Mayo Kerry League Final

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "I agree on o'hora. Clifford is a different class and in fairness to ohora a forward of lesser calibre than clifford would take to corner back to the cleaners if they are left one v one at the back. Mccarron took Fitzsimmons to the cleaners last week because he was one v one and got space.

Give clifford even close to one v one and nobody is going to mark him. He's also very unique in that he's so big and strong for a corner forward. The backs are all small beside him. Has there ever been anyone even close to being like him‽"
Nobody can handle Clifford when he's in this form,

He is the best footballer in Ireland by a country mile

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 709 - 03/04/2022 21:55:03    2409411

Replying To aidan64:  "Mayo management should have taken o hora off Clifford at half time. I dont think Mayo were too bothered about today. Nice to see Cillian O Connor back after his long lay off"
They should've given him help. He was 1 on 1 with Clifford most of the time with Clifford getting a constant supply of ball and loads of space with just one man to beat.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 03/04/2022 21:55:28    2409412

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "I agree on o'hora. Clifford is a different class and in fairness to ohora a forward of lesser calibre than clifford would take to corner back to the cleaners if they are left one v one at the back. Mccarron took Fitzsimmons to the cleaners last week because he was one v one and got space.

Give clifford even close to one v one and nobody is going to mark him. He's also very unique in that he's so big and strong for a corner forward. The backs are all small beside him. Has there ever been anyone even close to being like him‽"
Our own Colm Anthony McFadden was also a big man for a corner forward and was well able to control the ball and boss the defender at the same time, also a ciotóg same as Clifford. Lethal left foot too.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2733 - 03/04/2022 21:58:27    2409414

Mayo went out to play the final at pace but with very low intensity, a bit like the two teams in the Div 2 final did, but Kerry came out to play like they meant it. Even in the pace stakes Kerry were that bit quicker and did to Mayo what Mayo often do to other teams, with defenders and midfielders attacking at huge pace from deep (mainly unchallenged y/day). The Kerry defense in general was very impressive and has been transformed by the work of Tally into a tight unit. I think a lot of people had a feeling things were going to pan out like they did, so no surprise, and the only thing which stings a little is the margin at the end. I need say nothing about Clifford, he speaks for himself on the pitch. I'll say even less about his marker. If anything he managed to crank DC up to an even higher level.

Mayo will need to roll the sleeves up now if winning Connacht is a serious objective, cos if they're not serious they're not the same team. When the dust settles I'm not sure Kerry will find that game of any great value. They learned nothing at all about either themselves or Mayo. They'll waltz through Munster and just have to see how they're fixed after that. For now they're out on their own and everyone else is not at their level. Like last year, whoever beats them will win the AI.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 04/04/2022 09:42:14    2409429

Congrats to Kerry, superb league campaign, important for Jack to get his feet under the table, they will be careful not to be kings of Spring again and need to carry the form into the Championship. Looking good though, with Tyrone and Dublin in squad transition, Mayo beatable and there difficulties on the big day, its looking like its Kerry's to loose by default. Superb consistency as always and if you hang around long enough eventually you get one. Would like to see young David carry his league form into the championship.

Only caveat will be % of improvement in others in the next month of so - really i only see a threat coming from the North.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4443 - 04/04/2022 11:13:13    2409456

Was comical that O'Hora changed his 'gameplan' from 'for the camera in yer face verbals' to 'exaggerating chewing movements' as Clifford progressed the process of embarrassing him. Talk about ' I'll shut you up '.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 04/04/2022 11:17:16    2409460

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Was comical that O'Hora changed his 'gameplan' from 'for the camera in yer face verbals' to 'exaggerating chewing movements' as Clifford progressed the process of embarrassing him. Talk about ' I'll shut you up '."
Literally cringing for him as I watched. What is it about Mayo and their throwing shapes? Right back to the 90s and 96 final. You can't fake hardness. Clifford humiliated him but he humiliated himself as much as anything else.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 04/04/2022 11:20:04    2409463

