2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread

Replying To updwell:  "Double standard out of you then, OK for Clare man to dive but Limerick can't, stupid comment. We're not holier than thou, just look at the last 5 minutes yesterday and Finn should have free out for drag back by O'Donnell which led to Clare point and Reidy had the togs nearly ripped off him which should have been a Limerick free and point. That's a 2 point swing if a ref does his job fairly and properly. Even Conlons tackle near the end is a terrible challenge worthy of a red but Hannon stood up and didn't flop down. McInerney also had a tap on ODonoghe in the first which deserved a red if Hegartys deserved a yellow for his sending off."
Great teams don't 'flop down'. They would not give it to say to their critics that they only beat a team with fourteen men.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 17/05/2022 08:12:40    2417963

Replying To Canuck:  "I have put forward several solution to helping out with better officiating of hurling . I also agree that officiating will never please everyone. However start out from a position of strength and modernize the officiating to match how the actual playing has evolved.
1. Two referees.
2. Electronic scoring that immediately sounds a hooter or a goal light.
3. Time clock in the stadium. Either shorten the game to 60 minutes playing time or carry on as is just displaying time.
4. All red cards reviewed before dismissing a player.
5. One coach's/ managers review allowed to avoid what happened to Limerick.

Don't give me this crap about the money to do it or it slowing the game down for 30secs. here and there as time can be lost in many ways already. Getting more decisions correct is more important. This is the cost of bringing up the officiating to a standard that the game now demands. While like I said you will never please both side but quiet frankly the stand of officiating is deplorable. Not so much the referees mind you who are on a hiding to nothing."
Agree about the argument it would slow the game down being nonsense. In numerous instances this year some leading to cards, but many that didn't also , the referee spent up to 2 minutes consulting linesmen and umpires. A TV referee would actually have saved time in these cases.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11727 - 17/05/2022 09:17:26    2417976

I think 2 referees has merit but what about linesmen, umpires, etc?
It is by no means sour grapes but Wexford lost 2 matches this year to blatant square balls. At the weekend v Westmeath and in the minor v Laois. Yet an umpire stands 5ft away.
I think there is no reason why James Owens couldn't bring 2 local referees in Wexford for example with him to do umpire/assistant referee at each end and let them help him with a big decisions close to the goal. I never bought the "he had the umpire with him since he was new ref", players don't have the people they played with since they started either. The linesmen in both Waterford and Ennis, well I'm not being ageist but they were old codgers who on more than 1 occasion didn't have a clue whether they were points or not.

There are also umpteen times when a linesman only could see a throw for example as the referee is blind sighted, yet you never see the referee being helped?
I have managed teams and try to accept refereeing decisions. But the question for the GAA is are we doing anything to help them? Every year there is 2-3 controversies and the solution is stand the referee down as happened James Owens last year. That's a catholic church style approach and they seem to never think "well how could we have helped James Owens"? Like when he sent Richie Hogan off, he had to go on instinct, before such a big call he should be able to call a 4th official and say "what does the replay show"?
Referees can't be perfect. But the least the GAA officials can do is give them a hand.
I can't think of the man's name but I bet that referee who refereed Louth v Meath laments that he didn't have the opportunity to go to a TMO and make the right call. It is 10-15 years since that and the GAA have learned nothing.

While the GAA has done everything to help players reach the pinnacle of conditioning, skill and ability, they still hang referees out to dry rather than analysing the performance of the entire officiating team. The technology is there, use the bloody thing.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1122 - 17/05/2022 10:01:14    2418000

Isn't it an awful pity that hurling is now more about controversy and reffing more than the great displays..I think I might have mentioned in an earlier post,that I feared this would happen..ive a feeling it's not going to end at that..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2206 - 17/05/2022 10:16:42    2418007

TJ Ryan said on Anthony Daly podcast last night that the first yellow was not for the quick sideline but rather a clip Hegarty gave David Mc before the ball went out of play.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2473 - 17/05/2022 10:24:41    2418013

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Isn't it an awful pity that hurling is now more about controversy and reffing more than the great displays..I think I might have mentioned in an earlier post,that I feared this would happen..ive a feeling it's not going to end at that.."
I agree with you I hope we are at the end of it it was a fine game of hurling I have met both sets of Supporters who say the referee was shocking so I suppose what ever your take is on it.

I am sure the Referee started out with best intentions game is so fast now lighter sliother players fitter so some mistakes are to be expected. Maybe this might also put an end to this feigned injuries.

Munster Final promises to be great occasion roll on

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 878 - 17/05/2022 10:39:16    2418016

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Apologies, didn't realize that you are dyslexic. On social
media you take people as you find them.

An attempt? I can't really say. In rugby, I do know that they (sanction committee) do play the game back, and review controversial incidents, even where a player wasn't sanctioned by the referee during the game.

Could it work in hurling? Yes.

Let's say, an expert group looks at Hegarty's first yellow, and they, as I believe, see it that he was just taking a line-ball; no card.

But then, see the second incident as a red card offense, and change the ref's yellow to a red.

