Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To HB245:  "10 of the starting 15 from the 2016 u21 final have represented the Monaghan Senior team."
I make it three starters in the current day, it's a poor return, but no point dwelling on it. A trip to D2 won't hurt monaghan, but the u20s from last year need to be blooded. Just a thought, anyone know what the mood is in the current set up, it looked very flat today.

222 (UK) - Posts: 691 - 27/02/2022 20:55:04    2402836

In all fairness Rory beggan was one of the worst players on the field today . Dunno if the risk of the way he plays is worth it , if he was an outfield player joe Kirk (the bog road man ) would have been in

FarneyFan11 (Monaghan) - Posts: 10 - 27/02/2022 22:02:52    2402851

Replying To Blueblood4life:  "Watching Monaghan over 40 years and today was the first time leaving a game early.
No resemblance of a tactical plan in place to combat a Kerry onslaught in second half with the wind, almost like it didn't exist, we have been watching games the past month being won/lost aided by conditions, players being put out to the slaughter.
Who with a ounce of tactical prowess can think leaving Clifford up front with space and a significant wind would result in what we seen? Felt really sorry for Kieran D, no back up at all.
Another major worry is our squad depth, we have a u20 team last year who previously won a minor ulster and was a kick of the ball in u20 ulster final last year, where's the players? Where's the forward thinking of what sort of Monaghan we will have 2-3 years down the line?
We have a significant amount of injuries, McCarron, McAnespie, McCarthy and after today's game it looks like Ward also, what is gods name is going on in preparing these players, a lot said about this "big name" backroom team, in my opinion you earn your name on merit not newspaper Columns like wat appears to be the way with this backroom team.
Monaghan Co Board have to take a serious look at where their money is being used, the figures being talked about in the stand today to get a "top" S&C coach & physios team were outrageous, if even 50% of the figure was actually true it's still a disgrace & all for what to have a diminished squad available for selection and have some of our best talent broke up on a medical table.
Relegation looks a certainty and unfortunately if that is what it takes to get Banty and his "big names" outta Monaghan I'd settle for it."
Leaving a game early for the first time in 40 years is some record .Tyrone fans could possibly have done the same last year when they lost heavily to Kerry. That defeat turned their year around and we saw what happened . To date this year, Monaghan have drew against Tyrone and Armagh and were narrowly defeated by Mayo. Injuries to players ? "What in Gods name is happening to preparing players " you ask . The said players you mention. Do you even know the reason they were unavailable yesterday and have you even considered that preparation may not even have been a factor in why they weren't ? . Unfortunately players take hard knocks in games and no matter how well prepared they are they can pick up injuries . My guess is that Your big issue is with the manager and no matter what this team does even if it's good, your opinion on manager won't change. Personally all I care about is the players . No matter who their manager is and I know people have issues with different managers, I will always give 100% support to the players because they are the ones who are putting their lives on hold to put on that Monaghan jersey . So maybe get behind the players instead of letting your opinions on manager cloud your thoughts .

Positivity (Monaghan) - Posts: 9 - 28/02/2022 10:13:21    2402881

Well that was a damp squib yesterday. Only positive was that we kept the score difference to 8. It was looking like 20 until O'Connor felt a bit sorry for us and took off the 2 Cliffords. Even though the goals came in the second half and some of them were gifted to Kerry, the real damage was our first half performance. Monaghan were clueless in attack. 7-4 down after playing with the wind told its own story.

Tim_NicebutDim (Monaghan) - Posts: 347 - 28/02/2022 10:15:20    2402883

Last week I said that we had problems in attack that if were not rectified soon we would face relation, that now looks likely as we need to get to 5 points before Dublin come to town, who will be needing to beat us to stay up themselves (4 points won't suffice before that)
What did we do to improve our attack? We brought on a 31 year old defender to try outscore one of the best teams in the country. I have nothing against Colin Walshe, but he is no Nudie (older people would know what I mean here) and playing upfront for Doohamlet is a level or two below the Kerry seniors. If we were going to lose at least get some positives from it, play Mulligan or someone for the experience, (what must he be thinking yesterday). There were no positives yesterday only negatives

Some on here think it would be no harm to go down but there are 5 or 6 of the current team that won't be playing Div 2 next due to retirement, McManus included, why would they, there are a few on the panel/team not good enough.
Schooling young lads in Div 2 is not the same as schooling them in the intensity of Div 1, ask Cavan, Kildare, Roscommon, Meath et al, all couldn't handle that intensity and went straight back down.

