2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread

Replying To baire:  "Galway didn't actually run out of steam. Were you at the game? There were a number of reasons why they lost but running out of steam wasn't one of them. It was a tight game. Limerick got the calls from the Munster ref at crucial stages, even the two munster men on RTE, one of them from your own county said the same. Your long range points, some of which came from dubious frees were crucial to your victory. Galway missed 3 or 4 chances when the game was in the melting pot.
It was a great game and I was very proud of our hurlers, they played with great honesty, heart and skill.
Congrats to Limerick on their win."
Get Real Baire. check that out the fact thatwe got two frees in something like 25 minutes at the atart of the game.and Kyle Hayes was wrongly pulled for over carrying, when he clearly was not. Limerick also had fifteen wides. May of the wides were speculcative shots from way out the field. Anyway, Limerick, like all counties, will ride into the sunset in a few years and other teams will take up the mantle. I wish Galway well and I have a few lifelong friends from the county.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 04/07/2022 19:39:57    2429737

Katser you are a very,very bitter person..tj has now passed out to in your opinion..I just hope our team in limerick keep winning just to annoy people like you..you are giving Galway supporters a bad name..I am not going to engage with you anymore.,

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2208 - 04/07/2022 20:03:03    2429741

I thought Galway played well and pushed Limerick a lot closer than I and probably many other people expected, but I was disappointed with them in the last 5 or 6 minutes, including injury time. At the precise point of the game when they needed cool heads and composure, they resorted to hopeful high ball into outnumbered forwards, or hit and hope shots from distance that all went wide. Limerick were able to tack on 3 points in the same period.

Didn't expect the ease of Kilkenny's victory over Clare the night before. We were good no doubt, especially in the first half, but I thought Clare were awful, easily their worst performance of the year. Persisted with sending long high balls on top of the Kilkenny backs long after it was obvious that tactic was not working, and the less said about the shooting the better!

Hoping for a good final. Limerick deservedly will be strong favourites after their success of the last 5 years, and Kilkenny have lost the element of surprise now. There was a widespread belief in Kilkenny that we avoided a battering in the final by losing to Cork last year, hopefully the team is better prepared to give Limerick a good game this year.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 04/07/2022 21:01:27    2429752

Replying To katser:  "We certainly did not run out of steam, we had the chances in injury time to win, Burke, Niland, Cooney but unfortunately went wide.
Kiely lost faith in his beloved all star forwards and took them off because they were beaten men"
They hit those balls wide because they were out on their feet. Eanna Murphy is a fine goalie, but in the last few minutes he was belting the ball high into LK Full line. The sign of a team that were panicking, running out of ideas and tiring. Why had Henry not instilled more composure in the heat of battle in his men. Say what you like about this LK Team, but they keep their cool when the heat is at its peak and never do 'White Feather'. Of course, Finn, Casey and Finn were gobbling them up and returning them at ease. Where was Hayes's man when he caught that last ball in splendid isolation when it dropped into the square?
You said the 'sub' that scored the three points was not marked. Why was he not marked? Had Henry made any provisions for Casey and Lynch coming on. I saw two men marking Lynch on Limerick puck outs. Absolutely ridiculous, as Cian had not hit a ball in anger in about ten weeks and was bound to be rusty. No wonder Dave Reidy was free to roam like a rampaging wolf and cause total havoc, scoring three points and being fouled for another. Another thing Henry would want to do is tone down his roaring and shouting at linesmen and refs. He reffed every close match he ever played in and he is still over doing the 'influencing the referee' bit. In the long run, no more than Davy, that will get him nowhere.
Much is made of Galway's display, but I would have expected nothing less and said beforehand, and in this parish, I would be glad with a one point win. Ever since I saw Mick Howley, Mick Mctigue and their colleagues gave a rip roaring display against Cork in the Ennis Road ground back in'69 against Cork, Galway teams teams, have been raising their game, when outsiders.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 05/07/2022 08:00:54    2429767

Replying To AnCrúiscínLán:  "In fairness to Kyle it was his positioning. He did his best to ensure as little pressure as possible was placed on player - nothing premeditated. Not a Ghost of a chance!! And I don't think there were was any complaints from players."
Why state Galway as place of origin when it's obvious that your loyalty is with Limerick? Imagine the outcry if it had been a Galway foot that landed on a Limerick chest!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 05/07/2022 08:22:28    2429770

