2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread

Replying To Setanta11:  "Thought ref favoured Tipp today, but the Gillane incident was an absolutely stone-wall red, also Hegarty lucky not to pick up a second yellow. Barrett at his usual rubbish, and ref giving no protection to Gillane, delighted to see him getting done for the goals."
Barrett was fouling Gillane for the whole match. He fouled him twice in one incident and the ref gave a free out. Bizarre.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13777 - 08/05/2022 19:35:50    2415693

Replying To Gaillimh_Abu:  "Not sure where you are getting that from Barney but according to the fixtures on the GAA website, all 3 games are set for 6pm on May 21st."
As I said, that is what I was going by but if you look at the fixtures on RTÉ site - and I assume they'll show either or both the Kilkenny/Wexford and Galway/Dublin games - then they have the first down for 6pm on Saturday 21 and the other on Sunday 22 at the same time.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3098 - 08/05/2022 19:38:47    2415694

Replying To bloodyban:  "Its really impressive that Limerick can get 25,000 to follow Limerick ,guaranteed. Limerick always had a great support. Wexford can't get 11,000 at a home game against Galway this year. And you ll hear its a bandwagon...but Limerick would never have a paltry 11 000 at a home game...ever."
Were you turned down by a Wexford woman or did you never get over 96 or both or why single out the attendance at 1 Wexford match (when playing a county 150km away at 4pm on a Saturday?) like so? 10k from Wexford, 1k from Galway.

2010 Munster Semi-final Limerick 0-12 - 2-19 Attendance: 13,638
2011 Munster Semi-final : Limerick 3-14 - 3-15 Waterford, Attendance : 15,650
2012 Munster Quarter-Final : 2-20 - 1-19 Limerick, Attendance: 22,068
2013 Munster Semi-final Limerick 1-18 - 1-15 Tipperary: Attendance: 19,507
2013 Munster Final Limerick 0-24 - 0-15 Cork: Attendance: 42,730
2014 Munster Semi-final Tipperary 2-16 - 2-18 Limerick: Attendance: 24,912
2015 Munster Quarter-Final Clare 2-15 - 1-19 Limerick : Attendance: 21,493
2015 Munster Semi-final Limerick 1-16 - 4-23 Tipperary : Attendance: 31,488
2016 Munster Semi-final Tipperary 3-12 - 1-16 Limerick : Attendance: 25,531
2017 Munster Semi-final Limerick 2-16 - 3-17 Clare Attendance: 19,168

2018 Round 1 : Limerick 1-23 (26) - (20) Tipperary 2-14 : Attendance: 20,403
2018 Round 3 : Cork 1-25 (28) - (28) 0-28 Limerick Attendance: 34,607
2018 Round 4 : Limerick 2-26 (32) - (19) 1-16 Waterford Attendance: 23,194
2018 Round 5 : Clare 0-26 (26) - (15) 0-15 Limerick: Attendance: 18,803 (capacity of CP)

2019 Round 2 : Limerick 1-19 (22) - (29) 1-26 Cork Attendance: 31,274
2019 Round 3 : Waterford 0-10 (10) - (30) 2-24 Limerick Attendance: 10,874
2019 Round 4 : Limerick 1-28 (31) - (13) 0-13 Clare Attendance: 29,611
2019 Round 5 : Tipperary 1-22 (25) - (21) 0-21 Limerick Attendance: 39,115
2019 Final : Limerick 2-26 (32) - (20) 2-14 Tipperary Attendance: 44,052

Few fairly low figures in there for this "great support" isn't there bloodyban? 13k in 2010 at a Munster Semi Final? That's the real Limerick support. As recently as 2017, only 19k at a Munster Semi Final? A year before they won All-Ireland and having had U21 teams winning all before, but could only bring 19k?

