Mountbellew/Moylough Proposed Suspensions

I believe there are significant suspensions in the pipeline for a number of players. And rightly so - Regardless of the mistakes of the referee he has to be protected and cannot be subjected to the abuse that was clearly levelled at him. Such abuse has no place in our sport and has to be severely punished.
However i would be interested to see what the powers that be will be doing about the referees performance in the game. It is clear to me that he got a major call wrong which had a significant impact on the outcome. (maybe he was unsighted or whatever) but in fairness the GAA should also be taking him to task in some way for this. I would expect that he would be removed from whatever intercounty panel he is on for a season perhaps.
There has to be accountability and fair play on all sides

indaknownow (Offaly) - Posts: 112 - 04/01/2022 13:30:49    2393544

Replying To indaknownow:  "I believe there are significant suspensions in the pipeline for a number of players. And rightly so - Regardless of the mistakes of the referee he has to be protected and cannot be subjected to the abuse that was clearly levelled at him. Such abuse has no place in our sport and has to be severely punished.
However i would be interested to see what the powers that be will be doing about the referees performance in the game. It is clear to me that he got a major call wrong which had a significant impact on the outcome. (maybe he was unsighted or whatever) but in fairness the GAA should also be taking him to task in some way for this. I would expect that he would be removed from whatever intercounty panel he is on for a season perhaps.
There has to be accountability and fair play on all sides"
I have a lot of sympathy for the MM players. The referee was poor and these players would have put in a huge amount of work during the year. The end of a game like this is a very emotional situation and this along with the terrible refereeing should be taken into account. These are young players who acted without thinking on the spur of the moment. To keep cool in this situation is not easy.

crafty (Galway) - Posts: 249 - 04/01/2022 14:16:51    2393552

Referee's report was very clear about 2 players bumping/shouldering/standing on his foot etc. There is no place for that and I don't care how many decisions the ref got wrong (and I was shouting for MM).

The other players may have some right of appeal because the report was not clear who did what. I don't condone any abuse but one player said he didn't do anything and the ref didn't specify who said what just the things that were said and the players around him. (now i presume the report i saw was genuine..... maybe i am just nieve!)

There is 2 completely separate issues at play here. Players/mentors/fans seem to think they reserve the right to abuse officials or indeed opposition. I have seen it in all age groups. Alan Dillon called it out last month and they holier than thou attitude and kick back he got from the GAA public was laughable if it wasn't so serious. The GAA has a problem with on field violence. We have all seen the whatsapp clips. And before someone starts about other codes being worse......it should not matter. We need to have our own standards, get our own house in order.

Standards of officials has been an issue for a long time. The fact that reviews are not public, everything behind closed doors etc. I spoke to an AIL ref a few years ago and he was able to tell me how many refs they had and what his ranking was. Refs were assessed and graded properly. Did anyone ever think that the standard of referring was related to the abuse officials get. I for one would never bother getting involved. Why would anyone. All that will happen is they get abused even in the most insignificant games.

As a Galway football fan I am not happy to have these players unavailable for the county team but if you do the crime you do the time. If there is appeals I hope they are genuine i.e. innocent party not someone trying to get out on a loophole

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 04/01/2022 14:43:15    2393558

I agree with the points made here. As commented in the original competition thread.
There are 2 separate issues:
1. What some of the M/M players did is completely unacceptable. They're getting their suspensions and absolutely rightly so. There's no place in the game for that kind of carry-on. I haven't seen one person excuse it on here, which is good.
2. The referee did make an extremely poor mistake at the end of the game. Based on the circumstances, it almost certainly cost M/M the win. Had he applied the obvious rule, it was a straightforward free for a player who is probably the best freetaker in Galway. Most of the M/M players, management and supporters, including some of the players who tried to calm the situation at the end of the game, have every right to be extremely annoyed. There was a huge opportunity for them to make a Connacht final snatched away by a very poor decision.

