National Hurling League 2022

Replying To tiobraid:  "I dont think its correct to say thats the cause. Many occasions a disputed handpass is when the player is not being tackled. I dont really understand how you can say someones other hand being held affects their ability to handpass with ball holding hand. It would definitely affect their ability to do under Donovans suggestion.
Or am I interpreting you incorrectly?"
Actually I would say the opposite. The majority of correct hand passes is where the player is out in the open. You are not reading what I am saying. The player trying to make the pass is wrapped by several opposition players hands and has no chance of making a legal hand pass. This can be two, three or four other players dragging his arms and sometimes dangerously wrapping around the neck.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 09/03/2022 16:25:57    2404650

Replying To Canuck:  "Actually I would say the opposite. The majority of correct hand passes is where the player is out in the open. You are not reading what I am saying. The player trying to make the pass is wrapped by several opposition players hands and has no chance of making a legal hand pass. This can be two, three or four other players dragging his arms and sometimes dangerously wrapping around the neck."
If players are dragging an opponent's arms surely the referee should award a free. Allowing the player to throw the ball just because he's being fouled is not the solution. The same twisted logic is used when a referee allows a player to take seven or eight steps and people defend this by saying "Oh, but the player was being held". Two wrongs don't make a right.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 541 - 09/03/2022 18:21:39    2404674

Replying To midlands:  "If players are dragging an opponent's arms surely the referee should award a free. Allowing the player to throw the ball just because he's being fouled is not the solution. The same twisted logic is used when a referee allows a player to take seven or eight steps and people defend this by saying "Oh, but the player was being held". Two wrongs don't make a right."
No I don't think the ref should allow the player throw the ball but does not punish the eight hands are in there obstructing the hand pass by clawing either. These steps are bad too. A player receives, takes five or six steps, taps on his stick once and then another five. Mind you often misunderstood. He has been fouled after there or four and allowed to go on by the ref to keep the game going.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 09/03/2022 21:41:03    2404704

Replying To Canuck:  "Actually I would say the opposite. The majority of correct hand passes is where the player is out in the open. You are not reading what I am saying. The player trying to make the pass is wrapped by several opposition players hands and has no chance of making a legal hand pass. This can be two, three or four other players dragging his arms and sometimes dangerously wrapping around the neck."
Canuck, in relation to players getting bottled up. We were in Nowlan Park in 2027 and after the game a whole lot of us were giving out about the way Cian Lynch played
. The main 'complaint' was that he was holding the ball too long and getting bottlled up too easily. Ned Rea, of 73 fame , interviened saying the reason for this was that his fellow players were not working hard enough to put themselves in place to receive his passes. Is this the reason for all these scrums

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 10/03/2022 07:52:10    2404708

Ok, I get you now but I'd say there are also a lot of disputed handpasses out in the open and those are the ones that got pulled last weekend.
"A clear striking action" - in my opinion if you have to replay it in slow motion to see it then thats not a clear striking action.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 10/03/2022 09:29:59    2404712

Replying To tiobraid:  "Ok, I get you now but I'd say there are also a lot of disputed handpasses out in the open and those are the ones that got pulled last weekend.
"A clear striking action" - in my opinion if you have to replay it in slow motion to see it then thats not a clear striking action."
I find it odd that the only ex-player who is getting so worked about this is himself an ex Limerick Hurler, although he won his All Irelands with Tipp.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 10/03/2022 11:15:33    2404742

Replying To Oldtourman:  "I find it odd that the only ex-player who is getting so worked about this is himself an ex Limerick Hurler, although he won his All Irelands with Tipp."
And his idea is pure nonsense. Amazing a lad who hurled could come up with that. I brought the 2 chaps up the park at the back of the cottage and they looked at me like I had 2 heads when I tried explaining what they were to do.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11730 - 10/03/2022 11:33:02    2404749

Replying To Oldtourman:  "I find it odd that the only ex-player who is getting so worked about this is himself an ex Limerick Hurler, although he won his All Irelands with Tipp."
I dont see where he was born or who he played with as relevant. It may not have been realised nationally but he has been highlighting this as an issue for a long long time. While i dont agree with the proposal I always find it strange that a person associated with Tipp can't enter a debate without where hes from (or played for in this case) being the only topic of conversation from the other party.

Going back as far as 2008,Conor has been concerned with the Hurling handpass and the fact that its now more thrown than handpassed properly

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 10/03/2022 11:52:02    2404752

Replying To tiobraid:  "I dont see where he was born or who he played with as relevant. It may not have been realised nationally but he has been highlighting this as an issue for a long long time. While i dont agree with the proposal I always find it strange that a person associated with Tipp can't enter a debate without where hes from (or played for in this case) being the only topic of conversation from the other party.