I know one thing, there will be 19k in Nowlan Park on Saturday 2 weeks and we are not realistic contenders but 10k of them will be from Wexford. The 10k that support every county through thick and thin, Limerick included.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1784 - 08/05/2022 19:46:20    2415702

Replying To bloodyban:  "Its really impressive that Limerick can get 25,000 to follow Limerick ,guaranteed. Limerick always had a great support. Wexford can't get 11,000 at a home game against Galway this year. And you ll hear its a bandwagon...but Limerick would never have a paltry 11 000 at a home game...ever."
You have a short enough memory lad......

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13777 - 08/05/2022 19:51:47    2415704

If we had won 3 out of the last 4 all Irelands we would be filling croke Park every game. The record attendance at a hurling game still stands from the 1950s when Wexford had a good team.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13777 - 08/05/2022 19:53:14    2415706

Replying To tiobraid:  "Another disappointing result. Had Tipp turned up on the day they'd have won. It was an extremely poor game. However, there definite bright sparks for Tipp. I thought Stakelum, Noel, Quirke and Barrett were brilliant for large parts of the game. We have one top class keeper and he needs to be left there now. I think we were defintely on the right side of some marginal calls, I can't say otherwise. How anyone however can say Gillane should have stayed on the pitch? He looked at Ronan Maher first and then pulled. Anyone who has played the game knows that. Barrett was inside his head at that stage and five mins before that I predicted he'd be sent off.
I thought the man of the match was got terribly wrong. Mike Casey for me looked nervy throughout and I'm a big fan of his but I'd be surprised if Dan isn't moved back when the business end of the cship happens. I'm not too sure if Kyle hayes plays at 14 again either. I'd expect the limerick team to go back to the 1-15 most of us could guess at a later stage.
Relatively proud of the Tipp lads for trying to dig out a result. It's been a frustrating cship in terms of goal scoring. We've missed 3-4 easy goal chances in every game and handed goals at the other end. However, today showed us that the young players in Tipp have the potential to be a good side. Paudie, Brendan, Seamus, bubbles, niall O'meara, will connors, Jason forde, John McGrath and Bryan O'Mara would all have probably started todays game if Liam Sheedy was manager. We didn't do too bad without them."
Think the future is looking OK for you Tiobraid. And you are right it was a poor enough game. Only thing going for it was it was close for 60 minutes. Poor passing, poor marking especially in the 1st half, some really poor wides some when the player was under no pressure at all. 1st half especially.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13777 - 08/05/2022 19:55:21    2415707

Replying To katser:  "Excellent refereeing by L. Gordon today in Munster....he isn't letting limrik get away with any sly digs!!"
Ah will you go away with your usual 'auld' nonsense. Cork had two men sent off against Clare last year and two men also lined last Sunday and you have not a word to say about their lack of discipline. Your obsessed with Limerick. You have never got over '18. All day long Gullane was been pulled and dragged all over the place and no free being given. A Limerick man, living in Galway, was sitting beside me, at the game, and before the start he was praising Liam Gordon as a referee to the High Heavens. However before the game was over he felt that he had a very poor game by his normal high standards. He was just as baffled as the rest of us at some of his decisions. I agree with the contributor below who says that Lyons of Waterford is a far better ref, at least on todays performance.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4465 - 08/05/2022 20:02:07    2415709

Replying To bloodyban:  "Fantastically honest post. Loads of green shoots for Tipperary. The new goalie is the real deal in my opinion and ye can build a team around Noel McGrath. There's enough hurling there. Dan McCormack and Breen are a conundrum. Never get the full potential out of them.