It's in everyone's interest to have a higher standard of refereeing. A big part of achieving this is through accountability for big mistakes made.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 04/01/2022 15:39:33    2393568

No matter how good or bad a referring performance is and counting in the high charged emotional element you simply can't put your hands on a official and once you do you've to face the consequences.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 04/01/2022 15:48:42    2393569

Replying To crafty:  "I have a lot of sympathy for the MM players. The referee was poor and these players would have put in a huge amount of work during the year. The end of a game like this is a very emotional situation and this along with the terrible refereeing should be taken into account. These are young players who acted without thinking on the spur of the moment. To keep cool in this situation is not easy."
The frustrations of the players is quite understandable given the level of commitment these days and the mistakes made but at the same time the behaviour will need to be punished. Missing the mark in unforgiveable, surely the linesman or umpire could have alerted the ref? Are they not all miked up for those high profile games?
Its clear also that referees need more training and support. The constant rule changes don't help, the rules need simplified which obviously wont be easy. Also someone mentioned the referees panel and grading, surely better pay for those capable of reffing at the highest levels and the fast-tracking of former players (if good enough) could help?

whoareya (Donegal) - Posts: 77 - 04/01/2022 15:52:06    2393572

sympathy for the Mountbellew-Moylough players and understandable to what they did, are the above posters serious with those comments?

Can't defend the actions of the players regardless of the situation. The suspension seems to be a waste of time if done by weeks instead of games as by the time Mountbellew play their next championship game all those players will be allowed to play again.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3346 - 04/01/2022 16:26:29    2393581

I believe there are significant suspensions in the pipeline for a number of players. And rightly so - Regardless of the mistakes of the referee he has to be protected and cannot be subjected to the abuse that was clearly levelled at him. Such abuse has no place in our sport and has to be severely punished.
indaknownow (Offaly) - Posts: 68 - 04/01/2022 13:30:49

Refs are human. They will make mistakes. Players also make mistakes and plenty of them. what can officials do to ref? All they can is get them more training and help. there needs to be full time referee coaches/development officers who assist refs at all levels with rules knowledge, training etc
How does removing a ref from inter county set up for 1 year improve his refereeing in the future?

I have a lot of sympathy for the MM players. The referee was poor and these players would have put in a huge amount of work during the year. The end of a game like this is a very emotional situation and this along with the terrible refereeing should be taken into account. These are young players who acted without thinking on the spur of the moment. To keep cool in this situation is not easy.
crafty (Galway) - Posts: 190 - 04/01/2022 14:16:51
And the ref didnt put in a huge amount of work in the year as well?
How should reffing be taken into account? Doesnt matter the players are young and acting on spur of the moment. what they did was wrong and should be punished?

I agree with the points made here. As commented in the original competition thread.
1. What some of the M/M players did is completely unacceptable. They're getting their suspensions and absolutely rightly so. There's no place in the game for that kind of carry-on. I haven't seen one person excuse it on here, which is good.
2. The referee did make an extremely poor mistake at the end of the game. Based on the circumstances, it almost certainly cost M/M the win. Had he applied the obvious rule, it was a straightforward free for a player who is probably the best freetaker in Galway. Most of the M/M players, management and supporters, including some of the players who tried to calm the situation at the end of the game, have every right to be extremely annoyed. There was a huge opportunity for them to make a Connacht final snatched away by a very poor decision.

It's in everyone's interest to have a higher standard of refereeing. A big part of achieving this is through accountability for big mistakes made.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 1207 - 04/01/2022 15:39:33

what about accountability for actions of players and officials and supporters against refs as well?
What about doing something to help change culture of referee abuse?

No matter how good or bad a referring performance is and counting in the high charged emotional element you simply can't put your hands on a official and once you do you've to face the consequences.

wexico15 (Wexford) - Posts: 3890 - 04/01/2022 15:48:42
spot on

The frustrations of the players is quite understandable given the level of commitment these days and the mistakes made but at the same time the behaviour will need to be punished. Missing the mark in unforgiveable, surely the linesman or umpire could have alerted the ref? Are they not all miked up for those high profile games?
Its clear also that referees need more training and support. The constant rule changes don't help, the rules need simplified which obviously wont be easy. Also someone mentioned the referees panel and grading, surely better pay for those capable of reffing at the highest levels and the fast-tracking of former players (if good enough) could help?
whoareya (Donegal) - Posts: 66 - 04/01/2022 15:52:06
are the rules changed that much.
far more changes and different rules and laws in rugby and there isnt near as many incidents of referees being attacked or abused in rugby though there it is rising in ireland.
not all refs for these games will be micced up as they wont necessarily have the tech available to them.
yes refs need more training and support. there needs to be 20-30 full time ref development officers running training sessions and meetings on monthly/bi-weekly basis in their assigned area. they go through an area of rule book at these meetings and they oversee the experienced or recently retired refs who are assigned to coach and assess active referees at all levels to ensure the refs doing games are getting to their potential

