Monaghan GAA thread

Just want to thank Vinny for his services to Monaghan on and off the field.He gave remarkable service as a player mentor and manager .He steps away owing us nothing but we owe him a great depth of gratitude..Best wishes for the future Vinny..

barroboys (Louth) - Posts: 100 - 13/08/2024 15:20:38    2564980

Replying To 222:  "Well he got yous to division 3. Prob to far for him to travel but he may be interested. Oisin probably won't be interested due to the fact they may have to play armagh at some point. Lots of good upcoming coaches in ulster but where are monaghan really at. Are the older players hanging on? Does that tarnish taking the job or blight it? Loyalty caught vinnie to an extent. Is banty going to come in and rebuild or just squeeze out of every drop of what is there? We have one good season since 2018 and incostistency has been a mighty issue. I'd be very surprised if the corduff ticket don't get it. Gallagher has a decent footballing CV but it will cause a lot of backlash in the county."
That was the base level expectation we had in Leitrim (promotion) when Terry Hyland left & it took him 3 campaigns & 2 assistants to do that. He had a better squad the day he took over. And let's not mention what happened in New York. We still have no style of play and mark my words we'll be back on Division 4 next year. God help Monaghan if ye let Andy Moran anywhere the job because whatever about the above, he won't come cheap.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 943 - 13/08/2024 15:23:53    2564981

Replying To 222:  "Your looking at

Banty and RG
Mickey Harte and Gavin Devlin
Malacy O Rourke
David Mc cague
Andy Moran

Feel free to add more"
Monaghan have had enough of Banty at this stage surely?

RG will hopefully get no inter county gig again

Mickey Harte a possibility but won't come with Gavin Devlin as he's gone back to Louth

Malacy O'Rourke if he does leave Glen he'll likely become Derry manager than return to Monaghan

Andy Moran the media darling who was a fine players but average manager. Had the Leitrim county board not brought in Graham from Cavan Leitrim would probably still be in Div 4.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 199 - 13/08/2024 15:45:54    2564986

Replying To Bantysbabes123:  "County board need to snap this up right away before they decide to go elsewhere what they have done at club level has been nothing short of brilliant with limited resources Monaghan football would be in a better spot with these lads at the wheel especially a Monaghan man through and through who would run through brick walls for his players"
Limited resources.... you're having a laugh

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1050 - 13/08/2024 16:16:17    2564993

seemingly the players want Banty back and if that's he case it very hard to argue against it. I cant understand why anyone would want these intercounty jobs, you are never right, in the eyes of the hurlers on the ditch.

patmouse (Monaghan) - Posts: 120 - 13/08/2024 16:16:33    2564994

Replying To patmouse:  "seemingly the players want Banty back and if that's he case it very hard to argue against it. I cant understand why anyone would want these intercounty jobs, you are never right, in the eyes of the hurlers on the ditch."
As usual you are a laugh. I can assure you from the horse's mouth Banty has not the support of even one player. Vinny gone because of County Management demands not because of players. Whether the demands were legit is a matter of opinion. Definitely without Vinny continuing, we are on a slippery slope. I would hope that maybe a compromise could be reached that would allow Vinny to rethink his decision.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 316 - 13/08/2024 17:44:20    2565005

With Armagh winning the All Ireland it has shown that the standard of inter county football has dropped dramatically.

Dublin,Kerry, Mayo, Tyrone are no longer operating at their peak.
Monaghan county board need to get the next appointment right, so Monaghan can bounce back after the injury blighted 2024 season.

With the LGFA and camogie joining the GAA in the next few years our county board could face a few moral dilemmas when appointing the next management team.

With regards to Vinny, he has done a lot of heavy lifting in term of blooding new players in his two years in charge and fingers crossed the county can reap the benefits down the line.

I have no doubt we will see Vinny back as Monaghan manager in the future.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1939 - 13/08/2024 18:59:55    2565013

Anyone else find it odd Vinny didnt release a statement about leaving the job. Suggests a row of some description in the camp led him to leave. Agree with earlier poster was v untypical of monaghan having players opting out last few years.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1841 - 13/08/2024 19:21:56    2565018

I'd like to think there will be some leadership shown by the county board in the selection of a new manager and back room team .hopefully there won't be a previous manager getting a third term , Doesn't matter who he'd bring with him .clubs should be voicing their opinion on this too.rest assure we will be in a worse state

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 217 - 13/08/2024 20:25:52    2565021

Will it be banty and gallagher!!!

Thejampot (Leitrim) - Posts: 302 - 13/08/2024 21:31:30    2565026

any word on who would be on Banty backroom team, S&C etc. Very professional set up in Corduff, would expect stronger set up for intercounty.

patmouse (Monaghan) - Posts: 120 - 13/08/2024 21:59:39    2565028

Replying To shaggylegend:  "With Armagh winning the All Ireland it has shown that the standard of inter county football has dropped dramatically.