Going back as far as 2008,Conor has been concerned with the Hurling handpass and the fact that its now more thrown than handpassed properly"
Well your ex manager Sheehy, when challenged by Shane Dowling, could not agree that a referee should not blow a foul hand pass, where he was blindsided and could not see the hand pass anyway.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 10/03/2022 12:01:57    2404755

Replying To Oldtourman:  "
Replying To tiobraid:  "I dont see where he was born or who he played with as relevant. It may not have been realised nationally but he has been highlighting this as an issue for a long long time. While i dont agree with the proposal I always find it strange that a person associated with Tipp can't enter a debate without where hes from (or played for in this case) being the only topic of conversation from the other party.

Going back as far as 2008,Conor has been concerned with the Hurling handpass and the fact that its now more thrown than handpassed properly"
Well your ex manager Sheehy, when challenged by Shane Dowling, could not agree that a referee should not blow a foul hand pass, where he was blindsided and could not see the hand pass anyway."
Liam sheedy never managed me and I don't have much interest in him or Dowling and find neither particularly informative as pundits.
Your still not discussing the point.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 10/03/2022 13:01:06    2404766

Sure, let 'em throw the ball. That clear striking action isn't much of a skill anyway. It just slows the game down and just causes too much controversy. And who is Conor O'Donovan? If he were any good, we'd know about him over here.

We pitch the ball in baseball all the time. It contributes so much to it being a wonderful game. Imagine if we'd to throw the baseball up, and then strike it with a clear forward moving action with the open palm. First, it'd make ***** of your hand, and second, ***** of the game. I dunno why ye guys still persist with such obsoleteness in Ireland.

And also allow the football to be picked up off the ground without putting the toe beneath it. Another archaic rule that slows down Gaelic games. In many GAA competitions worldwide, the organizers have been progressive enough to ditch that old-fashioned rule. It seems that the most backward place of all when it comes to progressing the sports of hurling and football is ironically Ireland.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 10/03/2022 13:38:29    2404775

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Canuck, in relation to players getting bottled up. We were in Nowlan Park in 2027 and after the game a whole lot of us were giving out about the way Cian Lynch played
. The main 'complaint' was that he was holding the ball too long and getting bottlled up too easily. Ned Rea, of 73 fame , interviened saying the reason for this was that his fellow players were not working hard enough to put themselves in place to receive his passes. Is this the reason for all these scrums"
Oldtourman I could see Ned been right about that in the past but today there are more players around the player, running off the shoulder as they say, than around the table at a card drive. I am not defending throwing the ball but players develop ways to do things based on what they are confronted with. It is like trying to pick your nose with your hands tied behind your back.
To me it is very simple. If you are not going to restrict the third , fourth and fifth man in which is probably beyond their capability to administrate, then everyone tackling in these rucks should have two hands on the stick. No free hands because that is what is restricting the ability to do a striking action. Hands all over the player pulling and dragging. Lets be practical if the player pulls back his hand to strike it will never be allowed to go forward. Subsequently you see them trying to do a push forward often interpreting as throwing and sometimes is. Someone said this pulling should be blown up but it is not that is also the reality. The ref is behind the play or there are so many hands it is impossible who to penalize. That's my five cents.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 10/03/2022 14:34:50    2404784

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Sure, let 'em throw the ball. That clear striking action isn't much of a skill anyway. It just slows the game down and just causes too much controversy. And who is Conor O'Donovan? If he were any good, we'd know about him over here.

We pitch the ball in baseball all the time. It contributes so much to it being a wonderful game. Imagine if we'd to throw the baseball up, and then strike it with a clear forward moving action with the open palm. First, it'd make ***** of your hand, and second, ***** of the game. I dunno why ye guys still persist with such obsoleteness in Ireland.