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 04/01/2022 16:30:25    2393582

Abuse of Ref in this manner is not on full stop. There is a number of issues here....
1. The game wasnt won or lost cause the mark was missed. Many wides were in 2nd half but no one abused players for same. how many players got abused because they dropped aball or missed a tackle.
2. yes the mark was missed but the other team had to travel length of field to get winner, as ateam they should have snuffed that out
3. Neither umpire or linesman can intervene by law in telling ref to give mark.
4. Why do players/Supporters feel the freedom to have ago at the ref not just in this game but across all counties. The position of the match official must be protected at all costs, otherwise you have anarchy all over the place. Imagine if the whole country decided to not obey with the gardai and do there own thing. Yes the quality of officiating will always have a variance of standard but we need to accept this as part of our game. Mistakes will happen and they will always happen when the man in the middle is an amateur who is trying his best. REmember even with VAR and Professionalism the PL cant even agree or get things 100% right.

My point is there is a line you cant cross no matter what and putting a hand or foot on an official must feel the full weight of the law available and anyone who threatens same. Emotions can run high and most officials allow for that and understand when things are said can be in heat of moment, but the reaction must equal the incident in question and MM certainly crossed the line.

DeMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 115 - 04/01/2022 16:39:35    2393585

The 2 that put the hands on the ref need to take their punishment. And one of them got physical with a linesman too according to the report. Not on. The amount of Galway people online defending getting physical their behaviour is embarrassing

There was a rightfully heartbroken and angry panel of players. Yet all but 2 could control themselves - some even had to restrain teammates.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 04/01/2022 17:00:58    2393593

Here we go again. "Their frustration is understandable " as an attempt to play it down. Frustration should not turn into abuse. Throw the book at these thugs. I can here it now. You lose these players to the game etc. etc. That attitude is what stops the clean up of these issues. If they take up another sport how will go for them, if they abuse?
Referee performances has been kicked around forever. The reality is they don't function well as a team of officials like the playing teams do. Either through the lack of training and the support they need today. First and formost it is suppose to be a team job and not hang draw and quarter the ref.
In the Ballygunner game the lines man called the red card to McGrath. Simple. If after consultation and he is the only one sees it, let him issue the red. He is supposed to know the rules ? We had posters and pundits vilifying Coughlan for getting slapped on the hand. A player who has taken more knocks (and given them) without ever complaining but okay to sully his name. John McGrath who was the decision maker ( no abuse or ownership applied here) got sent off here also on the instruction of the umpire but the ref had to take it here also. Put two refs on the field to begin with and no red cards without review. (either video or consultation).
The bottom line is mistakes will never be completely eradicated but abuse should not be tolerated.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 04/01/2022 17:26:37    2393596

When is the ref going to come out and admit the huge mistake he made?

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 642 - 04/01/2022 17:52:09    2393598

Counties struggling to get one ref for matches so the idea of appointing two is unrealistic. Another poster mentioned rugby and fewer incidents of controversy. Perhaps the fact that there's far fewer games played in rugby and rugby doesn't arouse supporters' passions in same way remotely. There are thousands of GAA clubs throughout Ireland, it means a lot to people. Rugby is a social sport for many.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1489 - 04/01/2022 19:31:00    2393604

The two that put their hands on the referee need to take their punishment without question or appeal.

