2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread

Replying To tommy k:  "It wasn't a fair result - Galway were much the better team but stupid wides, complacency and very poor refereeing decisions by the ref giving into howls from the home crowd got Wexford a draw when they should have been comfortably beaten."
Ref let ye away with loads. We missed a penalty and had plenty of our own chances.

The way Grealish marked Rory he didn't seem to be aware there was a ball in Wexford Park at all.

Not to mention the hit on dee o keefee.

Hundreds of refs wouldn't have made that call on time wasting but that's what you get.

The free at the end might be a blessing, the goal was on.

It was a fair result. We hurled for 20 minutes and ye were blessed. The minute we started playing ye shirked.

Best of luck going forward all the same.

I hope ye beat kilkenny.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3048 - 17/04/2022 08:25:51    2411255

Replying To ChinCanHurl:  "That ball was never picked off the ground I watched him with my own two eyes flick it into his hand and then watched as 3 Galway lads hung out of him. Bad enough listening to Galway lads say it but to hear it from a Wexford man beats all."
Fact. It was right in front of me. He never touched it on the ground

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3048 - 17/04/2022 08:28:54    2411256

Replying To tiobraid:  "Yes the same fine player and one of the greatest full backs ever but has put in succession of poor games in the cship at both full and centre back. Are you saying he has been all star standard the last two seasons?"
Fine player in his time but he's gone past his peak.

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 17/04/2022 09:26:52    2411265

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "a point in Wexford Park is valuable enough. Limerick would not be too concerned
about what they saw today."
Limerick are playing in Munster, not Leinster.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2643 - 17/04/2022 10:08:50    2411272

Well the hurling championship (on Hoganstand) is off to a grand start.
With plenty of arguing, slagging and tunnel vision. Roll on this evening when we can expect more of the same, but from a wider support base.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2643 - 17/04/2022 10:25:04    2411277

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Ref let ye away with loads. We missed a penalty and had plenty of our own chances.

The way Grealish marked Rory he didn't seem to be aware there was a ball in Wexford Park at all.

Hundreds of refs wouldn't have made that call on time wasting but that's what you get.

It was a fair result. We hurled for 20 minutes and ye were blessed. The minute we started playing ye shirked.

I hope ye beat kilkenny."
I enjoyed last night's game. Well done to Wexford for never giving up on the result, and getting a share of the points. The local singer gave a rousing rendition of Amhan Na Fhiann before the throw in. It was magnificent, that man can sing!

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1879 - 17/04/2022 12:19:13    2411288

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Ref let ye away with loads. We missed a penalty and had plenty of our own chances.

I hope ye beat kilkenny."
I think Galway threw it away in the finish we really should have been out of sight by half time. Still can't under stand the ref to throw in the free for time wasting he spent the same number of seconds over his free as chin did with the last free. If he did think it was time wasting then why not just add on the time in the end. In fairness I think we only got 4 points from frees I think ye scored 9 so ye probably had the refs side more than ye think . Whelan was getting the same treatment down the other end. But all in all it was a very enjoyable match and I hope ye can turn the cats over. Can I ask what is the story with the scoreboard we could not see it from our position behind the goals. Surly when you go to a game you should be able to see the score board from any place in the grounds? Best of luck in the next rounds !

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 17/04/2022 12:29:49    2411290

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Yes, Galway had ample opportunity to win that game. But, let's not be getting anywhere near "poor refereeing", please. The ref was very consistent for both teams.

If anyone complains that the ref was bad today, then pick up the whistle and do the job yourself.

Great reffing, today!"
The ref was not good today, why would you say he was when if believe he wasn't, he definitely bottled a lot of decisions in the finish the crowd swayed him. he should have never threw in the ball for the Cooney free.

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 17/04/2022 12:49:13    2411293

Replying To thelongridge:  "I enjoyed last night's game. Well done to Wexford for never giving up on the result, and getting a share of the points. The local singer gave a rousing rendition of Amhan Na Fhiann before the throw in. It was magnificent, that man can sing!"
That man is Wexford man George Lawlor and I believe he gave a rousing rendition of Cuchullain's Son before the game as Wexford paid tribute to the birth of Nickey Rackard (who the song was written about by local man Tom Williams RIP).
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zInKWfztHbQ&ab_channel=GeorgeLawlor

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1777 - 17/04/2022 13:04:41    2411297

GAA : "We've a shortage of referees"
Supporters : "The ref cost us the game". Ignoring the fact that players drove wides, missed chances, etc. It is always that awful ref's fault.