And also allow the football to be picked up off the ground without putting the toe beneath it. Another archaic rule that slows down Gaelic games. In many GAA competitions worldwide, the organizers have been progressive enough to ditch that old-fashioned rule. It seems that the most backward place of all when it comes to progressing the sports of hurling and football is ironically Ireland."
Sure while you are at it get rid of the hurleys and save the ash. Just throw the ball. Ya in baseball they won't play for 70 million they want 80 million and are mercenaries going where the most money is. I wonder what 80 can do for you that 70 can not ? Putting these people in the same sentence as GAA players is a joke.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 10/03/2022 14:45:32    2404789

What's stopping a guy throwing the ball 40yards then? It would be a farce. I love baseball aswell. Great sport.
I profoundly disagree with u on the handpass. If fellas were let throw then there'd have to be a pull down or hold up tackle.. the whole game would have to change. Can't work

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 10/03/2022 14:59:30    2404790

Replying To tiobraid:  "
Replying To Oldtourman:  "[quote=tiobraid:  "I dont see where he was born or who he played with as relevant. It may not have been realised nationally but he has been highlighting this as an issue for a long long time. While i dont agree with the proposal I always find it strange that a person associated with Tipp can't enter a debate without where hes from (or played for in this case) being the only topic of conversation from the other party.

Well your ex manager Sheehy, when challenged by Shane Dowling, could not agree that a referee should not blow a foul hand pass, where he was blindsided and could not see the hand pass anyway."
Liam sheedy never managed me and I don't have much interest in him or Dowling and find neither particularly informative as pundits.
Your still not discussing the point."]Nothing wrong with Tipp men. Both my countys and my clubs managers hail from Tipp. I've numerous friends from Tipp who would be more important to me than both of them too. Limerick, Clare, Cork and Kilkenny people have a certain feeling about Tipp people going back years to before they were born in Kilkennys, Corks and Limericks case and back to the 90s in Clares case. You must know this Tiobraid so best get used to it.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11730 - 10/03/2022 15:37:13    2404803

Replying To Canuck:  "Sure while you are at it get rid of the hurleys and save the ash. Just throw the ball. Ya in baseball they won't play for 70 million they want 80 million and are mercenaries going where the most money is. I wonder what 80 can do for you that 70 can not ? Putting these people in the same sentence as GAA players is a joke."
70 or 80 million? Correa is holding out for at least 350 million. He just changed agent to Boras so he will probably get it. The Ricketts are toying with the idea of spending 3 or 4 billion of their loose change on a small soccer club in England. The money in baseball is just unbelievable.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11730 - 10/03/2022 15:40:31    2404806

Replying To bloodyban:  "What's stopping a guy throwing the ball 40yards then? It would be a farce. I love baseball aswell. Great sport.
I profoundly disagree with u on the handpass. If fellas were let throw then there'd have to be a pull down or hold up tackle.. the whole game would have to change. Can't work"
Yes this is beginning to get ridiculous. Deal with the cause as well as the symptom but no just the same old nonsense of knee jerk reaction of taking things in isolation. Anyway in the championship there won't be a dickie bird about it. Which is also wrong.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 10/03/2022 15:44:23    2404809

Replying To Canuck:  "Yes this is beginning to get ridiculous. Deal with the cause as well as the symptom but no just the same old nonsense of knee jerk reaction of taking things in isolation. Anyway in the championship there won't be a dickie bird about it. Which is also wrong."
The games evolved over time. The handpass has. High fielding has almost disappeared along with the long hit and hope passes that led to it as possession has become ever more important. The game has sped up so there are more misplaced passes, hand and stick, leading to more rucks. Ground hurling has almost disappeared as it's become more important to get it up into the hand as it's easier to retain possession. At the end of the day like all sports top level hurling is all about winning.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11730 - 10/03/2022 16:27:56    2404815

Replying To Canuck:  "Yes this is beginning to get ridiculous. Deal with the cause as well as the symptom but no just the same old nonsense of knee jerk reaction of taking things in isolation. Anyway in the championship there won't be a dickie bird about it. Which is also wrong."
The games evolved over time. The handpass has. High fielding has almost disappeared along with the long hit and hope passes that led to it as possession has become ever more important. The game has sped up so there are more misplaced passes, hand and stick, leading to more rucks. Ground hurling has almost disappeared as it's become more important to get it up into the hand as it's easier to retain possession. At the end of the day like all sports top level hurling is all about winning.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11730 - 10/03/2022 16:34:53    2404818

Replying To wexico15:  "Just listening to Anthony Daly's podcast at the moment and TJ Ryan made that very point regarding Limerick, the 1st 2 championship games (they play Waterford in Gaelic Grounds 6 days after Cork) will tell alot, if there impressive it will be seen as Kiely and Kinnerck timed the run perfectly, if there not firing then the narrative will be well the signs were there in the league."
I can already here the "Everybody wrote us off" interview after the first round of the championship. When in reality, NOBODY wrote them off at any stage this spring.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 10/03/2022 18:18:18    2404832