It is important for the future of this team that we maintain Division 1 status IMO, however Donegal and Kildare away will be no pushover especially with the obvious lack of confidence within the group.

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 28/02/2022 12:19:41    2402935

The Fly-Keeper experiment failed today.. I counted 3 points in the first half that were down to the panic it induced when Kerry turned over the ball.. Having a Fly-keeper is fine if it happens sometimes during the game when the opposition are surprised by it. but Kerry were wholly prepared for this yesterday and exploited us when it happened. Kerry put a man marker on Rory.. so when they regained possession.. and Rory scarpered back to his goals it meant Kerry had a free man upfield to receive a pass in space. It killed us in the first half and then destroyed us in the second when we conceded 2 goals directly of it. The lobbed pass for Kerry's second goal showed that they were ready for the event of David Cliffords one on one with a defender.. what does the defender do. go for the ball or go for the goals.. It's bad enough having David Clifford baring down on goals with a Goalkeeper is position, never mind having an open goals. It was the worst day ever for Rory yesterday.

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 801 - 28/02/2022 13:03:19    2402953

Replying To Positivity:  "Leaving a game early for the first time in 40 years is some record .Tyrone fans could possibly have done the same last year when they lost heavily to Kerry. That defeat turned their year around and we saw what happened . To date this year, Monaghan have drew against Tyrone and Armagh and were narrowly defeated by Mayo. Injuries to players ? "What in Gods name is happening to preparing players " you ask . The said players you mention. Do you even know the reason they were unavailable yesterday and have you even considered that preparation may not even have been a factor in why they weren't ? . Unfortunately players take hard knocks in games and no matter how well prepared they are they can pick up injuries . My guess is that Your big issue is with the manager and no matter what this team does even if it's good, your opinion on manager won't change. Personally all I care about is the players . No matter who their manager is and I know people have issues with different managers, I will always give 100% support to the players because they are the ones who are putting their lives on hold to put on that Monaghan jersey . So maybe get behind the players instead of letting your opinions on manager cloud your thoughts ."
Yes, 40 years I suppose is some record and although it in itself carries no merit I think it highlights the state of current affairs..

So are we gona go and win an all Ireland just like Tyrone did, is that the point your trying to make??? Maybe I'll hold you to that theory in a few weeks because Tyrone stayed up last year, will we?? A terrible analogy to use, we my man are not the Tyrone of 2021……..

Yes we have drew against a Tyrone who were only off the plane, and had 3 weeks collective training. A Mayo team who were blooding & building. And a Armagh team who came up from Div 2. Like many on this group you need to look at things more critical and not just lap up the narrative in the newspaper columns about "character". You like many in the county just don't know how far away we are from achieving success. Draws, being hard to beat doesn't win trophy's, yesterday's hammering was 2 years in the making. The mask finally fell off..

I'm very aware of the reason players were missing yesterday, McCarron being the only one not sustained due to the sport. McAn - hamstring, Gallagher - hamstring, McCar - shoulder, Ward - hamstring (after yesterday), Jones - collarbone. Do require any further confirmation?
I'm extremely close to this squad with a family member in it, the amount of soft tissue injuries being sustained the past 2 years has almost doubled on the previous year. Davis was ran out of Tyrone in 2020, in 2021 Tyrone won the All Ireland, he like his main backer is a spoofer!!
So, have i considered preparation may not have been a factor? I'm very aware that preparation is the very factor for the soft tissue injuries and why we looked flat, tired and beaten after 20mins of football.

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 28/02/2022 13:34:57    2402961

I've watched the highlights back after being at the game yesterday…. While in the stand I asked the question "who is Ryan Wylie actually marking?" I couldn't get a answer then and I'm even more confused now! He wasn't within 10ft of a green & gold jersey for any of the goals.. What the hell is going on!!

