Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To veterngaa:  "Ah now you can't throw comments like these about and not give a bit of evidence"
Scotstowns dominance isn't good for the game in the county, let's not say otherwise.
Most town teams are abject , the demise of Blayney is staggering and the harps are just as bad. Our intermiedate champions don't have a county player on our county team. Most small rural clubs in the north west of the county are struggling. And alot of bigger sized clubs should be doing better, truagh, maghercloone, seans to name a few. In fairness to Inniskeen and corduff they have raised standards and deserve credit but the club scene by and large isnt healthy.

222 (UK) - Posts: 696 - 27/04/2024 11:51:02    2540864

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "Sad to read the nonsense that guys like you write,with obviously no clue about management and tactics. A case of ye don't know what ye don't know. Very successfully year for our Under 20s. Have moved way up the pecking order in Ulster since their time as Minors. Definitely down to management and coaching since. In that time they also lost one of their stars to the Ireland Under 20 Rugby panel. Far from slating our Co. Board,they actually need to be congratulated along with the coaching staff on where they have brought Monaghan football. Our coaching and competition structure the envy of many counties."
Ok we get it you had 3 pints lastnights.

Monaghan2011 (Monaghan) - Posts: 8 - 27/04/2024 13:31:57    2540879

Replying To 222:  "Scotstowns dominance isn't good for the game in the county, let's not say otherwise.
Most town teams are abject , the demise of Blayney is staggering and the harps are just as bad. Our intermiedate champions don't have a county player on our county team. Most small rural clubs in the north west of the county are struggling. And alot of bigger sized clubs should be doing better, truagh, maghercloone, seans to name a few. In fairness to Inniskeen and corduff they have raised standards and deserve credit but the club scene by and large isnt healthy."
Bang on. Look at the reserve competitions too, the B competitions used to be filled with county U21's and minors and lads pushing to get onto their respective senior teams - but since the rule change regarding minors playing adult football the whole thing has gone to the dogs - the younger lads are being fast tracked into their clubs senior teams and the b competition is stagnating as a result. Last year I was at a few b games with our club and there was more grey heads floating about than a nursing home! I was at a B championship game last weekend and a club that was recently in the county final fielded a rag team and got trounced in the match - because their new manager wanted lads for a challenge match with the senior squad the next day.

Even the C's competitions have fallen asunder - scotstowns 3rd team had to go to the junior league to get competitive games.

The whole problem has been supercharged by the demise of the clubs that typically had bigger numbers. Blayney, Truagh, Harps, Magheracloone, Clontibret etc have all shown poorly in reserves over the last 3/4 years and with scotstown rearranging their whole structure around the junior team they're not a factor now either.

Historically the reserve competitions were a production line for the senior teams and onto the county - look at all our best players over the last 15 years: all played reserve football at 17-19 years of age. Now the competitions are an afterthought and are disrespected - and it's absolutely having a detrimental effect on the senior teams.

Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 152 - 27/04/2024 14:39:11    2540889

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "Sad to read the nonsense that guys like you write,with obviously no clue about management and tactics. A case of ye don't know what ye don't know. Very successfully year for our Under 20s. Have moved way up the pecking order in Ulster since their time as Minors. Definitely down to management and coaching since. In that time they also lost one of their stars to the Ireland Under 20 Rugby panel. Far from slating our Co. Board,they actually need to be congratulated along with the coaching staff on where they have brought Monaghan football. Our coaching and competition structure the envy of many counties."
Very successful year for our under 20s ...... that is some idiotic statement. With 3 minutes left we push up for the first time on a Tyrone kick out. Handed the game to Tyrone without pressuring them until 57th minute. Disgraceful ! Tell me who is our under 20 manager next year ......new manager and new tactics ...or just same old ? Can we have more successful years like this ?

