GAA-GPA Stand Off

And your point is? There are runners, rowers, cyclists, in their thousands around the country who run, row, cycle hundreds of km per week and get nothing, it costs them in fact. Inter county players are very well looked after, gear. Mileage, food, boot vouchers worth €375 annually. It's not costing them except time. Parsons and co want more. I coach, volunteer, costs me lots but enjoy doing it and no one forces me to do it.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1502 - 21/03/2022 14:41:32    2406224

Replying To Claretandblue:  "And your point is? There are runners, rowers, cyclists, in their thousands around the country who run, row, cycle hundreds of km per week and get nothing, it costs them in fact. Inter county players are very well looked after, gear. Mileage, food, boot vouchers worth €375 annually. It's not costing them except time. Parsons and co want more. I coach, volunteer, costs me lots but enjoy doing it and no one forces me to do it."
If they have to train 6 times instead of 4 it will be costing them. I'm sure most also have other costs they foot themselves like training gear, balls, hurls, helmets, some food, wear and tear on vehicles etc. And that's not including time off work which costs many lads an awful lot especially self employed lads. I dont think the players are looking for anything too unreasonable.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12028 - 21/03/2022 15:00:12    2406234

Training six times a week is ludicrous. Sports scientists wouldn't countenance that. Four quality sessions weekly is absolutely loads.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1502 - 21/03/2022 15:31:12    2406251

Replying To Claretandblue:  "And your point is? There are runners, rowers, cyclists, in their thousands around the country who run, row, cycle hundreds of km per week and get nothing, it costs them in fact. Inter county players are very well looked after, gear. Mileage, food, boot vouchers worth €375 annually. It's not costing them except time. Parsons and co want more. I coach, volunteer, costs me lots but enjoy doing it and no one forces me to do it."
I travelled the world at my own expense and using my vacation coaching an international team for over 20 years but that does not make me be begrudge these elite athletes who create full time employment for full time employees in the same organization. It is ludicrous to say the least. Yes there are thousands of soccer players and other sports that are not funded but no doubt all are at the top level. Why because they could not compete or train at the highest level without it. I love the sweeping term "well looked after. " What does that mean ? Or just a catch all to dismiss facts and support begrudgary. 375 euros covers an inter county players for giving over 30 hours a week six months of the year to entertain thousands of people and provide t.v. viewing for thousands of more ? Don't let anyone hear you saying that out loud in public or they will wonder about you. O' I know no one is making them play. Another throw away.
The hatred for the GPA officials is also very evident. These are former county and club players selected by players to represent them. I am sure you had someone represent you for some reason in life. The reality is these players would not even have 375 euros if they were not represented.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2665 - 21/03/2022 15:31:29    2406252

The exploits of our elite athletes fill stadiums the length and breadth of the country. They generate the finance that enables our wonderful organisation to flourish. Without those players and their exploits the GAA would be on it's knees and everyone would be much the poorer for it. The pandemic demonstrated that very clearly.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 21/03/2022 15:48:47    2406265

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Training six times a week is ludicrous. Sports scientists wouldn't countenance that. Four quality sessions weekly is absolutely loads."
One thing for sure is even at the current level of training which is nearly too much in itself some of these 'elite' players cannot accurately kick a football to any great distance.

Leitrim_12 (USA) - Posts: 207 - 21/03/2022 16:17:36    2406280

Replying To Viking66:  "If they have to train 6 times instead of 4 it will be costing them. I'm sure most also have other costs they foot themselves like training gear, balls, hurls, helmets, some food, wear and tear on vehicles etc. And that's not including time off work which costs many lads an awful lot especially self employed lads. I dont think the players are looking for anything too unreasonable."
WAS SPEAKING TO A YOUNG CLUB PLAYER WHOS HAS TO TRAVEL FOR TRAINING COSTA HIM OVER €200.00 NOT A CENT IN EXPENSES

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 891 - 21/03/2022 16:23:39    2406282

Replying To kentuckytucky:  "One thing for sure is even at the current level of training which is nearly too much in itself some of these 'elite' players cannot accurately kick a football to any great distance."
The footballers and the teams of today are as skilled as those who have gone before.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 21/03/2022 16:45:45    2406290

I was delighted with the player blackout personally, it saved me another interview full of "stepping stone", "they are a good side so we are delighted with the win", "could have gone either way", or similar cliches.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1736 - 21/03/2022 17:18:44    2406297

Replying To WunderBar:  "Tom Parsons continues the longstanding GPA tradition of putting the hand out. Delighted the current GAA administrators have finally stood up to them."
There is two different arguments really.
The first is their was a deal in place which was altered for Covid. The GPA want this deal put back as previously agreed.

No one on hear would like their employer to rip up a deal that they had already agreed on.

The other issue is the no of sessions the inter county player is asked to do.

Put simply 4 collective sessions is plenty and should be reimbursed for 40 players from start of Jan to End March.
If a county want to do recovery sessions or gym sessions or tactics sessions on top of that they don't need to meet up in one place to do it. These can be done within 5 miles (which if they cycle to that location is good free training).

