Kilcoo V Kilmacud Crokes

Replying To summerof09:  "Kilcoo look absolutely clueless here. Running into blind alleys. Steelstown would be a better match for Crokes."
That must be some team they have down in Steelstown !

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 12/02/2022 19:17:31    2399975

Replying To summerof09:  "Kilcoo look absolutely clueless here. Running into blind alleys. Steelstown would be a better match for Crokes."
This post hasn't aged well in anyways!

Congrats Kilcoo, well deserved.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 12/02/2022 19:17:41    2399976

Replying To MesAmis:  "This post hasn't aged well in anyways!

Congrats Kilcoo, well deserved."
They were brutal in the first half but showed great character to get back into it. Well done to them.

summerof09 (Meath) - Posts: 315 - 12/02/2022 19:24:52    2399977

Two brilliant but also cruel finishes in both the football and hurling finals. Kilcoo were brutal in the first half and I'm sure Mickey Moran had a few choice words at half time. Were Crokes saying the second half was a square ball? Didn't get a close look at it.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 12/02/2022 19:27:32    2399979

Congratulations Kilcoo great turnaround well done

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1222 - 12/02/2022 19:34:43    2399980

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Two brilliant but also cruel finishes in both the football and hurling finals. Kilcoo were brutal in the first half and I'm sure Mickey Moran had a few choice words at half time. Were Crokes saying the second half was a square ball? Didn't get a close look at it."
Not second 'half' second 'goal'.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 12/02/2022 19:37:52    2399981

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Two brilliant but also cruel finishes in both the football and hurling finals. Kilcoo were brutal in the first half and I'm sure Mickey Moran had a few choice words at half time. Were Crokes saying the second half was a square ball? Didn't get a close look at it."
Delighted for Kilcoo, would have been tough on them to have lost a second final.

Second goal looked like a square ball but that's the way it goes.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 12/02/2022 19:39:09    2399982

It looked like a perfectly good goal to me. Crokes have only themselves to blame - they had possession and the keeper kicked an aimless clearance straight into the hands of a Kilcoo player to start the move that led to the goal. Ir was a cruel way to lose but that's the way it goes.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 12/02/2022 19:56:15    2399983

Kilcoo missed a bagful in the first half; and as a result lost their shooting nerve. Kilmacud by contrast were efficient with any chances they got. At half time, the game looked over.

My fellow county man did his best for Kilnmacud, in fairness, including that non-free to put Kilmacud 2 up. In the first half, he gave Kilmacud lads frees for not releasing! He yellow carded a Kilcoo lad after a collision when both players were challenging for the ball; but in a nearly-identical incident in the first half, when the Kilcoo man came off the worst, he did not give a card to the Kilmacud guy. And there were a couple of other non-frees he gave against Kilcoo - for one of them, you could hear the surprise in the voice of the TG4 commentator - "cic saor amach?!!", he said, clearly startled at the decision.

And let's put this in perspective here - this was eventually a county team playing a club team. Kilmacud has literally ten times as many players as Kilcoo. I know people at the Kilmacud club - they have the pick of the second-generation culchie blow-ins. My Dublin mates (with parents from Tipp) have their kids at the Kilmacud U10s - they have TEN U10 teams, and their training for all ages runs from mid-afternoon to 10pm(!) 5 days a week, to accommodate the sheer amount of teams they have. By contrast, one family (brothers and cousins) provides two thirds of Kilcoo's first team. Given the huge asymmetry in player resources and coaching staff, Kilmacud should have won this by a bagful.

All the focus will be on Kilcoo's crazy first goal - but Kilmacud only scored *2 points in the second half* - if you only score 2 points in the second half, you don't "deserve" to win anything.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 12/02/2022 19:56:18    2399984

Replying To essmac:  "Kilcoo missed a bagful in the first half; and as a result lost their shooting nerve. Kilmacud by contrast were efficient with any chances they got. At half time, the game looked over.

My fellow county man did his best for Kilnmacud, in fairness, including that non-free to put Kilmacud 2 up. In the first half, he gave Kilmacud lads frees for not releasing! He yellow carded a Kilcoo lad after a collision when both players were challenging for the ball; but in a nearly-identical incident in the first half, when the Kilcoo man came off the worst, he did not give a card to the Kilmacud guy. And there were a couple of other non-frees he gave against Kilcoo - for one of them, you could hear the surprise in the voice of the TG4 commentator - "cic saor amach?!!", he said, clearly startled at the decision.

And let's put this in perspective here - this was eventually a county team playing a club team. Kilmacud has literally ten times as many players as Kilcoo. I know people at the Kilmacud club - they have the pick of the second-generation culchie blow-ins. My Dublin mates (with parents from Tipp) have their kids at the Kilmacud U10s - they have TEN U10 teams, and their training for all ages runs from mid-afternoon to 10pm(!) 5 days a week, to accommodate the sheer amount of teams they have. By contrast, one family (brothers and cousins) provides two thirds of Kilcoo's first team. Given the huge asymmetry in player resources and coaching staff, Kilmacud should have won this by a bagful.