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 351 - 28/04/2024 02:55:39    2541097

Replying To Monaghan2011:  "Ok we get it you had 3 pints lastnights."
Ah like most of the nonsense you post,this one was well thought out.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 138 - 28/04/2024 03:25:04    2541099

Replying To Jjoniel79:  "Bang on. Look at the reserve competitions too, the B competitions used to be filled with county U21's and minors and lads pushing to get onto their respective senior teams - but since the rule change regarding minors playing adult football the whole thing has gone to the dogs - the younger lads are being fast tracked into their clubs senior teams and the b competition is stagnating as a result. Last year I was at a few b games with our club and there was more grey heads floating about than a nursing home! I was at a B championship game last weekend and a club that was recently in the county final fielded a rag team and got trounced in the match - because their new manager wanted lads for a challenge match with the senior squad the next day.

Even the C's competitions have fallen asunder - scotstowns 3rd team had to go to the junior league to get competitive games.

The whole problem has been supercharged by the demise of the clubs that typically had bigger numbers. Blayney, Truagh, Harps, Magheracloone, Clontibret etc have all shown poorly in reserves over the last 3/4 years and with scotstown rearranging their whole structure around the junior team they're not a factor now either.

Historically the reserve competitions were a production line for the senior teams and onto the county - look at all our best players over the last 15 years: all played reserve football at 17-19 years of age. Now the competitions are an afterthought and are disrespected - and it's absolutely having a detrimental effect on the senior teams."
Since when did every league and championship level competition become a pathway to the county team?

Not everyone wants to play county. Not all players are going to play county. Surely the objective of to provide at outlet for men and women to be fit, healthy and participate in team sport for their local community??

Reserve football is a big outlet for fellas who may be the wrong side of 30 and have grey hair but still have the football bug. What's wrong with providing games for those guys?

MrPBoylan (Monaghan) - Posts: 119 - 28/04/2024 11:32:48    2541125

Replying To MrPBoylan:  "Since when did every league and championship level competition become a pathway to the county team?

Not everyone wants to play county. Not all players are going to play county. Surely the objective of to provide at outlet for men and women to be fit, healthy and participate in team sport for their local community??

Reserve football is a big outlet for fellas who may be the wrong side of 30 and have grey hair but still have the football bug. What's wrong with providing games for those guys?"
It used to be a thriving pathway for upcoming talent, but now the talent isn't there - and it's being reflected on the county team with the lack of talent coming through to take the place of our ageing stars.. the fact that it's now full of fellas looking to stay fit is exactly the symptom I'm saying is a massive issue in the county.

If fellas want to have a kick about and stay fit then fair play to them - but if things are going well they shouldn't be good enough to make it on to the pitch. The fact that they are tells you that there's not nearly enough good young talent being given time in reserve football for the county team to thrive.

Like I said before - nearly all of our best county footballers spent their formative years honing their skills in reserve football.

Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 152 - 28/04/2024 17:37:16    2541218

Replying To Jjoniel79:  "It used to be a thriving pathway for upcoming talent, but now the talent isn't there - and it's being reflected on the county team with the lack of talent coming through to take the place of our ageing stars.. the fact that it's now full of fellas looking to stay fit is exactly the symptom I'm saying is a massive issue in the county.

If fellas want to have a kick about and stay fit then fair play to them - but if things are going well they shouldn't be good enough to make it on to the pitch. The fact that they are tells you that there's not nearly enough good young talent being given time in reserve football for the county team to thrive.

Like I said before - nearly all of our best county footballers spent their formative years honing their skills in reserve football."
Really?????? I'd say most of them went straight into senior team to be honest … you are off the mark with this one!

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 404 - 28/04/2024 19:06:40    2541256

Replying To MrPBoylan:  "Since when did every league and championship level competition become a pathway to the county team?

Reserve football is a big outlet for fellas who may be the wrong side of 30 and have grey hair but still have the football bug. What's wrong with providing games for those guys?"
It used to be a thriving pathway for upcoming talent, but now the talent isn't there - and it's being reflected on the county team with the lack of talent coming through to take the place of our ageing stars.. the fact that it's now full of fellas looking to stay fit is exactly the symptom I'm saying is a massive issue in the county.

Like I said before - nearly all of our best county footballers spent their formative years honing their skills in reserve football.

Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 152 - 28/04/2024 19:09:23    2541257

Replying To veterngaa:  "Really?????? I'd say most of them went straight into senior team to be honest … you are off the mark with this one!"
Darren and Kieran Hughes, Conor McManus, Gary Mohan, Kieran Duffy, Rory Beggan, Shane Carey, Karl O'Connell, Dermot Malone, Owen Duffy, Neil McAdam - I know for a fact they all played reserve football for a few years in after minors.

Going back the two Corey's and Moens from Clontibret played their reserve football, as I recall Dessie was an outstanding corner forward in his youth.

I could go on but I'm absolutely sure there's many many more. You'll notice there's a disconnect between these lads and the latest batch of players in their prime - who just aren't at the same level.

Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 152 - 28/04/2024 19:17:07    2541260

Replying To Jjoniel79:  "Darren and Kieran Hughes, Conor McManus, Gary Mohan, Kieran Duffy, Rory Beggan, Shane Carey, Karl O'Connell, Dermot Malone, Owen Duffy, Neil McAdam - I know for a fact they all played reserve football for a few years in after minors.

Going back the two Corey's and Moens from Clontibret played their reserve football, as I recall Dessie was an outstanding corner forward in his youth.

I could go on but I'm absolutely sure there's many many more. You'll notice there's a disconnect between these lads and the latest batch of players in their prime - who just aren't at the same level."
who let Jjoniel79 have an account on this. Some wild statements flying about here. Never before have I heard someone pin a counties dip in form on the reserve football in the county

monaghan12 (Monaghan) - Posts: 12 - 28/04/2024 21:02:58    2541288

Replying To monaghan12:  "who let Jjoniel79 have an account on this. Some wild statements flying about here. Never before have I heard someone pin a counties dip in form on the reserve football in the county"
Absolutely wild stuff... was he on the soup all day yesterday? I think what he means is they played reserve football and senior football for their club at the same time.. that's because the grading system could be skewed to do so!!!!!

Your making it sound they played reserve football to hone their craft before senior football.. all of the above played senior for their club at 18.... the clubs would have graded 15 men ahead of them so they could play reserves... pretty sure county U21s meant you got an extra player to play reserves too.

Juss waffle your talking... reserve football is for letting lads play football.. that is the idea of the GAA.. games for people and here's you giving out about it.. god forbid a man wants to play bait reserve football and your advocating for it to be littered with young county talent.

Here lies the problem with 3/4 of the county clubs and people here! Takes scotstown for example.. their remit is getting as many lads to play football as possible hence the amount of senior teams... other clubs are focused on trying to win reserve games.. how many clubs in Monaghan will start a player who played a senior game the same week but have a man on the bench for the reserve gamezho just wants to play because the B manager wants to win the championship... that's the problem... cant to win reserve games etc ... you may laugh at scotstown but that's where they have the recipe for success...

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 404 - 29/04/2024 07:31:04    2541350

Replying To veterngaa:  "Absolutely wild stuff... was he on the soup all day yesterday? I think what he means is they played reserve football and senior football for their club at the same time.. that's because the grading system could be skewed to do so!!!!!

Your making it sound they played reserve football to hone their craft before senior football.. all of the above played senior for their club at 18.... the clubs would have graded 15 men ahead of them so they could play reserves... pretty sure county U21s meant you got an extra player to play reserves too.

Juss waffle your talking... reserve football is for letting lads play football.. that is the idea of the GAA.. games for people and here's you giving out about it.. god forbid a man wants to play bait reserve football and your advocating for it to be littered with young county talent.

Here lies the problem with 3/4 of the county clubs and people here! Takes scotstown for example.. their remit is getting as many lads to play football as possible hence the amount of senior teams... other clubs are focused on trying to win reserve games.. how many clubs in Monaghan will start a player who played a senior game the same week but have a man on the bench for the reserve gamezho just wants to play because the B manager wants to win the championship... that's the problem... cant to win reserve games etc ... you may laugh at scotstown but that's where they have the recipe for success..."
When Clontibret were at their peak they won the C and B championships 2 years in a row before their first senior championships- and went on to win all three each year for a few years after.

