Mayo GAA Thread

Replying To Cbar:  "Christ Cluichethar.... when you say it like that. I don't remember the 70's or much of the '80's - a dark time for Mayo football but I'm scarred from '96 and I remember vividly walking out of the old canal end that day thinking not to worry, we'll get it next year..... I wish I was that naive today!!"
I remember leaving the Canal End after we failed to score against Kerry in the second half of an All Ireland semi final. We had a decent first half that day & a disastrous second. Remember time refuses to stop it will always keep moving on. There's always next year is taking on a little more anxiety at this stage.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 04/07/2023 17:06:29    2492231

Replying To eoinog:  "It's not like me to stand up for Mayo but I think you are very harsh. There were several players introduced to the panel this year with about 4 on the team. It's only when you are in the melting pot of a really big game in Croker that you know how good or bad these new players are. There were 2 big incidents that sucked the life out of Mayo. The first one was the youngster that made the blunder for the Dublin goal. The second one was hitting the post when it seems easier to score. On another day Jordan Flynn's goal would have stood. In the eyes of the management they had the best panel of players that's in Mayo right now."
I think I'm pretty fair. I'm having a go at management more than the players. Why was O'Shea taken off. Why wasn't Mayo dropping balls into the square, O'Shea had proved he could win most high balls. Our forwards refused to take opportunities that were presented and this wasn't the first game this happened in. Louth, Cork and Galway games we had the same problem. Wide open 35m out and refusing to take a score it ridiculous. Now I don't know if that's management or if it's the players themselves but that has to change.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 04/07/2023 17:13:46    2492232

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Lads some perspective is needed. Next year the starting Mayo team will have just one player who started the 2017 final. That is some overhaul of players in 6 years. We are behind Kerry and Dublin at the minute but it wouldn't take a huge change for us to get back to a semi final/final in the next couple of years. Up front as always is the problem."
Not sure how relevant the 2017 final is. We had an experienced panel of players this year. A lot of them have played in 2 AI finals, won 2 connacht titles, won 1 or 2 national leagues and beaten Dublin and Kerry in championship over the last two years. Diarmuid O'Connor didn't start in 2017 yet has been playing for Mayo since 2014 and has 4 connacht medals.

The point is we can't use inexperience as a reason for last Sunday.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 04/07/2023 19:53:53    2492278

I think we sadly need to abandon the running game, off the cuff football or "chaos" as some outside commentators call it. Kerry brought in Paddy Tally. We need a defensive structure/plan that works.

I believe McStay will skate up his backroom team.

We are in transition and decline since 2017 but are still relevant and competitive. All is not lost. It will take time again but Mayo will be back in the senior final before a lot of those laughing at us see their own county in one.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 04/07/2023 20:52:26    2492287

Replying To Cbar:  "You're right on conceding goals in finals.

But does McStay have a choice other than to go with rookies in defense? Granted playing Loftus at CB hasn't worked out and McStay should really have seen that before pulling him before the Galway game. But other than that, the age profile of Mayo back 7 is pretty young and I bodes well for the future IMO.

Bear in mind last year Keegan and Mullin were 2 of the back 6 - I think they did very well this year without them."
You are right and to be honest I hate the way we seem so eager to play one on one as if we are following some proud tradition. We have to be more compact in defence. The age profile is good and the likes of Coyne and Mcbrien are going to lead the way and become real dogs. And we have a serious keeper now. Back in the day we had the likes of Hennelly and Ger Caff, great servants but exposed on the biggest day more than once. We have a solid base now.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7899 - 04/07/2023 21:16:20    2492291

