Mayo GAA Thread

Replying To anotheralias:  "Might be wrong about semis. For example if all 4 favourites win QF then armagh cant play derry which means dublin cant play kerry. But dublin could draw either armagh or derry."
Is semis open draw, or is it 'fixed' in line with historical method of rotating the provincial champs?

If it's the latter, then Connacht play Munster, that's Armagh/Monaghan v Kerry/Tyrone.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3423 - 30/06/2023 10:56:17    2490800

Replying To GreenandRed:  "We're not quite back but we're improving. These bucks will put a smile on our faces in the meantime.

Maigh Eo Abú!

link"
best of luck to everyone with their manifestations over the next few days

Immer (Mayo) - Posts: 31 - 30/06/2023 11:33:44    2490815

I would love to be in Dublin this weekend, have always enjoyed been there playing the Dubs. Never had a problem, always great banter and craic. Will be a great game and hopefully Mayo forwards will be less wasteful than the last 3 games.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 30/06/2023 14:36:32    2490858

Replying To cluichethar:  "I would love to be in Dublin this weekend, have always enjoyed been there playing the Dubs. Never had a problem, always great banter and craic. Will be a great game and hopefully Mayo forwards will be less wasteful than the last 3 games."
Mayo forwards weren't wasteful against Galway at all?!

In fact, it was our clinical finishing that made the difference.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 30/06/2023 16:42:58    2490881

Replying To republican:  "Call me crazy but I am thinking of backing Mayo to win 7-9 pts"
You should look a price on that Crazy.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 30/06/2023 18:21:58    2490893

Safe traveling to all. Would love to be heading up but TV this time will have to do. Should be a great game. Up Mayo.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 02/07/2023 11:06:33    2491255

Looking forward to the game today, nervous but excited for it. Mayo havent played great the last few games so you would hope Dublin in Croke Park in a knockout game will have the players raring to go and bring out the best in them and the win over Galway should also have given them confidence and some momentum. Mayo have a good panel now so that should make up for playing 3rd weekend in a row.
Hard to know how good Dublin are, but a Mayo or Kerry is the game Dublin want or need to get themselves revved up. Murchan and McCaffery are huge players for them to have back, pace is crucial for teams and especially in Croke Park. If they had either player 2 years ago i dont think Mayo would have won that game. Both havent played much football though so will they be able for a full game or not pick up a knock. Costello will probably come into the team as well, he will have to be watched closely id put O Hora on him and use his physicality to try and quiet him. McBrien will have the toughest job of the day and pick up O Callaghan, he will have to be well marshalled if Mayo have any chance of winning. If Mayo can stop Dublin getting any goals then that would be huge way to beating them but Im not sure are Mayo there yet defensively, they are trying to implement a system but it will be next year until its fully effective i think.
There will be changes to Mayo team as well, hard to call which ones though as they will want to bring lads with pace on in the second half. Hession was Mayos best player 2 years ago in this game, Dublin couldn't handle his attacking runs, so do they hold him until the game opens up a bit. Mayo will have to use high ball into O Shea today, he will create chances and then Dublin will have to reshuffle as i dont think anyone in the full back line would be able to mark him if the right ball is going in.

Will be a great game, best of luck to the 4 teams today, may the best teams win.

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 602 - 02/07/2023 11:38:46    2491271

Replying To republican:  "Call me crazy but I am thinking of backing Mayo to win 7-9 pts"
Yep you are crazy

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 02/07/2023 18:32:37    2491448

McStay got some excellent performances out of Mayo in his first year, won a national title

Hard day at the office today, but plenty of positives to take out of 2023

I wonder did yiz tire a bit today after the Galway game?

Anyway hard luck

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 02/07/2023 18:57:21    2491468

MAYO HOW DO WE HAVE THE NESTOR CUP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

MTS (Galway) - Posts: 279 - 02/07/2023 18:57:22    2491469

Tough luck Mayo. It's a hard drive home after a tough day like that.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 02/07/2023 19:01:49    2491475

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Lol."
72 years, and counting.

LOL.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 802 - 02/07/2023 19:08:49    2491480

Replying To MTS:  "MAYO HOW DO WE HAVE THE NESTOR CUP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Stay classy MTS.
At least ye beat Mayo this year ....oh wait

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 02/07/2023 19:18:13    2491490

Replying To eoinog:  "Yep you are crazy"
A 19 to 21 point swing there Chief! Dont bother sending the CV into Paddy Power!

Onion_Sack (Dublin) - Posts: 203 - 02/07/2023 19:20:10    2491493

McStay made a few strange calls IMO, very quick to take of AOS I thought, he was involved in almost all of our 1st half scores and was one of the few who could match Dublin in the Rough and Tumble. Did not bring on the championship top scorer of all time until the game was already over, abandoned the "keep the bear in the square" mantra that had been such a success all year. It was a bit too much to expect that any county could magically replace the likes of Keegan, Higgins, Barrett and Boyle with players of the same caliber and so it has proved. Still a League Cup in his first year is fair enough.

martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 499 - 02/07/2023 19:30:08    2491501

Congratulations to Dublin on an excellent win.
Now.
This game goes was a total excrement display by Mayo, Management and Players. O'Shea the only player winning any ball up front is taken off. Players taking the ball into cover and losing it. Going direct looked like an option but was used enough. Just a horrible display. 4 games in a row that our forwards underperformed unfortunately I expect when the league starts again in January the same players will be playing. At least my weekends from now on won't carry the same anxiety.
I think McStay and his back room team can now start working on having a plan B because it's obvious not f*****g up plan A isn't a good plan B.
What a horrible display to end our championship.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 02/07/2023 19:35:26    2491510

Replying To peiledoir20:  "72 years, and counting.

LOL."
xx

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7900 - 02/07/2023 19:45:30    2491517

Congrats to the dubs…beat us all over the field. All the best going forward. We can have no complaints.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 02/07/2023 19:45:45    2491518

Hard luck to Mayo. A great first half performance and an almost inexplicable implosion in the second half. Connacht teams' obsession with the league this year has bitten us all. Nothing to show for any of us.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 903 - 02/07/2023 20:37:12    2491552

Replying To yew_tree:  "Congrats to the dubs…beat us all over the field. All the best going forward. We can have no complaints."
Completely, even David Gough had a decent game for once. Still wondering how the Dubs spiked Mayo half time tea. It's the only explanation for our players missing the second half. For the 57th year in a row on to next year for me.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 02/07/2023 20:55:10    2491562