However there's talk of 6 months plus bans for a few who simply used foul language. If that's the case you've to ban about a third of the player base as using foul language with a referee when frustrated is rightly or wrongly, utterly commonplace in every GAA game. You cant give people a 6 month ban for an offence that hasn't been receiving a yellow card in games up until now

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 210 - 04/01/2022 20:28:53    2393611

Replying To KillingFields:  "I believe there are significant suspensions in the pipeline for a number of players. And rightly so - Regardless of the mistakes of the referee he has to be protected and cannot be subjected to the abuse that was clearly levelled at him. Such abuse has no place in our sport and has to be severely punished.
indaknownow (Offaly) - Posts: 68 - 04/01/2022 13:30:49

Refs are human. They will make mistakes. Players also make mistakes and plenty of them. what can officials do to ref? All they can is get them more training and help. there needs to be full time referee coaches/development officers who assist refs at all levels with rules knowledge, training etc
How does removing a ref from inter county set up for 1 year improve his refereeing in the future?

crafty (Galway) - Posts: 190 - 04/01/2022 14:16:51
And the ref didnt put in a huge amount of work in the year as well?
How should reffing be taken into account? Doesnt matter the players are young and acting on spur of the moment. what they did was wrong and should be punished?

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 1207 - 04/01/2022 15:39:33

what about accountability for actions of players and officials and supporters against refs as well?
What about doing something to help change culture of referee abuse?

wexico15 (Wexford) - Posts: 3890 - 04/01/2022 15:48:42
spot on

whoareya (Donegal) - Posts: 66 - 04/01/2022 15:52:06
are the rules changed that much.
far more changes and different rules and laws in rugby and there isnt near as many incidents of referees being attacked or abused in rugby though there it is rising in ireland.
not all refs for these games will be micced up as they wont necessarily have the tech available to them.
yes refs need more training and support. there needs to be 20-30 full time ref development officers running training sessions and meetings on monthly/bi-weekly basis in their assigned area. they go through an area of rule book at these meetings and they oversee the experienced or recently retired refs who are assigned to coach and assess active referees at all levels to ensure the refs doing games are getting to their potential"
Since you've quoted a few people there, I'll reply to your bit where you quoted mine only.

'what about accountability for actions of players and officials and supporters against refs as well? What about doing something to help change culture of referee abuse?'

You might have missed the fact that the players who abused the ref physically and verbally have received hefty proposed suspensions, and rightly so. This thread was created specifically in relation to the suspensions. I don't get your 'what about'. I literally referred to it in my first point. Any abuse of an official is unacceptable. Hopefully these suspensions act as a deterrent to others.
Standard of refereeing is a separate issue. Unfortunately some referees make very poor mistakes. Brushing these under the carpet won't help anyone. It's in a ref's interest to be held accountable for his performance.
Also people saying they have sympathy for some M/M players doesn't mean they condone any abuse of a ref. A number of M/M players abused the ref. I have zero sympathy for any of them.
I do have sympathy for their full-back for example. Not only did he suffer the heartache of losing the match in such a fashion. He also tried to restrain his teammates at the end, which can't have been easy when emotions are raw.
Are we not allowed to feel sympathy for him and the others who did nothing wrong?

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 04/01/2022 20:47:00    2393614

Players put in ten times the commitment that officials do and despite what some of ye seem to think get a fair whack of stick themselves, some of the abuse these players get goes on for months after a game and is far worse than having a few fellas shouting at you for a few seconds.
Ideally they wouldn't have behaved as they did but they are human beings and their frustration was totally understandable. Lots of people here need to get out of their smug ivory towers.
On a side note, respect is a two way street. Don't talk about players needing to cop on and respect the officials if you're not gonna also mention the fact that alot of officials in all sports are quite pig headed and arrogant in how they deal with the players.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1706 - 04/01/2022 21:18:27    2393617

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Counties struggling to get one ref for matches so the idea of appointing two is unrealistic. Another poster mentioned rugby and fewer incidents of controversy. Perhaps the fact that there's far fewer games played in rugby and rugby doesn't arouse supporters' passions in same way remotely. There are thousands of GAA clubs throughout Ireland, it means a lot to people. Rugby is a social sport for many."
If they did not get so much abuse there may be more available and willing. We have professional managers so would it not be as important to have professional refs ? It seems to me that for most people refs are only there to give a **** kicking to and a necessary evil.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 04/01/2022 21:48:51    2393620

When is the ref going to come out and admit the huge mistake he made?
countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 43 - 04/01/2022 17:52:09

What does that achieve and are all players, coaches meant to do the same all the time?

