2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread

Replying To Canuck:  "Looking for more support while naming dummy teams. Our family have supported every way since 1938 but I will have to think twice about it going forward."
The pressure was too much. I think in hindsight we may look back on this championship and say whichever management team got their team to peak at the right time of year did it right.
I think psychologically the defeat to cork was a very hard one to come back from. And only 1 week to get the house in order. Players are human. Derek mcgrath did heap pressure on the players. He hopefully will have learned a hard lesson. In fairness though our own county was 45 years and often the hype train was on overdrive so won't be preaching about that.
I was delighted in 2018 that our lads weren't favourites and in hindsight it did probably help that we lost to clare to bring people back down to earth.
I genuinely am in belief that waterford are better than that too, it's just hard to stomach at the moment but every county has been there.

Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 366 - 23/05/2022 16:19:39    2419800

Derek just needs to go away. No one will touch him now with a 40 foot pole because they will see how he cannot read the game. Look there are great teams left to enjoy. That is why they are still there.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 23/05/2022 16:46:03    2419821

Replying To baire:  "It was Conneely OTM. I read an article about that final recently. Here's an excerpt about Pat Henderson's words of encouragement to Frank Burke:
Burke was trudging sadly in the direction of the dressing room afterwards when he was collared by Pat Henderson, his marker. "I know you'll be very disappointed," Henderson told him. "Ye were nervous and anxious there. But stick at it and ye'll win an All-Ireland."
Henderson wasn't just being polite, Burke reflects. "He actually meant it."

Fair play to Pat Henderson, a true sportsman."
Well Baire- I am genuinely sorry but I thought it was Connelley I dug on UTube a full recording of the '79 final and to my amazement Shinnors was the goalie. The two teams are listed in full print and narrated by Michael O'Hehir. I was very surprised as I thought Connolly was in goal that day. BTW Connelly was definitely there in'80 and he made a few great saves. Ye were the better team, but he played a huge part in beating us. Look it up on utube.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 23/05/2022 18:50:29    2419848

Replying To daveboy:  "I'd be asking why the team was all over Dungarvan the night before? That's a very bad sign. Any truth that there was a lot of animosity in the group of late? They looked like a team going through the motions yesterday. I wouldn't focus on dummy teams. They are commonly used"
I don't know any thing about the animosity. If Waterford could not show more spirit than that with a championship qualification at stake it is a sad reflection on us.
Dummy teams are totally unfair to team supporters that they supposedly crave for. .Every game they don't announce the team until 10 p.m. on Friday night while you can read the opposition in mid week most of the time. I have contacted wlr about it. They agree but will not air that opinion either saying that is what they are given. A cop out because they are well able to give diverse opinions on other matters. I can understand last minute injury changes but this planned dummy team with key players dropped ? It totally back fired. Forgot to give Cork credit.
You would think if you were bringing in Mahony it would be to take frees as his contribution from play has wained long ago. Then you take him off after the service he has given. Bennett may not be having a great championship but the understanding he has with Hutchison and Kiely was worth something. Where was Kiely ? Injured or dropped as he was not on the 26. Prunty not available. If injured why not say so. some thing smells. Gleeson the only goal treat with Hutchison in the championship in the backs. Does not say much for the players who played defence in this great panel (so called) all year. Daragh Lyons who plays his heart out not given a chance. We don't know how many were injured but you don't throw petrol on the fire by dropping key players. The whole thing was a shambles and we should get some explanation.
Look we are well used to getting beaten and I would not be dumping on our team for it. However this unspirited display by the team on the field and the antics of the management showed a complete lack of any confidence.
On to the rest of the season.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 23/05/2022 18:57:36    2419850

Do other board users here enjoy the current championship format?

Interested to know if it is a Yes/No and why …..

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 23/05/2022 19:20:47    2419854

Replying To slayer:  "Do other board users here enjoy the current championship format?

