2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread

Replying To Galway9801:  "I don't pay a huge amount of attention to tactics or strategies tbh so I couldn't agree or disagree with you re Lohan, but I kind of felt sorry for him yesterday.
I'm sure you've heard the old line that once the players cross the white line it's up to them to do the business. Well it was clear after even 5 minutes that the clare players were going to wilt under the heat of kilkennys intensity, and that they didn't have the stomach for the battle, same with our lads a few weeks ago (that black and Amber Jersey has that affect on hurlers).
Not much Lohan can do about that."
KK have lost twice this year, in Salthill and Knowlan Park. Cody learned a lot from those defeats and he used the 4 week break in the way that he knows best - his tactics and strategies along with the preparation of his team gave them the confidence and ability to go out and win that game yesterday. The din from Munster suited KK plus the fact that Clare were no great shakes against Wexford.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1794 - 03/07/2022 11:47:32    2429378

Does Tony Kelly deserve an all star??

Newyorkkat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 127 - 03/07/2022 12:28:57    2429384

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Well the amount of frees they missed was outrageous. And as everyone knows if a margin is kept reasonable the leading side may not get scores as easy. Having said that KK were at least 6 points a better team to day, but Clares awful shooting really made their task much easier. However the Banner have some good young talent coming through and despite todays heavy set back they could still be a force to be reckoned with next year. I wonder did the tough games Limerick and Wexford have any residual effect on them today and did the months break actually help KK. I hope I am right in the latter suggestion."
All of the above in my opinion.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 03/07/2022 13:13:28    2429390

Replying To football first:  "What was the attendance yesterday? Would a semi-final double header be a better option than two stand-alone fixtures?"
Just under 40k.

IMO the poor crowd yesterday wasn't due to lack of interest, it was because tickets were 50 euro at a time when people are feeling the pinch with food and fuel prices going through the roof.

M Lyster (Antrim) - Posts: 461 - 03/07/2022 13:22:01    2429392

Replying To baire:  "KK have lost twice this year, in Salthill and Knowlan Park. Cody learned a lot from those defeats and he used the 4 week break in the way that he knows best - his tactics and strategies along with the preparation of his team gave them the confidence and ability to go out and win that game yesterday. The din from Munster suited KK plus the fact that Clare were no great shakes against Wexford."
Like him or dislike him Cody is the greatest tactian of all time. Ruthless with his own team and ferreting out weakness in the opposition. He has taken an average team and made them good to the point that now like the ones gone before them household names. I hope if Limerick win today and take care of business. I don't think they will leave Kilkenny get in their heads and if they do it will be disastrous. They are long enough on the road now and have drank from the cup of success.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 03/07/2022 13:33:00    2429396

Replying To Newyorkkat:  "Does Tony Kelly deserve an all star??"
Not this year, even though he lit up the championship like no other at times.

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 300 - 03/07/2022 14:59:16    2429413

Jeez, having to listen to Marty Morrisey for the next 70 mins. He's in full fawning, drama Queen mode today.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 03/07/2022 15:34:49    2429418

This short puck-out is giving me palpitations. If that's the sum total of Shefflin's game plan, it could be a long day in the office.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 03/07/2022 15:47:05    2429419

Hurling is a tough sport but I thought a deliberate, dangerous frontal hit to an opponents head was a straight red card?

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 03/07/2022 16:06:52    2429420

Galway look good but are very wasteful. Limerick very economical with the ball. Beautiful passing by Limerick too. Galway just need to make smarter use of the ball and the Galway goalie needs to puck out the ball to GALWAY players not Limerick ones. Sigh. Congratulations to Tipp minors. Hard luck Offaly.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 03/07/2022 16:14:00    2429422

Limerick are there for the taking of a team can BELIEVE they can win. I'm not sure Galway think they can do it, been very wasteful so far but great intensity.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1572 - 03/07/2022 16:23:04    2429425

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Jeez, having to listen to Marty Morrisey for the next 70 mins. He's in full fawning, drama Queen mode today."
Cummins no better either.

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 533 - 03/07/2022 16:24:42    2429428

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Jeez, having to listen to Marty Morrisey for the next 70 mins. He's in full fawning, drama Queen mode today."
Glad you said it a mhic. I was inclined to think I was just being a little biased, but Jaysus, listening to them you'd swear Limerick had the game won from the second minute of play.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 03/07/2022 16:25:21    2429429

Hard luck Galway. Some match and some contest. Limerick are some champions. They were in trouble for periods but their panel is so strong. Now there were a few Galway wides that killed them. Nilands near the end was an awful miss but there were lots of others. Even Monaghan missed a few bad ones.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 03/07/2022 17:08:09    2429433

Congrats Limerick and best of luck in the final. Very proud of our lads for a heroic effort against a truly great team.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 03/07/2022 17:08:19    2429434

Credit to both teams. Amazing contest.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1706 - 03/07/2022 17:10:01    2429435

Absolutely savage game. Enjoyed that thoroughly. Well done Limerick, your depth on the bench and ability to make space in the middle of the field and take your points free from pressure was the difference between the two sides. Hope ye go on and win it, even if it means listening to Marty beatify the whole team for another 70 minutes!

As for Galway, that was more like it. Great spirit, and with a cooler head in the middle of the park, who knows what might happen.

Gaillimh Abú!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 03/07/2022 17:10:06    2429436

Congratulations Limerick. While I'm gutted for Galway I'm also very proud of them and their performance was great. A few less wides and who knows, but that's sports for you. Galway are back I'm happy to say. Best of luck Limerick in the final. Galway Abu!!!!!

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 03/07/2022 17:11:55    2429438

Great game and credit to Galway but that is why Limerick are champions.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 03/07/2022 17:12:20    2429439

Fantastic game but whilst Galway were losing heads on and off the field Limerick remained focused and measured throughout, sign of a great team. Best team on the day, good effort from Galway but there was only going to be one winner.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 03/07/2022 17:13:28    2429441