National Hurling League 2022

Two very strong teams named,weather looking decent..could lead to a brilliant league final..I'll still tip Waterford to get the win..just hope we won't be talking about the decisions of officials on this occasion..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2206 - 02/04/2022 10:04:46    2409008

Really looking forward to the game tonight. That's a very strong Waterford team they've named and as a Wexford man I'd love to see them go on and win it now after the trimming they gave us. Deise Abu

ChinCanHurl (Wexford) - Posts: 256 - 02/04/2022 10:05:01    2409009

I've no preference in this match. But I fancy Cork to win this evening.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2447 - 02/04/2022 10:32:41    2409016

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "I've no preference in this match. But I fancy Cork to win this evening."
I think if Cork get wiithin 5 points of Waterford they'll be doing well. They're loose at the back and Waterford will score a few goals.

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 02/04/2022 10:45:15    2409019

Replying To Shocs07:  "I think if Cork get wiithin 5 points of Waterford they'll be doing well. They're loose at the back and Waterford will score a few goals."
You could be right. Interestingly, most bookies have Cork as the very slight favourite to win.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2447 - 02/04/2022 11:34:27    2409028

Replying To Shocs07:  "I think if Cork get wiithin 5 points of Waterford they'll be doing well. They're loose at the back and Waterford will score a few goals."
Spot on, 3 half backs who can't defend. Waterford without Barron and Gleeson look focused and are going to take a lot of stopping. Waterford fans give them a bit of space and ye could have bigger days ahead.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 816 - 02/04/2022 20:53:42    2409133

I'm even trying to figure out how they only finished 6 points in front..cork backs totally opened up when ran at..full back line destroyed as was pointed out in posts during the week..very impressive from Waterford..mark coleman completely absent..let's hope that continues for at least another 2 weeks..on another note o donohue can consider himself very lucky with his standing on the calf of a Waterford forward in first half..he loves handing it out but doesn't like when it's put up to him..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2206 - 02/04/2022 21:10:33    2409137

Credit where it's due to Waterford. Superb goal taking in particular especially considering they were without gleeson. Without doubt tonight they proved they have the best panel by a distance at the moment. It's not like the first 15 I'd poor either. Ballygunner's win gave them momentum from the start of the year. This could be the year of years for them. Our lads have to get up to the same highs of last year to have a chance, that's the biggest challenge.

In fairness when cork got within 4 points I thought they still had a chance before that final goal. They definitely kept playing. Home advantage will be worth a few points to them but will they be scarred after conceding 4 goals. That has to play on their minds especially if we start well

Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 366 - 02/04/2022 21:59:38    2409145

I've got a funny feeling this is as good as it's going to get for Waterford this year. Two massive performances, it'll be hard to maintain that and you'd be worried that they have peaked.

On the contrary, the short run in to championship could work to their advantage.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1568 - 03/04/2022 07:04:42    2409149

Congratulations to Waterford. Well done, fine team: big, strong, workmanlike and skillful. If John Kiely wasn't upright and alert already, he certainly is now.

Cork? So, annoying…lots of niggling, unnecessary fouls; hands around the neck and head being the worse. And stamping on opponents! So distasteful!

It's annoying as that Cork team has so much talent and class. Their work-rate is much improved on last year. But still they lack that something. However, they've an excellent find from last year, in Kieran Joyce. He's some operator; cold hurl anywhere; don't think they'd be getting the best out of him at corner-back though!

Here's a suggestion to improve Cork! If I were the manager, I'd drop Horgan, and keep him as an impact sub (he'd be great in that role). I'd put Lehane on the frees. Horgan hasn't the work-rate to counter the counter-attack. I realize that it'd be an unpopular decision on Leeside, but…

A more difficult decision, mid-season, would be to drop the goalie. I'm not saying that Collins is weak, but does he give Cork any real extra edge?

When all analyzed, a fine game of hurling overall, that I really enjoyed.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 03/04/2022 08:19:11    2409153

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I'm even trying to figure out how they only finished 6 points in front..cork backs totally opened up when ran at..full back line destroyed as was pointed out in posts during the week..very impressive from Waterford..mark coleman completely absent..let's hope that continues for at least another 2 weeks..on another note o donohue can consider himself very lucky with his standing on the calf of a Waterford forward in first half..he loves handing it out but doesn't like when it's put up to him.."
Yes indeed, I have long considered SOD a liability- look at all the yellow cards he gets.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 03/04/2022 09:53:43    2409159

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Congratulations to Waterford. Well done, fine team: big, strong, workmanlike and skillful. If John Kiely wasn't upright and alert already, he certainly is now.