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Lads some perspective is needed. Next year the starting Mayo team will have just one player who started the 2017 final. That is some overhaul of players in 6 years. We are behind Kerry and Dublin at the minute but it wouldn't take a huge change for us to get back to a semi final/final in the next couple of years. Up front as always is the problem."
As a Sligo man with Dublin parents I hope to **** Mayo never win Sam, great losers but awful winners. There's a few players (keegan) etc and a few friends from Mayo that you'd live to see enjoy that day but just not enough to outweigh the absolute cocky shower of clowns you meet from mayo every year

sligosham (Sligo) - Posts: 23 - 04/07/2023 21:56:45    2492300

Replying To cluichethar:  "I think I'm pretty fair. I'm having a go at management more than the players. Why was O'Shea taken off. Why wasn't Mayo dropping balls into the square, O'Shea had proved he could win most high balls. Our forwards refused to take opportunities that were presented and this wasn't the first game this happened in. Louth, Cork and Galway games we had the same problem. Wide open 35m out and refusing to take a score it ridiculous. Now I don't know if that's management or if it's the players themselves but that has to change."
From a neutral observer I totally agree. Made no sense taking O Shea off especially when Mayo needed goals and O Shea the main threat in and around the square.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 275 - 04/07/2023 23:04:44    2492306

Replying To cluichethar:  "I think I'm pretty fair. I'm having a go at management more than the players. Why was O'Shea taken off. Why wasn't Mayo dropping balls into the square, O'Shea had proved he could win most high balls. Our forwards refused to take opportunities that were presented and this wasn't the first game this happened in. Louth, Cork and Galway games we had the same problem. Wide open 35m out and refusing to take a score it ridiculous. Now I don't know if that's management or if it's the players themselves but that has to change."
The simple answer is that you don't have the players at this moment in time. Could you see Murchen, Fitzsimmons or Gannon making the mistakes that led to the second goal ? Could you see Mannion, Costello, O Callaghan missing the goal chance? Mayo have used a lot of players since the new Mgt came along. You have also lost Keegan and Mullen.You will always be in the top 6 teams but there's no All Ireland in the foreseeable future. It's becoming increasingly obvious that Tyrone picked up probably the softest All Ireland since the establishment of the GAA. That day was your biggest downfall.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 05/07/2023 08:19:52    2492311

Hard luck guys at the weekend.

TBH I didnt see that 2nd half panning out the way it did.

Was it Mayo fatigue.? possibly... Yes, Dublin upped the tempo and intensity but I certainly wont be getting carried away with it. Kerry are still the team to beat and look the most likely to win the AI.

I for one was glad AOS was taken off, as I felt he was causing us all sorts of problems.
There was a cheer when he was subbed and for me, that shows how highly a lot of fans, inc myself regard him.

I feel he is always an easy target for abuse and excuses, but I would have him in any team I play in.
COC is a different matter, but I wont go down that road.... grrrrr... ;o)

I agree, I thought is was a strange decision taking him off.

I really thought ye would have a great shot at Sam this year after the League and 1st game v kerry, but it looks like you peaked far too early this season.

Anyway, reset, and hopefully ye get over the line next year. ps Forget about winning the league next season - it means nothing in the greater scheme of things. Hopefully AOS is still on board next season.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 05/07/2023 08:54:15    2492318

Replying To MayoDan:  "Not sure how relevant the 2017 final is. We had an experienced panel of players this year. A lot of them have played in 2 AI finals, won 2 connacht titles, won 1 or 2 national leagues and beaten Dublin and Kerry in championship over the last two years. Diarmuid O'Connor didn't start in 2017 yet has been playing for Mayo since 2014 and has 4 connacht medals.

The point is we can't use inexperience as a reason for last Sunday."
I didn't say it's an overall excuse I am saying we basically have a brand new panel in a 6 year period. That's a huge, huge change in that period of time.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7899 - 05/07/2023 10:24:34    2492335

Replying To yew_tree:  "I think we sadly need to abandon the running game, off the cuff football or "chaos" as some outside commentators call it. Kerry brought in Paddy Tally. We need a defensive structure/plan that works.

I believe McStay will skate up his backroom team.

