The Donegal/Armagh Row

Replying To Orchardgael22:  "Baseless accusations like this should have no place on a forum unless you have concrete evidence ie: the accusation has come straight from Murphy himself. If not the case, then I think both yourselves or the forum administrator should remove the comments.
Vile accusations have repercussions both on and off the pitch.
And as for the usual commentary about "orange flags" and "thuggary" its no surprise to us in Armagh. Having endured comments like "go back to your bombs and bullets" for years at away games in the South, we don't expect much better. And whilst this only stems from a handful of supporters, it tarnishes the game and leaves a very sour taste."
I actually called out the thuggery term earlier in this thread so I'm not sure why you're talking to me about it.

We will see soon how baseless the accusation is and if I'm wrong, I'll admit it but a lot of people here in Donegal this morning are talking about this incident.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 25/04/2022 12:08:16    2413038

Donegal esp after what happened in the league game were always going to be difficult for armagh yesterday in Ballyboyfey. This Donegal side just a few years ago were winning consecutive ulsters and being tipped as biggest threat to Dublin. I rate them v highly if they can get all their players fit and firing. Armagh are a strange one undoubtedly talented but seem to buckle or lack something in ulster championship where the games are v claustrophobic and tactical. Possibly suit the qualifiers a bit better. I recall last year against us they were the better side but crazy defending and needless frees given away handed us the win. Don't seem to have improved much on that yesterday. Finally word of warning to donegal beware mickey Graham and cavan coming in under the radar but ulster champions not that long ago and will present a bigger challenge than armagh. Ulster is unforgiving. Donegal will be buoyed by yesterday and big favourites in the semi final which will suit Cavan perfectly.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 25/04/2022 12:10:59    2413039

I watched that incident with Michael murphy at the end, he came in to shake hands with the umpires and the Armagh player, the manners and class Michael Murphy has is an example to anyone, I seen the Armagh keeper trying to cause an incident to get a reaction, Michael went to just turn away from him and just shake his head the Armagh keeper may have spat at Michael as he turned away, I was the wrong side of him to see for definite but someone else surely seen it and hopefully even filmed it, disgraceful behaviour even the way he rejected the handshake,
if he did spit at Murphy then he deserves to be banned, a disgusting act that deserves the harshest sanction.
Watched the game back on BBC last night, Forker 'tackling' Michael Langan with the closed fist, he hit Langan 3 times into the ribs, should have been a red card also, Donegal players were incensed at that.
if you look back at it too the Armagh keeper tried to do Paddy as he scored that goal, any of us that play football know what the Armagh keeper tried to do to Paddy, you can see the look Paddy gives him as he gets up, if looks could kill as they say.
Donegal showed their class in terms of footballing ability and as men and didn't allow themselves to be dragged down to the gutter where Armagh wanted to take them. They beat them on the scoreboard and Armagh were lucky the margin was only 7, we need to take more of our chances against better teams to come though. Dropped too many short and a lot of wides but the wind was unpredictable yesterday so some of those wides are understandable for sure.
I think refs will be keeping a closer eye on Armagh in future. Listening to McConville whining as usual, he reckoned Rian O'Neill was booked by the time he got on the bus to come to the game, what he didn't say was he should have been sitting in the stands after punching in Letterkenny, Armagh have let themselves down badly in my eyes. their true colours showed this last month anyway.
I have been a critic of Declan Bonner because of the way we play at times and not achieving our potential, I have never been critical of the man personally, I was delighted for him yesterday with the way him and his management team handled Armagh and the class he showed,
Cavan next and we are forewarned from 18 months ago, Cavan are no mugs, we need to be at our best beat them.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2746 - 25/04/2022 12:15:44    2413041

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Also, Spillane referenced Einstein's definition of insanity theory when talking about Mayo's performance yesterday. You could apply the same to Aiden Forker's. Still trying every ****house tactic going to get under Murphy's skin after all these years. Yet again the great man rose above it and turned in another virtuoso performance."
He done the same with mc carron and mc manus last year when he came on. Pushing his weight about because his football ability is no where near the top level players. How long are Armagh going to persist with him as their go to man marker?

At the end of the day Forker is never going to have the last laugh and never lift the anglo celt so he can continue all his antics for all we care.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 25/04/2022 12:16:06    2413042

Replying To Orchardgael22:  "Baseless accusations like this should have no place on a forum unless you have concrete evidence ie: the accusation has come straight from Murphy himself. If not the case, then I think both yourselves or the forum administrator should remove the comments.
Vile accusations have repercussions both on and off the pitch.
And as for the usual commentary about "orange flags" and "thuggary" its no surprise to us in Armagh. Having endured comments like "go back to your bombs and bullets" for years at away games in the South, we don't expect much better. And whilst this only stems from a handful of supporters, it tarnishes the game and leaves a very sour taste."
Important to remember that when you are lawyering up there that spitting is listed as a Section Two Assault under Irish law.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 25/04/2022 12:16:21    2413043