Your honest about the ref aswell ,riding Limerick. But yeah Gillane was lucky enough..His reaction after it saved him and he raised the hands to say he was late . He gets a buzz out of living dangerously,same as Hegarty. Hegarty was very good when needed.
Tipperary need a serious reassessment of conditioning. I remember years ago a famous Tipp rugby player called out the Strength and Conditioning in Munster rugby. The IRFU was recommending nuts and berries while the French were on protein ( and lots of other stuff). At the moment Tipp are bring knives to a gun fight. Get the muscle on cos ye have the hurlers."
Have to agree with you. I have been looking for Ger browne on that team since 2019 but I thought Sheedy had his chances ruined and didn't see him as an option this year due to him being so light. I thought he'd be murdered today. Fitness and conditioning is an issue I've been pointing out for two years but that's all in hand with the announcement at the start of the year for all Tipp players across both codes and teams.
With the two Connolly's and Bryan O'Mara back next year I think we will be a lot stronger. For next year I think we will have a strong back 7 with both legs and hurling. I think we will have 2-3 new options at midfield and a decent forward line. We would have thought we'd have a 3 top class experienced forwards in forde, bubbles and John McGrath but I think two of them have their best days behind them which is hard to understand
A lot of people will take pleasure in tipps current position but Bonnar has been dealt a really tough hand and to be fair to him he put it up to the two best teams in country with a depleted panel of players - many of them with less than 2-3 cship starts.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 08/05/2022 20:22:30    2415723

Replying To Viking66:  "Looked to me that he only had eyes for the ball. I had the advantage of watching it on telly and was able to rewind it several times."
You had the advantage of rewinding the incident on TV you would have seen Maher was trying to flick the ball up with the stick while coming outwards and Gillane was slightly behind him with two hands on the hurl ready to swing!
Even if Gillane had connected with the ball he would have drove it into the crowd!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2473 - 08/05/2022 20:27:52    2415724

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Were you turned down by a Wexford woman or did you never get over 96 or both or why single out the attendance at 1 Wexford match (when playing a county 150km away at 4pm on a Saturday?) like so? 10k from Wexford, 1k from Galway.

2018 Round 5 : Clare 0-26 (26) - (15) 0-15 Limerick: Attendance: 18,803 (capacity of CP)

Few fairly low figures in there for this "great support" isn't there bloodyban? 13k in 2010 at a Munster Semi Final? That's the real Limerick support. As recently as 2017, only 19k at a Munster Semi Final? A year before they won All-Ireland and having had U21 teams winning all before, but could only bring 19k?

I know one thing, there will be 19k in Nowlan Park on Saturday 2 weeks and we are not realistic contenders but 10k of them will be from Wexford. The 10k that support every county through thick and thin, Limerick included."
Well I would not worry about 2010 as that was the year of the strike. I will say this much that the 34,000 for the Under 21 Final in 2001, between Yourselfs and the Treaty Boys, was some crowd. We played the following year against Galway and there was less than 20,000 in attendance. Martin Brehony, the Galway born Journalist, tore strips out of his fellow Galwegians in an article, a few days later, in which he claimed that Limerick supporters outnumbered Galway 20 to one at the game. Mind you I did think that was an exaggeration.
I agree with your standard thick and thin 10,000 figure.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4465 - 08/05/2022 20:33:35    2415729

Replying To tiobraid:  "Have to agree with you. I have been looking for Ger browne on that team since 2019 but I thought Sheedy had his chances ruined and didn't see him as an option this year due to him being so light. I thought he'd be murdered today. Fitness and conditioning is an issue I've been pointing out for two years but that's all in hand with the announcement at the start of the year for all Tipp players across both codes and teams.
With the two Connolly's and Bryan O'Mara back next year I think we will be a lot stronger. For next year I think we will have a strong back 7 with both legs and hurling. I think we will have 2-3 new options at midfield and a decent forward line. We would have thought we'd have a 3 top class experienced forwards in forde, bubbles and John McGrath but I think two of them have their best days behind them which is hard to understand
A lot of people will take pleasure in tipps current position but Bonnar has been dealt a really tough hand and to be fair to him he put it up to the two best teams in country with a depleted panel of players - many of them with less than 2-3 cship starts."
Tiobraid
I am not amazed Bubbles and JMc-I presume it is to those men you are referring- have their best days behind them. The Monastic lifestyle and the savage training and fitness levels demanded now will definitely mean players will no longer stay at the top for more than eight or nine years. I maintain in another couple of years this Limerick team will quickly back into the pack for this reason- and who knows maybe sooner.
In addition, the fact that John is involved with the hugely successful dual club Loughmore Castleiney means that his chances of any meaningful breaks from the game are also greatly reduced. The McGrath Family have been massive servants of Tipp GAA.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4465 - 08/05/2022 20:46:05    2415735