Replying To baire:  "Why state Galway as place of origin when it's obvious that your loyalty is with Limerick? Imagine the outcry if it had been a Galway foot that landed on a Limerick chest!"
Yes I agree, it's like that yoke who cowardly use America as its origin who clearly knows nothing about hurling

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 05/07/2022 10:13:11    2429787

While Limerick have serious composure and trust in the way they play, I think fitness has become massively understated and underrated in the modern game. Tipp for example clearly have not had the fitness levels to go with Limerick for 70+ mins and to be honest I dont think anyone else has either. Hannon and Nash are prime examples, they are still going 100% at the final whistle of every game. I'd love see the gps stats on the Limerick players. Kk put together a lovely piece of play from the back on saturday with 5/6 players running off the shoulder of the passer. Limerick do that almost every play. I dont think Limerick are necessarily ahead of other teams in terms of skill level but their fitness, tactics and ability to play as a team combined is well ahead of everyone else. Playing out from the back with short passes allows the last player a bit of space and time to hit those passes into the corners in front of Gillane and Flanagan.
While people say Galway lost composure and maybe they did, I feel that as you get tired you invariably go long and for me thats what happened.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 05/07/2022 10:25:00    2429792

Replying To Oldtourman:  "They hit those balls wide because they were out on their feet. Eanna Murphy is a fine goalie, but in the last few minutes he was belting the ball high into LK Full line. The sign of a team that were panicking, running out of ideas and tiring. Why had Henry not instilled more composure in the heat of battle in his men. Say what you like about this LK Team, but they keep their cool when the heat is at its peak and never do 'White Feather'. Of course, Finn, Casey and Finn were gobbling them up and returning them at ease. Where was Hayes's man when he caught that last ball in splendid isolation when it dropped into the square?
You said the 'sub' that scored the three points was not marked. Why was he not marked? Had Henry made any provisions for Casey and Lynch coming on. I saw two men marking Lynch on Limerick puck outs. Absolutely ridiculous, as Cian had not hit a ball in anger in about ten weeks and was bound to be rusty. No wonder Dave Reidy was free to roam like a rampaging wolf and cause total havoc, scoring three points and being fouled for another. Another thing Henry would want to do is tone down his roaring and shouting at linesmen and refs. He reffed every close match he ever played in and he is still over doing the 'influencing the referee' bit. In the long run, no more than Davy, that will get him nowhere.
Much is made of Galway's display, but I would have expected nothing less and said beforehand, and in this parish, I would be glad with a one point win. Ever since I saw Mick Howley, Mick Mctigue and their colleagues gave a rip roaring display against Cork in the Ennis Road ground back in'69 against Cork, Galway teams teams, have been raising their game, when outsiders."
Alot of what you said there is wrong, it was stronger Galway were getting. They missed there chances down to poor accuracy not because they were exhausted.
Ye were outscored from play in the 2nd half by 1-08 to 0-05, that tells me who was dominat, the only one panicking was Kiely, when he admitted that if he hadn't taken off 4 of the forwards Galway would have beaten us.
Be grateful that ye won due to Poor finishing from Galway,
Bottom line is...the better team on the day lost it.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 05/07/2022 10:56:43    2429800

Replying To katser:  "Alot of what you said there is wrong, it was stronger Galway were getting. They missed there chances down to poor accuracy not because they were exhausted.
Ye were outscored from play in the 2nd half by 1-08 to 0-05, that tells me who was dominat, the only one panicking was Kiely, when he admitted that if he hadn't taken off 4 of the forwards Galway would have beaten us.
Bottom line is...the better team on the day lost it."
Ah here creatur, go azy on those smelling salts will ya

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 05/07/2022 11:51:44    2429819

Replying To baire:  "Why state Galway as place of origin when it's obvious that your loyalty is with Limerick? Imagine the outcry if it had been a Galway foot that landed on a Limerick chest!"
If it was Galway player in that situation there would be no outcry. Its clearly obvious he put no weight on his leg and tried to minimise any damage as he had to put his leg somewhere as he stumbled. If he does get in trouble for it he can always contact the Galway County Board about how to get off with an obvious stamp.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 05/07/2022 12:08:41    2429826