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Was comical that O'Hora changed his 'gameplan' from 'for the camera in yer face verbals' to 'exaggerating chewing movements' as Clifford progressed the process of embarrassing him. Talk about ' I'll shut you up '."
I couldn't figure what O'Hora he was chewing tbh, I thought he was going to lie down and chew the cud properly at one stage, he might as well have.
Ultimate hell game being one one with the mighty Clifford. He is a joy top watch and there is so much more to come from him if he stays fit.That point from out wide on the left and that goal were super scores, as good as you'll ever see.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2733 - 04/04/2022 11:30:11    2409471

Replying To TheUsername:  "Congrats to Kerry, superb league campaign, important for Jack to get his feet under the table, they will be careful not to be kings of Spring again and need to carry the form into the Championship. Looking good though, with Tyrone and Dublin in squad transition, Mayo beatable and there difficulties on the big day, its looking like its Kerry's to loose by default. Superb consistency as always and if you hang around long enough eventually you get one. Would like to see young David carry his league form into the championship.

Only caveat will be % of improvement in others in the next month of so - really i only see a threat coming from the North."
Sam is coming to the northwest or the southwest, if Kerry get soft after cruising through Munster somebody might catch them on a bad day and pick them off, but it will take a bloody good team with lots of luck to beat them.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2733 - 04/04/2022 11:32:52    2409473

Lot of lads giving out about O'Hora and I see why but firstly we have no idea what made him start mouthing in the first place and secondly he was marking, in my opinion, the best footballer i've ever seen in the flesh , it's his job to try and stop him whatever way he can. People would say he was too nice if he wasn't acting the pup a small bit. The man is unmarkable in my opinion.
Don't understand why Clifford got booked though all the same.

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 409 - 04/04/2022 11:52:35    2409480

I wonder what kind of vile comment did Clifford make to Jordan Flynn just before Clifford and O'hora picked up the yellow cards. It didn't look like Clifford was enquiring about the Jordan's injury. Disgusting to go mouthing to a lad lying on the ground with a suspected broken ankle. I would have expected more from Clifford but the media won't say anything bad about him. Also I think Jack Barry should have got a straight red for the challenge.

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 04/04/2022 12:00:51    2409482

Replying To Mfs:  "I wonder what kind of vile comment did Clifford make to Jordan Flynn just before Clifford and O'hora picked up the yellow cards. It didn't look like Clifford was enquiring about the Jordan's injury. Disgusting to go mouthing to a lad lying on the ground with a suspected broken ankle. I would have expected more from Clifford but the media won't say anything bad about him. Also I think Jack Barry should have got a straight red for the challenge."
Take your hiding and focus on connacht

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1693 - 04/04/2022 13:20:57    2409511

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "Lot of lads giving out about O'Hora and I see why but firstly we have no idea what made him start mouthing in the first place and secondly he was marking, in my opinion, the best footballer i've ever seen in the flesh , it's his job to try and stop him whatever way he can. People would say he was too nice if he wasn't acting the pup a small bit. The man is unmarkable in my opinion.
Don't understand why Clifford got booked though all the same."
Agree on the first point. David Clifford is David Clifford, a brilliant footballer but he's not Saint David Clifford either. All the stuff slagging off ohora is a bit excessive. Ohora looked like he was upset about something in the clip people are generally referring to. What led to that isn't clear. Just because a camera didn't pick up something doesn't mean a player doesn't deserve a yellow.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 04/04/2022 13:32:56    2409518

Replying To Galway9801:  "Take your hiding and focus on connacht"
I've other stuff to focus on but reports from mayo camp would suggest they are fully focused on connacht championship.