We are in transition and decline since 2017 but are still relevant and competitive. All is not lost. It will take time again but Mayo will be back in the senior final before a lot of those laughing at us see their own county in one."
Transition and decline since 2017. Ya 2017 was the peak of that great team that was put together at the start of the decade. But isn't it interesting that in this period of decline / transition (6 seasons) we've managed to make 2 finals, 1 SF and 2 QFs.

I believe we have now turned that corner and the quality of the team will rise from here - (I have confidence in McStay and Roch) and I agree, we will be back in a final before most other counties.

I think it was yourself yew_tree that thought we would get relegated this year - and I was fearful. Our season could have replicated Donegals season (no disrespect to any Donegal readers)

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 308 - 05/07/2023 14:48:03    2492446

Replying To Cbar:  "Transition and decline since 2017. Ya 2017 was the peak of that great team that was put together at the start of the decade. But isn't it interesting that in this period of decline / transition (6 seasons) we've managed to make 2 finals, 1 SF and 2 QFs.

I believe we have now turned that corner and the quality of the team will rise from here - (I have confidence in McStay and Roch) and I agree, we will be back in a final before most other counties.

I think it was yourself yew_tree that thought we would get relegated this year - and I was fearful. Our season could have replicated Donegals season (no disrespect to any Donegal readers)"
We lost two All Ireland finals since 2017. We shouldn't look on reaching two more, from eleven, All Ireland finals, like it was some sort of achievement because it wasn't. Not like 1989 where we reached a final after 38 years. We were well beaten in both finals, two finals that beforehand, we had realistic chances of winning. We need to be learning from all games, losses, wins, draws and improving and looking for consistency. Not looking on chances created but on decisions made and scores taken at the crucial moments in big games.

Dublin won the knockout games in 2023 they needed to so far. Division 2 final, Leinster Final, All Ireland quarter final. A top team.

We won Division One final, lost to Roscommon in Connacht, lost an All Ireland quarter final. Not a top team.

Reaching the latter stages of competitions doesn't make us a good team. Winning the top competitions foes. We're a top 8 team and have a lot of work to do before we can compete with Dublin, Kerry or Derry, nevermind thinking about winning an All Ireland.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 05/07/2023 22:14:01    2492546

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I didn't say it's an overall excuse I am saying we basically have a brand new panel in a 6 year period. That's a huge, huge change in that period of time."
In my opinion McStay had his championship team picked from the start of the year. In the league he basically played the same players with few exceptions. Yes there's been a big turnover but not using the league games better has cost us. It will be interesting to see the top scorers in the Mayo Championship this year.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 08/07/2023 12:45:04    2493111

Replying To cluichethar:  "In my opinion McStay had his championship team picked from the start of the year. In the league he basically played the same players with few exceptions. Yes there's been a big turnover but not using the league games better has cost us. It will be interesting to see the top scorers in the Mayo Championship this year."
This thing always comes up. I don't think there is anyone in club championship that is ignored. The step up is huge. We play Carney and Flynn in half forward line and hope they score. I will stand corrected but who do we actually think could break into that forward line and help ROD and Conroy. COC I hope will be back. Maybe give Towey more time but for me he is a bit of a Varley kinda player, all the skills but just not physically up to it come the biggest stage. Top scorer in club championship last year? Even Regan I think? That proves my point.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7899 - 08/07/2023 14:10:35    2493121

I too was expecting more from Mayo this year but I still think future is bright. In my humble opinion winning the league division 1 title is alot harder to win than a provincial title (maybe Ulster aside but not certain either). Mayo won the league and that's a great starting block. I myself would prefer a league title now to a provincial. Yes the stumbled after the Kerry win but it's year one for McStay and good managers learn more from defeats than wins and McStay is a good manager. Next year Cillian will be much fitter (still a young man) and I can't see too many retirements (bar bigAidan) altho from what I've seen this year he still might have something to add next year. I think your forwards will be in a much better position too so keep the faith Mayo!

