2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread

Replying To Bon:  "Time to start playing both semi finals on the same day again. It looks awful having so many empty seats."
Should have put the minor on before it. Would have made a great spectacle.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 03/07/2022 22:01:52    2429532

Replying To oneoff:  "And people will try to claim there's no bad hurling games...."
There was any amount of them in BOTH provincial championships this year, and only a good couple of games glossed over this fact.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 03/07/2022 22:05:56    2429534

Replying To katser:  "We definitely left the game behind, it was ours to win as I expected it would but unfortunately we didn't take those crucial chances!
Not surprised by the Galway effert as I have believed in the ability of this team all along.
Whoever said Galway would run out of steam was wrong."
But they run out of steam, Limerick got the last three points. BTW, when Reidy missed easy chances in 2020 you said he was a great man to score. Well how perceptive of because he scored three smashing points yesterday and was the crucial difference between the two teams. No

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 04/07/2022 07:11:17    2429535

Replying To katser:  "We definitely left the game behind, it was ours to win as I expected it would but unfortunately we didn't take those crucial chances!
Not surprised by the Galway effert as I have believed in the ability of this team all along.
Whoever said Galway would run out of steam was wrong."
But they did run out of steam, Limerick got the last three points. BTW, when Reidy missed easy chances in 2020 you said he was a great man to score. Well how perceptive of you, because he scored three smashing points yesterday and was the crucial difference between the two teams.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 04/07/2022 07:12:56    2429536

Replying To festinog:  "Fair point ACL. Great physical game between two sides who came to play. I live in the US and work with a bunch of different tribes, friends from which were over watching this morning (my time). There couldn't have been a better advert for the game. Wouldn't be surprised if we see some tribal lads form a team here shortly!"
Yes indeed, a fine full blooded game and a credit to both teams. Galway should look at the positives and go forward with renewed hope.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 04/07/2022 07:16:54    2429537

Superb game of hurling yesterday. Real intense stuff. Galway brought everything. The tactics were clear. Simplistic game plan and nearly paid off. Route one and feed off breaking ball and secondly flood the midfield with mobility and shoot from distance. They clocked up wides but I felt they were always going to with the selection of shots that was clearly the plan from the outset. Its extremely rare a team will out shoot limerick and for Galway to get off 47 shots showed tactically they were excellent. Cathal Mannion caused a lot of harm with his movement like Ryan Taylor did in the munster final. Good teams will always adapt to a better teams weaknesses. Limerick this year have been exposed from mobile runners across the 65s. Ger Browne was the first to get reward on the match v Tipp and managers have since copied it with success. Will Cody do similar with Mullen? Will kiely stick ot twist and push up the field. All to be debated.

Limerick don't do panic. If I was to pick one piece of play to perfectly explain the winning of the match was in the 73rd minute. Joseph cooney caught a great ball under the hogan stand after a limerick clearance. Instead of running and flicking a ball into a better positioned man he mishit a shot under pressure from 100 yards out. Nash flicked a ball to morrissey. Back to hannnon inside his own 14. Pop pass to hayes in space over 2 Galway players. Hand pass to reidy in space and a shot under no pressure over the bar. It's small margins but that to me was the play that won the match. It was clear, precise, cold and executed to perfection. Real stuff of champions.

Gillane to me has been a mile the best hurler in the country this year. Ive said it from the league stages he's been hungry all year and his class was to the fore again yesterday. He had a 5 time all star Daithi Burke man marking him all day. It was some battle between the two. Gillanes shooting and movement was tip drawer. 0-06 from play and 3 assists marking one of the best to ever do it. For me he was motm closely followed by sean finn.

It was a huge test of this limerick team who have had a lot of injuries and setbacks so far this year but refuse to be beaten. It sets up some AI final. One in which the whole country will be savouring. Cody v Kiely. Intriguing.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1126 - 04/07/2022 07:54:33    2429539

Have to hand it to Cody and Kilkenny when we beat them in the round robin they looked a bet team with high ball after high ball down on our backs and no real fight in them. Contrast that to the way they hurled yesterday no comparison.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 221 - 04/07/2022 07:54:51    2429540

Replying To PatKeyes73:  "You gotta play for the full 70 +minutes if you want to beat the All Ireland champions Son.."
Didn't realise Katser was a son of yours! Wonders will never cease!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1791 - 04/07/2022 08:31:03    2429544

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Jeez, having to listen to Marty Morrisey for the next 70 mins. He's in full fawning, drama Queen mode today."
Thank God somebody else thinks this he is absolutely cringey when commentating on "This Superb Limerick Team" fawning to them he's a puke a lick ****

If he is on all Ireland final day i will switch to radio

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 887 - 04/07/2022 08:39:26    2429548

Replying To PatKeyes73:  "You gotta play for the full 70 +minutes if you want to beat the All Ireland champions Son.."
Oh, the magnanimity and class in victory! Enjoy your time at the top…son! Nothing lasts forever.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 902 - 04/07/2022 09:10:30    2429552

