Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To HB245:  "This would be very much in line with Castleblayney's formula they have adopted over the last 15-20 years. That is, poach players from Blackhill/Oram. They'd have been Junior 5 years ago only for their Blackhill contingent."
Never heard such bull in my life !!!! Who from Oram in the last 25 years ??? We sent a good few out u will find !!!!! As for blackhill we have sent a few out there this few years ….. I think ur a wee bit bitter towards castleblayney…. Most clubs have comings and going ??? No??? As for going junior can only assume that's wer ur club is !!!!?? #37# ….

jakeezme5 (Monaghan) - Posts: 16 - 11/10/2024 22:34:57    2574269

Replying To HB245:  "This would be very much in line with Castleblayney's formula they have adopted over the last 15-20 years. That is, poach players from Blackhill/Oram. They'd have been Junior 5 years ago only for their Blackhill contingent."
Are blackhill not full of players who have played for Blayney?

Monaghan37 (Monaghan) - Posts: 24 - 12/10/2024 02:13:34    2574284

Replying To Deadballmerchant:  "Some semi Finals coming up this weekend. Any Predictions?

Senior:
Clontibret vs Ballybay
Scotstown vs Inniskeen

Intermediate:
Carrickmacross vs Truagh
Magheracloone vs Castleblayney"
Clontibret
Inniskeen

Truagh
Magheracloone.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 364 - 12/10/2024 03:19:44    2574286

Replying To Monaghan37:  "Are blackhill not full of players who have played for Blayney?"
Correct and right. Blackhill rely on asking lads that no longer play for a club, to join them. Otherwise, they'd struggle to field a senior team. Understandable, no?
A couple years back about 1/4 of Castleblayney's starting team had donned a Blackhill jersey before. These are the facts unfortunately. A big town like Castleblayney should not need to poach players from possibly the smallest club in the county, Blackhill, I'm sorry.

HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 243 - 12/10/2024 10:14:06    2574299

Great to see the Scotstown haters on here… light your candles tonight lads

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 590 - 12/10/2024 10:47:38    2574310

Replying To veterngaa:  "Great to see the Scotstown haters on here… light your candles tonight lads"
Vetern it'll be some laugh if a wee village beats the 5 parishes, in fairness.

HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 243 - 12/10/2024 13:37:28    2574336

Replying To HB245:  "Vetern it'll be some laugh if a wee village beats the 5 parishes, in fairness."
5 parishes? 1 parish. In fact Donaghmoyne parish has 4 primary schools, one more than Tydavent parish. It may even be larger in geographic size. Bragan mountains and forest is a considerable proportion. It's not as simple as villages etc

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 590 - 12/10/2024 14:23:32    2574345

Replying To HB245:  "Correct and right. Blackhill rely on asking lads that no longer play for a club, to join them. Otherwise, they'd struggle to field a senior team. Understandable, no?
A couple years back about 1/4 of Castleblayney's starting team had donned a Blackhill jersey before. These are the facts unfortunately. A big town like Castleblayney should not need to poach players from possibly the smallest club in the county, Blackhill, I'm sorry."
Exactly were is blackhill??? So you're saying it's not ok for players that leave blackhill and go elsewhere?? But if players leave Blayney it's ok for them to go to blackhill??? U will find a good few of the present blackhill team also played for Blayney at a younger age ??? As for 1/4 of team??

jakeezme5 (Monaghan) - Posts: 16 - 12/10/2024 14:46:31    2574347

Replying To veterngaa:  "5 parishes? 1 parish. In fact Donaghmoyne parish has 4 primary schools, one more than Tydavent parish. It may even be larger in geographic size. Bragan mountains and forest is a considerable proportion. It's not as simple as villages etc"
Thanks for response Vetern, I can always a rely on you to bite! Right well that's Tydavnet sorted, but I'm wondering what club do the Ballinode, Scotstown and Knocktallon and Currin lads play for?

HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 243 - 12/10/2024 14:53:23    2574349

Replying To veterngaa:  "5 parishes? 1 parish. In fact Donaghmoyne parish has 4 primary schools, one more than Tydavent parish. It may even be larger in geographic size. Bragan mountains and forest is a considerable proportion. It's not as simple as villages etc"
Toome is Donaghmoyne parish, and many of Blackhills catchment area is from Aghnafarcon in towards Castleblayney, also Donaghmoyne parish. So 3 clubs operating in that parish.