Replying To themaddog:  "The paranoia is strong in this post.
One of the Armagh players let the jersey down yesterday, it is not a baseless accusation. Vile behaviour on the pitch should also have consequences, unless you get your legal team involved like Armagh have a tendency to do.
Unfortunately one of the Armagh players was unable to take his beating like a man and resorted to the lowest of behaviour. How Murphy showed such restraint when he followed him down to the Armagh huddle I'll never know.
One man is a great ambassador for his county, the other is an Armagh man."
There's no paranoia involved.
At the end of the day, not one member has posted any source of this accusation. If it were true, then I agree it has no place in the sport and would fully back any disciplinary process.
It was not on the TV coverage and I would struggle to see how any spectator could have seen it given the two players were between the 13m and 20m line.
So again, as I posted previously, unless Murphy has made this accusation himself or it was cited by the referee or his umpires, then I think the jury should perhaps hold fire on calling for a footballers retirement.

Orchardgael22 (Armagh) - Posts: 15 - 25/04/2022 12:37:17    2413055

Replying To peiledoir20:  "At least you have a chip on both shoulders to keep you balanced."
You see it as a chip. I see it as unacceptable. We can agree to differ.

Orchardgael22 (Armagh) - Posts: 15 - 25/04/2022 13:08:03    2413066

Replying To germac:  "total nonsense talk , but not surprised at silly comments, what ever colour someones skin is they should be welcomed from a war zone like Ukraine, Are you seriously saying there is 2 sides to the mass murder that is taking place there, Open your eyes man, By the way we have a crowd of our own ones that wouldent work in a mad fit, And as a previous poster pointed out this is a fourm about all things gaa ,Please from here on can we just talk football or hurling , thanks"
I know all too well it a GAA forum, my original point was the fact that animals were being took in and some of our own people are on the streets. In Donegal match, Forker went off very easy when he knew game was up. Didn't want to be on field at final whistle after all his actions.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 25/04/2022 13:16:25    2413075

Replying To moc.dna:  "If that's true about someone spitting at a player, it's the lowest level that can be descended to. The alleged player (If it's true) should take a moment to reflect & if he has done this, should retire from the game. Passion & physicality is fine but spitting on or at an opponent is the action of someone who shouldn't be playing sport."
Yeah exactly. I honestly can't say if it's true though, didn't see anything. Really hope it's not and just a silly rumour. One thing for sure is that there's plenty in Donegal talking about an incident.

Anyway, time to move on. Donegal can check Armagh off again and focus on Cavan now, who imo will prove a tougher test.

fielder (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 25/04/2022 13:32:04    2413086

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I watched that incident with Michael murphy at the end, he came in to shake hands with the umpires and the Armagh player, the manners and class Michael Murphy has is an example to anyone, I seen the Armagh keeper trying to cause an incident to get a reaction, Michael went to just turn away from him and just shake his head the Armagh keeper may have spat at Michael as he turned away, I was the wrong side of him to see for definite but someone else surely seen it and hopefully even filmed it, disgraceful behaviour even the way he rejected the handshake,
if he did spit at Murphy then he deserves to be banned, a disgusting act that deserves the harshest sanction.
Watched the game back on BBC last night, Forker 'tackling' Michael Langan with the closed fist, he hit Langan 3 times into the ribs, should have been a red card also, Donegal players were incensed at that.
if you look back at it too the Armagh keeper tried to do Paddy as he scored that goal, any of us that play football know what the Armagh keeper tried to do to Paddy, you can see the look Paddy gives him as he gets up, if looks could kill as they say.
Donegal showed their class in terms of footballing ability and as men and didn't allow themselves to be dragged down to the gutter where Armagh wanted to take them. They beat them on the scoreboard and Armagh were lucky the margin was only 7, we need to take more of our chances against better teams to come though. Dropped too many short and a lot of wides but the wind was unpredictable yesterday so some of those wides are understandable for sure.
I think refs will be keeping a closer eye on Armagh in future. Listening to McConville whining as usual, he reckoned Rian O'Neill was booked by the time he got on the bus to come to the game, what he didn't say was he should have been sitting in the stands after punching in Letterkenny, Armagh have let themselves down badly in my eyes. their true colours showed this last month anyway.
I have been a critic of Declan Bonner because of the way we play at times and not achieving our potential, I have never been critical of the man personally, I was delighted for him yesterday with the way him and his management team handled Armagh and the class he showed,
Cavan next and we are forewarned from 18 months ago, Cavan are no mugs, we need to be at our best beat them."
There is no doubt a lot of passion on all sides, everyone will have different narratives of the last month and some will want to put all the blame onto one side fairly or unfairly.

However we need to remember this is a public forum, we all have to take responsibility if we make personal accusations either directly or indirectly. I think admin should step in and manage this, at this time there is absolutely no evidence.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 25/04/2022 14:30:35    2413113

Replying To themaddog:  "The paranoia is strong in this post.
One of the Armagh players let the jersey down yesterday, it is not a baseless accusation. Vile behaviour on the pitch should also have consequences, unless you get your legal team involved like Armagh have a tendency to do.
Unfortunately one of the Armagh players was unable to take his beating like a man and resorted to the lowest of behaviour. How Murphy showed such restraint when he followed him down to the Armagh huddle I'll never know.
One man is a great ambassador for his county, the other is an Armagh man."
The disgraceful bashing of Armagh GAA people from so called fellow gaels has been absolutely abhorrent throughout this thread - typified by the comment below and the public slandering of an amateur player accused of a horrible act with nothing more than hearsay as evidence.