Cork? So, annoying…lots of niggling, unnecessary fouls; hands around the neck and head being the worse. And stamping on opponents! So distasteful!

It's annoying as that Cork team has so much talent and class. Their work-rate is much improved on last year. But still they lack that something. However, they've an excellent find from last year, in Kieran Joyce. He's some operator; cold hurl anywhere; don't think they'd be getting the best out of him at corner-back though!

Here's a suggestion to improve Cork! If I were the manager, I'd drop Horgan, and keep him as an impact sub (he'd be great in that role). I'd put Lehane on the frees. Horgan hasn't the work-rate to counter the counter-attack. I realize that it'd be an unpopular decision on Leeside, but…

A more difficult decision, mid-season, would be to drop the goalie. I'm not saying that Collins is weak, but does he give Cork any real extra edge?

When all analyzed, a fine game of hurling overall, that I really enjoyed."
Agree regarding Horgan would be a huge impact immediately which is what you want from the subs bench. I think though that is not their main concern.
Waterford went through that half backline with ease. It wouldn't be fair to attack Cahalane again when the centre half back in particular didn't do any defensive duties. Now look he has brilliant attacking skills but is Coleman at 6 working for Cork I don't think so. It's not working without extra defensive help at least because he has been found consistently wanting in that regard.

Maybe Waterford have done cork the biggest favour of their lives because the usual cockiness had kicked off. Harder to play against them now that they have got a reality check. If cork sort out how/where to play Coleman they can only improve. In fairness to them they didn't die and they kept playing which is a good sign.

Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 366 - 03/04/2022 12:55:57    2409185

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Congratulations to Waterford. Well done, fine team: big, strong, workmanlike and skillful. If John Kiely wasn't upright and alert already, he certainly is now.

When all analyzed, a fine game of hurling overall, that I really enjoyed."
Agreed (for once) . Horgan and Harnedy probably past their best, and time to move on. Joyce is only 20, but should be center back with Coleman midfield. Waterford look good, and will be only getting better. No weak links there, and I can see them finally making the breakthrough!Cork's goalkeeper is weak, gets caught in possession and is not a shot stopper like his predecessors Nash and Cusack. League final was good, in showing where Cork are at, and they have 2 weeks to regroup. Daire O' Leary out for year with broken bone in foot.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 03/04/2022 13:29:08    2409191

Replying To Mads:  "Agree regarding Horgan would be a huge impact immediately which is what you want from the subs bench. I think though that is not their main concern.
Waterford went through that half backline with ease. It wouldn't be fair to attack Cahalane again when the centre half back in particular didn't do any defensive duties. Now look he has brilliant attacking skills but is Coleman at 6 working for Cork I don't think so. It's not working without extra defensive help at least because he has been found consistently wanting in that regard.

Maybe Waterford have done cork the biggest favour of their lives because the usual cockiness had kicked off. Harder to play against them now that they have got a reality check. If cork sort out how/where to play Coleman they can only improve. In fairness to them they didn't die and they kept playing which is a good sign."
i'm sick of saying it which you never mentioned cork will never win anything with damien cahalane or rob downey in the back 6 ....kieran kingston thinks that tippy tappy hurling ( which works in preseason because other teams are only half chasing it ) will cut it come championship......

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1095 - 03/04/2022 13:30:01    2409192

Replying To munsterchamps:  "i'm sick of saying it which you never mentioned cork will never win anything with damien cahalane or rob downey in the back 6 ....kieran kingston thinks that tippy tappy hurling ( which works in preseason because other teams are only half chasing it ) will cut it come championship......"
Fair enough regarding Cahalane to an extent as he had been shown up at full back before on a few occasions however the point I was making was last night the damage was already done ahead of the full backline.
Waterford were allowed to gather steam before they took on the full backline I think you are potentially being premature regarding Downey. Yes he had a tough AI final but Cork haven't been persistent with him as a full back. They may prefer him at half back but Coleman's lack of defensive abilities wouldn't help any line. This season might be the lad's first proper crack in a settled position. I'll wait until the munster round robin at least before I'd cast Downey into the abyss like you.

Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 366 - 03/04/2022 14:23:48    2409208

Replying To munsterchamps:  "i'm sick of saying it which you never mentioned cork will never win anything with damien cahalane or rob downey in the back 6 ....kieran kingston thinks that tippy tappy hurling ( which works in preseason because other teams are only half chasing it ) will cut it come championship......"
The Cork wing backs can't break the first tackle and have to pass the ball back 90% of the time. This prevents their running game getting going because at some point you have to go apast a man- look at Hayes and Byrnes for us they always break the tackle and get everyone moving. I thought their corner backs were good(apart from the horrible stamp). I think last night showed the importance of Fitzgibbon and when he is kept quiet Cork really struggled to get the forwards moving.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 816 - 03/04/2022 14:55:27    2409215

If o Leary is out it will probably be cahalane at full back..more than likely o donohue and Niall o Leary 2 corners..I've aaways thought Coleman was better at half back rather than center..can I ask where Browne from kanturk is gone,he looked like an ideal man for the center..fitzgibbon midfield with who??im expecting Flynn,Barrett,lehane and Horgan to be starting,who will be other 2??how is it cadogan got no time last night or will kingston spring him against us??also his own son is a dilemma,when he's off form he looks dreadful,on a good day can win a match on his own..so he,ll probably start to,that leaves one place up for grabs..on keeper,maybe concentrate on getting basics right before getting involved in other stuff..again last night he didnt have much cover in front of him..it looks as if cork have problems but I'm still wary of them in two weeks time,and after last night think there are big areas to improve on and if they do they'll cause us huge problems..I'm being very serious..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2206 - 03/04/2022 15:30:15    2409226

Replying To CTGAA10:  "If o Leary is out it will probably be cahalane at full back..more than likely o donohue and Niall o Leary 2 corners..I've aaways thought Coleman was better at half back rather than center..can I ask where Browne from kanturk is gone,he looked like an ideal man for the center..fitzgibbon midfield with who??im expecting Flynn,Barrett,lehane and Horgan to be starting,who will be other 2??how is it cadogan got no time last night or will kingston spring him against us??also his own son is a dilemma,when he's off form he looks dreadful,on a good day can win a match on his own..so he,ll probably start to,that leaves one place up for grabs..on keeper,maybe concentrate on getting basics right before getting involved in other stuff..again last night he didnt have much cover in front of him..it looks as if cork have problems but I'm still wary of them in two weeks time,and after last night think there are big areas to improve on and if they do they'll cause us huge problems..I'm being very serious.."
Midfield looks like Millerick partnering Fitzgibbon, as Millerick is expected to fall back to mark Lynch. I would play Joyce at center back to handle Lynch,drop Millerick and use Coleman at midfield. Fitzgibbon center forward with Barrett in corner might add some power to attack.Probably too late to replace goalkeeper, but cut out some of that play acting around goal area. Wouldn't mind seeing Waterford win the All Ireland. They came close in the past, especially 2004 when they had a great team.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 03/04/2022 15:50:30    2409244

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I'm even trying to figure out how they only finished 6 points in front..cork backs totally opened up when ran at..full back line destroyed as was pointed out in posts during the week..very impressive from Waterford..mark coleman completely absent..let's hope that continues for at least another 2 weeks..on another note o donohue can consider himself very lucky with his standing on the calf of a Waterford forward in first half..he loves handing it out but doesn't like when it's put up to him.."
There was another legit goal but the whistle had gone. I prefer to see players stay on the field but given up on what is and what are not red cards. You know I hate embellishment but now maybe understand. If Pendergast rolled around the field holding his leg and screaming the ref would talk to someone and guaranteed someone would have seen something. These are not misses or mistakes. He seen it himself and ignored it. Consistency is all we can ask for. Thankfully Pendergast was not hurt and we can move on.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 03/04/2022 15:57:02    2409247

Replying To Mads:  "Fair enough regarding Cahalane to an extent as he had been shown up at full back before on a few occasions however the point I was making was last night the damage was already done ahead of the full backline.
Waterford were allowed to gather steam before they took on the full backline I think you are potentially being premature regarding Downey. Yes he had a tough AI final but Cork haven't been persistent with him as a full back. They may prefer him at half back but Coleman's lack of defensive abilities wouldn't help any line. This season might be the lad's first proper crack in a settled position. I'll wait until the munster round robin at least before I'd cast Downey into the abyss like you."
The big difference I see is Waterford ability now is to break the tackle. It is easier said than done to stop them bulldozing through. They have learned from Limerick and strengthened up. Lads like Daragh Lyons, Curran,Hutchison and Pendergast etc. would get stopped dead in their tracks some time ago. Kiely is getting there but not quiet strong enough yet and won't be persisted with for a full game.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 03/04/2022 16:04:30    2409251