2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread

Replying To katser:  "I'm not denying that they left Reidy free to score points that I would have scored they were that easy!
Casey and Lynch had no influence on the game when introduced, they didn't even touch the ball or get a sniff of it!! The fact is we had ye by the throat and let our grip go.
That's what annoys me.....We let ye breathe when we should have finished ye!
As I said yer own manager admitted that had he not taken off Flanagan, Hergety and Morrissey Galway would have beaten us....he was forced into making changes or the game was gone."
You talk some nonsense. On one hand you said two of the subs made no impact and on the other you agree that taking off the 3 lads was the difference!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 05/07/2022 14:54:13    2429900

Given the combination of the round robin and the shorter season, has it now become vital to win your provincial final? I feel two weeks off after a number of games isnt enough time for recovery, however I'm very much in the camp where the clubs come first. It's a big ask though on amateur players.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 05/07/2022 15:01:32    2429905

Replying To katser:  "I'm not denying that they left Reidy free to score points that I would have scored they were that easy!
Casey and Lynch had no influence on the game when introduced, they didn't even touch the ball or get a sniff of it!! The fact is we had ye by the throat and let our grip go.
That's what annoys me.....We let ye breathe when we should have finished ye!
As I said yer own manager admitted that had he not taken off Flanagan, Hergety and Morrissey Galway would have beaten us....he was forced into making changes or the game was gone."
Lynch gave two passes, which led to points and two of Reidy's points were scored from midfield in the heat of the closing stages of an All Ireland Semi Final- well you did say in 2020 he was great man to score and thus he proved to be. By contrast, some much more heralded Galway missed far simpler chances.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 05/07/2022 15:46:59    2429920

Replying To tiobraid:  "Given the combination of the round robin and the shorter season, has it now become vital to win your provincial final? I feel two weeks off after a number of games isnt enough time for recovery, however I'm very much in the camp where the clubs come first. It's a big ask though on amateur players."
Looks like a big advantage tiobraid. That's what the provincial councils were hoping for - make it attractive to win your province.
Cody and the KK players were all delighted with the 4 week break.

MaroonedCat (Galway) - Posts: 15 - 05/07/2022 16:11:41    2429923

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Lynch gave two passes, which led to points and two of Reidy's points were scored from midfield in the heat of the closing stages of an All Ireland Semi Final- well you did say in 2020 he was great man to score and thus he proved to be. By contrast, some much more heralded Galway missed far simpler chances."
I never gave Reidy or any of yer crowd compliments ever, your mixing me up with someone else.
I must say Galway did score excellent long range points hence the reason we outscored ye from play but as you said We did miss alot of opportunity's.
I noticed that Concannon and Whelan were been deprived of quality ball inside because I reckon Galway were instructed to shoot on site from wherever they got the chance hence the reason for alot of wides 19, shots from 80 to 100 yards out! Yer full back line were suspect as we seen with the only long ball that went into Nash!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 05/07/2022 16:16:26    2429927

Replying To katser:  "I never gave Reidy or any of yer crowd compliments ever, your mixing me up with someone else.
I must say Galway did score excellent long range points hence the reason we outscored ye from play but as you said We did miss alot of opportunity's.
I noticed that Concannon and Whelan were been deprived of quality ball inside because I reckon Galway were instructed to shoot on site from wherever they got the chance hence the reason for alot of wides 19, shots from 80 to 100 yards out! Yer full back line were suspect as we seen with the only long ball that went into Nash!!"
Do you actually believe what you say, your great at getting a reaction and we all know that's what you're really looking for,best of luck in the football anyway.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 05/07/2022 16:38:30    2429933

Replying To katser:  "I never gave Reidy or any of yer crowd compliments ever, your mixing me up with someone else.
I noticed that Concannon and Whelan were been deprived of quality ball inside because I reckon Galway were instructed to shoot on site from wherever they got the chance hence the reason for alot of wides 19, shots from 80 to 100 yards out! Yer full back line were suspect as we seen with the only long ball that went into Nash!!"
Didn't there another lovely long high ball go in there right at the end of the game, too? Have you forgotten that one? Ha ha hah!

Big Kyle Hayes put up his big hand and brought it down from the sky. He careered out with it, the whistle was sounded, and Limerick had won.

Don't you recall that long high ball at all? The most important play of the whole game, actually!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1909 - 05/07/2022 16:52:15    2429939

"I never gave Reidy or any of yer crowd compliments ever, your mixing me up with someone else"

Don't think anyone posting here for longer than a week would mix you up with someone capable of complementing Limerick.. You're incapable of it.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1061 - 05/07/2022 16:52:16    2429940

Replying To skillet:  "Haven't been on here for quite a while, think the whole setup is much the poorer for taking away the County pages..

But anyway that aside, thanks to the bulk the Galway lads for being so magnanimous after the semi finals, it's nice to see, I know there's a few exceptions, one in particular, who seems to be incapable of recognising that Limerick are actually a good team, but he's more entertaining than anything else at this point.