Replying To Viking66:  "Barrett was fouling Gillane for the whole match. He fouled him twice in one incident and the ref gave a free out. Bizarre."
Thanks Viking. I was at the game and I utterly agree with you. Maybe if Barrett concentrated more on playing the game 2.1 might not have been scored off him.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4465 - 08/05/2022 20:50:02    2415737

Replying To bloodyban:  "Clare might have but Galway aren't able for Limerick in Championship hurling. The ref was very poor. He did his best for Tipperary and that is for sure. Thrown balls called for one side only. Cathal Barratt looked like he was climbing a tree he was so up on Gillane and the he swipes across Gillane.
Still the one good call Gordon did all today was the yellow for Gillane for the badly timed pull. A fair yellow Katser?? Thank God he didn't send Gillane off or Limerick might have struggled."
Never mind the Galway crowd. There were two Cork men sent off against Clare last year and two more last Sunday and there is not as much as a whimper out of these boys about Corks' lack of discipline.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4465 - 08/05/2022 20:57:11    2415741

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Tiobraid
I am not amazed Bubbles and JMc-I presume it is to those men you are referring- have their best days behind them. The Monastic lifestyle and the savage training and fitness levels demanded now will definitely mean players will no longer stay at the top for more than eight or nine years. I maintain in another couple of years this Limerick team will quickly back into the pack for this reason- and who knows maybe sooner.
In addition, the fact that John is involved with the hugely successful dual club Loughmore Castleiney means that his chances of any meaningful breaks from the game are also greatly reduced. The McGrath Family have been massive servants of Tipp GAA."
I wouldn't write off John McGrath just yet. Looks like he's going to miss all this year with his club which is a serious blow to Loughmore, but in a strange way the break might be good for him over the next few years (he's still only 28). As you say, Oldtourman, the family have been great servants to Tipp, and I'm a little surprised that Brian hasn't established himself on the team yet. They've thrown him in at full back a few times, which is not his position, but I think he could do a job further out the field.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 581 - 08/05/2022 21:07:57    2415744

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Thanks Viking. I was at the game and I utterly agree with you. Maybe if Barrett concentrated more on playing the game 2.1 might not have been scored off him."
What are you taking about? Barrett wasn't marking him for the first goal.

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 08/05/2022 21:46:58    2415756

Replying To Setanta11:  "Thought ref favoured Tipp today, but the Gillane incident was an absolutely stone-wall red, also Hegarty lucky not to pick up a second yellow. Barrett at his usual rubbish, and ref giving no protection to Gillane, delighted to see him getting done for the goals."
I wouldn't agree with red card part, but you are spot on about the referee not giving Gillane any protection. Barrett is one player who gets away with murder, a most unlikable player.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2083 - 08/05/2022 21:50:01    2415758

A tough battle yesterday. Limerick certainly had an off day and I think Tipp might be kicking themselves a little. It is hard to reach the highs week in week out esp after 2 huge build ups to cork and Waterford matches for limerick and Tipp had shown plenty of positive signs in both their matches for me to know they wouldn't be any walkover.

Tipps tactics to hit maher or the elusive Ger browne was option one and after that it was down on the 21 route one. It was a simple game plan and worked well. It nullified trying to play through the green wall that is limericks middle 3rd. I see Galway employing this later in the year of they wwre to meet. Tipp knew they just didn't have the personnel for that kind of game plan and in fairness it worked. Limerick wont be happy with allowing Ger Browne the freedom of the field for 40 mins. Video analysis will be interesting.

Limerick were just off the pitch of the game. The energy wasn't there and Tipp really imposed a Limerick style hunger on Limerick. Shooting on both sides was poor for most of the match and it wasn't a great game but certainly exciting as it was close.