Baire, are really saying every Galway man who disagrees with you is in fact a Limerick man. I'll just tell a little story about how to handle defeat. In the 1980 Final Eamon Cregan in his 18th season with Limerick, scored 2.5, one of the goals being one the finest goals scored in a final, but yet ended up on the losing side. They lost by just a goal after a dreadful start. Of course LK people felt a few iffy referereeing decisions , went against us, as the losing side will always feel after a big game, which ends in a narrow defeat. However, as Cregan left Croke Park, a Reporter tried to get him to whinge about what might have beens. Cregan dismissed his suggestions, in his usual curt manner, saying 'It is Galways day, they were the better team, it is now right for us to congratulate the winners and let them have the limelight. As far as we are concerned we should just take our beating, go home and prepare for next year'.
Kiely was asked, after the game last Sunday if Limerick would be looking for revenge for '19 in the Final. He dismissed this argument, out of hand, saying what happened in '19 is long gone and we cannot influence it, but we can do our best to influence what happens next Sunday week. Both men were perfectly right.
Katser going on with his usual 'ould' nonsense that the better team lost is just that. Limerick started and finished the stronger team and scored twenty seven times to your sides 22. Balls struck at crucial times in the game should not go wide if you are the better team. Ye brought on five subs and they did not a single score between them.
The Foot landed on a person's chest argument is rank hypocrasy as one of your players did the same to a KK man, only probably far more deliberately.
Finally if KK beat us next Sunday we will congratulate them, wish them well, shut up about it and look forward to next year with hope. It is the only way lads

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 05/07/2022 12:24:34    2429833

Replying To katser:  "Alot of what you said there is wrong, it was stronger Galway were getting. They missed there chances down to poor accuracy not because they were exhausted.
If you had two men on the sideline, who scored eleven points from play in an All Ireland Final, with one of them off after 27 minutes, you would bring them on too. It actually appears to have caused panic in the Galway defence, as is evidenced by the fact that, as you admit, Reidy was left unattended and subsequently ended up running riot.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 05/07/2022 12:30:03    2429838

Replying To ballydalane:  "I thought Galway played well and pushed Limerick a lot closer than I and probably many other people expected, but I was disappointed with them in the last 5 or 6 minutes, including injury time. At the precise point of the game when they needed cool heads and composure, they resorted to hopeful high ball into outnumbered forwards, or hit and hope shots from distance that all went wide. Limerick were able to tack on 3 points in the same period.

Didn't expect the ease of Kilkenny's victory over Clare the night before. We were good no doubt, especially in the first half, but I thought Clare were awful, easily their worst performance of the year. Persisted with sending long high balls on top of the Kilkenny backs long after it was obvious that tactic was not working, and the less said about the shooting the better!

Hoping for a good final. Limerick deservedly will be strong favourites after their success of the last 5 years, and Kilkenny have lost the element of surprise now. There was a widespread belief in Kilkenny that we avoided a battering in the final by losing to Cork last year, hopefully the team is better prepared to give Limerick a good game this year."
Absolutely on the knocker Ballydullane- that is just my point. I was not a bit surprised that Galway put in a huge performance like they did again ye in Salhill. The problem with Galway is that they often fail to give two powerful performances in a row, which is what set the Galway team of the late eighties apart most Galway hurling sides. They could do it day in day out.
I hope we have a great Final, reminiscent of the great clashes these two sides had in days of yore. If ye win we be the first to congratulate ye

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 05/07/2022 12:39:09    2429841

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Absolutely on the knocker Ballydullane- that is just my point. I was not a bit surprised that Galway put in a huge performance like they did again ye in Salhill. The problem with Galway is that they often fail to give two powerful performances in a row, which is what set the Galway team of the late eighties apart most Galway hurling sides. They could do it day in day out.
I hope we have a great Final, reminiscent of the great clashes these two sides had in days of yore. If ye win we be the first to congratulate ye"
Did the Galway team of the 80's not have to play 1-2 games a year though? Its very different competition these days to be fair to them

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 05/07/2022 12:59:46    2429857

Tired shooting and tired tackling. Doesnt take a rocket scientist to figure it out

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 05/07/2022 13:01:15    2429858