Regarding the match, we did enough, still missing 2 exceptional players in Lynch and Casey. Good to see them come on and hopefully get back to speed for the final. I thought Galway were very good in general apart from their fairly hopeless shooting at the end where along with their wides Our bit of composure to pull away was very gratifying to see.. Delighted for the much maligned David Reidy, he's turned into a really impressive sub who may not start but is some man to finish a match.

This game was always a potential banana skin and winning while playing below par is fine, as long as we're up to speed for the final.

I genuinely never thought I'd see Limerick win one all Ireland at times let alone be in touch for 3 in a row.. Its staggering considering where we were just over a decade ago, after the horror show of the 2009 semi finals. Much thanks to all involved.
Luimneach Abu!"
I am envious but delighted for Limerick. I like to considerable ourselves a top hurling county but little to show for it. Also no disrespect to the counties who contribute majorly to the sport and have less. Ride the wave Limerick and hopefully you are an inspiration to others in change the seat of hurling powers in the 21 century. I will be rooting for you as if it was us and that is with no disrespect to the cats as they have already established themselves in the annuals of history.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 05/07/2022 16:58:24    2429945

Fair play to you, Katser, stick to your guns! It's all a bit of fun anyway. As Billy Bremner quoted "Show me a good loser, and I'll show you a loser"

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 05/07/2022 17:06:51    2429948

You most definitely complimented him, after the '19 loss, although it was only a sneer coming from you but of course it came back to bite you in the ****. I never go with this score from play bit. Limerick would have scored more if they were not being fouled out the field. Also Byrnes had the skill and composure to bang over those long range frees in the heat of battle, which is an added quality in itself. Well Limerick very often shoot from distance as well and had fifteen wides the last day . This is the reason why you find Byrnes, Hannon, Nash, O'Donovan, O'Donoghue and Hayes, when he was at Half Back, often coming up with scores from play.
Of course if they had not composed themselves so well, when the prize was there for the taking and set up those points they might have lost, but there you go.
As I have said before, Galway are often at their most dangerous in a Semi Final and as Munster Champions a team is always under pressure in a Semi Final, with the Long lay off. Only Tipp in '16 and ourselves Last Sunday have won a Semi Final as Munster Champions since 2006. The last two years can be discounted as they were not normal years.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 05/07/2022 17:10:29    2429950

Replying To tiobraid:  "Given the combination of the round robin and the shorter season, has it now become vital to win your provincial final? I feel two weeks off after a number of games isnt enough time for recovery, however I'm very much in the camp where the clubs come first. It's a big ask though on amateur players."
I think the inter County structure is good and I'm a fan of the split season . The only thing I'd like to see changed is a 3rd week before the AI final.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1126 - 05/07/2022 17:13:46    2429952

Ment Casey!!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 05/07/2022 17:19:17    2429958

Replying To katser:  "We certainly did not run out of steam, we had the chances in injury time to win, Burke, Niland, Cooney but unfortunately went wide.
Kiely lost faith in his beloved all star forwards and took them off because they were beaten men"
kiely took off 2 all stars and replaced them with 2 all stars, 1 a double hurler if the year. These changes opened up space for another sub Reidy to get the vital scores. It was a great game you shouldnt be so bitter as your county are on the right direction to winning Liam.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 05/07/2022 17:25:21    2429959

48% efficiency was poor from Galway, this will need to be improved for next Summer.
I'm gutted because we should have won it, but that is that. Best to Limerick in final. It will be a great game.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 05/07/2022 19:33:07    2429972

Boring

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 05/07/2022 20:29:27    2429982

Wexford played Clare 18th June.

Wexford championship started Tuesday 28th June
Round 2 was 4 days later July 2nd
Third round will be 9th July
Fourth is 16th July
Fifth is 23rd July

It's not a spilt season it's a condensed season.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 05/07/2022 21:44:15    2429990

BTW, the ball did not into Nash. It was Mike Casey was on and nearest to Brian Concannon when he got the goal.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 06/07/2022 09:01:32    2429995

Replying To WEX98:  "Wexford played Clare 18th June.

Wexford championship started Tuesday 28th June
Round 2 was 4 days later July 2nd
Third round will be 9th July
Fourth is 16th July
Fifth is 23rd July

It's not a spilt season it's a condensed season."
Thats on the Wexford county board though regarding the club fixtures. Many other counties have hurling and football to play and theyre managing it much better. That's senseless stuff.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 06/07/2022 09:35:33    2429998

Replying To clooney:  "Thank God somebody else thinks this he is absolutely cringey when commentating on "This Superb Limerick Team" fawning to them he's a puke a lick ****

If he is on all Ireland final day i will switch to radio"
Yerra come on, if Kilkenny are wiping us out of Croke Park next Sunday week as they might well do, and if Marty praises them, will you be on here saying that he is fawning over and brown nosing them. I very much doubt it.
Will you be switching on 'dauld wireless' on All Ireland Final Day because you have a problem with Marty's broadcasting or is it for another reason, which we wont go into to here?
BTW, I watched the tape of last Sundays game and I saw no clear cut evidence that Marty was going overboard praising Limerick and he also rightly lauded Galway on their fine, skillful and spirited performance. He has waxed lyrical over, Kilkenny Wexford and Clare Players over the past few weeks also and there is definitely nothing wrong with that either.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 06/07/2022 09:52:33    2430006