Similarly, with Austin Gleeson! A group reviews it. Let's say, first card was a deserved yellow. Second one, they see it, as I saw it; no card for Gleeson. He was blatantly dragged to the ground by Downey. All Gleeson did was to defend himself. What is a player supposed to do in such a situation? So, rescind Gleeson's red card, and increase Downey's yellow to a red.

At the moment, appeals are all about getting something quashed or reduced. What if the authorities have the power to increase or add punishments, based on reviews of a game? It should apply across the board to diving, delaying tactics, and missed dirtiness by the ref.

It might start putting manners into the mouthers and feigners, and allow manly players like Austin Gleeson and Gearoid Hegarty get on with the game, and producing some of the best hurling you're ever gonna see!"
No need to apologize - I understand I can be a bit all over the place on forums and frustrate posters. Just thought be better to explain.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 17/05/2022 10:57:57    2418027

If that is true lrh why did no one else pick up on it??a lot of spoken in previous post about linesmen and umpires..now the linesmen in ennis were two inter county refs,they'd didn't help Colm lyons..I'm completely puzzled in last few years that umpires don't consult more with the ref,why are they all wired up,listening to a match elsewhere??if they start reporting what everyone can see,players might stop acting the maggot..when was last time action was taken on umpires word?

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2206 - 17/05/2022 11:03:52    2418029

Replying To Oldtourman:  "I wonder is some of this thing with Limerick grossly exaggerated. In almost five years name me one bony injury that has been inflicted on any opposing player by a Limerick man. A Corkman concussed Sean Finn, clearly with intent, and two of them were sent off against Clare both this year and last and there was not a single case of their coming under scrutiny. When KK flaked the nine kinds of it out of Limerick players back in 2007 there was not a word about it in the Media and if onyone did bring it up, one was told to man up and face down KK or else shut up and 'take our beating'. None of that of course applies when a team outside of the 'BIG Three' has the temerity to break the monopoly. Your own county were scandalised in the late nineties as Galway were decade, for a lot less that KK did in '07."
I'm not jumping on any Limerick-bashing bandwagon, Oldtourman, but you only have to go back 12 months. It didn't get much publicity at the time but near the end of the Limerick-Tipp league game last May young Bryan O'Meara got a slightly late dunt from Kyle Hayes which resulted in a broken arm. It ruled him out for the rest of the season but thankfully, as he showed in the Fitzgibbon Cup, he has made a complete recovery and but for the fact that he's gone travelling he would surely have been a certain starter for Tipp. The incident wasn't shown clearly on television but Brian Gavin referred to it in the Examiner as "a nasty chop", I think. On a general note, I'm not so sure that "the big three" get more favourable treatment from the media. There was less scrutiny by pundits 15-20 years ago, and no social media frenzy, so KK, or any other team, weren't under the microscope to the same extent. I agree the foul on Sean Finn was nasty but I wouldn't regard Cork as a dirty team. I know many of their followers wish they were more physical! Limerick have been excessively targetted and like most teams they have been victims of some bad decisions (like last Sunday) but they've also got away with a few. The worry for Limrick is that some of their best players seem to attract attention regularly but I'm sure John Kiely is dealing with that.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 541 - 17/05/2022 11:04:50    2418032

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "TJ Ryan said on Anthony Daly podcast last night that the first yellow was not for the quick sideline but rather a clip Hegarty gave David Mc before the ball went out of play."
Are you sure? I couldnt see Hegarty doing anything like that.... :-D

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 17/05/2022 11:13:38    2418040

Replying To Viking66:  "Agree about the argument it would slow the game down being nonsense. In numerous instances this year some leading to cards, but many that didn't also , the referee spent up to 2 minutes consulting linesmen and umpires. A TV referee would actually have saved time in these cases."
Having watched American sports for the last number of years which all have oficials looking at TV I can assure you it will not speed things up. I often watched a game stop for 5 minutes when something is being reviewd. A lot of times the call is obvious and on top of the delay they still get it wrong. Don't forget no matter how it is done it is still up to human judgement. What you or I see may not be what the official watching TV sees.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 17/05/2022 11:19:03    2418046

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "TJ Ryan said on Anthony Daly podcast last night that the first yellow was not for the quick sideline but rather a clip Hegarty gave David Mc before the ball went out of play."
I was right in front of that incident in the North terrace and can assure you nothing happened. TJ I'd imagine was guessing as the yellow was so ludicrous he's trying to find another reason for the yellow. There was no tip/flick before the line ball.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1123 - 17/05/2022 11:26:49    2418051

Replying To CTGAA10:  "If that is true lrh why did no one else pick up on it??a lot of spoken in previous post about linesmen and umpires..now the linesmen in ennis were two inter county refs,they'd didn't help Colm lyons..I'm completely puzzled in last few years that umpires don't consult more with the ref,why are they all wired up,listening to a match elsewhere??if they start reporting what everyone can see,players might stop acting the maggot..when was last time action was taken on umpires word?"
Im only saying what your own county man said last night. Not up for debating it.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2473 - 17/05/2022 11:28:17    2418052

Replying To tiobraid:  "Are you sure? I couldnt see Hegarty doing anything like that.... :-D"
I think if anyone would like to get an objective view on the hegarty situation read Jackie tyrells piece from the gaa podcast on the rte website and John fogarty in the examiner today. Actually there's countless others. Anyone drawing this out any more really isn't looking at this objectively and possibly have also along with colm lyons gotten carried away with the narrative surrounding Gearoid. The Sunday game even had a clare man who agreed both yellows were ridiculous.

