get a bit of a lead on Derry, you will see them push out and then get tore to shreds playing their own game. Derrys whole game plan and system is based on getting a lead, time will tell what they will do when they go behind, but history tells us no team that plays that system can ever recover when they go behind.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 380 - 19/05/2022 11:57:57    2418640

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Ye but that was due to Monaghan being tactically out of their depth and going man to man rather than playing 15 behind the ball. Wait until Donegal play 15 behind the ball and get a bit of a lead on Derry, you will see them push out and then get tore to shreds playing their own game. Derrys whole game plan and system is based on getting a lead, time will tell what they will do when they go behind, but history tells us no team that plays that system can ever recover when they go behind."
You might be right but I thought Derry's performance against Tyrone was different to that against Monaghan so they might have the ability to adapt. Donegal will obviously pose different challanges but tactics or not Derry are a better team than Monaghan with both going in different directions.

Derry look to have a good defence, midfield, forward unit and physical presence so with all that there is room to change how they play at different stages of a game. It should be a good Ulster Final.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 19/05/2022 13:00:02    2418678

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Interesting article by Dara O'Sé in yesterday's Irish Times. He had great praise for Shaun Patton and I agreed with a lot of what he said regarding kickouts. Even if Derry do allow us short kick outs I'd like for Patton to trust his skillset as well as our big men and runners out the field. Go long and disrupt their thinking. On the other side of things I'd attack Derry's kickout. Monaghan were aggressive in the second half of the semi final last weekend and dominated for long spells as a result. If they had adopted this mindset from the start the result could have been different good and all as Derry were.

I fear however that both teams will adopt similar tactics and be extremely cagey, especially early on. There probably will be a lot of short kickouts from both teams and it could turn into one of them "don't blink first" type of games decided by who has the better free taker on the day or which team makes fewer mistakes. Hopefully not though. It would be great to see a good Ulster final decided by quality football."
Good read thanks for the heads up Lockjaw, I enjoyed it. I couldn't agree with him more in regards to keepers being out the field, whatever about them pushing up on the opposition kickout to provide another body around their own 45, the craic Beggan was at against Derry was silly stuff in my view. I hate seeing Patton come out with the ball and solo it as well, he's brilliant at the kickouts and shot stopping and that's good enough for me.

Obviously people may point to the Derry goalkeepers big long ball in for one of the goals against Monaghan, he solo'd all the way up to halfway I think it was? But I think that's rare enough rather than a tactic to employ the expert passing of your goalkeeper or anything.

I think Patton looks in very good form this year so I'm hoping he can get the ball out quick and long against Derry to try and exploit any space before they get set.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 19/05/2022 13:01:45    2418679

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Ye but that was due to Monaghan being tactically out of their depth and going man to man rather than playing 15 behind the ball. Wait until Donegal play 15 behind the ball and get a bit of a lead on Derry, you will see them push out and then get tore to shreds playing their own game. Derrys whole game plan and system is based on getting a lead, time will tell what they will do when they go behind, but history tells us no team that plays that system can ever recover when they go behind."
Monaghan missed a sight of scores, ok they were under serious pressure from Derry but Monaghan had the beating of them if they'd set up right against them in the first half,
Derry won't score 3 goals in every game, Donegal will be well prepared for them and we'll see if they really are contenders or just a flash in the pan.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 19/05/2022 13:26:26    2418693

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Good read thanks for the heads up Lockjaw, I enjoyed it. I couldn't agree with him more in regards to keepers being out the field, whatever about them pushing up on the opposition kickout to provide another body around their own 45, the craic Beggan was at against Derry was silly stuff in my view. I hate seeing Patton come out with the ball and solo it as well, he's brilliant at the kickouts and shot stopping and that's good enough for me.

Obviously people may point to the Derry goalkeepers big long ball in for one of the goals against Monaghan, he solo'd all the way up to halfway I think it was? But I think that's rare enough rather than a tactic to employ the expert passing of your goalkeeper or anything.

I think Patton looks in very good form this year so I'm hoping he can get the ball out quick and long against Derry to try and exploit any space before they get set."
Yep. Patton has been the most impressive keeper I've seen this Championship. Good saves in both the Armagh and Cavan games and his kick outs mostly been on the money. If he has a good Ulster final, and things go well for us he'll be able to demonstrate his ability fully in Croke Park. But, a big hurdle in Derry to overcome first. One game at a time.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9153 - 19/05/2022 13:37:33    2418698

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith here.
Chrisssy Mc Keague will put Mc Brearty in his pocket and that will be the end of Donegals forward play"
like he did last year when McBrearty stepped up and scored the winner

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 473 - 19/05/2022 13:58:25    2418711