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 04/04/2022 13:43:18    2409521

Replying To TheUsername:  "Congrats to Kerry, superb league campaign, important for Jack to get his feet under the table, they will be careful not to be kings of Spring again and need to carry the form into the Championship. Looking good though, with Tyrone and Dublin in squad transition, Mayo beatable and there difficulties on the big day, its looking like its Kerry's to loose by default. Superb consistency as always and if you hang around long enough eventually you get one. Would like to see young David carry his league form into the championship.

Only caveat will be % of improvement in others in the next month of so - really i only see a threat coming from the North."
Thanks Username.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3658 - 04/04/2022 13:46:23    2409523

To me Mayo looked heavy-legged and judging by James Horan's post match interview he didn't seem shocked by the result. I would guess that Mayo have sacrificed the two weeks in order to do any late heavy training in preparation for the Galway game. And why wouldn't they. Winning the league in 2019 didn't do them much good.

It's all about championship for them and I think they have the making of a very exciting team coming together. Kerry will need to be careful, the hype surrounding them this morning is scary. But they do play a lovely brand of football. The kicking through the lines is a breath of fresh air.

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 311 - 04/04/2022 13:53:56    2409525

Giving 2 yellows like the ref did to Clifford and O'Hora is a cop out by a weak ref and I'm sick of it, the ref thinks it will settle them down, if it's the defender sledging the forward then he alone deserves the yellow, all this talk we rightly have these days about how bad bullying is etc yet it's condoned on the GAA pitch?
O'Hora was acting the pup and trying to stop Clifford any way he can? that's bs and it has to be stopped. giving a yellow card to the man that's taking the verbals isn't going to stop this despicable behaviour. What message are we sending out to children? it's ok to bully your opponent with any kind of ***** talk about God knows what,
no need for this rubbish in our games, play the game hard and fair and shake hands afterwards.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2733 - 04/04/2022 13:59:21    2409527

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "Agree on the first point. David Clifford is David Clifford, a brilliant footballer but he's not Saint David Clifford either. All the stuff slagging off ohora is a bit excessive. Ohora looked like he was upset about something in the clip people are generally referring to. What led to that isn't clear. Just because a camera didn't pick up something doesn't mean a player doesn't deserve a yellow."
Doesn't matter what was done or said. You know if your marker is fouling you or mouthing at you that you have him whipped. Swanny's not the first defender that David Clifford has skinned and won't be the last. To be fair he didn't shirk the tough task in hand. Possibly he thought he could put Clifford off his game because he used to get temperanental at times. Looks like he's worked on that too. Sure when it was clear we had the game lost it was a privelige to watch Clifford in action. And the rest of the team, minus Seàn O'Shea, kicked 2-13. Up to the pack to try to catch up to that level between now and, probably, June.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7324 - 04/04/2022 14:11:41    2409536

Clifford was like a Rolls Royce out there, being marked by a Ford Mondeo. He's a smashing baller. Reminds me of Maurice in many ways and before that the great Blue Panther. He just seems to effortlessly glide by defenders. I'd say he's a nightmare to mark. The Kerry forwards look to be hitting their stride. If they can stay fit, they'll give every opposition serious problems. But the Kerry backs are still suspect IMO. They'll cruise uncontested to a QF but I think a revitalised Dublin (if that even happens) or an Ulster team could cause them some problems. An on-form rebounding Mayo may even disrupt them. It's hard the look past them though. The massive fund injections from the Kerry Group industry is paying dividends in spades.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 04/04/2022 15:52:32    2409573

Replying To Mfs:  "I wonder what kind of vile comment did Clifford make to Jordan Flynn just before Clifford and O'hora picked up the yellow cards. It didn't look like Clifford was enquiring about the Jordan's injury. Disgusting to go mouthing to a lad lying on the ground with a suspected broken ankle. I would have expected more from Clifford but the media won't say anything bad about him. Also I think Jack Barry should have got a straight red for the challenge."
Don't know about the Clifford/Flynn episode, except 'sticks and stones will break my bones but names will never hurt me'. Jack Barry should have got a BLACK card.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1061 - 04/04/2022 16:26:58    2409587