The 4 sessions should be centrally funded and the rest should be the county board paying a gym membership or swimming pool membership.

Any county manager making players travel 5-6 days of the week to do collective sessions is off his head and will burn those players out either mentally or with injuries.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1126 - 21/03/2022 17:54:41    2406305

Joe Brolly in yesterday's Sunday Independent called it right. Worth reading. He's no fool and calls the GPA for what they are. Pirates,

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1502 - 21/03/2022 20:07:46    2406330

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Training six times a week is ludicrous. Sports scientists wouldn't countenance that. Four quality sessions weekly is absolutely loads."
I agree Claretandblue. But all the counties want to win. From the players to the Board. And the supporters of some counties expect and demand it. So everyone is looking for that little edge.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12028 - 21/03/2022 20:34:57    2406334

Replying To clooney:  "WAS SPEAKING TO A YOUNG CLUB PLAYER WHOS HAS TO TRAVEL FOR TRAINING COSTA HIM OVER €200.00 NOT A CENT IN EXPENSES"
Same for parents like me. But I still dont begrudge the players who are playing at the top level for their counties getting decent expenses that cover all their intercounty costs. They all also still play for their clubs without getting any expenses for that just like me and my family.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12028 - 21/03/2022 20:41:37    2406336

4 is loads, if a manager wants a player to train any more than that they should tell them to get stuffed.
I'm happy for players to be looked after but I think managers are getting away with murder here, it's them who are abusing players, not the suits in Croker.
An all Ireland medal won in your 20s is great but I wonder is it worth having lifelong back, neck or joint troubles for the next 50 years.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1720 - 21/03/2022 21:10:31    2406340

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Joe Brolly in yesterday's Sunday Independent called it right. Worth reading. He's no fool and calls the GPA for what they are. Pirates,"
He is, in fact, a fool. But is correct in this instance.

WunderBar (Galway) - Posts: 290 - 22/03/2022 09:38:24    2406363

Other than get a few more college scholarships for players, which were there pre-GPA, and promote expensive protein cookies, what has the GPA achieved?

Will players be get expenses for buying these fantastic bars?

Will the GPA have scholarships to study to be an agent for players and teams because it looks like someone's making some money here and players are possibly being ripped off. Fair play to any teams and players who can make a few quid doing endorsements, hopefully they can negotiate the best deals possible and not need to give someone from GPA or GAA HQ a few quid as long as all tax is above board.

Are players with sponsored cars paid the same mileage expenses as those driving their own car. I heard they're not. Wondering has anyone heard similar.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 22/03/2022 10:24:38    2406388

The GPA are not fighting for some additional here, there was the expenses arrangement pre covid and this was understandably scaled back during the height of the pandemic due to the revenue losses, the agreement was when a normal environment returned the expenses agreement would return to 2019 scanario, if the GAA were unhappy with the expenses at that point fair enough but surely there's a negotiation process involved in this, just looks like they've gone back on there word, also to me just come's across that you've a chip on your shoulder.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 22/03/2022 10:53:36    2406404

Replying To wexico15:  "The GPA are not fighting for some additional here, there was the expenses arrangement pre covid and this was understandably scaled back during the height of the pandemic due to the revenue losses, the agreement was when a normal environment returned the expenses agreement would return to 2019 scanario, if the GAA were unhappy with the expenses at that point fair enough but surely there's a negotiation process involved in this, just looks like they've gone back on there word, also to me just come's across that you've a chip on your shoulder."
The GAA have offered to cover 4 sessions per week.

How many do you want covered ?

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 22/03/2022 11:15:22    2406414

Replying To carlovia:  "The GAA have offered to cover 4 sessions per week.

How many do you want covered ?"
Any team that feels the need to meet up more than four times collectively during a season, pre season or any other time, need to be reeled in.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 22/03/2022 12:04:15    2406428

Replying To Galway9801:  "4 is loads, if a manager wants a player to train any more than that they should tell them to get stuffed.
I'm happy for players to be looked after but I think managers are getting away with murder here, it's them who are abusing players, not the suits in Croker.
An all Ireland medal won in your 20s is great but I wonder is it worth having lifelong back, neck or joint troubles for the next 50 years."
Ah the lazy caricaturing of the inter county managers being the big bad wolves in all of this. I was wondering when it was going to tear it's ugly head. Senior inter county managers are not responsible for the huge workload that rests on the shoulders of our elite young players. Administrators are responsible for that. Tom Ryan talks about "bad practise' at senior inter county level. He is completely ignoring the chronic practise at underage level between the ages of 16 to 20. There are far too many competitions for our elite young players. Universities GAA needs to be completely redrawn. Will it happen? Not a chance. Everyone is happy to acquiesce in the lazy caricaturing of inter county managers and blame them for "bad practise". As for Joe Brolly well he took the soup didn't he?

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 22/03/2022 12:06:22    2406429