Noel mcgrath was excellent for Tipp along with Browne and I thought stakelum was good too. Barrett was up to his usual tricks on gillane which was a shame to see. The yellow for Gillane was the right call and fair play to the ref for getting it right despite the near national frenzy snd appetite for him to be red carded. Gillane is the best forward in the game.

I felt the ref was poor despite actually getting the big calls right. I felt free count of 20-7 just didn't add up to what I was watching. Limerick scored 3-16 from play to Tipps 0-10. I hate calling out refs performances but that was a poor show from Gordon. Maybe as AI champions you have to earn the free that bit more but he was very one sided for me.

Limerick will be pleased to get a win, learn valuable lessons and move on injury free for the most part. Carhal o neill rolled an ankle and a few were limping at final whistle. The Full back line were excellent as they had a mountain of ball down in top of them. Casey and Finn hoovered up some ball but also had a scary moment or two. The HB line were very slow to get into the game. Hego was sublime throughout and was my MOTM. He's unstoppable and for me one of the best hurlers in the country if not the best.

The starting 15 for clare will be a very hard one to pick. Will he look at hayes back at 7 with Flanagan Lynch and Casey all coming back into the forwards in a few weeks. Where will Dan go then? I felt limerick didn't get the best out of Hayes but he was out a few weeks and the Tipp sweeper nullied a lot.

I think Tipp will be happy enough. The young lads are blooded albeit 2 years too late but they showed up and went toe to toe with limerick. Tipp were missing a lot yesterday so park the year and things aren't as gloomy as people might think.

For Limerick it's onto the AI series where they'll be delighted. It's very hard to be at the pitch mentally, physically for 7 matches in the one year. They definitely had an off day yesterday but managed ro get out of it with a vital win. Onto clare now and I think changes will be made but kiely will still want a win.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 09/05/2022 07:46:47    2415762

Replying To Bon:  "I wouldn't agree with red card part, but you are spot on about the referee not giving Gillane any protection. Barrett is one player who gets away with murder, a most unlikable player."
Having watched Rory O'Connor being manhandled against Galway and Dublin, I am not surprised Gillane not getting any protection. Corner backs seem to have a licence to do what they like. But Gillane did what every top forward does, his damage on the score board.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1784 - 09/05/2022 08:31:28    2415767

Replying To Oldtourman:  "
Replying To StoreysTash:  "Were you turned down by a Wexford woman or did you never get over 96 or both or why single out the attendance at 1 Wexford match (when playing a county 150km away at 4pm on a Saturday?) like so? 10k from Wexford, 1k from Galway.

I know one thing, there will be 19k in Nowlan Park on Saturday 2 weeks and we are not realistic contenders but 10k of them will be from Wexford. The 10k that support every county through thick and thin, Limerick included."
Well I would not worry about 2010 as that was the year of the strike. I will say this much that the 34,000 for the Under 21 Final in 2001, between Yourselfs and the Treaty Boys, was some crowd. We played the following year against Galway and there was less than 20,000 in attendance. Martin Brehony, the Galway born Journalist, tore strips out of his fellow Galwegians in an article, a few days later, in which he claimed that Limerick supporters outnumbered Galway 20 to one at the game. Mind you I did think that was an exaggeration.
I agree with your standard thick and thin 10,000 figure."
I was 5 in 01 oldtourman but I take your word for it. Yeah, 10k is the crowd from every county and anything else is success related.
It always grates with me when I hear about the "great colour brought by Cork/Wexford/whoever", when it is a big game.
On a side note, that stand in Limerick could do with a good make over. It reminded me of the open side in Wexford Park, it is hard to see over the head in front of you.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1784 - 09/05/2022 08:37:44    2415770

Well lets not forget there are more than 50,000 more people living in Limerick when compared to Wexford. Limerick do have good support though.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2679 - 09/05/2022 09:05:56    2415780