2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Foreveryoung I see a huge change in a lot of cork supporters in last 5 years..all was great when they were competing and getting to finals..now that it looks as if they are miles away the support from some has changed..I know this due to having family in the county..they just can't bare that we in limerick are enjoying success..while it suited when limerick were in dire straights,they got enjoyment from it..some of them actually get very bitter if slagged about this stuff.."
Ah look I think thats inaccurate to say that it's just Cork. Its every rival county. Clare took great enjoyment about being ahead of Tipp in the 90s and theres no question that Limerick fans go to town on Tipp fans the last few years and I'm sure its the same with Cork. Theres nothing wrong with it when its all good natured but it rarely is and theres plenty of culprits from all counties.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 06/05/2022 10:32:03    2415184

Tipps task so much bigger now with Forde being out and no obvious free taker to stand in for the frees. Could be anyone of Jake Morris. Noel, Breen or Gearoid O'Connor. Jake and Gearoid are hardly guaranteed starters and Noel doesnt even take them for the club. The closer the game gets the more chance I see of a huge hammering occuring. Limerick are 1/10 with PP and the handicap is 9 points which is where the value is - unheard of surely from a Tipp point of view. That is hugely worrying that we have that much ground to try and make up in the coming years.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 06/05/2022 10:52:46    2415189

Replying To tiobraid:  "Ah look I think thats inaccurate to say that it's just Cork. Its every rival county. Clare took great enjoyment about being ahead of Tipp in the 90s and theres no question that Limerick fans go to town on Tipp fans the last few years and I'm sure its the same with Cork. Theres nothing wrong with it when its all good natured but it rarely is and theres plenty of culprits from all counties."
I agree. There's always a small percentage of supporters in each county who can't enjoy the win without rubbing their opponents noses in it. It's important that managers set a good example and to be fair to Kieran Kingston he's always gracious in defeat, as are most managers. However, there are a few notable exceptions!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 06/05/2022 11:01:34    2415196

Replying To tiobraid:  "Ah look I think thats inaccurate to say that it's just Cork. Its every rival county. Clare took great enjoyment about being ahead of Tipp in the 90s and theres no question that Limerick fans go to town on Tipp fans the last few years and I'm sure its the same with Cork. Theres nothing wrong with it when its all good natured but it rarely is and theres plenty of culprits from all counties."
I'd take it to be honest.

It was pretty depressing in the mid 00s when people from other hurling counties didn't bother slagging me anymore as we were gone a bit of a joke.

I was delighted with the attitude of kilkenny supporters being so hostile to us from 17 up to now.

They see us as a legitimate threat again.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3131 - 06/05/2022 11:21:43    2415205

My issue isn't with mangers. It is with this (kind of stereotypical, perhaps) portrayal of county supporters and the difference between when they're winning or not.

Look at the Limk lads on here. Will they all be here in 5 years time when the engine runs out of gas? OTM, I know, will; God willing.

Tiobraid, and so will you. Right or wrong, up or down, you still discuss hurling!

I hope that it's not for other reasons, wishing their health well, but lads like 'Rockies' and 'Benniebunnie" used be on here, giving it yards about hurling when Cork was going well. Not a geex outta Rockies since that league defeat to Waterford.

These are just examples on here. But I'm getting a lot of similar stories from around the GAA/pub scene in North Cork/South Limerick. It seems that many of the Cork boys can't cut what was once great craic to them, anymore.

The worm has turned.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2094 - 06/05/2022 11:37:22    2415209

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I'd take it to be honest.

It was pretty depressing in the mid 00s when people from other hurling counties didn't bother slagging me anymore as we were gone a bit of a joke.

I was delighted with the attitude of kilkenny supporters being so hostile to us from 17 up to now.

They see us as a legitimate threat again."
Hostile is fine and to be fair I never had much issue with KK fans in that regard. Fans from one county in particular jumped in my face previously and started pushing and shoving me. That type of stuff is uncalled for. I wouldnt mind only its a county that I wouldnt begrudge them an All Ireland - it wasnt Wexford supporters by the way!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 06/05/2022 12:15:37    2415224

Exactly. There are clowns everywhere, but most people are decent and sporting. I was reared with Cork in the next townland and all my Father's people were Cork folk and our parish bounds Kerry, so I have plenty of expieriance of dealing with GAA people from different counties. Be assured people come in the same categories from every county.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4465 - 06/05/2022 12:25:44    2415228

Replying To tiobraid:  "Tipps task so much bigger now with Forde being out and no obvious free taker to stand in for the frees. Could be anyone of Jake Morris. Noel, Breen or Gearoid O'Connor. Jake and Gearoid are hardly guaranteed starters and Noel doesnt even take them for the club. The closer the game gets the more chance I see of a huge hammering occuring. Limerick are 1/10 with PP and the handicap is 9 points which is where the value is - unheard of surely from a Tipp point of view. That is hugely worrying that we have that much ground to try and make up in the coming years."
I think a small bit of perspective is needed alround. How often have Limerick hammered Tipp? Never as long as I can remember (last 30 yrs). No doubt we've hammered Cork last year (and delighted to say it) but Sunday's match will be a real battle without doubt. Tipp certainly never lie down like recent Cork teams appear to do.

