2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread

Game went much as I expected it, although I didn't foresee Galway getting a goal.

I knew that Galway would throw the kitchen sink at Limk. But kind of knew that Limerick's composure and experience would see them over the line. I said by 5 points. It was 3.

Limerick made lots of errors; mishandling, handpasses going astray, missed pick-ups, etc. Some of those were due to Galway pressure. Many more weren't. It just seemed that quite a few of the Limk lads were out of kilter, for some reason.

They'll need to buck up a lot, if they're to have any chance against the cats. KK don't do mercy and don't do wides. Their first half vs Clare (very disappointing) was sheer blitzkrieg stuff.

It's a 50-50 final, with form and momentum probably swaying towards the cats. But it could go either way. Really looking forward to it.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 04/07/2022 12:34:09    2429611

A lot of positives for Galway yesterday, but a lot of 'what ifs' as well, some awful wides that will haunt them for some time to come. Too many of their forwards such as Conor Cooney and Jason Flynn were quite poor yet again, and you would have to wonder how many more chances these guys can get? Limerick showed yesterday why they are All Ireland Champions, and I sincerely hope that they go on to do the three in a row, before heading off into the sunset and allowing the rest of us a go at Liam.

gilly1910 (Galway) - Posts: 170 - 04/07/2022 12:53:48    2429621

Congrats to Limerick of course but well done Galway, it was a fine game.
Henry Sheflin did well in his first year. Looking forward to next year already.
Limerick will be ready for the cats no doubt.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 04/07/2022 12:57:20    2429622

Replying To katser:  "We certainly did not run out of steam, we had the chances in injury time to win, Burke, Niland, Cooney but unfortunately went wide.
Kiely lost faith in his beloved all star forwards and took them off because they were beaten men"
Yeah but who won the game? That's all that matters.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1909 - 04/07/2022 13:58:11    2429641

On a weekend of so many outstanding scores the highlight for me was Galway's goal. In the modern era, when the possession game seems to be the be-all and the end-all, it was great to see David Burke's quick first-time delivery into space, Brian Concannon losing his marker just for a second and crashing home a superb goal. Call me old-fashioned, but that's the kind of hurling I love to watch. Of course if a Kilkenny defender had managed to intercept the ball before Cancannon got possession, Burke's brilliant delivery would probably have been called "aimless" by the experts.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 542 - 04/07/2022 14:17:23    2429647

Great display from both teams and the champions showed why they are. Henry will see success with Galway if he stays there. When times passes on we will be remembering this Limerick team fondly as one of the greats. For now Limerick milk ever bit of the success and bag that third. You deserve it as you have had much disappointment like many more. Be cautious of the cats and don't give them the smell of blood or they will make a kill.
One thing I noticed in games now or I think so. The wide accounts is going up and obvious chances are not. These would be putting us in the 30 plus point range a few years ago. Many from uncontested play. Clare and actually both teams yesterday. Wides should be in the single digits.The cats looked the most accurate whether that was a once off we will see.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 04/07/2022 14:27:20    2429649

Replying To katser:  "We certainly did not run out of steam, we had the chances in injury time to win, Burke, Niland, Cooney but unfortunately went wide.
Kiely lost faith in his beloved all star forwards and took them off because they were beaten men"
What age are you? 10

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 04/07/2022 14:29:17    2429650

Replying To midlands:  "On a weekend of so many outstanding scores the highlight for me was Galway's goal. In the modern era, when the possession game seems to be the be-all and the end-all, it was great to see David Burke's quick first-time delivery into space, Brian Concannon losing his marker just for a second and crashing home a superb goal. Call me old-fashioned, but that's the kind of hurling I love to watch. Of course if a Kilkenny defender had managed to intercept the ball before Cancannon got possession, Burke's brilliant delivery would probably have been called "aimless" by the experts."
Well if a kk defender got a hurl to that delivery it would have been amazing as they were playing Limerick.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 221 - 04/07/2022 14:33:18    2429653

Replying To midlands:  "On a weekend of so many outstanding scores the highlight for me was Galway's goal. In the modern era, when the possession game seems to be the be-all and the end-all, it was great to see David Burke's quick first-time delivery into space, Brian Concannon losing his marker just for a second and crashing home a superb goal. Call me old-fashioned, but that's the kind of hurling I love to watch. Of course if a Kilkenny defender had managed to intercept the ball before Cancannon got possession, Burke's brilliant delivery would probably have been called "aimless" by the experts."
It would be some achievement if a Kilkenny player managed to intercept. I am joking I not you just made a slip.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 04/07/2022 14:37:37    2429655

Replying To Canuck:  "Great display from both teams and the champions showed why they are. Henry will see success with Galway if he stays there. When times passes on we will be remembering this Limerick team fondly as one of the greats. For now Limerick milk ever bit of the success and bag that third. You deserve it as you have had much disappointment like many more. Be cautious of the cats and don't give them the smell of blood or they will make a kill.
One thing I noticed in games now or I think so. The wide accounts is going up and obvious chances are not. These would be putting us in the 30 plus point range a few years ago. Many from uncontested play. Clare and actually both teams yesterday. Wides should be in the single digits.The cats looked the most accurate whether that was a once off we will see."
Galway have champion players too of course from 2017. Then again, so do Clare.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 04/07/2022 14:38:20    2429656

It was a great goal. I was actually surprised we didn't try dropping a few more in around the house given the one time we did, we scored. Goals win games, and that's doubly so when you're playing a team like Limerick who can shoot points with abandon.