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 08/07/2023 14:27:06    2493123

Replying To TheFlaker:  "This thing always comes up. I don't think there is anyone in club championship that is ignored. The step up is huge. We play Carney and Flynn in half forward line and hope they score. I will stand corrected but who do we actually think could break into that forward line and help ROD and Conroy. COC I hope will be back. Maybe give Towey more time but for me he is a bit of a Varley kinda player, all the skills but just not physically up to it come the biggest stage. Top scorer in club championship last year? Even Regan I think? That proves my point."
Without a decent run we'll never know. Giving a player 5 minutes at the end of a match tells us nothing. Playing players out of position just because they're big and strong hasn't worked. Turning down shots wide open from 35m out is unfathomable. Conroy was 10% of the player he was before his injury, hopefully he will be back to full power next year. Out from Ryan O'Donoghue & O'Shea our forwards were abysmal and not only in the Dublin game but in the last 3. We keep saying that we need forwards that can score but for whatever reason we never give them a good run to see what they can do. Next years league I hope that will change. The clock is ticking on us winning an All Ireland championship so I don't care about hurt feelings.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 08/07/2023 17:08:13    2493146

Replying To cluichethar:  "Without a decent run we'll never know. Giving a player 5 minutes at the end of a match tells us nothing. Playing players out of position just because they're big and strong hasn't worked. Turning down shots wide open from 35m out is unfathomable. Conroy was 10% of the player he was before his injury, hopefully he will be back to full power next year. Out from Ryan O'Donoghue & O'Shea our forwards were abysmal and not only in the Dublin game but in the last 3. We keep saying that we need forwards that can score but for whatever reason we never give them a good run to see what they can do. Next years league I hope that will change. The clock is ticking on us winning an All Ireland championship so I don't care about hurt feelings."
Thought Conroy was sharp v Dublin they just closed off the inside space second half. I just think Towey is not quite that level. I have seen him play full games for Mayo? Didn't stand out. For all the good Aido does he still doesn't score. Boland probably the best scoring forward not in the panel in the county, but that's for different reasons Still waiting on others to step up.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7899 - 08/07/2023 17:18:10    2493150

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Thought Conroy was sharp v Dublin they just closed off the inside space second half. I just think Towey is not quite that level. I have seen him play full games for Mayo? Didn't stand out. For all the good Aido does he still doesn't score. Boland probably the best scoring forward not in the panel in the county, but that's for different reasons Still waiting on others to step up."
The only full games Towey and a few others have played for Mayo is in the FBD league under the dome. Which means nothing. Horan played him down in Kerry in the league against the wind and rain in the first half then took him off at half time. You have to know how to play players. O'Shea had one of his best scoring seasons ever for Mayo. Still can't understand why he wasn't put in the square and drop high balls in. He was winning every ball high or low that came near him. Just hoping there will be a vast improvement all round top to bottom next year.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 08/07/2023 19:57:51    2493178

Replying To cluichethar:  "The only full games Towey and a few others have played for Mayo is in the FBD league under the dome. Which means nothing. Horan played him down in Kerry in the league against the wind and rain in the first half then took him off at half time. You have to know how to play players. O'Shea had one of his best scoring seasons ever for Mayo. Still can't understand why he wasn't put in the square and drop high balls in. He was winning every ball high or low that came near him. Just hoping there will be a vast improvement all round top to bottom next year."
I watched Towey against Monaghan in Castlebar. In a league game. Anonymous from play. Started and given almost the whole game. This isn't anything personal against Towey but surely the coaches know the craic. O Shea had a good year but 1 point from play in Championship. Yes I know he is a link man just your full forward has to be a scoring threat when in there.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7899 - 08/07/2023 20:56:38    2493206

I totally understand why AOS is a hero and well loved by most Mayo supporters ( and Managers ) but he has been your achilles heel for at least the last 3 years. He occupies a position in the forwards but his scoring stats are miserable. A few nice offloads here and there but if the opposition are really worried about him ( which I would say is only occasional ) , it's so easy to negate him. Obvious now because of his age but Mayo have to build an offensive plan which doesn't involve AOS.

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 214 - 08/07/2023 23:07:31    2493248