Interested to know if it is a Yes/No and why ….."
slayer, I wrote the below yesterday on the proposal regarding knock-out provincials and then a round robin. It is not sour grapes in that we are out but rather sort of sums up my feelings. (link)

"I feel something like this should be starting this weekend. I am disappointed we are out before the end of May, and the GAA have missed out on its best time for promotion.
It seems wrong that having 10 competitive hurling matches between league and championship in the first 5 months of the year does nothing for player welfare. Hurling is and always will be easier on a dry pitch.
In addition, the current format does nothing for Laois or whoever wins the Joe McDonagh cup. Unless they can take a scalp against one of the big boys and relegate somebody, they are only expected to make up the numbers.
What do hurling people want? Do they want the same counties to win All-Irelands for the next 50 years, or do they want Offaly, Laois, Westmeath, Antrim, Kildare, etc to continue to promote the game?
There is way too much "I'm alright jack" in the GAA - particularly from top counties in both hurling and football. The GAA will never be a level playing field but what hurling currently has is a pack of top counties literally pooing on those who are trying to progress the game and to say they are pushing against the tide would be an understatement."

As a championship, yes the Leinster finale was exciting but the Munster one was such a going through the motions exercise. I went out for a walk at half time in the Munster finale and didn't watch 2nd half.

I would add also, that the GAA has given away their prime shop window. Someone said on that other thread, there are 7 hurling matches in the next 2 months. Seven in 2 months, when the football season over, after hundreds competing with these leagues since January in all sort of conditions most of which were not suitable for hurling. It has been a huge own goal.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 24/05/2022 10:25:52    2419889

Sunday game coverage on RTE is fairly pathetic by now. Led by Donal Og, Derek McGrath and Shane Dowling who truly offer nothing by way of analysis and breakdown. The odd thing of identifying space before inevtiably Donal Og tries to manipulate the conversation to talk about Cuchullain or Christy Ring. Never thought id say this but i'd prefer if they had Cyril Farrell and Ger Loughnanne back in the studio and do away with lads who elect to wear twead jackets and runners.

BLT (Galway) - Posts: 53 - 24/05/2022 10:51:50    2419902

Replying To slayer:  "Do other board users here enjoy the current championship format?

Interested to know if it is a Yes/No and why ….."
I love the current format. Now that might have much to do with Clare's super record in the RR (12 games, 8 wins, 1 draw and 3 losses).

I love the buzz in Ennis on Championship day and the atmosphere generated. I love travelling away to play other Munster teams. I dont want to give that up now. Instead of playing in Cork, Limerick and Thurles every day isnt is great to go to Ennis and Walsh Park in the Munster championship. Its great to see the fans mixing and socialising after the games.

It also tends in the main to ensure the best teams qualify. The top 3 in Munster are certainly the best teams in Munster. You could possibly argue that Dublin are hard done by in Leinster having beaten Wexford but unfortunately if you don't do your job you run the risk of being eliminated and the Dubs were poor against KK and Galway, two games that decided their fate.

The only thing for me is Munster teams are seriously disadvantaged against when compared to Leinster teams as there is an imbalance in quality between the provinces. Before I am attacked, I am not saying the Leinster Championship is less enjoyable but the better teams on a whole are in Munster as evidenced by the last two All Ireland finals being contested by Munster teams.

As a result, the 4th placed Munster team is potentially a better team than 2nd or 3rd in Leinster in any given year. There is no way around this though as the Munster council will protect the Munster championship at all costs. Unless of course Kerry beat Tipp, I would imagine there would be a scramble to restructure then.

All in all there is never going to be a system we agree on, but this format for me is the best we had.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 24/05/2022 11:15:40    2419917

Replying To BLT:  "Sunday game coverage on RTE is fairly pathetic by now. Led by Donal Og, Derek McGrath and Shane Dowling who truly offer nothing by way of analysis and breakdown. The odd thing of identifying space before inevtiably Donal Og tries to manipulate the conversation to talk about Cuchullain or Christy Ring. Never thought id say this but i'd prefer if they had Cyril Farrell and Ger Loughnanne back in the studio and do away with lads who elect to wear twead jackets and runners."
Farrell and Loughnane at least knew their hurling and could speak with some authority on guys playing Fitzgibbon, club games etc. Not a fan of tweed jackets but while I've never been a fan of Donal Og, I think he brings someserious analysis to every discussion. In my opinion he's way ahead of McGrath, Daly, Davy Fitz, etc. who all seem to be pushing their own agenda.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 542 - 24/05/2022 11:22:09    2419920