Counties struggling to get one ref for matches so the idea of appointing two is unrealistic. Another poster mentioned rugby and fewer incidents of controversy. Perhaps the fact that there's far fewer games played in rugby and rugby doesn't arouse supporters' passions in same way remotely. There are thousands of GAA clubs throughout Ireland, it means a lot to people. Rugby is a social sport for many.
Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 406 - 04/01/2022 19:31:00

GAA is a social sport for nearly all players, coaches and fans as much as rugby is. Thats an illogical argument and yes there is far less games of rugby played every year compared to GAA but number of incidents like this dont happen anywhere near as much as they do in the GAA. Claiming rugby doesnt arouse supporters passions as much as GAA is horse ****. Care to show with links how that is true.

The two that put their hands on the referee need to take their punishment without question or appeal.
However there's talk of 6 months plus bans for a few who simply used foul language. If that's the case you've to ban about a third of the player base as using foul language with a referee when frustrated is rightly or wrongly, utterly commonplace in every GAA game. You cant give people a 6 month ban for an offence that hasn't been receiving a yellow card in games up until now
PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 125 - 04/01/2022 20:28:53
it can be considered referee abuse. you just cant directly aim language at officials like that and get away with it. 6 month plus bans for foul language alone would be harsh but if it sent a message that that behaviour isnt accepted then its a price to pay

Since you've quoted a few people there, I'll reply to your bit where you quoted mine only.
'what about accountability for actions of players and officials and supporters against refs as well? What about doing something to help change culture of referee abuse?'
You might have missed the fact that the players who abused the ref physically and verbally have received hefty proposed suspensions, and rightly so. This thread was created specifically in relation to the suspensions. I don't get your 'what about'. I literally referred to it in my first point. Any abuse of an official is unacceptable. Hopefully these suspensions act as a deterrent to others.
Standard of refereeing is a separate issue. Unfortunately some referees make very poor mistakes. Brushing these under the carpet won't help anyone. It's in a ref's interest to be held accountable for his performance.
Also people saying they have sympathy for some M/M players doesn't mean they condone any abuse of a ref. A number of M/M players abused the ref. I have zero sympathy for any of them.
I do have sympathy for their full-back for example. Not only did he suffer the heartache of losing the match in such a fashion. He also tried to restrain his teammates at the end, which can't have been easy when emotions are raw.
Are we not allowed to feel sympathy for him and the others who did nothing wrong?
WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 1208 - 04/01/2022 20:47:00

Standard of refereeing isnt a separate issue. Its directly linked. Refs do make mistakes as theyre humans. Nobody is saying brush them under the carpet but have a proper system to help referees improve and be looked after better as the current set up is terrible for match officials.

Players put in ten times the commitment that officials do and despite what some of ye seem to think get a fair whack of stick themselves, some of the abuse these players get goes on for months after a game and is far worse than having a few fellas shouting at you for a few seconds.
Ideally they wouldn't have behaved as they did but they are human beings and their frustration was totally understandable. Lots of people here need to get out of their smug ivory towers.
On a side note, respect is a two way street. Don't talk about players needing to cop on and respect the officials if you're not gonna also mention the fact that alot of officials in all sports are quite pig headed and arrogant in how they deal with the players.
Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 956 - 04/01/2022 21:18:27

care to show how players put in ten times the commitment officials do? what refs get is lot more than few people shouting at them for a few seconds.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 04/01/2022 21:59:33    2393621

Replying To countyman2022:  "When is the ref going to come out and admit the huge mistake he made?"
Doesnt need to - you dont touch a ref end off

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 05/01/2022 09:03:46    2393624

Replying To Galway9801:  "Players put in ten times the commitment that officials do and despite what some of ye seem to think get a fair whack of stick themselves, some of the abuse these players get goes on for months after a game and is far worse than having a few fellas shouting at you for a few seconds.
On a side note, respect is a two way street. Don't talk about players needing to cop on and respect the officials if you're not gonna also mention the fact that alot of officials in all sports are quite pig headed and arrogant in how they deal with the players."
This thread is about the suspension of mountbellew players dont know why you are on about other sports.

Whatever suspension the mountbellew players get it will be deserved and i hope no appeals are accepted.

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 05/01/2022 09:06:06    2393625