Monaghan GAA thread

Banty and Rory would be the dream duo, we could win an all Ireland with their expertise and finances.

Farney2022 (Monaghan) - Posts: 27 - 13/08/2024 10:52:54    2564915

Mixed feelings on the news today, but you have to say its probably time to have a clean break and reset for this Monaghan team. Some good days under Vinny's stewardship, not least the Kildare game and QF in 2023. But a lot of disappointments too, most notably Derry in Omagh last year and this years first round loss to Cavan.

Ultimately, tactical conservatism and too much loyalty to senior players proved costly. So too the trend of having some important players opting out, something very un-Monaghan for the last 20 years. That said, he has bedded in some very good players who look like they can take the team onward.

All in all, the man deserves huge credit and admiration from Monaghan football people. Who has given more to the county than VC? No flash, no profile away from the game, just a dogged determination to deliver on the field. 100% admiration for the man- even his decision now to step down shows he puts the team before his own interest.

The next step will be very interesting. Have we the right people at the helm to make the best long term decision for Monaghan football? I would be worried in that regard. Unfortunately, we certainly know more about who we don't want than who we do want at this point.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1109 - 13/08/2024 11:07:18    2564919

Replying To Farney2022:  "Banty and Rory would be the dream duo, we could win an all Ireland with their expertise and finances."
Banty's expertise and Rory's finances?

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1109 - 13/08/2024 11:07:51    2564920

Replying To mick2007:  "To think that the same 2 men that have taken corduffs reputation to the gutter and senior club football to the dregs could now be taking over our county team is a sobbering thought…."
Corduff, who lets face it, should be lower Intermediate level, will now still be playing senior football in 2025 (3 years in a row now at senior) and could reach another senior semi final this year. That's a dam good record with lmited talent.! and I'm sure if you ask a Corduff person, they are well happy.
I don't think Corduff has brought football to the dregs, every County team and Club team in Ireland have a hand in that. Armagh supporters don't care that this years final would put you to sleep and I wouldn't care either if it were Monaghan.

Anyway, back to the main topic though. Agree that Banty + Gallagher would not be a popular choice and we don't want a split county over this or we'll just go further downhill, but who are the list of candidates ? reaslistically.???
I think Micky Harte would also be an unpopular option.
We need a manager though who has been there done that, either as player or manager. Lets not waste the talent we have coming through from recent Minor and U20 teams.

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 144 - 13/08/2024 11:34:44    2564925

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Mixed feelings on the news today, but you have to say its probably time to have a clean break and reset for this Monaghan team. Some good days under Vinny's stewardship, not least the Kildare game and QF in 2023. But a lot of disappointments too, most notably Derry in Omagh last year and this years first round loss to Cavan.

Ultimately, tactical conservatism and too much loyalty to senior players proved costly. So too the trend of having some important players opting out, something very un-Monaghan for the last 20 years. That said, he has bedded in some very good players who look like they can take the team onward.

All in all, the man deserves huge credit and admiration from Monaghan football people. Who has given more to the county than VC? No flash, no profile away from the game, just a dogged determination to deliver on the field. 100% admiration for the man- even his decision now to step down shows he puts the team before his own interest.

The next step will be very interesting. Have we the right people at the helm to make the best long term decision for Monaghan football? I would be worried in that regard. Unfortunately, we certainly know more about who we don't want than who we do want at this point."
Defo time for a clean break and reset but the worry has to be to what ? Interesting looking back in our most important games under vinny he went with the old guard and while he deserves praise fir introduction of younger lads this year he really had no choice. He is a massive loss through to the county set up as a leader and his years of experience and ultimately we are the poorer for him stepping away. Still think even with inevitable retirements of duffy mcmanus Hughes o connell if we have all our players fit and available we'd give most teams a right game.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1841 - 13/08/2024 11:52:58    2564929

Replying To SouthMonMan:  "Corduff, who lets face it, should be lower Intermediate level, will now still be playing senior football in 2025 (3 years in a row now at senior) and could reach another senior semi final this year. That's a dam good record with lmited talent.! and I'm sure if you ask a Corduff person, they are well happy.
I don't think Corduff has brought football to the dregs, every County team and Club team in Ireland have a hand in that. Armagh supporters don't care that this years final would put you to sleep and I wouldn't care either if it were Monaghan.