My point is that they were giving the young fellas heaps and heaps of ball instead of mindless training drills and they were better for it.

Gary Mohan and Conor McManus are two lads that spring to mind - weren't fantastic minors and were given a few years in reserve football to get up to speed.

There's been a major decline in the standards of football across the board with young fellas coming into senior football in Monaghan and it's badly affecting the county senior squad. In my view it's a symptom of a problem somewhere and just from going to hapes of games and actually getting a look around me at other clubs, the problem I can see is just how poor and stagnant reserve football has become. It only takes two injuries for a clubs senior team to need a few of the b's to step up and at the moment they're getting a poor standard of football to get them ready.

Scotstown knew how important good reserve football was - that's why they put their 2nd team players into junior football, to get competitive games against better opposition. If lads think reserve football should be for keeping the beer belly off oul fellas then I don't know what to say - yous may take up road bowls and hope Monaghan win an all Ireland at that..

Unless you can come up with a better reason for the obvious decline in the club scene - and why we haven't had another top class footballer come onto the county since the Hughes/McManus/O'Connell batch of lads I'm going to believe it has to do with the logical line of progression from minors to seniors being badly damaged by rules changes and general mistreatment by the county board.

Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 152 - 29/04/2024 08:58:57    2541362

Replying To Jjoniel79:  "When Clontibret were at their peak they won the C and B championships 2 years in a row before their first senior championships- and went on to win all three each year for a few years after.

My point is that they were giving the young fellas heaps and heaps of ball instead of mindless training drills and they were better for it.

Gary Mohan and Conor McManus are two lads that spring to mind - weren't fantastic minors and were given a few years in reserve football to get up to speed.

There's been a major decline in the standards of football across the board with young fellas coming into senior football in Monaghan and it's badly affecting the county senior squad. In my view it's a symptom of a problem somewhere and just from going to hapes of games and actually getting a look around me at other clubs, the problem I can see is just how poor and stagnant reserve football has become. It only takes two injuries for a clubs senior team to need a few of the b's to step up and at the moment they're getting a poor standard of football to get them ready.

Scotstown knew how important good reserve football was - that's why they put their 2nd team players into junior football, to get competitive games against better opposition. If lads think reserve football should be for keeping the beer belly off oul fellas then I don't know what to say - yous may take up road bowls and hope Monaghan win an all Ireland at that..

Unless you can come up with a better reason for the obvious decline in the club scene - and why we haven't had another top class footballer come onto the county since the Hughes/McManus/O'Connell batch of lads I'm going to believe it has to do with the logical line of progression from minors to seniors being badly damaged by rules changes and general mistreatment by the county board."
its an interesting theory if nothing else and to be fair i like your stubbornness.
However i also think that 10-15 years ago young lads were rushed into senior squads - whether it be 1st or 2nd team or whatever and that lead to injuries. Kieran Hughes recently said in a podcast that he essentially spent the last 10 years battling with injuries and hinted that it could've been because he was too young coming through...or at least thats how i understood it..

now there seems to be a program of getting lads to senior level. unless your David Clifford you aint going straight from minor to senior starting.
I'm talking more about county here rather than club as I'm not as clued into the club scene...

Replying to 222 on Scotstowns dominance not being good for monaghan football - monaghan seem to be at their best when Scotstown are so the two seem to be interconnected...this is true for the last 10 years and, even though its before my time, was also true in the 80s.

MalsBalls (Monaghan) - Posts: 182 - 29/04/2024 11:33:54    2541427

Everyone looking forward to the draw tomorrow ?Hoping it gives the team and mgmt a chance to reset after a tough year. We are in pot 3 so avoid tyrone and derry. Ideally wed want either connaught/ulster winners munster/leinster runners up and either meath or westmeath out of pot 4. Have a feeling we will get Dublin or Kerry Mayo/Galway and Cavan through. We were v lucky last year with the draws we got so dont expect a repeat. Whoever we get the team has to come out of the gates storming for the opener as side badly needs a win for confidence.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1803 - 29/04/2024 15:32:16    2541536

Replying To Shelbourne1:  "Who do you have in mind .........your own county Cavan ? lol"
2015 since the Anglo Celt Cup resided in Monaghan.

