GAA Grounds Unavailable

This is an outrage and a thundering disgrace. The gaa are nicknamed the grab all association and the Cork County board are showing why. This is pure greed. The gaa was set up for gaa sports and while I understand stadia have to be paid for any concerts or shows should be done without disruption of our national games. This is the same county board that voted against opening up Croke Park. We are rebels but we will sell you out for 40 pieces of silver.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 01/02/2022 19:35:41    2397813

Note the football game stays in Paric Ui Rinn. Why because the same numbers will be at it where ever it is played anyway. There is no other hurling game that weekend so with it in Thurles support will come from Tipp and Limerick and maybe further a field. More from Clare also than would go to Cork. However if Clare wanted to give their team a better chance of advancing with an extra home game they would insist this game scheduled for Pairc Ui Chaoimh and there is no clash of GAA fixture or pitch issue so you play us in Ennis.
This is a cute move. Cork score a threesome. A concert. Bigger return from the game in Thurles and don't give home advantage to the opposition. The legacy of Frank Murphy is alive and well.
I don't know how these decisions are reached but I suspect that the Munster counties including us with no skin in the game voted it okay and Clare like us were out gunned. If they okayed it themselves then they let their team and supporters down. No concert trumps a games fixture and when it does you lose the the fixture call.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 01/02/2022 22:01:06    2397840

Replying To KillingFields:  "Ed Sheeran and Westlife are playing on PuC this summer.
think there could be some other acts playing as well. in PuC"
Elton John is playing there in the beginning of July.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2454 - 02/02/2022 08:42:01    2397846

Replying To Canuck:  "Note the football game stays in Paric Ui Rinn. Why because the same numbers will be at it where ever it is played anyway. There is no other hurling game that weekend so with it in Thurles support will come from Tipp and Limerick and maybe further a field. More from Clare also than would go to Cork. However if Clare wanted to give their team a better chance of advancing with an extra home game they would insist this game scheduled for Pairc Ui Chaoimh and there is no clash of GAA fixture or pitch issue so you play us in Ennis.
This is a cute move. Cork score a threesome. A concert. Bigger return from the game in Thurles and don't give home advantage to the opposition. The legacy of Frank Murphy is alive and well.
I don't know how these decisions are reached but I suspect that the Munster counties including us with no skin in the game voted it okay and Clare like us were out gunned. If they okayed it themselves then they let their team and supporters down. No concert trumps a games fixture and when it does you lose the the fixture call."
Are you joking me. The numbers in pairc Uí rinn will be much lower. Kerry Cork in pairc Uí Caoimh would be over 30000.I have no problems with concerts once it does nt upset gaa games. The stadia are for gaa firstly. That's the ethos.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 02/02/2022 09:47:45    2397862

As read last night Cork were guaranteed 3 championship home games at PUC this year and have willingly moved 2 of them, that just sounds bonkers.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 02/02/2022 11:00:11    2397877

Replying To Galway9801:  "Since its been built how many times has PUC been full to capacity? I don't think any game I've seen there has even been half full tbh."
Off the top my head Cork v Limerick in 2018 got 37k and Cork V Tipp in 19 and Wexford v Waterford in 17 both got 30-35k

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 02/02/2022 11:01:18    2397878

Replying To Canuck:  "Note the football game stays in Paric Ui Rinn. Why because the same numbers will be at it where ever it is played anyway. There is no other hurling game that weekend so with it in Thurles support will come from Tipp and Limerick and maybe further a field. More from Clare also than would go to Cork. However if Clare wanted to give their team a better chance of advancing with an extra home game they would insist this game scheduled for Pairc Ui Chaoimh and there is no clash of GAA fixture or pitch issue so you play us in Ennis.
I don't know how these decisions are reached but I suspect that the Munster counties including us with no skin in the game voted it okay and Clare like us were out gunned. If they okayed it themselves then they let their team and supporters down. No concert trumps a games fixture and when it does you lose the the fixture call."
This is a disgrace, but its been happening for some time now, wasn't All Ireland Semi Final of Mayo vs Kerry in 2014 played in Limerick because an American Football match was booked in Croke Park,

I mean if an All Ireland Football Semi final isn't something that can take priority over some some gimmick showcase match or concert, then maybe we need to overhaul the GAA hierachy and start questioning why GAA stadiums are not booked for the biggest matches of the year.