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 06/05/2022 13:29:32    2415253

Replying To foreveryoung:  "My issue isn't with mangers. It is with this (kind of stereotypical, perhaps) portrayal of county supporters and the difference between when they're winning or not.

Look at the Limk lads on here. Will they all be here in 5 years time when the engine runs out of gas? OTM, I know, will; God willing.

Tiobraid, and so will you. Right or wrong, up or down, you still discuss hurling!

I hope that it's not for other reasons, wishing their health well, but lads like 'Rockies' and 'Benniebunnie" used be on here, giving it yards about hurling when Cork was going well. Not a geex outta Rockies since that league defeat to Waterford.

These are just examples on here. But I'm getting a lot of similar stories from around the GAA/pub scene in North Cork/South Limerick. It seems that many of the Cork boys can't cut what was once great craic to them, anymore.

The worm has turned."
when Kingston got his goal after a couple of seconds a Cork " supporter" behind me lost his head completely..starting roaring about tradition, Cork having 30 all Irelands to Limericks 10.
"3 times as many All Irelands as you Limerick #€&@"

Quick as anything, a guy shouts up to him , hi, you boll*€#s, see Cian Lynch, he's 3 times as many All Irelands as the entire Cork team put together!!!!

It was a very brilliant response and stopped yer Man completely.. Sums up the state of affairs fairly succinctly also.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1103 - 06/05/2022 13:34:43    2415257

Replying To tiobraid:  "Hostile is fine and to be fair I never had much issue with KK fans in that regard. Fans from one county in particular jumped in my face previously and started pushing and shoving me. That type of stuff is uncalled for. I wouldnt mind only its a county that I wouldnt begrudge them an All Ireland - it wasnt Wexford supporters by the way!"
Did it also start with W ?

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1879 - 06/05/2022 13:44:10    2415262

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Exactly. There are clowns everywhere, but most people are decent and sporting. I was reared with Cork in the next townland and all my Father's people were Cork folk and our parish bounds Kerry, so I have plenty of expieriance of dealing with GAA people from different counties. Be assured people come in the same categories from every county."
One of my best friends is buried in Ashford.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13774 - 06/05/2022 13:44:39    2415263

Replying To baire:  "I agree. There's always a small percentage of supporters in each county who can't enjoy the win without rubbing their opponents noses in it. It's important that managers set a good example and to be fair to Kieran Kingston he's always gracious in defeat, as are most managers. However, there are a few notable exceptions!"
Anyone else n mind Baire?

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1879 - 06/05/2022 13:45:48    2415264

Replying To tiobraid:  "Hostile is fine and to be fair I never had much issue with KK fans in that regard. Fans from one county in particular jumped in my face previously and started pushing and shoving me. That type of stuff is uncalled for. I wouldnt mind only its a county that I wouldnt begrudge them an All Ireland - it wasnt Wexford supporters by the way!"
I'd be unbelievably ashamed if it had been.

That type of carry on has no place in gaelic games.

I brought a friend of mine to a championship game a few years back and he was absolutely blown away by the fact opposition fans all sit together and there's no bother.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3131 - 06/05/2022 13:56:24    2415266

Replying To skillet:  "when Kingston got his goal after a couple of seconds a Cork " supporter" behind me lost his head completely..starting roaring about tradition, Cork having 30 all Irelands to Limericks 10.
"3 times as many All Irelands as you Limerick #€&@"

Quick as anything, a guy shouts up to him , hi, you boll*€#s, see Cian Lynch, he's 3 times as many All Irelands as the entire Cork team put together!!!!