Similiar to a couple of years ago, Limerick never panicked and pulled away at the end. I expected that to happen around the 60 min mark but obviously happened much later. I was really surprised at the Limerick changes late on - took some balls and paid off in the best possible way. Plenty to work on for Limerick. I thought the positional sense from both full backs was questionable on a number of occasions. Both of them crossed the half way line on a couple of occasions and one even went inside the far 21 despite conceeding a number of scores from play.
Gillane has often irritated the life out of me but he was unreal yesterday and how he didnt get man of the match I'll never know. A limerick posters critised Tony Kelly for not standing up when needed is he criticsiing Morrissey and Hegarty this morning of hidiing when the need was greatest?! Thats a dig at that poster rather than the two players by the way!
Despite what I seen at the weekend I think Kk should be worried in a big way. I can only see one result in this final. If Gillane was playing for Clare on Saturday I doubt he would have scored with the way Clare played on the day. That KK backline will get a real test in two weeks. Over the last 7/8 years KK have been under the greatest pressure against teams that dont play long and direct ball and I fear for them in the final.

Galways should take positives from the year. They now seem to have a really good keeper (I've egg on the face saying that!) and two good corner backs. I think there was an opportiunity missed with not giving Niland more game time. Cooney now looks the best man to fill the 6 jersey (possibly has been for years) and Tom Monaghan has come back again to prove he is more than good enough.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 04/07/2022 09:42:16    2429559

Cooney's 1st half missed free, Graham Mulcachy's soft free in 1st half, bad mistake by Morrissey on 1st half puckout, Gillane brilliance, bad wides, Limerick subs and a few marginal calls in 2nd half that all went Limericks way were the difference between the teams. Brilliant spirit shown by Galway and they played out of their skin. You have to admire Limerick they were never down by more than a point and showed brilliant fight also. No complaints about Hayes incident he clearly didn't exert any downward pressure and no complaint/reaction from Galway player's which tells a lot.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 377 - 04/07/2022 09:44:11    2429560

Replying To togoutlads:  "Oh, the magnanimity and class in victory! Enjoy your time at the top…son! Nothing lasts forever."
The final will be a case of the nouveau riche v the old money aristocrats

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 93 - 04/07/2022 09:47:43    2429561

Replying To Oldtourman:  "But they run out of steam, Limerick got the last three points. BTW, when Reidy missed easy chances in 2020 you said he was a great man to score. Well how perceptive of because he scored three smashing points yesterday and was the crucial difference between the two teams. No"
We certainly did not run out of steam, we had the chances in injury time to win, Burke, Niland, Cooney but unfortunately went wide.
Kiely lost faith in his beloved all star forwards and took them off because they were beaten men

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 04/07/2022 09:52:45    2429562

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Jeez, having to listen to Marty Morrisey for the next 70 mins. He's in full fawning, drama Queen mode today."
Not too dissimilar to yourself then

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 04/07/2022 10:01:30    2429567

Replying To togoutlads:  "Oh, the magnanimity and class in victory! Enjoy your time at the top…son! Nothing lasts forever."
What is the touchiness for. Despite having a game two weeks ago Galway had a very slow start and they allowed a now ageing team to score the last three points. And yes we do know nothing lasts forever and yes we do know we were down for years. However the statement was a simple fact. Fair dues to Galway they gave overall a fine display and it is now time to look forward and build on that good performance of yesterday.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 04/07/2022 10:02:59    2429568

Katser maybe if managers in Galway had been willing to make changes in past few years ye wouldn't still be looking for an all ireland since 2017..kiely has never minded taking off what you call are stars..ive mentioned before we realize we are so lucky to have this team and we are really enjoying our time at the top..we know that we will slip back at some stage but please god it won't happen for a few more years..why are people so shocked that Galway got so close??they are always capable of putting it up to any team..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2214 - 04/07/2022 10:23:44    2429571

Replying To Oldtourman:  "But they run out of steam, Limerick got the last three points. BTW, when Reidy missed easy chances in 2020 you said he was a great man to score. Well how perceptive of because he scored three smashing points yesterday and was the crucial difference between the two teams. No"
Galway didn't actually run out of steam. Were you at the game? There were a number of reasons why they lost but running out of steam wasn't one of them. It was a tight game. Limerick got the calls from the Munster ref at crucial stages, even the two munster men on RTE, one of them from your own county said the same. Your long range points, some of which came from dubious frees were crucial to your victory. Galway missed 3 or 4 chances when the game was in the melting pot.
It was a great game and I was very proud of our hurlers, they played with great honesty, heart and skill.
Congrats to Limerick on their win.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1791 - 04/07/2022 10:25:07    2429572

Replying To katser:  "We certainly did not run out of steam, we had the chances in injury time to win, Burke, Niland, Cooney but unfortunately went wide.
Kiely lost faith in his beloved all star forwards and took them off because they were beaten men"
Ah Katser take a chill pill will you. Be happy your men gave a great account of themselves yesterday.

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 04/07/2022 10:44:14    2429574

Replying To clooney:  "Thank God somebody else thinks this he is absolutely cringey when commentating on "This Superb Limerick Team" fawning to them he's a puke a lick ****

If he is on all Ireland final day i will switch to radio"
Strangely enough I always found Marty way better to listen to on the radio than on the TV, don't know why tbh, I think canning is poor too.
For me darragh Maloney is the best commentator.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1705 - 04/07/2022 11:48:55    2429598