BrehonBlonde (Monaghan) - Posts: 74 - 12/10/2024 15:09:16    2574351

Replying To jakeezme5:  "Exactly were is blackhill??? So you're saying it's not ok for players that leave blackhill and go elsewhere?? But if players leave Blayney it's ok for them to go to blackhill??? U will find a good few of the present blackhill team also played for Blayney at a younger age ??? As for 1/4 of team??"
Think the point is if Blackhill simply kept all the players who went to Blayney & Donaghmoyne and recieved no players from any one else they would have had a significantly better team over the last 10 years. While if Blayney kept all the players who went to Blackhill and Oram but got none of the players they poached from Blackhill, Oram and Toome they would have had a significantly worse team over the last ten years.

monman91 (Monaghan) - Posts: 50 - 12/10/2024 15:10:21    2574353

Replying To HB245:  "Thanks for response Vetern, I can always a rely on you to bite! Right well that's Tydavnet sorted, but I'm wondering what club do the Ballinode, Scotstown and Knocktallon and Currin lads play for?"
Do you know what a parish is? Parish and villages ? It's back to school you have to go to.

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 590 - 12/10/2024 16:08:28    2574358

Replying To BrehonBlonde:  "Toome is Donaghmoyne parish, and many of Blackhills catchment area is from Aghnafarcon in towards Castleblayney, also Donaghmoyne parish. So 3 clubs operating in that parish."
Blackhill don't have a catchment area as they don't have a primary school feeder… you are telling me aughnafarcon school feeds blackhill? The school is closer to aughnamullen, toome and blayney fields.

Would you head on back to Louth where you belong

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 590 - 12/10/2024 16:17:21    2574361

Replying To ScarnaMan1990:  "truagh by 6"
Bang on the money

ScarnaMan1990 (Monaghan) - Posts: 31 - 12/10/2024 17:22:18    2574374

Another dire year for the hurling town of Castleblayney. Maybe dropping down to junior would help this team out

farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 26 - 12/10/2024 20:28:38    2574411

I watched Truagh v Carrick on clubber. It was a decent game. The breeze looked very strong in Clontibret and it definitely affected the approach of both teams depending on which direction they were playing. Truagh made hard work on using the breeze. They stuck Mohan in close to goal and Carrick countered that by sticking Conlon on him. It largely worked in the first half but in the second half Mohan took up more of a roving role and Conlon didn't have the legs to keep up with him. Carrick really missed Aaron Lynch in the first half. They simply didn't have enough lads who could kick a point from distance. Stephen O'Hanlon for all his pace and threat was being crowded out and while Conlon is good, there was little else. Fionan Carolan is a terrific player but in playing in forwards for Carrick he's a square peg in round roll. Matthew Carolan should of started for Carrick, he was lovely for them when he came on. Truagh looked good. Lots of forced turnovers and good workrate. McElliogtt was very good. McCarron and Ronan Boyle were good too. I'd expect a good final between them and Magheracloone.

Jaysus, Magheracloone/blayney was a dire game. To be honest I expected it. Blayney adopted a defensive game plan and with the players they have at the moment I can see why. They simply lack enough scoring forwards to be genuine contenders. Magheracloone have a more even spread of quality players throughout their 15 and more of the bench too. Once Magheracloone got in front, you could never see w hay back for Blayney. So the two teams that were relegated are in the final. Should be a good game in the final.

sleater (Monaghan) - Posts: 161 - 12/10/2024 21:09:10    2574417

Replying To farneygael3:  "Another dire year for the hurling town of Castleblayney. Maybe dropping down to junior would help this team out"
Ye poor stuff…. But hurling town is right…. Do u think maracloone was good??? As for going junior now I don't know about that …. Wouldn't say dire very Young team… I'd say that's as good as we r …. Would have been dire to go junior and after the league though that wer we wer going!! Maybe including yourself? Don't worry we will rise again #37#

jakeezme5 (Monaghan) - Posts: 16 - 12/10/2024 21:21:01    2574421

Replying To jakeezme5:  "Ye poor stuff…. But hurling town is right…. Do u think maracloone was good??? As for going junior now I don't know about that …. Wouldn't say dire very Young team… I'd say that's as good as we r …. Would have been dire to go junior and after the league though that wer we wer going!! Maybe including yourself? Don't worry we will rise again #37#"
My eyes hurt trying to read this

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 590 - 13/10/2024 00:42:20    2574452

Replying To farneygael3:  "Another dire year for the hurling town of Castleblayney. Maybe dropping down to junior would help this team out"
Hy farney, scotstown could win the next 10 in a row and they still wouldn't be the most successful team in the county . You just know your place and go back into your box in whatever wee village you're from. #37

Monaghan37 (Monaghan) - Posts: 24 - 13/10/2024 02:24:00    2574458

Replying To Monaghan37:  "Hy farney, scotstown could win the next 10 in a row and they still wouldn't be the most successful team in the county . You just know your place and go back into your box in whatever wee village you're from. #37"
2003 lad..21 years.. be another 21 before yous sniff a mick Duffy cup

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 590 - 13/10/2024 10:43:11    2574480