Tiresome, cause and effect, etc.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1777 - 17/04/2022 13:05:51    2411298

Replying To StoreysTash:  "That man is Wexford man George Lawlor and I believe he gave a rousing rendition of Cuchullain's Son before the game as Wexford paid tribute to the birth of Nickey Rackard (who the song was written about by local man Tom Williams RIP).
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zInKWfztHbQ&ab_channel=GeorgeLawlor"
Thanks, I didn't know there was a song about the late, great Nicky Rackard. Will follow the link you sent.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1879 - 17/04/2022 13:43:03    2411302

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "" I watched him with my own two eyes "

Maybe you should put a hand over one eye, or go and have an eye test."
I must watch it again so.

ChinCanHurl (Wexford) - Posts: 292 - 17/04/2022 14:17:22    2411306

Replying To ecad123:  "The ref was not good today, why would you say he was when if believe he wasn't, he definitely bottled a lot of decisions in the finish the crowd swayed him. he should have never threw in the ball for the Cooney free."
Yeah you are right he was bad, let Concannon take as many steps as he wanted for the goal, allowed Galway to constantly hold/grab the free hand so Wex players couldn't play the ball (great example was when chin came on and the defender practically had his arm pinned behind him and got called for carrying), he bottled giving a black card to the Galway player for the penalty, he let Grealish foul Rory at will (at one point he even pushed him straight in the back over the side line under the stand) in the most obvious and clumsy ways.

Galway have absolutely nothing to complain about that ref, Cooney was acting the maggot and cost his team. Had to laugh at Henry talking about the free count in the second half, selective memory about the first half free count.

Fulgrim (Wexford) - Posts: 258 - 17/04/2022 14:52:23    2411317

Replying To ecad123:  "I think Galway threw it away in the finish we really should have been out of sight by half time. Still can't under stand the ref to throw in the free for time wasting he spent the same number of seconds over his free as chin did with the last free. If he did think it was time wasting then why not just add on the time in the end. In fairness I think we only got 4 points from frees I think ye scored 9 so ye probably had the refs side more than ye think . Whelan was getting the same treatment down the other end. But all in all it was a very enjoyable match and I hope ye can turn the cats over. Can I ask what is the story with the scoreboard we could not see it from our position behind the goals. Surly when you go to a game you should be able to see the score board from any place in the grounds? Best of luck in the next rounds !"
I can't understand why we don't have a scoreboard at both ends.

They're developing the ground in 3 stages after the Dublin game but no mention of a second scoreboard.

On another note I feel loads better about how poor we both were yesterday.

Why couldn't we play this Waterford in a league semi final?

Brutal stuff in Walsh Park.

It's only April after all

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3048 - 17/04/2022 14:53:38    2411318

Good win for Waterford over Tipp. Noel McGrath is still a stud for Tipp. Pure class.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2218 - 17/04/2022 15:38:39    2411322

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I can't understand why we don't have a scoreboard at both ends.

They're developing the ground in 3 stages after the Dublin game but no mention of a second scoreboard.

On another note I feel loads better about how poor we both were yesterday.

Why couldn't we play this Waterford in a league semi final?

Brutal stuff in Walsh Park.

It's only April after all"
I think we won ???

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2854 - 17/04/2022 16:41:16    2411344

Replying To tiobraid:  "Stayed up? I thought you were living in the US! I think you've been found out! The match was on at 8:30am on the west coast and you are supposed to be on the east coast!"
I'm actually on vacation with the in-laws here in Japan. It was 00:30 here on April, 17 when that game started. That's why I stayed up.

And it is still April 17 here, when Waterford beat Tipperary. Good stuff from Tipp, though!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2070 - 17/04/2022 16:44:01    2411346

Replying To Canuck:  "I think we won ???"
Yes, Waterford did win; great win, btw.

But why is he even talking about this here? Why isn't this kept to the Wexford forum?

And Canuck, why are you not answering this question on the Waterford forum (specifically set up for you).

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2070 - 17/04/2022 16:54:48    2411351

Limerick are devastating. Making Cork look like Minors. They'll be tough to beat yet again.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2218 - 17/04/2022 17:25:56    2411358

Replying To Trump2020:  "Limerick are devastating. Making Cork look like Minors. They'll be tough to beat yet again."
Yup, I was hopeful for the first 40/50 minutes of the game, but then they just put on the after burners and boom, out of sight.
Not forgetting either that the team they just beat so handily were last year's runner up.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 17/04/2022 17:40:12    2411361