Anyway, back to the main topic though. Agree that Banty + Gallagher would not be a popular choice and we don't want a split county over this or we'll just go further downhill, but who are the list of candidates ? reaslistically.???
We need a manager though who has been there done that, either as player or manager. Lets not waste the talent we have coming through from recent Minor and U20 teams."
Who managed those underage teams?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1809 - 13/08/2024 11:57:51    2564930

One man for the job and he was there already Malachy O'Rourke.

lugdrum (Leitrim) - Posts: 350 - 13/08/2024 12:02:00    2564931

Replying To SouthMonMan:  "Corduff, who lets face it, should be lower Intermediate level, will now still be playing senior football in 2025 (3 years in a row now at senior) and could reach another senior semi final this year. That's a dam good record with lmited talent.! and I'm sure if you ask a Corduff person, they are well happy.

We need a manager though who has been there done that, either as player or manager. Lets not waste the talent we have coming through from recent Minor and U20 teams."
You win and you lose with a bit of class and that seems to be beyond corduff at present… For example you obviously weren't at the senior semi final v scotstown last year where they took the game with their antics to a whole new level never witnessed in this county before…

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 480 - 13/08/2024 12:13:58    2564933

Your looking at

Banty and RG
Mickey Harte and Gavin Devlin
Malacy O Rourke
David Mc cague
Andy Moran

Feel free to add more

222 (UK) - Posts: 770 - 13/08/2024 12:20:05    2564934

Replying To mick2007:  "You win and you lose with a bit of class and that seems to be beyond corduff at present… For example you obviously weren't at the senior semi final v scotstown last year where they took the game with their antics to a whole new level never witnessed in this county before…"
you mean antics in this County never captured on YouTube before.!! lol .. yeah, I was at that game, couple of players behaved very poorly alright, I think a lot worse has happened in Club football at different levles over the years though, this was just the most high profile one as it went viral on social media.
I have been to a few Corduff matches this year and antics are not the same thankfully.. btw, I'm not from Corduff.!
My point is that they are still overachieving and that has to be down to Gallagher.
We can put forward all the names we want but do some of these high profile managers even want the Monaghan job ? there weren't too many beating the door down before the job was handed to Vinnie 2 years ago

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 144 - 13/08/2024 12:53:55    2564941

Replying To mick2007:  "To think that the same 2 men that have taken corduffs reputation to the gutter and senior club football to the dregs could now be taking over our county team is a sobbering thought…."
We can agree on that mick! Within the county .. how about Owen Lennon ? What about Colin McAree?

Perhaps McCague but would need a good team around him! Dermot malone is learning the ropes… Outside maybe orourke would come back ? We don't need Banty again or RG…Gilligan is a coach not a manager! Could you get Lacey ?

Plenty of options. It's just which one fits us?

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 528 - 13/08/2024 13:11:02    2564946

Nobody wanted the job before Vinney took the reigns, and i do think anyone with an impressive cv beating the door down in Clogan to take the job.
Brian Doher will more than likely step away from the Tyrone job as he has taken a new job with the minster of agriculture and Veterinary service NI
Derry are seeking a new manager. both are more appealing that the monaghan gig.
MOR will not be coming back to monaghan that ship has sailed.

Davey Burke former Roscommon is a possible shout.
Oisin McConville , would be another shout, has managed inniskeen, has cut his teeth with Wicklow and would jump ship for a job on his doorstep.
Tony McEntee , Sligo , again has he taken them as far as he can, does it fancy a new challenge closers to home.
James Horan Mayo , would be want to get back into Management.

latefortraining (Monaghan) - Posts: 104 - 13/08/2024 13:18:47    2564949

I'm sorry to see Vinny go. He was particularly impressive last year. Not much luck this year but could easily have made the semis again. He knows what it takes to be a success at the highest level and if players are not willing to make the committment then there is no use having them on the panel.