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 28/02/2022 13:38:01    2402964

Replying To 222:  "I make it three starters in the current day, it's a poor return, but no point dwelling on it. A trip to D2 won't hurt monaghan, but the u20s from last year need to be blooded. Just a thought, anyone know what the mood is in the current set up, it looked very flat today."
Most of those lads from 16 were given a chance but just weren't good enough at senior inter county level. Barry Kerr and McGinn certainly were but work commitments and injury problems got in the way. Agree with your posts the u20 team should be blooded into the set up in a big way over next while. No harm to Banty but there is no future picking defenders in the twilight of their career in the forwards in preference to younger lads like Mulligan or Garland who deserved a run out against Kerry.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1798 - 28/02/2022 14:50:30    2403001

Look it, We can try & be positive, as I was before yesterday, but the reality is the Banty appointment has not worked - AGAIN. The team is rudderless. There is no system, no direction & no cohesion. I am not going to call out individual players as that isn't right. The buck stops with the Banty & his waffle & the big name back room team - there is no sign of any positive impact from any of them, only negative.
It's time for Banty to go. You can put lipstick on a pig but is still a pig.
The team do not seem in a good place & they deserve better than what the county board have imposed on them.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 28/02/2022 16:46:23    2403048

What is Liam Sheedy adding to the setup?

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 01/03/2022 09:45:08    2403157

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "What is Liam Sheedy adding to the setup?"
Nothing? I think this backroom team is like the brass plate headquarters of some international companies in Dublin - only on paper.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 01/03/2022 11:27:26    2403197

Replying To Blueblood4life:  "Yes, 40 years I suppose is some record and although it in itself carries no merit I think it highlights the state of current affairs..

So are we gona go and win an all Ireland just like Tyrone did, is that the point your trying to make??? Maybe I'll hold you to that theory in a few weeks because Tyrone stayed up last year, will we?? A terrible analogy to use, we my man are not the Tyrone of 2021……..

Yes we have drew against a Tyrone who were only off the plane, and had 3 weeks collective training. A Mayo team who were blooding & building. And a Armagh team who came up from Div 2. Like many on this group you need to look at things more critical and not just lap up the narrative in the newspaper columns about "character". You like many in the county just don't know how far away we are from achieving success. Draws, being hard to beat doesn't win trophy's, yesterday's hammering was 2 years in the making. The mask finally fell off..

I'm very aware of the reason players were missing yesterday, McCarron being the only one not sustained due to the sport. McAn - hamstring, Gallagher - hamstring, McCar - shoulder, Ward - hamstring (after yesterday), Jones - collarbone. Do require any further confirmation?
I'm extremely close to this squad with a family member in it, the amount of soft tissue injuries being sustained the past 2 years has almost doubled on the previous year. Davis was ran out of Tyrone in 2020, in 2021 Tyrone won the All Ireland, he like his main backer is a spoofer!!
So, have i considered preparation may not have been a factor? I'm very aware that preparation is the very factor for the soft tissue injuries and why we looked flat, tired and beaten after 20mins of football."
I have heard the same craic. ...sure Kerry hammered Tyrone last year and look what happened...this is where we fall into the same old trap. We spend our time talking about Tyrone and what they do and what they don't do. Bar a miracle I can't see us repeating what they did last year. The day the manager was re appointed was not a good day.
When on an interview panel in Tyrone before the Kerry semi final he said Tyrone would not be fit for Kerry as with Kerry there's too many fires to put out.
No point in sending a team out if in your head they're bate before the go out.
Wonder did he think the same way last Sunday? It would appear so.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 01/03/2022 13:51:38    2403248

We're not going to get relegated because we lost to Kerry on Sunday. 3 games left, 2 against teams on the slide and one against a team on the up but still learning at this level. We have stayed in Div One all these years because every year we produce one result that no one was expecting. We need that result now, and I can't believe I'm saying this but I'm assuming we'll beat Dublin on the last day because I think they'll be relegated at that stage. However if we lose in Ballybofey and Newbridge, we'll be gone too. So it's time for players and management to step up.
The only bright point on Sunday was that Kieran Hughes proved that his best position is full forward. The fact that he hasn't been a fixture there for the last 10 years is a stain on both the current and previous manager. He had Kerry in knots early on but sadly we didn't adjust when they put a sweeper in front on him. Also his pass to young McElearney for the penalty was superb.