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Baire, are really saying every Galway man who disagrees with you is in fact a Limerick man. I'll just tell a little story about how to handle defeat. In the 1980 Final Eamon Cregan in his 18th season with Limerick, scored 2.5, one of the goals being one the finest goals scored in a final, but yet ended up on the losing side. They lost by just a goal after a dreadful start. Of course LK people felt a few iffy referereeing decisions , went against us, as the losing side will always feel after a big game, which ends in a narrow defeat. However, as Cregan left Croke Park, a Reporter tried to get him to whinge about what might have beens. Cregan dismissed his suggestions, in his usual curt manner, saying 'It is Galways day, they were the better team, it is now right for us to congratulate the winners and let them have the limelight. As far as we are concerned we should just take our beating, go home and prepare for next year'.
Kiely was asked, after the game last Sunday if Limerick would be looking for revenge for '19 in the Final. He dismissed this argument, out of hand, saying what happened in '19 is long gone and we cannot influence it, but we can do our best to influence what happens next Sunday week. Both men were perfectly right.
Katser going on with his usual 'ould' nonsense that the better team lost is just that. Limerick started and finished the stronger team and scored twenty seven times to your sides 22. Balls struck at crucial times in the game should not go wide if you are the better team. Ye brought on five subs and they did not a single score between them.
The Foot landed on a person's chest argument is rank hypocrasy as one of your players did the same to a KK man, only probably far more deliberately.
Finally if KK beat us next Sunday we will congratulate them, wish them well, shut up about it and look forward to next year with hope. It is the only way lads"
No OTM, my question is addressed to a particular poster who claims to be from Galway, it has nothing to do with the game. He made a good few very disparaging comments about the Galway hurlers, shameful in fact before the game.
I enjoyed the game, was amongst some lovely Galway and Limerick supporters and enjoyed a few drinks afterwards, had the craic with a KK woman and her Mayo partner. I have no issues with the result. I didn't comment on K Hayes, the poster did but I stand by what I said.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 05/07/2022 13:18:30    2429866

Haven't been on here for quite a while, think the whole setup is much the poorer for taking away the County pages..

But anyway that aside, thanks to the bulk the Galway lads for being so magnanimous after the semi finals, it's nice to see, I know there's a few exceptions, one in particular, who seems to be incapable of recognising that Limerick are actually a good team, but he's more entertaining than anything else at this point.

Regarding the match, we did enough, still missing 2 exceptional players in Lynch and Casey. Good to see them come on and hopefully get back to speed for the final. I thought Galway were very good in general apart from their fairly hopeless shooting at the end where along with their wides Our bit of composure to pull away was very gratifying to see.. Delighted for the much maligned David Reidy, he's turned into a really impressive sub who may not start but is some man to finish a match.

This game was always a potential banana skin and winning while playing below par is fine, as long as we're up to speed for the final.

I genuinely never thought I'd see Limerick win one all Ireland at times let alone be in touch for 3 in a row.. Its staggering considering where we were just over a decade ago, after the horror show of the 2009 semi finals. Much thanks to all involved.
Luimneach Abu!

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1057 - 05/07/2022 13:36:57    2429869

I honesty appreciate both teams and the effort from them in this amateur sport with amateur players, played professionally. This forum has provided some great debate and not so great debate over the years. However to suggest that Kyle Hayes deliberately stood on the Galway player is the greatest rubbish ever posted. This is really grasping at straws for some reason and the usual flawed slowed down replay is making up peoples minds. In actual fact in this instance it shows nothing only a player stumbling to put his foot on the ground and accidentally landing on a fallen player.
We need to stop vilifying players from any county and suggesting that Hayes had the time will trying to retrieve a ball to think there's an opportunity to stand or stamp on someone. Absolute nonsense that surpasses any thing gone before. Galway are one of my favourite teams and people . Please rise above this.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 05/07/2022 14:08:24    2429878

Replying To baire:  "No OTM, my question is addressed to a particular poster who claims to be from Galway, it has nothing to do with the game. He made a good few very disparaging comments about the Galway hurlers, shameful in fact before the game.
I enjoyed the game, was amongst some lovely Galway and Limerick supporters and enjoyed a few drinks afterwards, had the craic with a KK woman and her Mayo partner. I have no issues with the result. I didn't comment on K Hayes, the poster did but I stand by what I said."
Thanks Baire. Fair enough

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 05/07/2022 14:21:28    2429886

Replying To Oldtourman:  "If you had two men on the sideline, who scored eleven points from play in an All Ireland Final, with one of them off after 27 minutes, you would bring them on too. It actually appears to have caused panic in the Galway defence, as is evidenced by the fact that, as you admit, Reidy was left unattended and subsequently ended up running riot."
I'm not denying that they left Reidy free to score points that I would have scored they were that easy!
Casey and Lynch had no influence on the game when introduced, they didn't even touch the ball or get a sniff of it!! The fact is we had ye by the throat and let our grip go.
That's what annoys me.....We let ye breathe when we should have finished ye!
As I said yer own manager admitted that had he not taken off Flanagan, Hergety and Morrissey Galway would have beaten us....he was forced into making changes or the game was gone.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 05/07/2022 14:30:22    2429891