Dublin,Kerry, Mayo, Tyrone are no longer operating at their peak.
Monaghan county board need to get the next appointment right, so Monaghan can bounce back after the injury blighted 2024 season.

With the LGFA and camogie joining the GAA in the next few years our county board could face a few moral dilemmas when appointing the next management team.

With regards to Vinny, he has done a lot of heavy lifting in term of blooding new players in his two years in charge and fingers crossed the county can reap the benefits down the line.

I have no doubt we will see Vinny back as Monaghan manager in the future."
Funny that, if Galway, Dublin or Kerry had of won the whole thing would have been just fine and dandy. A few sore men for whatever reason around Monaghan since our 2nd All Ireland victory, not sure why as we're not really rivals but there you go.
Vinny a good man and was bringing youngsters through in fairness, a good squad there to work with next year for whoever takes over and best of luck for the incoming year.

sam2024 (Armagh) - Posts: 31 - 14/08/2024 01:22:32    2565033

The players were happy for Vinny to stay. Vinny was happy to stay.

moodoo (Monaghan) - Posts: 454 - 14/08/2024 08:31:31    2565039

Replying To seanie08:  "Anyone else find it odd Vinny didnt release a statement about leaving the job. Suggests a row of some description in the camp led him to leave. Agree with earlier poster was v untypical of monaghan having players opting out last few years."
Did seem to be last minute given club championships are just starting. Probably perhaps a mixture of everything, demands of the job and a little bit of pressure on next year. The camp this year didn't seem a happy place and who knows maybe more player withdrawls were looming plus lots of retirements. Agree with a previous poster a clean break is needed. Looks like Gallagher is gone to Derry. An internal candidate is probably a safer bet as we are in transition. Will Mark couinihan, Andy callan, David Mc caugue be looking for it? All recent underage managers.

222 (UK) - Posts: 770 - 14/08/2024 08:49:58    2565041

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "As usual you are a laugh. I can assure you from the horse's mouth Banty has not the support of even one player. Vinny gone because of County Management demands not because of players. Whether the demands were legit is a matter of opinion. Definitely without Vinny continuing, we are on a slippery slope. I would hope that maybe a compromise could be reached that would allow Vinny to rethink his decision."
Shed some more light on that please.

222 (UK) - Posts: 770 - 14/08/2024 08:54:12    2565042

Gallagher to Derry a done deal so he won't be involved.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 965 - 14/08/2024 09:00:23    2565044

In Irish news article late yesterday, it looks like Gallagher is front runner to return to Derry job so that would rule him out.
I think this was a shock decision by Vinny as no one expected him to stand down. As someone said here, it could have been the result of a recent bust-up with County Board and/or Players and not as a result of him being pushed out as County Board has someone "lined-up" to take the job.
It could be sometime before we have candidates for this job and someone appointed, which is a bit of a disaster, with Senior championship just under way.

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 144 - 14/08/2024 09:10:40    2565045

The reason I think Banty will be in the mix is for the money... There is very little in the coffers in Cloghan and there will be even less once construction on the Cloghan improvements start. Speaking of which, the improvements were supposed to start this year but its been very quiet on that front too. I suspect we may be lacking the funds or contractor engagement to get it moving. can't think it would be anything else

MrPBoylan (Monaghan) - Posts: 180 - 14/08/2024 09:21:58    2565047

Replying To sam2024:  "Funny that, if Galway, Dublin or Kerry had of won the whole thing would have been just fine and dandy. A few sore men for whatever reason around Monaghan since our 2nd All Ireland victory, not sure why as we're not really rivals but there you go.
Vinny a good man and was bringing youngsters through in fairness, a good squad there to work with next year for whoever takes over and best of luck for the incoming year."
No complaints with Armagh winning the all Ireland. Fair play to them and was happy to see them get over the line.

My point is Monaghan need to get the right appointment in place so that we could potentially challengebefore the super powers of Kerry and Dublin regroup.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1939 - 14/08/2024 10:08:22    2565049

Replying To MrPBoylan:  "The reason I think Banty will be in the mix is for the money... There is very little in the coffers in Cloghan and there will be even less once construction on the Cloghan improvements start. Speaking of which, the improvements were supposed to start this year but its been very quiet on that front too. I suspect we may be lacking the funds or contractor engagement to get it moving. can't think it would be anything else"
If the man was that dedicated to Monaghan football, surely he could help with funding and sponsorship without having to pick the team. Just saying.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1109 - 14/08/2024 10:21:11    2565056