Banty was good for Monaghan initially but his limitations as a manager have been brutally expose, really he has failed twice already at Monaghan, as well as Wexford and Meath. He's has no idea of tactics and his teams are easily figured out.

He said Monaghan were embarrassed by Cavan in 2019 (I'm sure Malachy O'Rourke apprectiated that) and then went out and lost to them in 2020, where if I recall correctly he was spouting on about the Cavan "web" - whatever that was. The loss against Derry in Armagh was another low as he clearly did not understand what was happening on the pitch. Big red face shouting on the sideline - not what's needed.
Then there was the COVID training issue.

As for RG, someone above summed him up accurately.

I can't think of a worse combination for Monaghan. I don't understand why some posters seem to be supporting this ticket.

I'd take Mickey Harte before either of those, but would rather not - he's out of date now. Malachy O'Rourke possibly if he feels he has unfinished business. He knows the scene and he is a proven success.

PolicemanFox (Monaghan) - Posts: 174 - 13/08/2024 13:59:05    2564963

Replying To 222:  "Your looking at

Banty and RG
Mickey Harte and Gavin Devlin
Malacy O Rourke
David Mc cague
Andy Moran

Feel free to add more"
I'm actually astounded that you'd have Andy Moran in that list. It looks like the media hype has you tricked. I though ye had more ambition up in Monaghan.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 943 - 13/08/2024 14:04:22    2564965

Guys, no point talking about other names. Banty will be installed. Money makes the world go round...mores the pity...

https://www.hoganstand.com/county/monaghan/article/index/128658

moodoo (Monaghan) - Posts: 454 - 13/08/2024 14:15:17    2564966

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Who managed those underage teams?"
Banty in 2018.
Mark Counihan in 2019.

MonaghanMan44life (Monaghan) - Posts: 11 - 13/08/2024 14:17:10    2564967

People seem to have very short memories…
Banty was ran out of the dressing room by a few senior players with lofty opinions of themselves. Those players are still there.
So, while some members of the forum and perhaps even those few senior players may have a short memory, my feeling is Banty won't.
Above is all facts by the way.

What I have heard of the recent departure of Vinny is that there was a meeting with Vinny & the players, who exactly I don't know (but I could guess) and there was a fall out. Seemingly players not happy and making demands.

On the decision for the next manager, and for those with short memories, I hope players won't interfere like they did with Ger Brennan. Brennan had met with Co Board and was taking the job until a Dublin based player made it his business to meet and make demands around his backroom team. This resulted in a very wise Brennan turning on his heels and heading eventually to Louth.

MonaghanMan44life (Monaghan) - Posts: 11 - 13/08/2024 14:45:19    2564973

Replying To veterngaa:  "Go on back to your own forum with that kind of chat"
Just said I'd visit for your opinion Veterangaa, the man that went to every other county forum to have a snipe at them.

You missed out on the annual pitch invasion at the end of the league this year, there's always next year...

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 680 - 13/08/2024 15:04:44    2564976

Replying To Square_B:  "I'm actually astounded that you'd have Andy Moran in that list. It looks like the media hype has you tricked. I though ye had more ambition up in Monaghan."
Well he got yous to division 3. Prob to far for him to travel but he may be interested. Oisin probably won't be interested due to the fact they may have to play armagh at some point. Lots of good upcoming coaches in ulster but where are monaghan really at. Are the older players hanging on? Does that tarnish taking the job or blight it? Loyalty caught vinnie to an extent. Is banty going to come in and rebuild or just squeeze out of every drop of what is there? We have one good season since 2018 and incostistency has been a mighty issue. I'd be very surprised if the corduff ticket don't get it. Gallagher has a decent footballing CV but it will cause a lot of backlash in the county.

222 (UK) - Posts: 770 - 13/08/2024 15:11:10    2564977

Replying To moodoo:  "Guys, no point talking about other names. Banty will be installed. Money makes the world go round...mores the pity...

https://www.hoganstand.com/county/monaghan/article/index/128658"
He seems to have plenty of it
https://businessplus.ie/news/banty-mcenaney-refugees/

PolicemanFox (Monaghan) - Posts: 174 - 13/08/2024 15:15:56    2564979