All the focus will be on Kilcoo's crazy first goal - but Kilmacud only scored *2 points in the second half* - if you only score 2 points in the second half, you don't "deserve" to win anything."
You know, most people are just happy for Kilcoo on a great comeback and achievement.

You, on the other hand, obviously have "issues" that have nothing whatsoever to do with that. Did you get beaten by the Crokes under 10s at some stage or what?

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2554 - 12/02/2022 20:07:35    2399986

Replying To essmac:  "Kilcoo missed a bagful in the first half; and as a result lost their shooting nerve. Kilmacud by contrast were efficient with any chances they got. At half time, the game looked over.

All the focus will be on Kilcoo's crazy first goal - but Kilmacud only scored *2 points in the second half* - if you only score 2 points in the second half, you don't "deserve" to win anything."
Kilcoo only managed 2 in the 1st half and Crokes 2 in the 2nd half so for whatever there was poor scoring into the canal end. All the focus is rightly on that first goal as without it Crokes would likely have won narrowly in normal time and few could say they didn't deserve the win. Not sure what Crokes was at in extra time when 2 points up approaching injury time in extra time, poor effort at game management and defending to level two Kilcoo players unmarked for that 2nd goal and match winner.

Anyway congrats to Kilcoo they hung in there when probably producing their worst display this year and got over the line at the finish, how they did it will not matter as they celebrate tonight and into next week.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 12/02/2022 20:12:26    2399988

So you know people whose children were born in Dublin, who play club football in Dublin - when will this injustice end.

You have a Dublin mate, whose parents are from Tipp, whose kids play for Crokes - essentially the kidsGrandparents are from Tipp.

Ergo, Crokes are a county, team that a hell of a jump.

Almost all that whole team are from the area, very unfair.

And you can give over with the David Vs Goliath analogy, Micky Moran isn't there for a bag of crisps with his Porter down the local in Kilcoo…..

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 12/02/2022 20:54:01    2399998

Well done and congratulations to Kilcoo, great victory for the club, they done it the hard way, they were desperate in the first half.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 12/02/2022 21:57:55    2400023

Was neutral about the game
But when i heard the carry on of the Kilmacud crowd
I was hoping Kilcoo would do the buisness and quiten them
By god they surely did fair play to them
I found there jeering and cheering of the wided by Kilcoo poor from
It was a from of arogance and poor refection on them really
Thats not a relection on the Kilmacud team fine players all
While Kilmacud team played well they prob shuold have closed it out really

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 13/02/2022 09:17:14    2400030

Thats it in a nut shell, well said

germac (Down) - Posts: 534 - 13/02/2022 09:50:29    2400034

I was hoping Kilcoo would get the job done, but Kilmacud definitely let that one slip at the end.
All they had to do was see out the last 90 seconds. They had possession on a big pitch against a very tired team who were struggling to put pressure on them to get the ball back.
For some reason the Crokes goalkeeper was way out on the sideline making himself an option. He got possession, got into trouble and just booted the ball away into the middle of the pitch.
Because he was so far out, someone had to go back and cover the goal and defence wasn't organised. There was panic then as Kilcoo moved the ball forward and Ryan Johnston was left unmarked in front of the goal. The lad on the line made a great stop, but Jerome was there to get the rebound.
A cruel way to lose it, but very avoidable. Kilcoo had some very poor misses during the game and never really got going, but they kept going and got their reward in the end. A great and well deserved achievement by them after years of effort.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 13/02/2022 10:06:30    2400040

Replying To rhudson:  "Was neutral about the game
But when i heard the carry on of the Kilmacud crowd
I was hoping Kilcoo would do the buisness and quiten them
By god they surely did fair play to them
I found there jeering and cheering of the wided by Kilcoo poor from
It was a from of arogance and poor refection on them really
Thats not a relection on the Kilmacud team fine players all
While Kilmacud team played well they prob shuold have closed it out really"
Brilliant win and finish just like the hurling game. It's always nice to see teams win their first. I was especially delighted for Micky Moran. What did the Kilmacud crowd do ?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 13/02/2022 10:23:59    2400049

What's really annoying about all Dublin crowd's booing of freetakers is the lack of criticism by commentators, media or GAA officialdom.
If it was any other County the commentators etc would be condemning it in the strongest terms.
How about an official announcement over public address calling in the booers to desist?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1416 - 13/02/2022 11:04:20    2400056

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "What's really annoying about all Dublin crowd's booing of freetakers is the lack of criticism by commentators, media or GAA officialdom.
If it was any other County the commentators etc would be condemning it in the strongest terms.
How about an official announcement over public address calling in the booers to desist?"
And you'd think the demographic of their supporters would be above such antics. The south county Dublin set couldn't possibly be uncouth at a match.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1417 - 13/02/2022 11:20:54    2400062

should the referee not be from a neutral province as the tyrone man clearly favoured kilcoo, ps niall brannigan never shut his mouth sledging the kilmacud player the whole match, disgraceful.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 13/02/2022 11:37:53    2400063