GAA facilities first and foremost should be available for GAA fixtures, after that by all means accommodate other stuff.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 02/02/2022 12:16:02    2397913

Replying To KillingFields:  "Ed Sheeran and Westlife are playing on PuC this summer.
think there could be some other acts playing as well. in PuC"
Westlife? Jaysus, even having to watch Cork in a football game would be better than listening to that lot. In fairness to Sheerin and Elton John, they have ability.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1909 - 02/02/2022 12:22:50    2397917

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "This is an outrage and a thundering disgrace. The gaa are nicknamed the grab all association and the Cork County board are showing why. This is pure greed. The gaa was set up for gaa sports and while I understand stadia have to be paid for any concerts or shows should be done without disruption of our national games. This is the same county board that voted against opening up Croke Park. We are rebels but we will sell you out for 40 pieces of silver."
This is the legacy of the GAA having no oversight on capital projects despite the injection of €30 Million of taxpayers money on PUC & also Cork County Board & certain individuals who were allowed to do as they wish. To allow such a massive over run has landed them into this situation. Whats even more embarrassing for all involved is that there were three different sums arrived at as to the extent of the overrun, one by the GAA themselves, one by the then County Board Chairperson & the last by a Review Group, not much hope for financial accountability & prudence when three different figures were given. Remember also that Cork County Board then found a number of Bank Accounts with a large sum of money in them, accounts that they weren't even aware of ! You can also see why local residents objected to the land grab of the public park by PUC for extra parking, its an insatiable need for more & more. Fair play to Cork City Council for not giving in, they gave them a green light for the Development of PUC, but PUC couldn't even plan it right after spending €90 Million & came back looking to grab the public park land. Then they get so desperate that they take on a sponsor who there are some very serious concerns about & how his companies treat workers & workers rights, no standards at all. Someone pointed out that PUC might be used 10 times in the season but that something had to pay for the Stadium, well then let the concerts work around the games. The games should be foremost & it beggars belief that you would spend multi millions on a stadium for Gaelic games but actually not play them there at all. The well paid hierarchy of the GAA should be held accountable for what is a hugely embarrassing story. As you said in your post, all down to greed & the failure & incompetence of many who are full time paid officals of the GAA to have oversight of all capital expenditure. The real losers in all of this is the GAA fans who were looking forward to the games in the Stadium & Cork clubs who lose out all the time due to the level of the debt to be serviced, they are blameless. Ed is the big winner.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 02/02/2022 12:52:35    2397926

Replying To GaryMc82:  "This is a disgrace, but its been happening for some time now, wasn't All Ireland Semi Final of Mayo vs Kerry in 2014 played in Limerick because an American Football match was booked in Croke Park,

I mean if an All Ireland Football Semi final isn't something that can take priority over some some gimmick showcase match or concert, then maybe we need to overhaul the GAA hierachy and start questioning why GAA stadiums are not booked for the biggest matches of the year.

GAA facilities first and foremost should be available for GAA fixtures, after that by all means accommodate other stuff."
Ah disgrace is a bit much. Stadiums need to be earning money all the time and American football and concerts are huge money spinners and An All ireland semi final Replay being moved isnt the worst thing now is it?
It helped lot of people as it meant not bringing them to dublin again....
GAA stadiums need the income from events other than GAA matches.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3504 - 02/02/2022 12:56:42    2397929

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "This is an outrage and a thundering disgrace. The gaa are nicknamed the grab all association and the Cork County board are showing why. This is pure greed. The gaa was set up for gaa sports and while I understand stadia have to be paid for any concerts or shows should be done without disruption of our national games. This is the same county board that voted against opening up Croke Park. We are rebels but we will sell you out for 40 pieces of silver."
Little overreacting there,the concerts were announced last September,we didn't know what was happening the following year with games,this a nothing story during the silly season,we have plenty of great stadiums in Munster,it's good for Cork and thurlas,win win for everyone.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 02/02/2022 13:07:53    2397937

Replying To moc.dna:  "This is the legacy of the GAA having no oversight on capital projects despite the injection of €30 Million of taxpayers money on PUC & also Cork County Board & certain individuals who were allowed to do as they wish. To allow such a massive over run has landed them into this situation. Whats even more embarrassing for all involved is that there were three different sums arrived at as to the extent of the overrun, one by the GAA themselves, one by the then County Board Chairperson & the last by a Review Group, not much hope for financial accountability & prudence when three different figures were given. Remember also that Cork County Board then found a number of Bank Accounts with a large sum of money in them, accounts that they weren't even aware of ! You can also see why local residents objected to the land grab of the public park by PUC for extra parking, its an insatiable need for more & more. Fair play to Cork City Council for not giving in, they gave them a green light for the Development of PUC, but PUC couldn't even plan it right after spending €90 Million & came back looking to grab the public park land. Then they get so desperate that they take on a sponsor who there are some very serious concerns about & how his companies treat workers & workers rights, no standards at all. Someone pointed out that PUC might be used 10 times in the season but that something had to pay for the Stadium, well then let the concerts work around the games. The games should be foremost & it beggars belief that you would spend multi millions on a stadium for Gaelic games but actually not play them there at all. The well paid hierarchy of the GAA should be held accountable for what is a hugely embarrassing story. As you said in your post, all down to greed & the failure & incompetence of many who are full time paid officals of the GAA to have oversight of all capital expenditure. The real losers in all of this is the GAA fans who were looking forward to the games in the Stadium & Cork clubs who lose out all the time due to the level of the debt to be serviced, they are blameless. Ed is the big winner."
The big winner is the GAA, everyone wins, nobody loses,you do realize that when we develop new stadiums,concerts and other non GAA things are needed to have our great stadiums,as already has pointed out,these concerts were announced last September,the games are still going ahead and ask any gaa hurling supporter,we all love going to thurles,it's the best spot to go for games, Kerry/cork football game is still in cork, nothing story during the silly season.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 02/02/2022 13:14:27    2397942