Limerick are in a very nice position now heading to thurles. They'll have a real appetite to perform at or near their peak that day. They'll bring a massive crowd and will look to really lay a marker down for the rest of the year.

I'm looking forward to it and having a novel final with our neighbours. Whets the appetite.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1123 - 17/05/2022 11:37:00    2418055

Replying To CTGAA10:  "If that is true lrh why did no one else pick up on it??a lot of spoken in previous post about linesmen and umpires..now the linesmen in ennis were two inter county refs,they'd didn't help Colm lyons..I'm completely puzzled in last few years that umpires don't consult more with the ref,why are they all wired up,listening to a match elsewhere??if they start reporting what everyone can see,players might stop acting the maggot..when was last time action was taken on umpires word?"
Umpires are not qualified to do that in most cases. I've said it for years that umpires should be club referees - it serves the purpose of having qualified people doing the job while also getting more referees involved and interested. Theres a serious shortage of inter county referees the last few years - its the same few for every Liam Mc game.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 17/05/2022 11:41:31    2418058

Replying To daveboy:  "I think if anyone would like to get an objective view on the hegarty situation read Jackie tyrells piece from the gaa podcast on the rte website and John fogarty in the examiner today. Actually there's countless others. Anyone drawing this out any more really isn't looking at this objectively and possibly have also along with colm lyons gotten carried away with the narrative surrounding Gearoid. The Sunday game even had a clare man who agreed both yellows were ridiculous.

Limerick are in a very nice position now heading to thurles. They'll have a real appetite to perform at or near their peak that day. They'll bring a massive crowd and will look to really lay a marker down for the rest of the year.

I'm looking forward to it and having a novel final with our neighbours. Whets the appetite."
To be fair theres a Youtube video of Jackie targetting the youngest player on a number of opposition teams for some brutal tackles when he was playing, so a flick of the hurley for him can't be seen as much in his eyes. The reason Hegarty has a reputation is from his own acts of stupidity, just like Gillane has a reputation - as has Gleeson and Cathal Barrett. In soccer terms no one ever questioned Keane or Vieira being targetted by refs as they were players who never learned to control their emotions. While it should have been only one yellow from the evidence I seen, I also said after 5 mins that one of McInerney or Hegarty would be sent off. Similiarly Gleeson could be seen laughing and goading the Cork player in that match. These lads havent matured and you just dont get away with it at intercounty level. DJ Carey and Eoin Kelly came in for a lot worse treatment and I dont recall many red cards there - do your talking on the scoreboard.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 17/05/2022 11:48:37    2418061

Replying To gatha:  "Having watched American sports for the last number of years which all have oficials looking at TV I can assure you it will not speed things up. I often watched a game stop for 5 minutes when something is being reviewd. A lot of times the call is obvious and on top of the delay they still get it wrong. Don't forget no matter how it is done it is still up to human judgement. What you or I see may not be what the official watching TV sees."
Nobody wants to get to the point of rugby or soccer or any American sport....that is boring as all those sports are boring enough as it is.
But if the referee had a 30 second look at the incident, he would not have sent Hegarty off.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1122 - 17/05/2022 11:49:30    2418062

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Im only saying what your own county man said last night. Not up for debating it."
lohan yourself and your clare friends should know better than anyone the way limerick are been refereed as ye went through the very same in 98 and i hope this doesnt happen to limerick this year.....its just the nature of sport. people dont want to see the same team winning every year as it gets boring.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1095 - 17/05/2022 12:00:29    2418070

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Nobody wants to get to the point of rugby or soccer or any American sport....that is boring as all those sports are boring enough as it is.
But if the referee had a 30 second look at the incident, he would not have sent Hegarty off."
How do you know? Theres plenty of people debating it after watching it loads of times. For the Gillane incident the week before most pundits said a yellow and Brian Gavin and a number of referees (per the IE podcast) said it was a red. In that case he could easily have taken 5 mins. I'm all for the right decision but where do you draw the line - no one wants hurling slowed down.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 17/05/2022 12:02:43    2418073

Replying To tiobraid:  "How do you know? Theres plenty of people debating it after watching it loads of times. For the Gillane incident the week before most pundits said a yellow and Brian Gavin and a number of referees (per the IE podcast) said it was a red. In that case he could easily have taken 5 mins. I'm all for the right decision but where do you draw the line - no one wants hurling slowed down."
I'm sure the Tipperary defense (and almost all defenses) would love to see hurling slowed down.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 17/05/2022 12:33:53    2418090