Replying To BLT:  "Sunday game coverage on RTE is fairly pathetic by now. Led by Donal Og, Derek McGrath and Shane Dowling who truly offer nothing by way of analysis and breakdown. The odd thing of identifying space before inevtiably Donal Og tries to manipulate the conversation to talk about Cuchullain or Christy Ring. Never thought id say this but i'd prefer if they had Cyril Farrell and Ger Loughnanne back in the studio and do away with lads who elect to wear twead jackets and runners."
Ya totally agree. On Sunday night Derek seemed unable to offer any decent insight into Waterford. The fear of offending appears to much for him

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 24/05/2022 11:22:55    2419922

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Well Baire- I am genuinely sorry but I thought it was Connelley I dug on UTube a full recording of the '79 final and to my amazement Shinnors was the goalie. The two teams are listed in full print and narrated by Michael O'Hehir. I was very surprised as I thought Connolly was in goal that day. BTW Connelly was definitely there in'80 and he made a few great saves. Ye were the better team, but he played a huge part in beating us. Look it up on utube."
Conneely in goal in '75 and '80 (MOTM, or was it Bernie Forde?), and Shinners there in '79. In fairness to Seamus Shinners he was a fine 'keeper, but just had a howler on that wet day in '79.

Conneely had his off days, too, but the 1980 final wasn't one of them. I was at that game, and I saw first-hand how well he played.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 24/05/2022 11:24:11    2419923

Replying To Canuck:  "Derek just needs to go away. No one will touch him now with a 40 foot pole because they will see how he cannot read the game. Look there are great teams left to enjoy. That is why they are still there."
The funny thing about Derek is he actually said again on the Sunday Game the other night that he is a realist. Derek McGrath is a fantasist.

"Whoever beats Waterford will be going up the steps" Congratulations to Cork, Limerick and Clare on winning the All Ireland if thats the case.

He did nothing but put pressure on his own county and do you know what, the media bought it hook line and sinker.

This trilogy nonsense was embarrassing and I never bought it for a second. I preached all year about how Waterford were totally overrated and I fancied Clare to beat them in Ennis from the outset. To be honest the media over the past week or so have done nothing but talk about Waterford and their demise ignoring the teams that have dismantled them.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 24/05/2022 11:26:01    2419924

TSG has turned in to a party political broadcast on behalf of former managers.

Based on 1-2 snippets of the game:
Davy : "Dublin hitting aimless ball down the field, etc, etc".
Davy : "This is very like how Wexford used to play".
Derek : "Wexford used to play like that and then changed for Westmeath and reverted to type".
Davy : "This isn't the same Waterford we are used to".

They just talk up each other. Very poor fare in general. That said, I don't know if I want the lads who thought hatchet men were good honest hurlers....

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 24/05/2022 12:07:32    2419936

the pressure mcgrath put on waterford was nothing short of a disgrace........ for a county that havn't won liam mccarthy for over 60 years it was the last thing they wanted to hear.. he had their year mapped out a few wees ago in an newspaper article saying waterford were going to beat limerick in the round robin game in the gaelic grounds limerick would get revenge in the munster final and waterford were then going to end the long famine in the all ireland final by beating limerick again.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1097 - 24/05/2022 12:39:37    2419945

Replying To midlands:  "Farrell and Loughnane at least knew their hurling and could speak with some authority on guys playing Fitzgibbon, club games etc. Not a fan of tweed jackets but while I've never been a fan of Donal Og, I think he brings someserious analysis to every discussion. In my opinion he's way ahead of McGrath, Daly, Davy Fitz, etc. who all seem to be pushing their own agenda."
I got the distinct feeling that Davy was angling for the Dublin job over the off season as he kept saying that Dublin had some good players but were not getting the best out of themselves with a strong hint that he could do that job nicely!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3322 - 24/05/2022 12:39:52    2419946

Replying To tommy k:  "I got the distinct feeling that Davy was angling for the Dublin job over the off season as he kept saying that Dublin had some good players but were not getting the best out of themselves with a strong hint that he could do that job nicely!"
Davy was auditioning for the Dublin job last Sunday

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 24/05/2022 14:16:21    2419975

I got 5 texts from people I used to hurl with in Dublin saying "Davy angling for the job here".......