It was a very brilliant response and stopped yer Man completely.. Sums up the state of affairs fairly succinctly also."
Never Mind Skillet- There is always ONE and you will find a few of them in our 'Supporters' as well.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4465 - 06/05/2022 14:19:30    2415274

GAA fans can be as big a sickeners as football or rugby supporters. This big all able to mix together is just navel gazing. Some GAA supporters think they are gods gift to sport like the Irish football supporters think of themselves as a cut above the rest of the soccer countries. Its typical Irish rubbish..ego stuff.
In my experience Iv always liked Cork supporters most...very magnanimous in victory and defeat. Iv liked Tipperary supporters the least. That's my experience..Im always open to having my mind changed. The best supporters of them all are Limerick city rugby supporters who go to the hurling in the summer. Fine bunch

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 06/05/2022 15:05:03    2415292

Replying To bloodyban:  "GAA fans can be as big a sickeners as football or rugby supporters. This big all able to mix together is just navel gazing. Some GAA supporters think they are gods gift to sport like the Irish football supporters think of themselves as a cut above the rest of the soccer countries. Its typical Irish rubbish..ego stuff.
In my experience Iv always liked Cork supporters most...very magnanimous in victory and defeat. Iv liked Tipperary supporters the least. That's my experience..Im always open to having my mind changed. The best supporters of them all are Limerick city rugby supporters who go to the hurling in the summer. Fine bunch"
I wouldn't agree with your assessment, Bloodyban, but then everyone has had their own experiences. The worst I've experienced was the 2019 Munster final, when I was among the Tipp supporters at the Clare end. As Limerick began to dominate in the second half, a group of Limerick fans, who hadn't even bothered coming in to see their excellent minor team playing, began to gloat and to taunt all the Tipp supporters. I genuinely feared there would be a backlash but the Tipp fans maintained their dignity and refused to be provoked. I have always found the Tipp fans very fair-minded but of course like every county they have their share of clowns. Likewise most Limerick fans are genuine but the gang I encountered that day were as bad as I've ever come across.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 581 - 06/05/2022 15:16:36    2415297

Look I don't mind buff Egan I think what he does promoting hurling is brilliant. Yea he is a bit egotistical but the carryon with lads throwing drinks on him last week is bullshit. Chap is trying to promote hurling. He's an Avad Clare supporter and they were abusing him aswell not on

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 310 - 06/05/2022 15:24:11    2415298

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I'd be unbelievably ashamed if it had been.

That type of carry on has no place in gaelic games.

I brought a friend of mine to a championship game a few years back and he was absolutely blown away by the fact opposition fans all sit together and there's no bother."
Same as that. Brought English friend to Dublin/Meath game back in 90s when there was fierce rivalry and plenty of shouting and what not, but never saw a dig being thrown. Was same on streets and pubs before and after.

He was from city where half the place closed down for 6/7 hours when certain team's supporters arrived for a match. He couldn't believe the way supporters were thrown together.

There are fools in all counties, especially in the Summer, but they are pretty rare in fairness. The most annoying I find are the arrogant ones from top counties - I'm sure there are football Dubs in that camp but not hurlers! - who behave like some of the lads mentioned above. Great to see them being put into their box, and I've seen a few of them told to shut up their own too.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3096 - 06/05/2022 16:04:12    2415309

As someone who lives in Cork, I think where their fans are now is akin to Limerick fans 2002-2007.

Just after a period of underage success, plenty of expectations but delivering very little at senior level. Lengthy debates in pubs but no clear single minded vision of what success entails.

Go to any pub in Limerick. Do you hear anyone criticising John Kiely, Paul Kinnerk or the players? No.

I was socialising both nights when Cork lost in championship. You'd know the genuine fans as they're utterly devastated. We know how they feel because for years Limerick hurling was what we lived but it hurt us over & over. It is why we can take nothing for granted these days and need to enjoy every second of what we are experiencing because they're memories we will take to the grave.

When I go to my local Cork lads will slag us off and refer to people like myself as 'ya Limerick #%^^*#' but chat to them one to one and they are full of congratulations for what our hurlers are achieving. That is some compliment and to be honest it fills me with pride because it shows how far we have come through hard work and working together.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 06/05/2022 16:18:21    2415312

Like I say, every county has 10k of proper, decent supporters who know how to behave as a supporter through good times and bad. And as a Wexford support, we know more bad than good but are a decent fan base all things considered.

Then a bit of success comes along, and the 10k doubles to 20-25k and the media are all over the "huge Wexford/Cork/Limerick support bringing great colour to the championship" when in reality it is 15k bandwagon hoppers proclaiming to be the county's number 1 fan.

They then show up in all their glory shouting and screaming in their brand new jerseys and hassling everybody about tickets and end up getting tanked up before the match and making a show of themselves at a match in spite of not knowing 5 of the players.

Every county has these and proper supporters see it a mile away. Wexford are as bad for this as any other county btw, people at the 2019 Leinster Final who wouldn't even go in to the minor match and yet we brought 60k to the final overall.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1784 - 06/05/2022 16:23:14    2415315