I think we could have won a couple of Ulster titles since if we played more attacking football. We lack pace in our attack. This year Cavan played well when they attacked Tyrone and Monaghan at speed, Donegal whilst playing awful negative football played well when attacking Derry at speed.

It very much depends on the draw for the All Ireland qualifiers as to how we do. We are seed three.

Bernardo (Monaghan) - Posts: 597 - 29/04/2024 16:12:40    2541553

Replying To seanie08:  "Everyone looking forward to the draw tomorrow ?Hoping it gives the team and mgmt a chance to reset after a tough year. We are in pot 3 so avoid tyrone and derry. Ideally wed want either connaught/ulster winners munster/leinster runners up and either meath or westmeath out of pot 4. Have a feeling we will get Dublin or Kerry Mayo/Galway and Cavan through. We were v lucky last year with the draws we got so dont expect a repeat. Whoever we get the team has to come out of the gates storming for the opener as side badly needs a win for confidence."
Dream draw would be Dublin, Louth, Cavan

Draw from Hell would be Kerry, Mayo, Cork

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 380 - 29/04/2024 16:18:45    2541556

Replying To seanie08:  "Everyone looking forward to the draw tomorrow ?Hoping it gives the team and mgmt a chance to reset after a tough year. We are in pot 3 so avoid tyrone and derry. Ideally wed want either connaught/ulster winners munster/leinster runners up and either meath or westmeath out of pot 4. Have a feeling we will get Dublin or Kerry Mayo/Galway and Cavan through. We were v lucky last year with the draws we got so dont expect a repeat. Whoever we get the team has to come out of the gates storming for the opener as side badly needs a win for confidence."
The dram group for Monaghan would be:
Armagh (didn't look very impressive last Saturday but could still beat Donegal.)
Clare
Monaghan
Westmeath

I wouldn't fear Cavan either from pot 4 seeing as Paddy Lynch is out for the rest of the season.

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 104 - 29/04/2024 16:21:08    2541559

Replying To Jjoniel79:  "Darren and Kieran Hughes, Conor McManus, Gary Mohan, Kieran Duffy, Rory Beggan, Shane Carey, Karl O'Connell, Dermot Malone, Owen Duffy, Neil McAdam - I know for a fact they all played reserve football for a few years in after minors.

I could go on but I'm absolutely sure there's many many more. You'll notice there's a disconnect between these lads and the latest batch of players in their prime - who just aren't at the same level."
Well the fact is almost none of the players you named ever played Reserve football. You were probably in the GPO in Easter 1916 also.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 138 - 29/04/2024 23:03:15    2541651

Replying To Jjoniel79:  "When Clontibret were at their peak they won the C and B championships 2 years in a row before their first senior championships- and went on to win all three each year for a few years after.

Unless you can come up with a better reason for the obvious decline in the club scene - and why we haven't had another top class footballer come onto the county since the Hughes/McManus/O'Connell batch of lads I'm going to believe it has to do with the logical line of progression from minors to seniors being badly damaged by rules changes and general mistreatment by the county board."
A few days ago it was reserve football,now its rule changes and the county board ???????. Obviously you weren't around for the days of the Junior Bs' and 40+ year old lining out to preserve the Parish's honour and God help help any wannabe County lad that crossed their path. The same day's that Monaghan won 3 Ulster's and a National League. Also you going back a while since Clontibret won three in a row. Doubt there was Reserves in those days. Would you have any old photos of McManus and Mohan playing Reserves? And to answer your earlier question, I don't think McCarthy,McAnespie,Kearns or Bannigan belonged to the same class as Hughes, McManus or O'Connell. In short it seems like you are away with fairies a lot of the time.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 138 - 29/04/2024 23:25:58    2541657