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 24/05/2022 14:24:54    2419984

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "I love the current format. Now that might have much to do with Clare's super record in the RR (12 games, 8 wins, 1 draw and 3 losses).

I love the buzz in Ennis on Championship day and the atmosphere generated. I love travelling away to play other Munster teams. I dont want to give that up now. Instead of playing in Cork, Limerick and Thurles every day isnt is great to go to Ennis and Walsh Park in the Munster championship. Its great to see the fans mixing and socialising after the games.

It also tends in the main to ensure the best teams qualify. The top 3 in Munster are certainly the best teams in Munster. You could possibly argue that Dublin are hard done by in Leinster having beaten Wexford but unfortunately if you don't do your job you run the risk of being eliminated and the Dubs were poor against KK and Galway, two games that decided their fate.

The only thing for me is Munster teams are seriously disadvantaged against when compared to Leinster teams as there is an imbalance in quality between the provinces. Before I am attacked, I am not saying the Leinster Championship is less enjoyable but the better teams on a whole are in Munster as evidenced by the last two All Ireland finals being contested by Munster teams.

As a result, the 4th placed Munster team is potentially a better team than 2nd or 3rd in Leinster in any given year. There is no way around this though as the Munster council will protect the Munster championship at all costs. Unless of course Kerry beat Tipp, I would imagine there would be a scramble to restructure then.

All in all there is never going to be a system we agree on, but this format for me is the best we had."
I think the total opposite. I think the Munster counties will all be more battle hardened when they get to Croke Park by having 4 top matches.
You can argue about the 4th team in Munster all you want but we have this format because of the Munster counties.
I for one don't think a format which has Tipp, Waterford, Dublin and Westmeath out by the end of May serves hurling best. Now is the first time in the year the GAA has their soap box and in 2 months there will be 7 hurling matches? Crazy stuff.
But the format does nothing for counties wanting to make progress in the game either.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 24/05/2022 14:29:06    2419986

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Davy was auditioning for the Dublin job last Sunday"
Perhaps a nice payday also LRH but of course its only expenses!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3322 - 24/05/2022 14:48:09    2419992

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "I think the total opposite. I think the Munster counties will all be more battle hardened when they get to Croke Park by having 4 top matches.
You can argue about the 4th team in Munster all you want but we have this format because of the Munster counties.
I for one don't think a format which has Tipp, Waterford, Dublin and Westmeath out by the end of May serves hurling best. Now is the first time in the year the GAA has their soap box and in 2 months there will be 7 hurling matches? Crazy stuff.
But the format does nothing for counties wanting to make progress in the game either."
Tipp Dublin Waterford and Westmeath had 4 and 5 championship matches to extend their season..it was more than enough. They are no longer in the frame as they are not good enough. They all had 5 league matches to prep for the championship and countless challenge matches. That's loads of hurling. The business end of the year will be played in June and July. Summer months. It will be a 7 month intercounty season that is match weighted rather than training. It gives inter County players who exit early a nice break to get holidays or just a rest before committing into the club year. The club year then gets end of July August September and mid October to run off their championships in good weather for players and fans.

The year is scheduled, determined, set in stone. No confusion, start stop etc. Munster round Robin had record crowds attending. Packed Gaelic grounds 30k+, sold out cusack Park, packed pairc ui chaoimh 30k +. The soap box was flying. The only people giving out about July finals are the TV revenue brigade and the traditionalists. The traditionalists also then give out about the club format in April.

For me it's a good move. I'm involved in club hurling bit also never miss inter County matches. I'm just not sure the debate of teams being out in May stacks up.

It might take a year or two to settle into people's minds but for me it will. Like AI finals in August was considered treacherous but didn't take long for people to forget.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1127 - 24/05/2022 14:58:08    2419994