I'll disagree with my fellow limerick posters..I think questions have to be asked of all who are involved in this stuff..how would you feel if having bought those tickets cork county board were selling to be informed,oh we forgot the concerts,ye must travel to thurles instead and then being told oh also ye will end up in pair ui rinn for championship football v Kerry..ow many will that hold,10 thousand..even on dad days 20 thousand go to football..why not give the matches to Clare and Kerry to host and then get back to some form of normality next year..I wonder what would happen if rebel supporters decided they won't travel to thurles and will not attend pairc ui rinn..it's sometimes the only way the Gaa hierarchy will learn,if they start losing money..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2214 - 02/02/2022 13:25:57    2397946

You can slice it dice it anyway you want. GAA stadiums are built with the primary purpose of playing GAA games. If you want to earn money from other events that is secondary. Did they start out knowing they required concerts to pay for it ? If so, that is **** poor planning and a garden shed is above their level of competence. Did Ed tell them he would be coming back then ?
No wonder Pairc Ui Caoimh finances got in to a mess if simple scheduling could not be done without getting egg in their face.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 02/02/2022 14:54:10    2397972

at the end of the day so many problems come back to the GAA's lack of any proper fixture calendar. hopefully whatever changes made at congress will provide some level of certainty going forward to allow everyone plan their lives .....players, fans, ed sheeran!

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1828 - 02/02/2022 16:17:20    2397990

Replying To Canuck:  "You can slice it dice it anyway you want. GAA stadiums are built with the primary purpose of playing GAA games. If you want to earn money from other events that is secondary. Did they start out knowing they required concerts to pay for it ? If so, that is **** poor planning and a garden shed is above their level of competence. Did Ed tell them he would be coming back then ?
No wonder Pairc Ui Caoimh finances got in to a mess if simple scheduling could not be done without getting egg in their face."
These singers/bands put out a tour schedule and if a venue cant fit them in they generally wont come back if it goes out of their way to do so.
The games can be easily fixed around these tour dates.
look at how any other major venue caters for concerts, events on top of the matches they host.
Stadiums cant rely on match day income alone to survive. Even less in these days post covid and all the income lost over the last 2 years

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3504 - 02/02/2022 17:17:05    2398005

Replying To KillingFields:  "These singers/bands put out a tour schedule and if a venue cant fit them in they generally wont come back if it goes out of their way to do so.
look at how any other major venue caters for concerts, events on top of the matches they host.
Stadiums cant rely on match day income alone to survive. Even less in these days post covid and all the income lost over the last 2 years"
Obviously they can't be fixed around these dates as these games were bumped to another venue. The date was not changed. It is the venue. So now you are saying this tour was set before the fixtures ? Again in competence. Never name the games for a venue that is not available. They whole premises of the new set up was there would be home games for the teams and supporters. You are just trying to put lip stick on a pig and it doesn't look good.
I am not again the GAA earning money form other sources but show integrity towards what you firstly represent and respect for your supporters. These supporters, and players will be around long after the concerts are gone and then it will be up to the locals to dig into their pockets. Cork has shown utmost disrespect of their own and are left bend the rules Munster set out with their approval.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 02/02/2022 17:41:59    2398011

Replying To KillingFields:  "Ah disgrace is a bit much. Stadiums need to be earning money all the time and American football and concerts are huge money spinners and An All ireland semi final Replay being moved isnt the worst thing now is it?
It helped lot of people as it meant not bringing them to dublin again....
GAA stadiums need the income from events other than GAA matches."
Yeah but why cant they plan these things properly so that they are on in the stadium once the munster championship/qualifier stages are over? Its not rocket science.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1905 - 02/02/2022 18:11:49    2398017

Replying To KillingFields:  "These singers/bands put out a tour schedule and if a venue cant fit them in they generally wont come back if it goes out of their way to do so.
Stadiums cant rely on match day income alone to survive. Even less in these days post covid and all the income lost over the last 2 years"
Catch yourself on looking GAA to fit games around concert dates. GAA stadiums are for Gaelic games. GAA calendar on its head and county players flogged to death with the upcoming schedule trying to get games wrapped up for July.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2010 - 02/02/2022 18:16:56    2398019

Some people go do with a refresher on why there is a GAA in the first place! Including a lot of the people getting paid by the rest of us to administer the games. Not as a commercial body.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2545 - 02/02/2022 18:44:27    2398021