As to the enthralling "ye ran out of steam" debate which has everyone fascinated,
On no we didn't
Oh yes you did
Oh no we didn't

I'd say we didn't. But we did loose the heads a little. There was no sign of fatigue in either team, no one dropping with cramps. Galway just turned the passion up to 11, while limerick dialed in their composure and experience.

We lost, fair and square, to a great team. For every one of our missed chances, Limerick could say the same. Better team won. Next year it will be us. Mark my words.

I'll be cheering the Shannonsiders on in the final (with Marty & co on mute).

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 04/07/2022 14:47:53    2429664

Replying To festinog:  "Arra stop. Lads calling for grand jury investigations of the ref every time their team loses is getting old. Not to mention just plain sad."
I agree with you here festinog. No matter who loses, in particular in a close match, the referee always cost them.
Here's an idea - maybe look at the players, what bad wide did they have, bad pass which ended up in a free or a score. Or a bad tactical switch by the manger.
It suits everybody in the GAA to blame the referee because it absolves players and management teams of responsibility. And scapegoats the easiest person to scapegoat.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 04/07/2022 14:51:06    2429665

There was another goal chance there near the end when Whelan took his point, Concannon was on his own outside the square...

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1798 - 04/07/2022 15:23:11    2429676

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Galway have champion players too of course from 2017. Then again, so do Clare."
And Tipp and Kilkenny.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11848 - 04/07/2022 15:59:55    2429687

Replying To Canuck:  "Great display from both teams and the champions showed why they are. Henry will see success with Galway if he stays there. When times passes on we will be remembering this Limerick team fondly as one of the greats. For now Limerick milk ever bit of the success and bag that third. You deserve it as you have had much disappointment like many more. Be cautious of the cats and don't give them the smell of blood or they will make a kill.
One thing I noticed in games now or I think so. The wide accounts is going up and obvious chances are not. These would be putting us in the 30 plus point range a few years ago. Many from uncontested play. Clare and actually both teams yesterday. Wides should be in the single digits.The cats looked the most accurate whether that was a once off we will see."
It was decent but I think supporters from both counties would agree they didnt serve up a great display. Average to Good by thri standards but great is stretching it.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 04/07/2022 16:00:11    2429688

The best of luck to Kilkenny in the All Ireland Final....I'll be supporting the Cats and the best modern day hurler in the Country TJ Reid.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2195 - 04/07/2022 16:30:18    2429699

Well, those "beaten men" are in the final now, to be "beaten" again, or perhaps even not to be beaten.

Ironically, the men who 'beat' them are not in the final. But they can at least, turn their attention now for the rest of the year to your claimed 'great club championship in Galway'.

Taddle along now like a good girleen, with your tail between your legs. I can see why the 'kat' is so appropriate in your name.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 04/07/2022 16:32:38    2429700

Replying To clooney:  "Thank God somebody else thinks this he is absolutely cringey when commentating on "This Superb Limerick Team" fawning to them he's a puke a lick ****

If he is on all Ireland final day i will switch to radio"
Look Clooney Marty is the 1 Clare man who knows how great this Limerick team is and isn't afraid to admit it.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 04/07/2022 17:07:23    2429709

Replying To katser:  "The best of luck to Kilkenny in the All Ireland Final....I'll be supporting the Cats and the best modern day hurler in the Country TJ Reid."
I'm sure they'll be delighted.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1909 - 04/07/2022 17:56:08    2429722

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Game went much as I expected it, although I didn't foresee Galway getting a goal.

I knew that Galway would throw the kitchen sink at Limk. But kind of knew that Limerick's composure and experience would see them over the line. I said by 5 points. It was 3.

Limerick made lots of errors; mishandling, handpasses going astray, missed pick-ups, etc. Some of those were due to Galway pressure. Many more weren't. It just seemed that quite a few of the Limk lads were out of kilter, for some reason.

They'll need to buck up a lot, if they're to have any chance against the cats. KK don't do mercy and don't do wides. Their first half vs Clare (very disappointing) was sheer blitzkrieg stuff.

It's a 50-50 final, with form and momentum probably swaying towards the cats. But it could go either way. Really looking forward to it."
You lost the Limerick -5 so, same as Lohan's brown helmet.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 04/07/2022 18:25:29    2429727