"One man is a great ambassador for his county, the other is an Armagh man."

What a horrible comment to make - this should be removed by moderators.

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 25/04/2022 17:30:52    2413188

What a horrible comment for any gael to make.

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 25/04/2022 19:03:00    2413213

Sean Kavanaghs comments on the Sunday Game stating there was nothing "technically wrong" with Rians goal is laughable. For arguments sake how did he get the ball in net? he had to have thrown it because he said Patton wasn't in control of the ball. If patton was in control then that mean he fouled the keep to get control of the ball.

naomh_conaill_4 (Donegal) - Posts: 481 - 26/04/2022 10:47:47    2413275

Great to see McKenna's red card rescinded (wasn't even a relation to any color type card). Himself and McShane are two players that I really enjoy watching. There's that type of individualism that's really lacking in modern-day forwards in those two (Clifford has it, as does CON, and Jack McCarron but other than that, not that many).

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1909 - 26/04/2022 11:22:00    2413283

Replying To naomh_conaill_4:  "Sean Kavanaghs comments on the Sunday Game stating there was nothing "technically wrong" with Rians goal is laughable. For arguments sake how did he get the ball in net? he had to have thrown it because he said Patton wasn't in control of the ball. If patton was in control then that mean he fouled the keep to get control of the ball."
Would kill him to side with "Donna-gaaal" as he has christened us.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 800 - 26/04/2022 11:31:09    2413285

Replying To seanie08:  "Donegal esp after what happened in the league game were always going to be difficult for armagh yesterday in Ballyboyfey. This Donegal side just a few years ago were winning consecutive ulsters and being tipped as biggest threat to Dublin. I rate them v highly if they can get all their players fit and firing. Armagh are a strange one undoubtedly talented but seem to buckle or lack something in ulster championship where the games are v claustrophobic and tactical. Possibly suit the qualifiers a bit better. I recall last year against us they were the better side but crazy defending and needless frees given away handed us the win. Don't seem to have improved much on that yesterday. Finally word of warning to donegal beware mickey Graham and cavan coming in under the radar but ulster champions not that long ago and will present a bigger challenge than armagh. Ulster is unforgiving. Donegal will be buoyed by yesterday and big favourites in the semi final which will suit Cavan perfectly."
I don't think anyone in Donegal will be taking this Cavan team for granted or looking at their National League position, we know full well that they are a serious outfit and are significantly better than their National League level.

Donegal have been waiting for another crack at Cavan since that 2020 Ulster final, and this time we will be more motivated.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1110 - 26/04/2022 12:21:25    2413306

Unlucky Armagh. Time to move on now everyone. Who knows we could meet later on in the year. Grugan is a leader for them, no one else really stood up. Still a team with plenty of potential.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1141 - 26/04/2022 17:24:32    2413411

Replying To ardmhacha:  "The disgraceful bashing of Armagh GAA people from so called fellow gaels has been absolutely abhorrent throughout this thread - typified by the comment below and the public slandering of an amateur player accused of a horrible act with nothing more than hearsay as evidence.

What a horrible comment to make - this should be removed by moderators."
If you think what Michael Murphy was subjected to after the final whistle on Sunday brings credit on Armagh you would be very much in the minority.
The calls for evidence and proof from Armagh supporters are laughable. There was evidence of Rian O'Neill striking after the league game but that didn't stop Armagh appealing.
Good luck in the qualifiers.

themaddog (Wicklow) - Posts: 130 - 26/04/2022 18:08:54    2413423

Replying To themaddog:  "If you think what Michael Murphy was subjected to after the final whistle on Sunday brings credit on Armagh you would be very much in the minority.
The calls for evidence and proof from Armagh supporters are laughable. There was evidence of Rian O'Neill striking after the league game but that didn't stop Armagh appealing.
Good luck in the qualifiers."
Amazing, someone from Wicklow is going to be able to give us an account of exactly what Murphy was subjected to at the final whistle in Ballybofey, despite neither a referee report, the Donegal camp or supporters being able to.

Orchardgael22 (Armagh) - Posts: 15 - 27/04/2022 12:07:08    2413567

Replying To ardmhacha:  "The disgraceful bashing of Armagh GAA people from so called fellow gaels has been absolutely abhorrent throughout this thread - typified by the comment below and the public slandering of an amateur player accused of a horrible act with nothing more than hearsay as evidence.

What a horrible comment to make - this should be removed by moderators."
Bad enough telling referees how to do their job, and dictating to the CCCC who's suspension who should be lifted, no they're telling moderators what posts to take down.

Yous are some craic ardmhacha.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 800 - 27/04/2022 12:51:35    2413585