I think our main problem is that we have far too many players who don't take responsibility and are far too fond of going sideways. This needs to change.

On the Sheedy issue, hiring him was a complete waste of time, just another in the long line of failed stunts. Surely we can't be surprised at this stage.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 01/03/2022 21:31:46    2403339

Replying To FootblockREF:  "We're not going to get relegated because we lost to Kerry on Sunday. 3 games left, 2 against teams on the slide and one against a team on the up but still learning at this level. We have stayed in Div One all these years because every year we produce one result that no one was expecting. We need that result now, and I can't believe I'm saying this but I'm assuming we'll beat Dublin on the last day because I think they'll be relegated at that stage. However if we lose in Ballybofey and Newbridge, we'll be gone too. So it's time for players and management to step up.
The only bright point on Sunday was that Kieran Hughes proved that his best position is full forward. The fact that he hasn't been a fixture there for the last 10 years is a stain on both the current and previous manager. He had Kerry in knots early on but sadly we didn't adjust when they put a sweeper in front on him. Also his pass to young McElearney for the penalty was superb.

I think our main problem is that we have far too many players who don't take responsibility and are far too fond of going sideways. This needs to change.

On the Sheedy issue, hiring him was a complete waste of time, just another in the long line of failed stunts. Surely we can't be surprised at this stage."
Agree with most thing excluding the Dublin opinion. Dublin in the last game of the league before heading to championship will be a very different animal, don't be fooled. I fear if we don't get a win and a draw before Dublin we are goosed.

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 01/03/2022 21:54:47    2403348

Replying To FootblockREF:  "We're not going to get relegated because we lost to Kerry on Sunday. 3 games left, 2 against teams on the slide and one against a team on the up but still learning at this level. We have stayed in Div One all these years because every year we produce one result that no one was expecting. We need that result now, and I can't believe I'm saying this but I'm assuming we'll beat Dublin on the last day because I think they'll be relegated at that stage. However if we lose in Ballybofey and Newbridge, we'll be gone too. So it's time for players and management to step up.

On the Sheedy issue, hiring him was a complete waste of time, just another in the long line of failed stunts. Surely we can't be surprised at this stage."

I've been saying that for years that K Hughes has to play FF every time. They've messed him about for years.

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 346 - 05/03/2022 19:22:25    2403959

How are ye fixed this weekend?

Not sure where we're at to be honest. We were brutal against Kerry as well but much improved against Tyrone (for a half at least). I think we'll definitely be going all out to win the game this weekend as it makes us mathematically safe. It'll then leave us the last two games to reintegrate the likes of Murphy & Langan depending on where they're at in their recoveries.

Nothing is ever easy against Monaghan though, especially when their backs are against the wall. I'm sensing that Banty is not in favour at the moment?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 08/03/2022 15:00:29    2404478

Better question would be was he ever in favour...

Based on your performance against Tyrone, and our surrender against Kerry, only one result on Sunday I'm afraid...

moodoo (Monaghan) - Posts: 441 - 08/03/2022 16:36:57    2404506

Anyone know how we are looking on the injury side of things for Sunday?
Jones - out
Jack - out
McAnespie - ?
Dessie - ?
McCarthy - ?

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 11/03/2022 16:10:05    2404960

Got to the Minor game this morning, early start for whatever reason, but……. It sure was worth the spin..
Two massive young men playing in a full forward line that caused all sorts of bother to Armagh, a really positive style of play and tactics.

Some excellent kick-passing and fielding on show, 3 goals and several points coming from long, smart ball in to the target men. I can't remember ever seeing a Monaghan team set up without a plus 1, or at least that's how it appeared.

Perhaps the most impressive of all was the work rate and fitness levels on show for such young men. Armagh had to make a flurry of changes due to the speed of the game and coming down with cramp etc. The lads in white and blue kept powering to the final whistle working a great fisted score to win it, really impressive stuff. I walked out a very happy man, I'll be getting out to show my support to this team as much as possible going forward..

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 12/03/2022 17:39:18    2405062